Costa Maya Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Explore one of the island's "best kept secrets" in Mexico by touring the Mayan Ruins. Learn about myths, legends, and Mayan culture while enjoying its beautiful landscape.
Sail Date: January 2019
The tour guides through Native Choice were very knowledgeable and were native to Costa Maya. We got to see the ruins and climb on some of them. We went to a private resort on a beautiful lagoon where we got to have lunch and drinks that ... Read More
The tour guides through Native Choice were very knowledgeable and were native to Costa Maya. We got to see the ruins and climb on some of them. We went to a private resort on a beautiful lagoon where we got to have lunch and drinks that were included. We also kayaked and swam in the lagoon. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Sail Date: January 2019
Amazing Mayan pyramid complex in jungle. Very good guide as well
Amazing Mayan pyramid complex in jungle. Very good guide as well Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Sail Date: January 2019
Long bus ride to the ruins. Very limited time at the ruins. "Food" provided was laughable( sandwich with 1 thin slice of ham and 1 slice of cheese. We went on an excursion to other Mayan ruins on a previous cruise with MSC Divina ... Read More
Long bus ride to the ruins. Very limited time at the ruins. "Food" provided was laughable( sandwich with 1 thin slice of ham and 1 slice of cheese. We went on an excursion to other Mayan ruins on a previous cruise with MSC Divina and we were give a meal with chicken , rice, plantains and soda. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: MSC Cruises
Sail Date: January 2019
This was very fun for our group, but maybe not for everyone. It's a long drive to get there and we had a wonderful time climbing over the ruins and taking photos. Also, our guide was very informative.
This was very fun for our group, but maybe not for everyone. It's a long drive to get there and we had a wonderful time climbing over the ruins and taking photos. Also, our guide was very informative. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Sail Date: January 2019
Yam was great. The tour fabulous. It is walking and climbing to get the full effect. It was amazing. Came back and had local food
Yam was great. The tour fabulous. It is walking and climbing to get the full effect. It was amazing. Came back and had local food Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Sail Date: January 2019
Very cool tour of the ruins and I learned a lot about the Mayan history and ancient culture. This excursion took about an hour to get from the port to the ruins by bus. Buses were very nice, modern, comfortable and included a bathroom. ... Read More
Very cool tour of the ruins and I learned a lot about the Mayan history and ancient culture. This excursion took about an hour to get from the port to the ruins by bus. Buses were very nice, modern, comfortable and included a bathroom. Part of the trip is through a wildlife preserve area. The guide explained a lot about the Mayan history and the Yucatan Peninsula along the way. He said there have been Jaguars spotted along the road in the evenings or early morning, but the time of day we went through, we did not see any animals. At the ruins, there were a lot of people. The port had multiple cruise ships the day we got there so many were from different ships. I think people were also there from other places. All the people make it difficult to get a picture of the ruins without catching other people in the pictures. It's not an action adventure type of excursion like zip lining or snorkeling, but if you want to see the ruins, it's definitively a worthy venture. The gift shop at the ruins is small and crowded and we had less than 10 minutes to look around before we had to get back on the bus, but we had more than enough time in the port to shop around before getting back on the ship. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Sail Date: December 2018
Excellent!!! Our guide was born and raised behind the site and was part of the excavation team. His first hand knowledge made for a tour like no other Mayan ruin tour we have taken before.
Excellent!!! Our guide was born and raised behind the site and was part of the excavation team. His first hand knowledge made for a tour like no other Mayan ruin tour we have taken before. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Sail Date: December 2018
Mayan ruins not particularly interesting but as you are in the neighbourhood, why not? Wouldnt go again.
Mayan ruins not particularly interesting but as you are in the neighbourhood, why not? Wouldnt go again. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Sail Date: December 2018
Walk past the entire cruise port town. Go to the taxi stand. Get a cab to the ruins with a guide for $30 a person. The tours charge $99 a person and take you on a crowded bus.
Walk past the entire cruise port town. Go to the taxi stand. Get a cab to the ruins with a guide for $30 a person. The tours charge $99 a person and take you on a crowded bus. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Sail Date: December 2018
2 hour drive to a remote area but the ruins are extensive and teh setting is beautiful. Bus was very nice, comfy seats, good a/c and seats reclined. Kohunlich is the name of the ruins
2 hour drive to a remote area but the ruins are extensive and teh setting is beautiful. Bus was very nice, comfy seats, good a/c and seats reclined. Kohunlich is the name of the ruins Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Sail Date: November 2018
Mayan Ruins tour was excellent. long bus ride, but there was only 5 people on the tour. Guide Rose was very knowledgable and informative. Tour was well worth the price.
