Maui Road to Hana Excursion Reviews

Maui Road to Hana cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This beautiful day trip is a fantastic way to take in the beauty of Maui -- it is not to be missed.
Member Image DebraG500
1 review
Jul 2017
Crazy day for the drivers. We rented from 2 cars for a party of 10 from Enterprise. They do not pick up at the port. The drivers had to Uber. Other car rental companies do have transportation. Check out the Shaka Maui app for the drive. It was great! It tells you exactly were to stop and what you will see and also includes a history lessons.
Read DebraG500's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruise102015
1 review
May 2017
This was an 8 hour day and exhausting we had the most horrible driver/tour guide her name was Debbie. She needed to retire and get counseling for her road rage driving behavior and her hostility toward rental car drivers. Just beyond explaining
Read cruise102015's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle tours
Member Image CdMAgFox
15 reviews
May 2017
Having driven this Road to Hana myself on two different occasions, I was happy to sit back in our comfortable van and leave the driving to our guide. The occasional stops were both interesting and considerate.
Read CdMAgFox's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Shpnxs
1 review
Apr 2017
We did the deluxe tour....very informative!! Great sights.
Read Shpnxs's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Diannedaniel
1 review
Apr 2017
Be sure & book the Deluxe. It cot a bit more but you are in an 8 passenger luxury van, takes the smoother road & is overall just a better tour.
Read Diannedaniel's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kmtcasey
1 review
Feb 2017
We had a great tour guide, named Junior. He made the trip special. Excellent time on the windy roads, great views, long day.
Read Kmtcasey's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jmsabo
1 review
Feb 2017
This was an 8 hr. excursion and we learned so much about the history of the island and experienced so many beautiful sights.
Read jmsabo's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Blondie2017
1 review
Feb 2017
The driver was good, you don't need to spend extra on this. No big buses will be travelling the road so it will all be done in small vans. Not comfortable getting in and out of the van over and over. Swim at the black sand beach, the beach at the end wasn't special but the black sand one was!
Read Blondie2017's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GulfTX
1 review
Jan 2017
The tour was exceptional .,. great small shuttle bus, covered 120 miles in 10 hours with 18 stops .. was very well planned for stops, with an exceptional hot meal served picnic style.
Read GulfTX's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle
Member Image SEL10
1 review
Dec 2016
We travelled in the opposite direction of most tours (counter clockwise) heading along the southwest coast first. This avoided much of the traffic heading in the opposite direction. Our tour guide was great.
Read SEL10's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image 10stU92
1 review
Nov 2016
We were disappointed, couldn't see most of the views as it was super windy, foggy and raining 90% of the tour, lunch was just average. Bonus....Our tour price went down $75 each when we switched the day, agent didn't know why.
Read 10stU92's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image speedo45
1 review
Oct 2016
This was an all day excursion. It was on a comfortable 8 person conversion van. Hana Road is extremely narrow and winding. I would have loved more stops for picture taking but, the road itself doesn't provide a lot of opportunities. The scenery is beautiful and there is a stop to try and swim in the waterfall. It was very cold.
Read speedo45's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image travelwithmetv
1 review
Oct 2016
An amazing tour that everyone should take advantage in doing. Its a 9 hour road trip with lots of stops in between with food snacks and drinks provided. Its worth the trip because it is one of the most stunning views I have ever seen.
Read travelwithmetv's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image islandmanintas
1 review
Oct 2016
Great tour and great way to see a large slice of Maui. Only criticism would be tour operator needs to update bus.
Read islandmanintas's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image 49erteacher
1 review
Oct 2016
This is a 10 hour tour that takes you around the east side of Maui. About 40 miles of the route is the Road to Hana a very curvy (620 curves) with many (59) one lane bridges and road sections that are really one lane but you may need to squeeze by other vehicles. Our mini-bus hugged the mountainside many times. The scenery is tropical rain forest passing several beautiful waterfalls, scenic views, and cattle ranches. There is a short stop at the Waianapanapa State park and black sand beach. I was fortunate to have Bruce as the driver/guide for the day. Bruce a transplanted Texan made it an enjoyable day and took into consideration the needs of his 15 not so young passengers. At the end of 10 hours we all felt we had a great time and made new friends. There are sufficient breaks and opportunities to get out, stretch your legs, and use bathroom facilities. The stops allow enough time to view the area but you don’t feel rushed. The stop at Palapala Congressional Church the location of Charles Lindbergh’s grave was very interesting as well as the Kipahulu National Park location of the 7 sacred pools. It is about a half mile walk down to the pools. The visitor/ranger station had some very interesting history of early Hawaiian life. Along the highway are homes of several famous people - Oprah, one of the Beach Boys, Willie Nelson and others. There is a stop at Travaasa Experiential Resort for lunch which was just OK, but I am a bit jaded after many days of superb cruise ship dining. A word of warning, they caution people with back backs and pregnant women to avoid this trip – pay attention to this warning the road has many miles of unpaved and poorly paved roads.
Read 49erteacher's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image janice2348
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Spectacular views and scenery. Our driver, Dennis, was a hoot. Very long day. Lots of walking up and down hills. But totally worth it.
Read janice2348's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle tours
Member Image jcvhcv
1 review
Sep 2016
We took the Deluxe Road to Hana Excursion, small mini bus. Excellent scenery, however, the bus really can not stop on the road for photos, so most of your photos are taken through dirty windows. There are several places where stops are made that have parking facilities.
Read jcvhcv's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sailor1268
1 review
Aug 2016
Roberts Tours did an excellent job. Kind of a long day though.
Read Sailor1268's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image bonnierph
1 review
Aug 2016
Pretty drive but over 9 hours on a bus was a bit long.
Read bonnierph's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image salsalisa
2 reviews
Jul 2016
The bus was comfortable, and driven by a driver who was friendly and professional. There were beautiful views of the rainforest and coastline during the tour. There were good stops along the way, and a nice lunch that was served. There were unlimited waters, juices, and sodas available on board the bus.
Read salsalisa's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle Excursions
Member Image Pulga60
1 review
Jun 2016
Tour guide great and the experience was more than I expected.
Read Pulga60's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Valley Isle
Member Image Peggyloves cruising
1 review
May 2016
Good big bus experience. Wish we had done it privately with Holo Holo! Helicopter ride back was fine but not what we expected.
Read Peggyloves cruising's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image billslowsky
4 reviews
May 2016
A long day but we had a good guide. The drive is the tour - there really isn't anything there when you get to Hana. Lots of vegetation, waterfalls, and cliffs. We got rained on (heavily) twice, always when farthest from the bus.
Read billslowsky's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Travel
Member Image Capebeachwalk
1 review
May 2016
Road to Hana - beautiful vistas - not to be missed - but scary road back.
Read Capebeachwalk's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image electrician513
1 review
Apr 2016
This road is very long 2-1/2 hours to go about 30 miles but truly an experience - don't know how the buses can do it
Read electrician513's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?