Ketchikan Fishing Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Fishing cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Opt for a salmon fishing adventure or go bottom fishing for rockfish and halibut -- two popular fishing excursions enjoyed by locals and visitors alike.
Member Image jclnola
1 review
Jul 2017
Three in our group went on this and they loved it. They were gone all day, so they missed seeing the town, but there wasn't a ton to do in Ketchikan anyway. The rest of us walked around, had lunch, and did a little walking tour of Creek St.
Read jclnola's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TASO
1 review
Jul 2017
Nothing wrong with the company but the weather was horrible. Captain said it was one of the worst fishing days they had had that year. Weather is not the fault of the company but it would have been nice to have them give the option to cancel with a refund.
Read TASO's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Baranof and Company
Member Image Sparling
1 review
Jul 2017
My husband, mother, brother in law and nephew fished for Salmon in Ketchikan. They absolutely loved Nick from Chasin Tail. He was an awesome guide that got them into fish that they flew back home. Roughly 40lbs between the 4 of them! Well worth the money and my husband wants to go back again!
Read Sparling's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Nick from Chasin Tail
Member Image Connie.bearden
3 reviews
Jul 2017
no fish were caught but not Princess fault
Read Connie.bearden's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Red Dogg
1 review
Jun 2017
The fishing boat was small , no cover , they packed 5 men into it with our guide. On the positive side our fishing guide was a nice guy and we caught some great fish including a 35 pound halibut. they also took us to a nice camp on the shore where they cooked up our lunch with the fish we caught and plenty of sides
Read Red Dogg's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Cel64
2 reviews
Jun 2017
We enjoyed our time salmon fishing. Our guide, Joss, was very friendly and knowledgeable about fishing and the area. We highly recommend this fun day.
Read Cel64's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image breeding
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Excellent Captain and fun day of fishing and Catching
Read breeding's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Baranof & Company
Member Image mochas8
1 review
Jun 2017
Caught some salmon and other fish, saw eagles, got rained on!
Read mochas8's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cuzlin
5 reviews
Jun 2017
My husband enjoyed this trip and caught 5 salmon (threw them back).
Read Cuzlin's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Annjenette
1 review
May 2017
Caught halibut and cod and had a wonderful time. One of us took a sightseeing tour through a local company and it was amazing. Ray the guide was a local in his 70's and knew all the good scoop! We saw eagles, totem pole park, waterfall, salmon hatchery, Dolly's house, sea lions, Tongass National Forest, etc.
Read Annjenette's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image FidgetLewis
1 review
May 2017
Hunting for Halibut. Beautiful scenery. Caught over 17lbs of Halibut and a few sharks!. Had the fish cleaned, packaged and sent to our home.
Read FidgetLewis's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image steveg49
2 reviews
May 2017
Worst day fishing is better than the best day sightseeing. Quality boats and captains, very comfortable on a cold wet day. Fish for multiple kinds of Salmon and other fish. Met us right at the dock, and their boat was tied up right next to the ship, ready to go. Reasonable prices too. Will book one to six.
Read steveg49's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Ketchikan Charters
Member Image TerrikBailey
1 review
Sep 2016
Fished for salmon and were able to catch three that were big enough to be processed and sent home to Ohio
Read TerrikBailey's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Strike Zone
Member Image kazalcruise2
1 review
Aug 2016
Booked through charters.com. Captain John was a cynic and no one on board could please him. Constantly ridiculing us for our ineptness. Just made the trip unpleasant. We did however catch some fish and we arrived back home safe and sound just not happy campers.
Read kazalcruise2's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Viator.com
Member Image carolsuehogan
1 review
Aug 2016
Even though only a couple fish were caught, it was a very good trip. All the boat captains communicated back and forth to try and find the fish that were biting.
Read carolsuehogan's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Pegatha5
1 review
Aug 2016
The biggest expense is if you catch something having shipped home. Cost more than the excursion.
Read Pegatha5's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image clyde2016
1 review
Aug 2016
Not told prior to fishing about limits and whether or not the fishing was good, or bad. The boat operator seemed more interested in the lone female aboard, and kowtowing to her wishes, than he was interested in successful fishing.
Read clyde2016's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Baranof and Company
Member Image Kathylou
1 review
Aug 2016
We caught fish and had it sent to our home. People in charge of this trip were friendly and helpful.
Read Kathylou's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image IdahoPam
1 review
Aug 2016
It was awesome. Four of us on the boat salmon fishing. I caught 3 and my husband caught 5. Company filleted them, packaged them, froze them and sent them to us over night.
Read IdahoPam's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Alaska Sport Fishing Adventures
Member Image PrincessIsTheWorst
1 review
Aug 2016
Before our trip, Princess encouraged us to take their excursion, as they only used the best and most qualified. We spent $800 for the Halibut fishing excursion. As avid fishing enthusiast, my husband and I recognize catching Halibut cannot be guaranteed. However, with 5 tourists on the boat, I did not expect to have to SHARE rods. Way to make me pay $400 for half a rod Princess. To make matters even better, I had read on Princess’ excursion site that we could bring enough fish on board to cook for a meal one evening. When I posed the question to the captain, he said no. Only later did I find out other fishing excursions allowed their tourists to bring the fish aboard the cruise for a lovely fresh fish meal. So glad Princess has a rigorous screening process for their excursion vendors. Don’t waste the money!
Read PrincessIsTheWorst's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image susychristensen
1 review
Aug 2016
One of the best excursions. You are with just 5 or 6 other people and the fisherman who takes you out walks you through what to do so you don't need any experience. My husband and I each caught 4 salmon - had them sent home and we have been enjoying wild salmon that we caught ourselves! We also saw whales, eagles and other wildlife.
Read susychristensen's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Horned Frog 2
1 review
Jul 2016
While it was fabulous to go salmon fishing, time in port is too short to make this a great trip.
Read Horned Frog 2's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image bigalgreen
2 reviews
Jul 2016
While I did not catch any halibut... did get some salmon In the past, had my catch processed and shipped.
Read bigalgreen's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ledaebel
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Enjoyed but very cold. 17y/o caught and released 3 sharks.
Read ledaebel's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sgfink
1 review
Jul 2016
Our captain and his deck hand were right on time and had his boat waiting for us right where we exited the cruise ship. He had a cooler of water and soft drinks as well as snacks and cookies waiting on board. His boat was very clean and had a bathroom. We were traveling with 4 adults (around age 40) and 5 kids ages 8-13. The captain and deckhand were so knowledgeable and taught us how to do everything so we could all be hands on. We caught tons of crabs and after we were done fishing, we pulled into a quiet cove. There the captain set up a stove and cooked all of our crab to eat right there. It doesn't get any fresher than that. He even had tools to crack the legs open and melted butter for dipping. We loved it all!
Read sgfink's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links