Skagway River Rafting/Eagle Preserve Excursion Reviews

Skagway River Rafting/Eagle Preserve cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Float down Skagway’s river over gentle rapids toward the Eagle Preserve to observe some of Alaska's finest species.
Member Image odysseus1
1 review
Aug 2017
Eagle Preserve Float Adventure and Cruise. This was terrific. There were six of us to a boat plus our outstanding guide. We saw dozens of bald eagles.It was a great experience. Nice lunch at the end.
Read odysseus1's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image STEVENJAN
1 review
Jul 2017
This was a terrific trip with plenty of eagles.
Read STEVENJAN's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ashelbie
2 reviews
Jul 2017
Longest day in port here. We spent the morning walking through town (we only spent about 45 minutes in town, and that includes the 25 minutes we spent at a local coffee shop having a latte) to see the sights. It's very "old west" and touristy. We bought a few postcards. We also took a walk to a lookout point that my husband read about on Trip Advisor. That took roughly 45 minutes and was a moderate hike over some rocks and up and down stairs. We had a great view of our ship from across the bay! We had plenty of time to return to ship for lunch. The excursion took us on a ferry boat across the fjord to the Eagle preserve. I wish we would have had time to walk through the town of Haines. Our driver was excellent and knowledgeable. We liked the river cruise, but it was raining and we only saw a couple of eagles. Our boat captain did take us to a couple of quiet lake areas and we could see trout and salmon swimming in the water, but otherwise we didn't see any wildlife.
Read ashelbie's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image absaxon
1 review
Jul 2017
Our guide Pat was a young native Alaskan, born and raised in Haines and that was fascinating, as he was able to give us a great idea of what it was like growing up in a small remote town in Alaska. He was extremely capable and knowledgeable and STRONG! We saw many bald eagles and learned quite a bit of history and current information about the beautiful river and area. It was nice that it was a fun ride, and we didn't have to do much more than sit and enjoy!
Read absaxon's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image crusielover536
1 review
Jun 2017
This was so much fun! We saw so much wild life, and the raft part was so amazing. We went so fast and were given ugly bright orange suits to wear, but it was so worth it. I wouldn't recommend this young children or elderly people, because the raft goes very fast and does donuts and tight turns for entertainment.
Read crusielover536's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lramirez2000
1 review
May 2017
Nice to see Alaska from a a river raft. You will probably see more wildlife when the salmon are running- not the case in May.
Read lramirez2000's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image erikerik
1 review
Aug 2016
Staff were attentive. Nice to go beyond civilisation.
Read erikerik's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image csmith_44
1 review
Jun 2016
We enjoyed the rafting on the river and were able to see about five eagles up in trees, which according to the guide wasn't too bad. The water wasn't rough and our guide was experienced and informative. Tom Lang was our guide on the bus ride to where we got in the rafts, and he was extremely knowledgeable about the area and was very entertaining to listen to as he shared story after story. He was a highlight of the trip. The lunch on the riverbank after the ride was nice. Overall, we enjoyed the trip and would likely to do it again, although again, it was pretty pricey, $209 per person.
Read csmith_44's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Nradamo
1 review
Jun 2016
Saw very little wild life. Can't blame the guide as they don't control the animals.
Read Nradamo's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Jane2357
2 reviews
May 2016
Well run tour with a raft ride through the Eagle Preserve. Saw many eagles and also our first Moose of the trip!!!
Read Jane2357's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mommala
1 review
May 2016
Phenomenal experience! Taken on ferry thru splendid fijord to tiny, amazing town of Haines, then bus ride on scenic by-way route to Chilkat Eagle Preserve & rowed by 4-passenger raft on awesome river amid nesting & fishing eagles. Excellent, informative guides, good equipment, & tasty lunch spread. Rubber boots for rafting provided. Wear clothing layers for wind & weather changes. Felt like THIS is the real Alaska!
Read mommala's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ewormuth
1 review
Aug 2015
If I could give it 10 stars, I would. We took a ferry from Skagway to Haines, and then took a float trip through the Eagle Preserve. It was wonderful -- we were the only two people on the trip, and we had two hours of floating through the quiet preserve, seeing many eagles and other birds. Highly recommended.
Read ewormuth's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image retsofmamie
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Saw moose, bear, Eagles and trumpeter swans. Even though it was cold and rainy it was wonderful. Tour company supplied all wet and warm weather gear and warm lunch.
Read retsofmamie's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image drsparky53
1 review
Jul 2015
Oh what an experience. The shallow waters provide an excellent area for the eagles. While eagles can be seen on other excursion, I don't know of any that can experience so many eagles, especially junvenilles. The rafting was so relaxing. What a wonderful way to spend an afternoon. Lunch was also provided. Steve was a great guide. He is a local resident and was able to educate us not only on the eagle preserve but on the way of life in Alaska.
Read drsparky53's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Susan K
1 review
Jul 2015
River rafting and eagle cruise was very fun! Loved seeing all the eagles. This is in a very remote area
Read Susan K's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image BBBJ1998
5 reviews
Jul 2015
The rafting was great with great guides and rafters - alas not one eagle spotted.
Read BBBJ1998's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wbarkwill
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Saw three or four bald eagles, nice scenery, not much else in the way of wildlife.
Read wbarkwill's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cantorindahouse
3 reviews
May 2015
Great company. Realizing we would be running late on the front part of the excursion on the White Pass Bus Tour, Chris, the owner had sandwiches waiting for my wife and I. We had a wonderful experience with Frontier and in Skagway.
Read Cantorindahouse's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Frontier Excursions & Adventures
Member Image Tresa J
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Great trip. It was a little long, but well worth it. Bus ride to catamaran, catamaran to Haines, bus to Eagle Preserve, and then rafting down the Chilkat river. Our guides on every leg of the trip were great. Very friendly, gracious, and everything was on time. I can't say enough about them! My 82 year old mother-in-law was a little leery about the rafting part of the trip, but the guides made her and everyone else feel very comfortable. No rough water. You may get a little stuck on the bottom a few times, but no worries. The guide will get you going even if they have to get in the water. We saw about 40 eagles sitting on the sandbars catching fish with sea gulls trying to (in vain) to steal them. Saw many juvenile eagles. The scenery was beautiful. You really got a feel for the true wilderness and beauty of Alaska on this trip. Book early or you'll end up on the trains with hundreds of other boat passengers! This is definitely the trip to take in Skagway.

Read Tresa J's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image brimmp
1 review
Jun 2013

Leisure raft trip for a hour and a half through the Eagle Preserve.

Read brimmp's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SurfTurf
1 review
May 2012
Great river guides, and lots of bald eagles!
Read SurfTurf's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links