Costa Maya Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore one of the island's "best kept secrets" in Mexico by touring the Mayan Ruins. Learn about myths, legends, and Mayan culture while enjoying its beautiful landscape.
Member Image disnemimi
5 reviews
Feb 2018
Mayans throw the ages...excellent guide and enjoyed eating authentic food at the Mayan descendant’s Home.
Read disnemimi's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wagardsmith
2 reviews
Jan 2018
We had a great tour. Lisbeth was our guide, and she is one-half Mayan, so she was very knowledgeable about the Mayan history. We enjoyed this more than we thought we would.
Read wagardsmith's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carilu
1 review
Jan 2018
Not too much to see, simple lunch prepared by Mayan family.
Read carilu's full Costa Deliziosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image cinn317@gmail.com
1 review
Jan 2018
Great journey but it is far from port. Over 2 hrs away and we were stuffed into a tour van instead of a bus but was ok if you dont get wedged into back row. On the way back we asked for the child and his mom to sit back there so that we could actually move our limbs and the ride was much more enjoyable. The ruins were awesome and our tour guide was amazing. Wear walking shoes with traction as the paths are uneven and bit steep in a place or two.
Read cinn317@gmail.com's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Dr. Paul
1 review
Jan 2018
The high point of the trip. See main review. By the way, the ship excursion board did not list it; we got on only because we accessed it another way via wifi on the ship. See main review.
Read Dr. Paul's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image fireladyUSA
1 review
Dec 2017
After a bit of confusion in locating the local tour office, we traveled very comfortably in a Mercedes van with an excellent local guide and driver. It was an easy walk to the newly excavated ruins site, and afterwards, a bouncy ride to a private lagoon for lunch, kayaking, and relaxation.
Read fireladyUSA's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mayaart
3 reviews
Dec 2017
My second visit to Kohunlich and more in depth because that was the only ruin visited so we had more time to explore. Got to see Howler monkeys and the Temple of the Heads and got a feel of the overall layout of the complex. Excellent guide. Lunch was terrible. They could not handle the number of the people that were there at the same time. Our table waited a long time for lunch which arrived lukewarm but we were hungry and it was edible..
Read mayaart's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Deedeelevy
1 review
Dec 2017
The trip was long, but the tour guide was very knowledgeable and made the time pass. She did leave time for a siesta before we arrived at our destination. Our walk around the ruins was well-timed, her informational speeches spread out between time to explore and take photos.
Read Deedeelevy's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sandbag7
2 reviews
Dec 2017
Wonderful 7.5 hour tour of Dzibanche and Kuhunlich; 3 passengers and a guide plus driver in a nice van; guide was superb as were the sites; even the turkey cheese sandwhich was prepared with care!
Read sandbag7's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image SpringerMum
1 review
Nov 2017
Lovely day with a great guide. Much less expensive than going with the similar ship tour. And it was more private.
Read SpringerMum's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Johns mom
1 review
Nov 2017
Excellent guide and excellent tour. Butterfly farm was very neat to see.
Read Johns mom's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image prattusa2712
1 review
Nov 2017
Long drive for some pretty ordinary ruins - no carvings, generally poor condition, and very little there (Cacchoben (or something like that)
Read prattusa2712's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cmnutritionow@hotmail.com
2 reviews
Oct 2017
This was the best Mayan ruins that I have seen. I have visited other locations in the Mexican Yucatan and Chacchoben is the best experience so far. The Tour guides are all professional and courteous.
Read cmnutritionow@hotmail.com's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image GaNewSeniors
3 reviews
Sep 2017
Cruz and Co did a nice job with the tour. We would recommend it, the tour part at least. The lunch package isn't the greatest so if you just do the tour you'll have an interesting and informative time. You will do some walking and climbing so wear decent footware.
Read GaNewSeniors's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kasellr
1 review
Sep 2017
Very interesting experience. Mayan ruins have always been on my dream list to see. Guide was great.
