Costa Maya Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore one of the island's "best kept secrets" in Mexico by touring the Mayan Ruins. Learn about myths, legends, and Mayan culture while enjoying its beautiful landscape.
Member Image videoscenes
1 review
May 2018
it wasOK. mayan temple was small and the tour of it was very quick. Mayan family was nice...bus ride was OK but a bit long
Read videoscenes's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jhimsfavourite
1 review
Apr 2018
We went to a Mayan ruin site with Edder and Ebel. They were amazing. Edder really knows what he is talking about, has great English, has a very good sense of humour, and is very friendly. Overall he is very good at his job. Ebel was a great driver and we felt very safe in his hands. Very nice guy. The site was awesome and super fun to explore. As well as very educational.
Read Jhimsfavourite's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ccma229
1 review
Apr 2018
We took a pleasant bus ride (about an hour in an air conditioned bus) to the site. Our guide was very knowledgeable and offered great background on the culture. We returned to port and enjoyed wandering through the shopping village.
Read ccma229's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jeefers
1 review
Apr 2018
Paid a little more, and got a small group tour of 8 people, with water, soda, and beer. got out early, and were there before the busloads and crowds. Well worth the extra for the small tour.
Read Jeefers's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image DaveVal
1 review
Apr 2018
Very informative. The guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about his heritage. Well worth the money.
Read DaveVal's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image drella77
2 reviews
Apr 2018
Ruins were neat. along time in bus, great guide, Alex & driver, Carlos. Glad we got to see'em
Read drella77's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image GizFriend
2 reviews
Mar 2018
As described in the main cruise review, we really enjoyed this. It was a long day. Definitely book through the cruise line. We got back about 10 minutes after the all aboard time.
Read GizFriend's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image madance1952
1 review
Mar 2018
wasn't hard on the legs. loved seeing past history
Read madance1952's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image aamons
5 reviews
Mar 2018
Kohunlich Mayan ruins are pretty awesome - not a stunning as Tikal, but well worth the visit. Downside was a bus ride of 2+ hours each way for only 1 hour 20 minutes on site.
Read aamons's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image clxpert
2 reviews
Feb 2018
Chachoben ruins are a smaller Mayan site, but worth seeing. Our guide was knowledgable and I could tell he loved these ruins. He also was well-versed in the other Mayan ruins, and gave us reasons to visit the other ruins, too.
Read clxpert's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jleighk10
1 review
Feb 2018
We took a 50 minute bus ride to the start of our walking tour. Our guide was excellent. Enjoyed the ruins.
Read jleighk10's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bobaloo624u
1 review
Feb 2018
Knowledgeable tour guide and great history
Read Bobaloo624u's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Yatarna
1 review
Feb 2018
Some may find the 2 hour bus ride rather boring. I love Mayan history so it did not bother me and in fact had a good nap on the ride back! Ruins were well kep, the large group was a bit tough for the guide to manage (although he was very good).
Read Yatarna's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image disnemimi
5 reviews
Feb 2018
Mayans throw the ages...excellent guide and enjoyed eating authentic food at the Mayan descendant’s Home.
Read disnemimi's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wagardsmith
2 reviews
Jan 2018
We had a great tour. Lisbeth was our guide, and she is one-half Mayan, so she was very knowledgeable about the Mayan history. We enjoyed this more than we thought we would.
Read wagardsmith's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carilu
1 review
Jan 2018
Not too much to see, simple lunch prepared by Mayan family.
Read carilu's full Costa Deliziosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image Travellingman 210450
2 reviews
Jan 2018
This tour to the Mayan Ruins was outstanding and the Guide Enrico was a 6 Star Guide, guests on a tour organised by MSC stopped to listen to him and told us that they had learn't more in 5 minutes listening to him than they had in the 2 hour tour with their guide.
Read Travellingman 210450's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: cruiseexcursions.com
Member Image cinn317@gmail.com
1 review
Jan 2018
Great journey but it is far from port. Over 2 hrs away and we were stuffed into a tour van instead of a bus but was ok if you dont get wedged into back row. On the way back we asked for the child and his mom to sit back there so that we could actually move our limbs and the ride was much more enjoyable. The ruins were awesome and our tour guide was amazing. Wear walking shoes with traction as the paths are uneven and bit steep in a place or two.
Read cinn317@gmail.com's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Dr. Paul
1 review
Jan 2018
The high point of the trip. See main review. By the way, the ship excursion board did not list it; we got on only because we accessed it another way via wifi on the ship. See main review.
Read Dr. Paul's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image fireladyUSA
1 review
Dec 2017
After a bit of confusion in locating the local tour office, we traveled very comfortably in a Mercedes van with an excellent local guide and driver. It was an easy walk to the newly excavated ruins site, and afterwards, a bouncy ride to a private lagoon for lunch, kayaking, and relaxation.
Read fireladyUSA's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mayaart
3 reviews
Dec 2017
My second visit to Kohunlich and more in depth because that was the only ruin visited so we had more time to explore. Got to see Howler monkeys and the Temple of the Heads and got a feel of the overall layout of the complex. Excellent guide. Lunch was terrible. They could not handle the number of the people that were there at the same time. Our table waited a long time for lunch which arrived lukewarm but we were hungry and it was edible..
Read mayaart's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Deedeelevy
1 review
Dec 2017
The trip was long, but the tour guide was very knowledgeable and made the time pass. She did leave time for a siesta before we arrived at our destination. Our walk around the ruins was well-timed, her informational speeches spread out between time to explore and take photos.
Read Deedeelevy's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sandbag7
3 reviews
Dec 2017
Wonderful 7.5 hour tour of Dzibanche and Kuhunlich; 3 passengers and a guide plus driver in a nice van; guide was superb as were the sites; even the turkey cheese sandwhich was prepared with care!
Read sandbag7's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image SpringerMum
1 review
Nov 2017
Lovely day with a great guide. Much less expensive than going with the similar ship tour. And it was more private.
Read SpringerMum's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Johns mom
1 review
Nov 2017
Excellent guide and excellent tour. Butterfly farm was very neat to see.
Read Johns mom's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing

Sponsored links