Ketchikan Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Board a real life crab-fishing vessel in Ketchikan. Popularized by the television show Deadliest Catch, fishing for king crab is notorious for being one of the world's most dangerous professions.
Member Image MsSheryl
1 review
Aug 2017
Loved the personal experiences shared by the hosts! Interactive experiences with the crab and prawn were fun!
Read MsSheryl's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Silverspruce
1 review
Jul 2017
Well run, got to see how they caught the crabs, lots of eagles up close, great personal stories from the crew!
Read Silverspruce's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Nicole Sautter
1 review
Jul 2017
GENUINE AND AUTHENTIC. I have been a Deadliest Catch fan since the first season & it is what originally sparked my interest in traveling to Alaska! To be on a true Bering Sea crab fishing boat with men who have actually spent part of their lives as crab boat captain/fishermen was an experience I will never forget. To watch them in action and hear their personal stories and experiences was an honor!!!!
Read Nicole Sautter's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Tntcruiser1240
1 review
Jul 2017
Great trip, saw lots of eagles and got a great education in crab fishing. A great bonus was coming upon a salmon fishing boat as they pulled in their catch.
Read Tntcruiser1240's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Rulers Mom
2 reviews
Jul 2017
The Allucian Ballard is just a quick walk from the ship. The instructions were to meet someone at our dock, but it wasn't necessary. The other tour directed us to walk one block to the berth where the Ballard was docked. This was an amazing tour. Very entertaining, lots of good history about the boat, the show, the area. Eagles like we have seagulls in Florida. So much fun!
Read Rulers Mom's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Bering Sea Crab Fishermans Tour
Member Image rkacruiser
4 reviews
Jul 2017
An outstanding shore excursion that provides lots of opportunity to see and hold different types of marine life. The crew provided interesting stories of their lives and experiences on the boat.
Read rkacruiser's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image notateach
1 review
Jul 2017
Whole family enjoyed it so much!
Read notateach's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SmithtownMike
2 reviews
Jun 2017
This was the same exact trip as offered by the ship, but much less expensive. It was nicely done with many contrived experiences but overall educational and fun.
Read SmithtownMike's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Expipemjr
1 review
Jun 2017
Great,also books up fast there is a wonderful surprise during this,but I won't revel any more info,you have to see it .it's a once in a lifetime one.
Read Expipemjr's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SKfromDallas
1 review
Jun 2017
The crew was wonderful - really took the time to do it right. They showed various catches - variety of crabs, octopus, fish, etc. They also fed the bald eagles, which was amazing. There were dozens of eagles gathered around the ship, making for many great photo opportunities with my telephoto lens. I would highly recommend this tour.
Read SKfromDallas's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sweetp0618
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Loved it! We almost cancelled to spend the day in the solarium but it turned out to be a great excursion. The crew were funny and they told heartwarming stories about how they got involved in the industry. There was some hokey fun, too. The best part was seeing a ton of bald eagles soaring overhead. It was an amazing sight.
Read sweetp0618's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jumping person
1 review
Sep 2016
Fantastic! Ready to join them for their next season!
Read jumping person's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kwkiwi
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Was ok if you like Deadliest Catch show, they go in very calm waters and pull up crabs in pots and talk about being a fisherman up in the Bering Sea. I didn't enjoy it as much as others who have raved about it. Thought it was a bit long, not that relevant to the area (Bering Sea is a lot further north) and quite expensive at $179 for the outing.
Read kwkiwi's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rleefamily
1 review
Aug 2016
Fantastic!
Read rleefamily's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image HARP
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Great tour.
Read HARP's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image isewnsew@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
This was a very fun and informative excursion. We love "Deadliest Catch", so this was a have-to excursion for us. We loved the owners, loved the whole tour. We got to hold crabs and prawns. We got to watch them feed eagles in the water. Awesome!
Read isewnsew@gmail.com's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image diamondgalshell
1 review
Jul 2016
Loved it! It was fun and informative. Lots of bald eagles.
Read diamondgalshell's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image LindaLouise
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour was the best! Enjoyed Ketchikan.
Read LindaLouise's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image hulagirl1951
3 reviews
Jul 2016
We liked this excursion so much, we took it again on our second cruise because of the Eagles and sea life we saw. Crew were informative and demonstrated the techniques for commercial fishing.
Read hulagirl1951's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image aw1978
1 review
Jul 2016
Very hands on for the kids. They got to hold star fish and crabs. The tour guides were great. We also got to see Eagles! They offered hot chocolate and goldfish. Fun for the Family!!
Read aw1978's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Don Omaha
1 review
Jul 2016
My wife's favorite excursion. The crew of the Aleutian Ballad showed us lots of eagles and even a whale as well as how crab and long line fishing is done. The crabs were preset in the pots, but the methods of lifting and dropping the pots were accurately shown. This is a great tour and worth the time and money.
Read Don Omaha's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image kinosh
1 review
Jul 2016
When we got off the ship, the tour rep was at the gangway and directed us to their boat. The Trip Advisor reviews sold me on this excursion. The highlight was indeed the eagles. After throwing some fish into the water, there were about 10 bald eagles flying around. That was really cool and worth 5 stars. Truly amazing! The boat made several stops. One was where they had a line with a bunch of hooks. They pulled the line in to see what they caught. That was ok too. There were several varieties of fish, including a shark. It was hard to see the fish, especially for those sitting in the back. And that brings me to the main complaint about this excursion -- it was way too crowded. The stage wasn't that big, but they managed to seat about 150 people with viewing on only one side of the boat, so people were climbing on top of each other to see the eagles. When they brought up the crabs, everyone rushed to the stage and, again, there was little room to maneuver. The website makes it sound like they are actually fishing for crabs, but that is false. There are crabs in the pot. Once everyone is done holding and taking pictures of them, the crabs go back into the pot, and the pot gets dropped into the ocean, only to be repeated for the next tour. Then they bring up another pot with plastic king crabs (apparently king crabs are really hard to catch so they use fake ones for the demonstration and store live king crabs in the live tank on the boat). Then they go to another location and bring up a large live octopus that is stored in the plastic barrel. The octopus slimes around with the crew, goes back into the barrel and into the ocean, only to be brought back up for the next tour. The tour felt like a glorified aquarium. Why are we on this boat? And the kicker was the Deadliest Catch. It's on the website, there's a video in the gift shop, and the crew talks about it ad nauseum. Enough already! They are lucky to have it on video, otherwise there would be nothing to talk about. If it weren't for the eagles, this tour gets one star.
Read kinosh's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour
Member Image tikibargirl
1 review
Jun 2016
WOW is all I can say! Great excursion! The men on the boat that run the tour are both informative and entertaining. There are a few hands on with the crabs and other sea creatures. The stop at the eagle nesting ground is an experience you will not want to miss. I still can't believe what we saw. This is a great excursion I would give it more than 5 stars if I could. Do not miss this!
Read tikibargirl's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cmakar1
1 review
Jun 2016
This tour was absolutely amazing!!! The energy of the presentations was contagious, informative, and inspiring. This excursion far exceeded my wildest expectations.
Read Cmakar1's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Pennstatedj
8 reviews
Jun 2016
great experience
Read Pennstatedj's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links