Read Kasellr's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image gskpk
1 review
Aug 2017
Interesting visit to Mayan ruins in the middle of a rain forest although they were little different to those seem a couple of days earlier in Belize I think these were better and would suggest just doing these ruins unless you have a specific interest in Mayan ruins We had a torrential tropical storm so would advise taking some rainwear (eg a poncho)
Read gskpk's full MSC Opera cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image CruisingClaire
2 reviews
Jul 2017
Costa Maya was built as a cruise port so it has huge amount of bars and stores and it is very hard to find your way through the mazes of stores to the street. Took us 10 minutes to find our way through after asking for help 3x. There is a bell tower that had a "pre-booked tour" sign on it. I think if you may be able to get out that way. We pre-booked a Native Choice "Mayan Experience" tour via their website: https://www.thenativechoice.com. 5.5 hours. $75 per adult / $65 kids. It took us about 40 minutes to walk from the cruise ship, through the shopping area, and the 4 blocks to the Native Choice office. You can take a taxi as well. tour leaves 1 hour after the ship gets in so we were one of the last people to make it. We arrived back about 45 minutes before we had to be back on the ship. Bus ride (1 hour) to the Chaccoben Ruins for 1.5 to 2 hours of walking around (as opposed to 30 minutes like the cruise tours) and then to a Mayan families' house for a home-cooked Mayan meal where you can practice making your own tortilla. The ruins had lots of shady trees which helped but it was very hot and humid. Mostly flat ground with some areas of tree roots. If you want to walk up higher to get closer to the pyramid temples, you need to walk up some irregular slightly steep steps. We were there in the dry season . In the wet season (Dec - May), the roads could be flooded and the temple grounds muddy and lots of mosquitos. I had natural repellent on and did not get one bite which is amazing for me. It was a top notch tour with plenty of cold water for you that they carted around in a cooler at the ruins, a small group, air conditioned van, and wonderful food with hibiscus tea. The few crafts and spices that the ladies sold were super cheap ($6 for a bowl, spices for $1). Ivan was our fantastic guide for the ruins. I wish I had tipped him before we left the ruins since we had another guide, Maria for the food part.
Read CruisingClaire's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Lympia7
1 review
Jul 2017
The 45 min drive was on a nice air conditioned bus. The tour guide gave us background information going there. We got bottles of water from the driver. The Chacchoben Ruins were pretty impressive. We did the shorter tour and that was enough time time to see everything.
Read Lympia7's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lmgcruiser
1 review
Jun 2017
We did a tour through The Native Choice Tours and we HIGHLY recommend it. This was one of the best parts of our trip! We went to the Kohunlich Mayan Ruins and it was truly an incredible tour. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the Native Choice building, but it felt safe. They dropped us off right at the port afterwards.
Read lmgcruiser's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice Tours
Member Image ragincajun92
1 review
Jun 2017
Chacchoben Ruins. So amazing and HOT. About a 60 minute drive to get there but so worth it. Unfortunately you can no longer climb to the top of the pyramid ruins.
Read ragincajun92's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image valerieJan Europe
1 review
Jun 2017
Kohunlich excursion very good, good guide , nice and history for the lovers just take an extra banana with you and water
Read valerieJan Europe's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SeaHorse1750
1 review
May 2017
Excellent Mayan guide who gave us not only the archeological history and facts of the ruins but the modern day update on Mayan and Mexican history.
Read SeaHorse1750's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Native Tours
Member Image Lovetulips
1 review
May 2017
These guys were fantastic! Juan Carlos is very knowledgeable and has a passion for the Mayan culture. We were given a wonderful tour by a wonderful guide, taken to a sweet little butterfly farm by a local biologist, and then returned safely with time to spare before the ship left port.
Read Lovetulips's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Mayan Tours
Member Image Dimmer
1 review
Apr 2017
informative and enoyable. Personally, it was too hot for me but others liked it
Read Dimmer's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image myyear16
1 review
Apr 2017
Our favourite excursion. Very knowledgeable, well organized. Excellent meal prepared by Mayan women.
Read myyear16's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice Mayan Experience

Sponsored links