Costa Maya Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore one of the island's "best kept secrets" in Mexico by touring the Mayan Ruins. Learn about myths, legends, and Mayan culture while enjoying its beautiful landscape.
Member Image Kasellr
1 review
Sep 2017
Very interesting experience. Mayan ruins have always been on my dream list to see. Guide was great.
Read Kasellr's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CruisingClaire
2 reviews
Jul 2017
Costa Maya was built as a cruise port so it has huge amount of bars and stores and it is very hard to find your way through the mazes of stores to the street. Took us 10 minutes to find our way through after asking for help 3x. There is a bell tower that had a "pre-booked tour" sign on it. I think if you may be able to get out that way. We pre-booked a Native Choice "Mayan Experience" tour via their website: https://www.thenativechoice.com. 5.5 hours. $75 per adult / $65 kids. It took us about 40 minutes to walk from the cruise ship, through the shopping area, and the 4 blocks to the Native Choice office. You can take a taxi as well. tour leaves 1 hour after the ship gets in so we were one of the last people to make it. We arrived back about 45 minutes before we had to be back on the ship. Bus ride (1 hour) to the Chaccoben Ruins for 1.5 to 2 hours of walking around (as opposed to 30 minutes like the cruise tours) and then to a Mayan families' house for a home-cooked Mayan meal where you can practice making your own tortilla. The ruins had lots of shady trees which helped but it was very hot and humid. Mostly flat ground with some areas of tree roots. If you want to walk up higher to get closer to the pyramid temples, you need to walk up some irregular slightly steep steps. We were there in the dry season . In the wet season (Dec - May), the roads could be flooded and the temple grounds muddy and lots of mosquitos. I had natural repellent on and did not get one bite which is amazing for me. It was a top notch tour with plenty of cold water for you that they carted around in a cooler at the ruins, a small group, air conditioned van, and wonderful food with hibiscus tea. The few crafts and spices that the ladies sold were super cheap ($6 for a bowl, spices for $1). Ivan was our fantastic guide for the ruins. I wish I had tipped him before we left the ruins since we had another guide, Maria for the food part.
Read CruisingClaire's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lmgcruiser
1 review
Jun 2017
We did a tour through The Native Choice Tours and we HIGHLY recommend it. This was one of the best parts of our trip! We went to the Kohunlich Mayan Ruins and it was truly an incredible tour. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the Native Choice building, but it felt safe. They dropped us off right at the port afterwards.
Read lmgcruiser's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice Tours
Member Image ragincajun92
1 review
Jun 2017
Chacchoben Ruins. So amazing and HOT. About a 60 minute drive to get there but so worth it. Unfortunately you can no longer climb to the top of the pyramid ruins.
Read ragincajun92's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image valerieJan Europe
1 review
Jun 2017
Kohunlich excursion very good, good guide , nice and history for the lovers just take an extra banana with you and water
Read valerieJan Europe's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SeaHorse1750
1 review
May 2017
Excellent Mayan guide who gave us not only the archeological history and facts of the ruins but the modern day update on Mayan and Mexican history.
Read SeaHorse1750's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Native Tours
Member Image Lovetulips
1 review
May 2017
These guys were fantastic! Juan Carlos is very knowledgeable and has a passion for the Mayan culture. We were given a wonderful tour by a wonderful guide, taken to a sweet little butterfly farm by a local biologist, and then returned safely with time to spare before the ship left port.
Read Lovetulips's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Mayan Tours
Member Image Dimmer
1 review
Apr 2017
informative and enoyable. Personally, it was too hot for me but others liked it
Read Dimmer's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image myyear16
1 review
Apr 2017
Our favourite excursion. Very knowledgeable, well organized. Excellent meal prepared by Mayan women.
Read myyear16's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice Mayan Experience
Member Image MORR
1 review
Mar 2017
Very nice man, informative & friendly Don't have to buy water as you leave ship Tour provides water to and from ship. Nice Ruins, take lots of pictures. Lots of walking, wear comfortable shoes. Bargain at shops & get it there, bc not the same stuff back at Port. Bring CASH if shopping & for tipping tour speaker if he's good.