Mayan Ruins tour was excellent. long bus ride, but there was only 5 people on the tour. Guide Rose was very knowledgable and informative. Tour was well worth the price. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Sail Date: November 2018
Long drive to Chacchoben ruins made a pleasure by our guide who talked and talked all the way there. He was a entertaining and informative guide around the ruins, always keeping us away from the crowds, impeccable timing. Port had ... Read More
Long drive to Chacchoben ruins made a pleasure by our guide who talked and talked all the way there. He was a entertaining and informative guide around the ruins, always keeping us away from the crowds, impeccable timing. Port had plenty of shopping and entertainers. Although I thought the tequila (Patron) was more expensive here than anywhere else on cruise. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Sail Date: November 2018
Highly recommend Native Choice. A bit of a walk to office. Tour guide was great. Bus was clean. Ruins were nice but not as extensive as Tulum. But much closer to port.
Highly recommend Native Choice. A bit of a walk to office. Tour guide was great. Bus was clean. Ruins were nice but not as extensive as Tulum. But much closer to port. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Sail Date: September 2018
A MUST!!!! Fantastic ruins and accessibility to them (not for wheelchairs)
A MUST!!!! Fantastic ruins and accessibility to them (not for wheelchairs) Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Sail Date: July 2018
We had an awesome tour guide named Diana who was very knowledgeable about Mayan culture and the ruins we explored in the jungle setting.
We had an awesome tour guide named Diana who was very knowledgeable about Mayan culture and the ruins we explored in the jungle setting. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Sail Date: June 2018
It's a long day, but you can climb on the ruins and it's not something you're going to see otherwise.
It's a long day, but you can climb on the ruins and it's not something you're going to see otherwise. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Sail Date: June 2018
Met amazingly beautiful Mayan Family had fresh corn wraps with chicken made in ground
Met amazingly beautiful Mayan Family had fresh corn wraps with chicken made in ground Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Sail Date: May 2018
it wasOK. mayan temple was small and the tour of it was very quick. Mayan family was nice...bus ride was OK but a bit long
it wasOK. mayan temple was small and the tour of it was very quick. Mayan family was nice...bus ride was OK but a bit long Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Sail Date: April 2018
We went to a Mayan ruin site with Edder and Ebel. They were amazing. Edder really knows what he is talking about, has great English, has a very good sense of humour, and is very friendly. Overall he is very good at his job. Ebel was a ... Read More
We went to a Mayan ruin site with Edder and Ebel. They were amazing. Edder really knows what he is talking about, has great English, has a very good sense of humour, and is very friendly. Overall he is very good at his job. Ebel was a great driver and we felt very safe in his hands. Very nice guy. The site was awesome and super fun to explore. As well as very educational. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Sail Date: April 2018
We took a pleasant bus ride (about an hour in an air conditioned bus) to the site. Our guide was very knowledgeable and offered great background on the culture. We returned to port and enjoyed wandering through the shopping village.
We took a pleasant bus ride (about an hour in an air conditioned bus) to the site. Our guide was very knowledgeable and offered great background on the culture. We returned to port and enjoyed wandering through the shopping village. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Sail Date: April 2018
Paid a little more, and got a small group tour of 8 people, with water, soda, and beer. got out early, and were there before the busloads and crowds. Well worth the extra for the small tour.
Paid a little more, and got a small group tour of 8 people, with water, soda, and beer. got out early, and were there before the busloads and crowds. Well worth the extra for the small tour. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: MSC Cruises
Sail Date: April 2018
Very informative. The guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about his heritage. Well worth the money.
Very informative. The guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about his heritage. Well worth the money. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: MSC Cruises
Sail Date: April 2018
Ruins were neat. along time in bus, great guide, Alex & driver, Carlos. Glad we got to see'em
Ruins were neat. along time in bus, great guide, Alex & driver, Carlos. Glad we got to see'em Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Sail Date: March 2018
As described in the main cruise review, we really enjoyed this. It was a long day. Definitely book through the cruise line. We got back about 10 minutes after the all aboard time.
As described in the main cruise review, we really enjoyed this. It was a long day. Definitely book through the cruise line. We got back about 10 minutes after the all aboard time. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises