Rome (Civitavecchia) Catacombs Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Catacombs cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This curious underground maze of tunnels, hollowed out of the volcanic rock, is where the early Christians, persecuted by the Romans, had to practice their religion in secret and bury their dead.
Member Image Nicegran
1 review
Aug 2017
Catacombs and Italian Countryside including lunch at a restaurant. To say we don't usually do ant excursions this one was very enjoyable and good value for money
Read Nicegran's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Bigt3232@gmail.com
reviews
Aug 2017
Catacombs were great but only 30 minutes there. The rest of the 8 hour day was spent on bus going to lunch and then again on bus to Pope's summer home. Interesting but definitely way too much time on the bus and too little at Catacombs.
Read Bigt3232@gmail.com's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image ForneyTravelers
2 reviews
Jan 2017
We did the catacombs during the day because it was not as cold in the catacombs as outside.
Read ForneyTravelers's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image kirkandmimi
1 review
Sep 2016
Fine tour with plenty of walking, great sites and a nice lunch near the Colosseum
Read kirkandmimi's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cruisin50th65
1 review
Jun 2015
Picked up a port. 1 hr drive to Rome. Only 7 of us so it was relaxing not rushed. The only place that was hot and crowded was Vatican museum. The colosseum is very large and crowded. You could spend lots of time there if you have it. We didn't. Buy your tickets before you leave home.vatican also.
Read Cruisin50th65's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Amalfi coast Destinations
Member Image justluv2cruisewithhubby
6 reviews
May 2015
Booked this tour and got see the crypts and catacombs inside one of the churches - you are not allowed to take photos but seeing all those human bones and how they have the ceiling and walls all decorated with them is quite spooky and then we toured the 3 levels down under one of the churches and we saw such history in the city of Rome
Read justluv2cruisewithhubby's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Walks of Italy
Member Image CommuterBob
1 review
Oct 2012
This stop was part of the City Tour and was added because the Vatican museum was closed. The catacombs were neat to see and I learned a lot from the guide.
Read CommuterBob's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: St. Carillo Catacombs
Member Image Princessa22
1 review
Sep 2012
Truly something to see. Don't miss it. Very moving.
Read Princessa22's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image oldcajun
1 review
Apr 2012
After a fairly long bus ride in heavy traffic we entered Rome and went to the Catacombs for a guided tour which was very enlightening. We then went out to the country side to a little hill top town which is home to the Pope's summer palace. From there to a "farm" where we had lunch. Except for the long time on the bus, the tour was very good.
Read oldcajun's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Spitfire8
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2011
more interesting than expected, but a bit too close for cmfort.
Read Spitfire8's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises

Sponsored links