Read MORR's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image EllieinNJ
1 review
Mar 2017
Long, long bus ride. Nice ruins.
Read EllieinNJ's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Cookies4me
1 review
Mar 2017
Visited Kohunlich but it was a long drive, about 2 hours there and 2 hours back. Spent about an hour visiting the ruins. It's nice to be able to touch them and tour at my own pace. Tons of photos.
Read Cookies4me's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursioneer
Member Image cdmmgray
1 review
Mar 2017
In Costa Maya, Mexico, we did a walking tour of Mayan ruins, which were amazing. Very impressive and in much better condition/restoration than we expected.
Read cdmmgray's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Drenthe
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Enjoyed the trip to the ruins to see countryside. Ruins were very interesting and the line for the ladies restroom was not a surprise. Cold water was so pleasant. Back to the ship for lunch and relaxing.
Read Drenthe's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dsfromnj
5 reviews
Feb 2017
excellent guide who accompanied us to Dzibanche and Kohunlich Mayan sites.
Read dsfromnj's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image rubysue
12 reviews
Feb 2017
This tour consisted of a lot of time on the bus going between places. The ruins were interesting, but we were there a long time and I was unable to finish the tour due to the difficult walking conditions. The beach break included a late lunch buffet and free drinks on a remote beach north of the port. We got back VERY late and had to hoof it to the ship on the long dock, hoping we would make it. Our tour guide was good.
Read rubysue's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kjbhome
1 review
Feb 2017
The ruins were great! Lunch not so much 2 pieces of bread 1 small slice of ham and 1 small slice of cheese and a banana. Served out of the bus drivers dirty cooler.
Read kjbhome's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kbunyard
1 review
Feb 2017
Great company and service. Would highly recommend for families. They were very conscientious and it was a comfortable drive. There was lots of information that they gave you and it was just a very pleasant trip with a great guide.
Read kbunyard's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image myob93
2 reviews
Feb 2017
We booked the Mayan Experience thru the Native Choice. Great excursion, highly recommend
Read myob93's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice
Member Image KAF82
1 review
Jan 2017
Excellent Excursion. We booked the later trip and although I was a long bus ride it was definitely worth it. The ruins are amazing, our guide was great (Roberto). It was very easy to find the location to meet us with the tour, the bus was comfortable, and everything was orderly.
Read KAF82's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Snixies
1 review
Jan 2017
Kohunliche and Dzibanche - about a 2 hour coach ride to get there but so worth it. The ruins at both are magnificent and there is an aura at each site - both are in the middle of the jungle and off the beaten track - Kohunliche more than Dzibanche I think. You can climb the temples at both to get spectacular views. I just loved both of these, and even people who had been to Chitchen Itza said these were better.
Read Snixies's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image EnviroChick14
1 review
Jan 2017
Visited Mayan Ruins and then had lunch with a Mayan Family. Amazing experience!
Read EnviroChick14's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Yatsailor
1 review
Jan 2017
Wonderful tour of Choccoben ruins and lunch at a Mayan village. Hugo was an excellent guide at the ruins, and the lunch and experience after was worth the trip. Native Choice tours is about a 6 block walk beyond the port/shopping area, but well worth the walk.
Read Yatsailor's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Native Choice Tours
Member Image LarBear
5 reviews
Jan 2017
Kolcunich Maya ruins. Short walk outside of port, short wait. Long drive. Driver's english wasn't too good, but good enough. Ruins very interesting and well preserved. You can climb on the ruins, which is unusual in Mexico. Some ruins in Belize are higher, but this was still excellent.
Read LarBear's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursioneer
Member Image PerpetuallyCcuising
3 reviews
Jan 2017
The ruins at Kohunlich were magnificent - very quiet and immaculately kept. We were also able to climb some of the temples. The guide was very knowledgeable about the material.
Read PerpetuallyCcuising's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises

Sponsored links