Cairns Barrier Reef Excursion Reviews

Cairns Barrier Reef cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore the Great Barrier Reef in beautiful Cairns, the world's largest coral reef system.
Member Image salmn
1 review
Mar 2017
Being experienced snorkelers, we were not sure about going to the platform, but it was well organized and good snorkeling. Overall the best excursion of the trip.
Read salmn's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image fent33
1 review
Mar 2017
Transportation to reef and experience at the reef was well managed. The submarine and glass bottom boat tours included in the package were enjoyable. Lunch was adequate
Read fent33's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image FrankA
5 reviews
Mar 2017
What makes this port unenjoyable is the tender (45 minutes water time plus wait) and the 1/2hour shuttle (Celebrity doesn't pay for. $36 per couple.). Half your time in port is spent doing this. What's worse is that we overnighted there. This means you could go through the process a much as 3 times. In Cairns we booked our own tour for snorkeling the inner Great Barrier Reef. The outer reef was better snorkeling but it took 2 hours each way to get there and we didn't want that long of a trip. We went to Green Island. $180AUD per couple. Saw plenty of turtles, sting rays and even a shark. Coral was beautiful but spotty. Glass bottom boat was part of tour for non-snorkelers and those that had their own snorkeling equipment. Island has all services including gear, jelly fish suits, restaurants and bar.
Read FrankA's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Don't remember
Member Image bamaguy
1 review
Jan 2017
The Great Barrier Reef tour with NCL was very well done. The catamaran was nice to ride to and from the reef and was outfitted very well for snorkel and diving. They served a big lunch which was included in the cost. And they had other drinks and snacks for sale. If the seas just had been a bit calmer it would have been perfect.
Read bamaguy's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image robb11561
3 reviews
Oct 2016
This tour was worth it's money. With the limited time in port, this tour maximised our time in the Great Barrier Reef, allowing snorkeling, scuba diving, and lunch. The tour providers were excellent in every aspect of the tour. I wished the cruise overnighted in this port.
Read robb11561's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cruise-luvr
1 review
Oct 2016
We chose the Exploring the Great Barrier Reef excursion offered by the cruise line and it was spectacular! This excursion caters to the more experienced diver and snorkeler. It took us to a location teeming with sea life and healthy coral. Would highly recommend this tour and rate it a 10 out of 10.
Read cruise-luvr's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ms lollipop
2 reviews
Feb 2016
great day on the reef Breakfast snacks included along as lunch and afternoon tea.
Read ms lollipop's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Quick silver
Member Image onetravelbug
1 review
Feb 2013
Don't miss the opportunity to go out to the Great Barrier Reef if you visit Carins. A short boat ride, and there are great snorkeling sites available. We took an all day tour which stopped at two snorkling and diving areas where we had individual and small group guides help those less experienced receive the full benefit of seeing the sea life beneath the surface. A very nice full lunch was served, and we didn't hear one bad comment about the day from those on the boat. Stinger suites were furnished so we did not have to worry about the ever present jellyfish. Ths was a great trip for those new to snorkling and diving and also for the more experienced.
Read onetravelbug's full Seabourn Odyssey cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image pn1
3 reviews
Mar 2012
Very good and I enjoyed Green Island. It was a great day but not as good as the similar excursion organised by Royal Carribbean from Airlie Beach.
Read pn1's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: QuickSilver

Sponsored links