Grand Turk Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Grand Turk Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
An island tour is one of the most efficient ways to learn about the historical heartbeat of Grand Turk -- the capital island of Turks and Caicos.
Member Image JazzCruiser17
2 reviews
Apr 2017
The description above (and the one in the Carnival “Fun Ashore” brochure) is quite a colorful description of this shore excursion. The “stop” at the Air Force Base was merely a drive by. We did stop for a minute at the replica of the Friendship Seven Space Capsule. There was not a stop at a museum. We did stop at a beach for 20 minutes, and we did go to “downtown” where the “colonial buildings of the 1800’s in their majestic beauty” consisted of a few stores (mostly closed, since it was Good Friday), a public restroom in a yard full of trash, and a burned-down library. We did not “sample luscious local cuisine.” We did spot a few horses and donkeys “basking in the rays of the sun.” We did stop at Salt Cay Town, where we heard about the salt trade, and the staff poured some salt water on us to make us healthier and younger-looking. The high point was the “Circle of Life” which was an area where the guides displayed sea creatures mentioned above, and guests were able to hold and touch them. This was amusing and a nice photo opportunity. The “Hummer” golf-carts were fun to ride in, and the staff (Romeo and Lisa) was friendly and kept asking if we were having fun. It was somewhat interesting to get a look at the island, but we felt that this was over-priced for what is actually included. I’m not sure it would have made much difference if we were there on a day other than Good Friday – there’s not much to see on Grand Turk.
Read JazzCruiser17's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Coasterman
1 review
Mar 2017
The tour took us from one end of the island to the other viewing government center. The downtown area such as it is. We traveled out to the light house which is very historic but in need of a paint job. Our guide went over the history of the islands in detail and wa very knowledgeable.
Read Coasterman's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Banditswife
4 reviews
Feb 2017
Our driver was wonderful, helpful, informative. My main complaint would be the light house portion- there was an additional fee to just get on the light house grounds which were blah IMO, No admittance into the light house or buildings. Another minor complaint would be there was not enough time at the stops for shipping photos. Our driver was wonderful with my 90 yr old mother.
Read Banditswife's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Papa J's
Member Image SOMBRERO6
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Nice tour of the island. Enjoyed the little market area and seeing the Space Capsule.
Read SOMBRERO6's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Island Trams
Member Image seapointer
8 reviews
Feb 2017
Tour guide was very likable but not really much to see.
Read seapointer's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image valorsmom
1 review
Feb 2017
Very diappointing. Don't take this if you have mobility issues.
Read valorsmom's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Senior Single
9 reviews
Feb 2017
Reservation ticket stated "10 minute walk to pick up point", but it was more like a 25 minute walk. Not what I expected.
Read Senior Single's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Shoreexcursioneers
Member Image nana2many
7 reviews
Jan 2017
Good overview of the Island and English is spoken, so no problem understanding the guide/driver. Really nice island to visit. Our first time there.
Read nana2many's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Lynanne
1 review
Dec 2016
We traveled the entire length of the island in an open-air bus. The guide was very interesting and the stops he chose were interesting. We stayed long enough at each stop to be able to fully enjoy them.
Read Lynanne's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image saotey
2 reviews
Nov 2016
good tour, hold out for one with wifi, some do
Read saotey's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image SeaTeaAndMe
2 reviews
Nov 2016
It was a beautiful Island, with Donkeys everywhere! 2 miles wide by 7miles long. We did enjoy the tour but really wish they stopped more places.
Read SeaTeaAndMe's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image TwiceAYearCruiser
1 review
Nov 2016
Albert was very knowledgeable. Appreciated his depth of background information.
Read TwiceAYearCruiser's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mary59sue
1 review
Nov 2016
Saw all of the sights, enjoyed hearing the information about the island.
Read mary59sue's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image spotsadog
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Interesting and thorough tour.
Read spotsadog's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JRoo2013
3 reviews
Oct 2016
Hummer Wild Life tour was excellent. One of the best tours I have taken in ten years of cruising and one of the best islands I have visited in the caribbean.
Read JRoo2013's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Jvert7
1 review
Sep 2016
grand turk by Hummer
Read Jvert7's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Rusty219
1 review
Aug 2016
Great tour and enjoyable guide
Read Rusty219's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image neveragainpride
1 review
Aug 2016
same old thing...stop where we can sell you something
Read neveragainpride's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image shagram
2 reviews
May 2016
Took a tour of this small island and learned of their history.
Read shagram's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Tracey/Thom
4 reviews
May 2016
Short 2 hour tour in a mini van. Nice way to see the whole island, salt mines, wild donkeys etc.
Read Tracey/Thom's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image greyx4
1 review
Apr 2016
The trolly tour was nice for the price. It was interesting to see the island and the donkeys.
Read greyx4's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Clawman
4 reviews
Apr 2016
We walked off the pier and found an independent excursion. We paid $25 pp (Ships price was $50pp) and had a 4 hour tour of the island. We did need to walk just past the cruise property to board the trolly. We traveled on a trolly type vehicle where we were given a guided tour of the island. The tour guide was a local to the island and was a wealth of knowledge. We had 3 different stops where we were able to shop local items and we also visited the light house at the opposite site of the island! Highly recommended!
Read Clawman's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Island Tours
Member Image Webstar32
1 review
Apr 2016
Tour was informative and very nicely put together. Learned the history of this beautiful island, about the culture, and at the end was treated with local cuisine. I would take this excursion again 100%
Read Webstar32's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image M's Girl
1 review
Mar 2016
The tour guide was very informative, and it was a great way to learn about the island. Streets were really bumpy in some places, but overall, a great tour.
Read M's Girl's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image bestofXs
6 reviews
Jan 2016
Walked off the HAL Oosterdam on 1/31 and into the cruise line built village of the typical retail shops & a Jimmy Buffet Margaritaville. Spotted a person for the Island Trams Limited behind a kiosk. For $25 per adult, they offered a 2 hour tour of the island. We were told to go to the beach and find the meeting place & pay. About 1/2 hour later we were told to walk out into the parking lot & then outside the village compound. Found the waiting open-air trams after about a 10 minute walk. We were each given a bottle of cold water. Slow drive, past a replica of John Glenn's space capsule Friendship 7, then into downtown Cockburn Town. Stopped for 20 minutes near the Turks & Caicos National Museum (but not enough time to visit it) Went past the many salt ponds and the unique Turks Head Cactus. Our driver told us that there was a 40% excise tax to bring a car to Grand Turks & gas was $6 a gallon. Most of the buildings were boarded up or very 3rd world quality. Next a drive to the north end of the island to visit the Lighthouse which has a $3 entrance fee. No one on our tram paid to go in. The highlight of our tour was the wild donkeys that came to be feed. The donkeys used to be used to pull the salt out of the ponds, but they were let loose after their services were no longer needed. And they have definitely multiplied! They are everywhere, they even manage to open gates and get in residential gardens.
Read bestofXs's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Island Trams Limited

Sponsored links