Juneau Whale Watching Excursion Reviews

Juneau Whale Watching cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience an intimate encounter with Humpback and Orca whales on a scenic whale watching tour around Juneau harbor.
Member Image Tarsen
1 review
Aug 2017
This was a last-minute and unplanned excursion. Juneau Tours gave us a good deal. We were taken by bus up to Mendenhall Glacier park. The driver was informative on the way and made sure we knew exactly where and when to meet to return. We did our own thing at the park but saw the glacier, spawning salmon and a Black Bear with her two cubs fishing for Salmon. A bus took us to the harbour where we boarded a boat to go whale watching. Both the Captain, Jordan and the two ladies helping out (Sammy, and the other whose name I can't remember) were friendly and knowledgeable. We saw quite of few whales, including one very close to the boat. This was definitely a day we'll always remember.
Read Tarsen's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Juneau Tours.
Member Image Cutequail
1 review
Aug 2017
Staff seemed to care that we see as many whales and sea lions as possible! Great energy from Captain and his crew.
Read Cutequail's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Vanderneucker63
1 review
Jul 2017
This Whale Watch was with Allen Marine. It was a big comfortable boat. We saw four whales. The captain and crew were excellent.
Read Vanderneucker63's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image GoQueenBee
1 review
Jul 2017
We spent about 2 - 3 hours cruising the inland passage around Juneau. We saw numerous seals and 3 whales. We spent about 30 min with the whales which was the highlight. The boat was adequate except that there weren't enough to seats. We had to stand the whole time which was ok but if you can't you better be in the front of the line. No one was giving up their seat!
Read GoQueenBee's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Dusty Rose69
1 review
Jul 2017
EXCELLENT!!!! Saw Humpbacks and Stellar Sea Lions. The tour guides were wonderful and the boat was very comfortable. Very well planned and a highlight of our trip.
Read Dusty Rose69's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image retmntcruiser15
1 review
Jul 2017
We saw sooo many whales!! It was awesome. A Salmon Bake was also included in the tour and
Read retmntcruiser15's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image yiayiat
1 review
Jul 2017
Our dog sledding excursion was cancelled due to weather. So at the last minute we did the Whale watching which was good but would have rather been on the dog sled
Read yiayiat's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image STEVENJAN
1 review
Jul 2017
This was the evening whale watching trip. We saw 4 whales and 1 stayed around us for 1/2 hour.
Read STEVENJAN's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bellringer43
1 review
Jul 2017
We booked the whale watching and Mendenhall Glacier combined tour. We saw humpback whales, seals, sea lions, eagles, and some dalls porpoises. Well worth it to experience both together.
Read bellringer43's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bpiro
1 review
Jul 2017
Absolutely unbelievable experience. Up close and personal with humpback whales, orcas and porpoises.
Read bpiro's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Costco
Member Image Dalmore
2 reviews
Jul 2017
Saw quite a few whales jumping, feeding, etc. Great rip. Would do again.
Read Dalmore's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Silverspruce
1 review
Jul 2017
Got to see several whales, very nice sightseeing vessel
Read Silverspruce's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Debi Harman
1 review
Jul 2017
Fantastic day with a research vessel. We pulled exploration pots to see what is in the waters and looking for invasive species. Looked for whales and logged descriptions of hose we saw. Great experience.
Read Debi Harman's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image HollyN25
1 review
Jul 2017
Our whale watching was AMAZING!!! We were fortunate enough to see a pod of 6-8 orcas (apparently quite rare), and watch them for about a half-hour, and then rode out further to watch a pod of about 10-12 humpbacks for about an hour. We saw bubble net feeding, breaching, blowing, diving, etc. The commentator was knowledgeable and fun, and we learned a LOT! We were with Allen Marine, which is a fairly large boat, and we didn’t feel sick at all. Because it’s larger we weren’t allowed to purposely get as close to the whales as some of the smaller boats, but some of the whales came closer to us! They had some free snacks, plus other options for purchase, and had restrooms. TIP: I recommend sitting up on top because you’re probably going to want to go up there for viewing anyway.
Read HollyN25's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image joelkmcw
4 reviews
Jul 2017
Good tour. Saw several whales - both humpback and orcas.
Read joelkmcw's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Best of Alaska Tours
Member Image Tntcruiser1240
1 review
Jul 2017
Outstanding excursion. Saw many Humpback and a pod of Orca whales, seals and sea lions. Great photos and videos. Highly highly recommend... even the rain couldn't spoil this trip.
Read Tntcruiser1240's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image boydnick
1 review
Jul 2017
We were fed well and saw a lot of whales.
Read boydnick's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image absaxon
1 review
Jul 2017
Amazing experience - we were lucky enough to find a family of Killer Whales and followed them along. But even more spectacular was finding a group of Humpback Whales doing what we learned was called Bubble Netting. The tour guide Marina was wonderfully enthusiastic and informative. The captain was great too. Comfortable boat with great views, however we barely stayed in our seats.
Read absaxon's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Rulers Mom
2 reviews
Jul 2017
We did the 6 person small boat tour. It was perfect. Lots of humpback whales with our Captain/guide, Liz. She follows the whales to Hawaii for part of the year, too.
Read Rulers Mom's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Harv & Marv
Member Image yankeegirlinkiwiland
1 review
Jul 2017
We saw heaps of whales - they may have been 'bubble feeding' (swimming around together but not popping their heads out of the water', stunning scenery. Tour left at 11.30 and included a 'snack' - be warned - it was one granola bar and a very small bottle of water. We then carried on the Mendenhall glacier. NO other food options and we returned after 4pm. Would have packed a lunch from the cruise ship or pre-purchased sandwiches if we had known. We were starving. The captain (Jason) and one of the guides (Carter) were fab. The "naturalist' was annoying. He kept trying to get everyone to cheer and yell for everything. He didn't tell us anything we couldnt have read from a short pamphlet. I'm not sure what he was expecting - we were out for a relaxing whale watch, not a rowdy drinking tour. It was good when he finally shut up. Would do again but hope for a different naturalist.
Read yankeegirlinkiwiland's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RBaker
1 review
Jul 2017
Awesome excursion. Saw several humpback whales in a pod bubble feeding.
Read RBaker's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tiffmeyer
1 review
Jul 2017
We saw the whales bubble net feeding. It was amazing. The boat furnished binoculars. Be quick with your camera to capture the whales.
Read tiffmeyer's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dragon_J
3 reviews
Jul 2017
Saw a pod feeding and crating a bubble net!
Read dragon_J's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Juneau tours
Member Image hlsess
1 review
Jun 2017
Captain Harry was excellent- our group of 12 were the only ones on his boat We found Flame the local whale and watched her for 30 minutes- sun started to shine- we had no sun as of yet!!
Read hlsess's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: WEather Permitting
Member Image Rustyf4
2 reviews
Jun 2017
great experience seeing whales; operator really knew their info and the waters. They were great about dropping us in town to shop and visit. Great experience.
Read Rustyf4's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line

Sponsored links