Grand Cayman Rum Cake Factory Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Rum Cake Factory cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Satisfy your sweet tooth with a tour of Grand Cayman's rum cake factory and learn how the delectable Caribbean dessert is made. Don't forget to take some home as a souvenir.
Member Image Duck60
1 review
Mar 2017
This was just a small store giving samples and selling its goods.
Read Duck60's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Rabbit58
1 review
Mar 2017
not enough time here but it worked..I think aybe as we were at brewery too long
Read Rabbit58's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image denisenorman
1 review
Mar 2017
Don't believe them when they say all the rum samples you want. We only got 2 half shots, because they were out of others.
Read denisenorman's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Selion
1 review
Mar 2017
Again, part of our highlight tour. Book another tour without this stop.
Read Selion's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Vickia314
1 review
Jan 2017
We stopped at the Tortuga Rum Cake Center for Tortuga Rum and rum cake. We tasted 2 different rum cakes and had the opportunity to purchase some. The rum was very good and the cake was very tasty! There was time to decide which flavor rum cake to bring home. Tried very hard NOT to be the last on the bus.
Read Vickia314's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image eden rose
3 reviews
Jan 2017
Best rum ever tasted.
Read eden rose's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image oceanluvr19
1 review
Nov 2016
One stop on our Island tour. Rum Cakes are available at almost every port, but this is where they are actually made. Ummy samples of cake and rum.
Read oceanluvr19's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Ref2551
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Toured factory. tasted some cake and rum had a great stop.
Read Ref2551's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Jacobcdeberry
1 review
Aug 2016
This is the only stop for food. Enjoy while you can.
Read Jacobcdeberry's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jako0614
1 review
May 2016
Great and the rum cake was tasty.
Read jako0614's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lflores30@wi.rr.com
1 review
Apr 2016
We were able to try as much as we wanted of rum and bites of rum cake. Not much to see as far as the factory.
Read lflores30@wi.rr.com's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Andy200
5 reviews
Jan 2016
Not worth it.
Read Andy200's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image snafyensid
7 reviews
Dec 2015
More of a store than a factory. Samples of the rum and cake but not much else here.
Read snafyensid's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kariandkyle
3 reviews
Apr 2015
Rum Cake Factory, the factory part we didn't get to see, sign said employees only, they had free samples to try and lots to buy, they had about a two pound package of coffee for sale for $45.00 (Cayman), way too expensive, was able to take a few photos outside of some penned parrots, lizards pigeons, etc. These three tours Rum Cake/Hell and Turtle farm were called the "Best of Cayman Island tour"
Read kariandkyle's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image aclements25
1 review
Apr 2015
Just a store full of rum cakes and rum. Nothing that deserves 150 characters worth of a description. They did get the rum to the right boat, so that was a plus.
Read aclements25's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BeachinBeauty
1 review
Mar 2015
This is a tiny place, very unassuming, and a quick stop. However, I love Tortuga products! They allow you to sample the cakes and their rums. The pineapple rum is out of this world. We bought a $20 variety box with various rum flavors. We also bought the big variety box of rum cakes, as well. Nobody was pushy here. When you purchase items from the shop, even rum, they deliver it to your cabin on the last day. So, you can partake in your own alcohol that day!
Read BeachinBeauty's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Ron - Linda
1 review
Mar 2015
The gentleman who drove us and provided an excellent explanation of all the stops and sights was wonderful. He took us into the turtle farm and told us the history of it's purpose and how the turtles were cared for. We also had a chance to hold some of the young one who were really wonderful creatures.
Read Ron - Linda's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image wildbill426
2 reviews
Mar 2015

OK, nothing special. Rum cake tasted good. Bought rum.

Read wildbill426's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Straightlinespeed
2 reviews
Feb 2015
Small little building were we got to sample some of the rum cakes and flavored spice rum they had. You could also purchase either of those among some other trinkets.
Read Straightlinespeed's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image predator
1 review
Nov 2014

Interesting tour but in terms of lots of information not very good 20 mins at the rum factory an hour at the turtle farm

not much else... Georgetown is a total tourist cash place

Read predator's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Tobias10
2 reviews
Mar 2014

Rum factory was okay - we got a small sample of rum cake and you could buy rum there but guide said it was the same price at the dock, so stop was nothing special.

Read Tobias10's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image leftyofnorth
2 reviews
Feb 2014

You have to a take tender to the port from the ship. The tour was rushed with 15 minutes at each stop and the obligatory gift shop mention. We thought the excursion included a tour of the factory but it was just a rum and cake tasting. The tour did show the beautiful island with clean streets and sidewalks. We felt safe on the island.

Read leftyofnorth's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image virgintraveller
1 review
Feb 2014

This was a great place to stop & taste the wares. The option of having the cakes etc. shipped home, we will certainly take advantage of if we return to Grand Cayman.

Read virgintraveller's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dispachcops
2 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

For only $75 bucks per person we did Hell, Turtle farm, Rum Cake Factory, Stingray City, and snorkeling. The Stingrays were awesome and so was the turtles. Hell and Rum Cake Factory could be missed if needed...

Would have loved to have had an actual tour of the factory rather than their store only. If you want to skip this, you will not miss a thing.

Read dispachcops's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Cayman Adventure Tours
Member Image robsmom
5 reviews
Dec 2013

Would not know, because our tour guide skipped this scheduled stop. The tour start 30 mins late and then the skipped stop was blamed on "traffic".

Read robsmom's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?