Juneau Whale Watching Excursion Reviews

Juneau Whale Watching cruise excursion
Overall Rating 767 Reviews
Experience an intimate encounter with Humpback and Orca whales on a scenic whale watching tour around Juneau harbor.
Details & Booking
Member Image luvtazzie
Sep 2018
Can't recall the name of the people that took us, but it was the BEST! They were very knowledgeable and found a GREAT spot to see MANY whales. We were very thrilled.
Read luvtazzie's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image PrincessPapaya
Sep 2018
Small boat. 17 passengers. Saw several whales. Good photo opportunities without big crowds.
Read PrincessPapaya's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: World travel
Member Image bobjenky
Sep 2018
The whale-watching part was good. We got to see several whale feeding and diving. The boat operator was experienced, and there was a naturalist on board to explain what we were seeing and give information on whales and other sea life. The bus ride to the board was about 25-minutes. The boat had comfortable indoor seating with windows all around for maximum viewing, and a concession stand with hot food, snacks, and drinks (coffee and donuts were complimentary).
Read bobjenky's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MisterXRadio
Sep 2018
It was a blast. Just the excitement from the potential of seeing any wildlife was enough, but is enhanced once you actually see something.
Read MisterXRadio's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image roadbugs
Sep 2018
Great tour and fabulous price! Got half off as the vendor was trying to fill the boat!
Read roadbugs's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: M&M tours
Member Image Jaysee25
Sep 2018
Part of our excursion was cancelled, but we only found out about it once we were off the ship. We did not receive a timely notification. Had to make a decision on the spot about what tour to do. Went with a different tour. It was not worth it. I saw more whales from our balcony. Had I known, I would have chosen to spend more time by a glacier which had some beautiful hikes. There was a two mile hike to a waterfall that we couldn't take due to time limitation.
Read Jaysee25's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image WandaLeeBee
Sep 2018
We saw several whales and were even lucky enough to see one breach! I wish we had been a little closer--it seemed like the other excursion boats went in closer than ours.
Read WandaLeeBee's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruiserdrew
Sep 2018
Went on an NOAA research vessel with a small group. Couldn't have been better.
Read Cruiserdrew's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 2Long2NxtCrz
Aug 2018
Small group, very personalized, great ship captain and informative naturalist. A wonderful day and I highly recommend!
Read 2Long2NxtCrz's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Harv & Marv's
Member Image NanaBCD
Aug 2018
Humpback Whales, sea lions, seals, otters while enjoying narrative from native Alaskans. Awesome!
Read NanaBCD's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Joscobur
Aug 2018
We found a small tour operator who gave us a great deal and promised whale sightings or a refund. On the way to the Auke Bay marina our driver gave us a side tour to the Mendenhall Glacier. Although it was raining off and on through the day, we stayed dry and sighted many Humpbacks and Sea Lions and Glaciers from the deck of the catamaran. On the return bus ride we saw much of Juneau including a myriad of bald eagles perched on lamp posts.
Read Joscobur's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rachsan
Aug 2018
If you are going whale watching, so much better on these small boats that carry 15 passengers. They always seem to find many whales, and you learn a lot
Read rachsan's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Tours Galore
Member Image bingomamma19
Aug 2018
This one took us to mendenhall glacier first for about an hour then on a boat to go whale watching. We got so see a lot of whales on this boat, they had food and drinks for sale and the 2 story boat was spacious
Read bingomamma19's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image TDHNJ
Aug 2018
Booked independently with Juneautours.com for whale watching and Mendenhall Glacier. They put us on plenty of whales, provided transportation to/from the glacier and gave us plenty of time to walk to Nugget Falls, where as if we chose the cruise excursion for this tour, we would've only had 45-minutes at Mendenhall Glacier and would not have any time to walk to Nugget Falls (1 mile each way).
Read TDHNJ's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: JuneauTours.com
Member Image Spannymammy
Aug 2018
Saw about 5 whales who popped up approx 12 times plus sealions. The Tour guy had a wicked sense of humour. It was a very wet day but we enjoyed the whole experience. Plus net lovely flow cruisers from America .
Read Spannymammy's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JAGR
Aug 2018
Used Harv and Marv's for a private Whale watching charter. Captain Christine was very good, and we had a great time and fantastic photos of whales, "Whale Tails,", sea otters, eagles and the scenery. T
Read JAGR's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Harv and Marv's
Member Image Chumloid
Aug 2018
Good tour. Saw whales. Mendenhall glacier a little disappointing
Read Chumloid's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image carolrford
Aug 2018
Amazing! Great Guide, Shannon and Captain Michael on the Gastineau Guiding tour. We saw several whales many times and learned a lot about them and their habitat. A great tour, totally worth the money and time!
Read carolrford's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image DebRonLin
Aug 2018
Combined tour, saw whales and other wild life. Ourcrew very friendly and informative.
Read DebRonLin's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Grenouille21
Aug 2018
Despite the rain and wind, this was really cool. We saw several whales, and learned a lot about whale behavior.
Read Grenouille21's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image deejuliet
Aug 2018
We got off the ship and our bus was waiting. Horton got us to the glacier 1/2 early so we had extra time and were able to hike to the falls and go to the visitor center as well. We saw a bear from just a few feet away, which was awesome!! On the boat we Saw tons of Humpback whales (wish we could have been closer!), harbor seals, California sea lions and one sea otter! Great Day!!
Read deejuliet's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image WendyTillotson
Aug 2018
Whale watching was a bit of a letdown as all we saw was a little bit of the whales backs and a tail here and there. Would have preferred more time at the Mendenhall Glacier.
Read WendyTillotson's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image KerriY
Aug 2018
Very fun. It was raining and the seas were rough but we still saw whales and had a great time. They served us a bagel with salmon cream cheese, coffee, hot chocolate,and water. The boat was enclosed and warm or you could be outside.
Read KerriY's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Jet Boat Tours
Member Image Aurora Sunshine
Aug 2018
The boat tour was very nice. Out for a couple of hours. We saw some whales but a bit far away. The lodge and the food was great,
Read Aurora Sunshine's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Aurora Sunshine
Aug 2018
The boat tour was very nice. Out for a couple of hours. We saw some whales but a bit far away. The lodge and the food was great,
Read Aurora Sunshine's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links