Costa Maya ATV Adventure Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya ATV Adventure cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy an incredible ride on your own ATV along the beaches and lush green jungle of Mexico's Costa Maya region.
Member Image Lobudugas
1 review
Sep 2017
The ATV was exciting but very wet. THe beach was only so-so with lots of algue in the water. Costa Maya is not one of my favorite destination.
Read Lobudugas's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image webboy634
1 review
Sep 2017
Not for the faint of heart. We were flying through the jungle over VERY!!!!!!!! rocky terrain with a ton of dust flying in the air. Wear gloves and bring and bandanna to cover your face. The only negative was for the second half, they took us by bus to a nice beach resort but just dropped us off. We had no direction on what we could do or not do at the resort and you have to watch the clock for the return bus or you'll get left behind.
Read webboy634's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image usmsmike
1 review
Jun 2017
Fun, would do it again.
Read usmsmike's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cruisenovice71
1 review
Apr 2017
excellent. great last minute decision. we booked this on the ship the day before. But we were lucky they had added additional times because of demand. So if you are interested, book ahead of time, you will not be disappointed. Loved it. very muddy.. but took us to beach after, place had showers to rinse off, excellent food on beach, drinks included. Plenty of local shopping.
Read cruisenovice71's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Liv_mags
1 review
Mar 2017
This was difficult--not quite for a beginner but it was fun. It is better if you are fit. I am fit and was still sore for a few days after this one.
Read Liv_mags's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mgrovenor
1 review
Feb 2017
The ATV's were a blast. These are capable of 70MPH. We crawled through the jungle but in some open flat areas I got some nice Tokyo drifts to kick up the dust for which we were supplied handkerchiefs at the beginning to keep it out of our noses. Then we got to an area of big rocks and had to literally crawl over these. It takes a bit of skill but not much.. After this we popped out on the paved highway (no traffic since no one can afford a car here) where I lit it up to 65MPH blowing the dust from my flapping beach bum buttton up shirt. After wards we kept the hankies and they passed out bottled water. We took a nice modern AC'd bus back to the beach and poked around the shops a bit before going back to the ship. The shopping area was the best of all the ports. There were a lot of venues and a wide variety of souvenirs to be had. I bought some cigars. The guy wanted $55 and I ended up paying $20. My wife haggled for some hand painted NFL clay skulls. Kool!
Read mgrovenor's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Vacapone
1 review
Feb 2017
When it says activity level is high believe it, you will experience break neck speeds and a very demanding jungle route with a lot of rocks some mud and a lot of dust. The ATVs get very hot and will burn your leg if it gets close enough to the mother which is very hard to avoid on this trail.
Read Vacapone's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mitakart
1 review
Dec 2016
Loved the ATV but the "Beach Club" time was disappointing, we thought it's going to be a real resort where we can use the facilities, beach, and pool...but it was a single building managed by the cruise line with nice facilities and not good quality food, we had to pay for some of the food, which we didn't know. But it was a fun day.
Read mitakart's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tailgatemel
1 review
Nov 2016
Awesome! Great fun trip! About 45 min ATV then off to the beach for free drinks!
Read tailgatemel's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jayleneriddle
1 review
Nov 2016
This was awesome. The ATV was a bit extreme you will be mudding it through the jungle. It was a bit short about an hour, but then we went to the beach and had open bar and great food. Loved it.
Read jayleneriddle's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Yarelix1978
1 review
Oct 2016
We went around the coast to the beach and spend a day there great place
Read Yarelix1978's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jonjan92
1 review
Sep 2016
This was a lot of fun and relaxing at the same time. We took an open air vehicle to a spot where we jumped on tandem bikes and road through the jungle to a cenote' where we were able to get in and go through a short cave. It was cool, but a lot smaller than we were expecting. We then road the bikes back to the vehicle and drove a little ways to a private beach. The beach was beautiful, the water super clear and warm. Here we had time to swim or they provided stand up paddle boards to use as well. While here they cooked us lunch of chicken fajitas, quesadilla's and watermelon. Was very good. After lunch we packed up and headed back to the ship. Very nice excursion
Read jonjan92's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Krimson
1 review
Aug 2016
ATV was great. Very rough terrain, which some other guests complained about but we thought it was fun. If you don't want to get jounced around, this isn't the excursion for you. The beach drop off was fun, the water was bathtub warm but the bottom was filled with unpleasant tall sea grass and very uneven. I was very glad to have my water shoes on and even then only stayed in a little while. Thefree drinks were very strong, so if you are a drinker you will like this part.
Read Krimson's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tomcat67
3 reviews
Jul 2016
a fun excursion, the trail was very dusty and hot when i went, so you don't get dirty from the mud , you got dirty from the sweat and dust. the ATV's are kinda beat up but they were fun to drive and the trails are kinda rough also, lots of tree roots and rocks and etc.
Read Tomcat67's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sxmalize
1 review
May 2016
Really fun. Jungle was great. Bring change of clothing and wet wipes. You get really dirty. Very dusty. Guys are really attentive. Beach break afterwards was excellent. Neat beach, inexpensive but tasty food and free drinks. Great trip.
Read sxmalize's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vasha13
1 review
May 2016
Loved the idea of this excursion. The ATV part was okay - the Tequila beach part was better. Facilities were great, ATVs in great condition, staff seemed friendly. The issue was the course - it was all rocks and I mean rocks. No hard-packed dirt or sand sections in between rough terrain. It was 20 minutes of arm jarring, boulder-ish/big root terrain. Ladies, a bikini top won't cut it on this, you'll need something more substantial to keep it all under control. I am not complaining that there was rough terrain, only that it was completely rough terrain so you didn't get any alternating riding style. The last 10 minutes on the road coming back is all smooth though so you get a break there. FYI - they recommend long pants due to bugs and the heat of the ATV motors against your legs. You can bug spray against the bugs but nothing protects you against that heat except long pants. After the ATV rides, they shuttle you to Tequila beach where you can enjoy an open bar, sit in the drink gazebo and play pool or sit out in the shaded loungers on the beach. It was very nice to just sit, drink and relax. They give you a free taxi voucher to take a taxi back to the pier when you're ready to leave. No problems getting a taxi or worrying that you'll never be seen again with a dubious ride - they were well maintained and professional. Everyone was very nice.
Read vasha13's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image headslap99
1 review
Dec 2015
There was a 20 minute bus ride to the location. ATV adventure was great. It went in and out the jungle to the beach. There was a bus ride to a local resort. It included an open bar afterwards and a taxi ride back to the ship.
Read headslap99's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Shannans
1 review
May 2015
Amazing and a must do! I loved it and it was my first time driving a ATV. They are patient with the first time drivers. The beach was nice too. Just plan to get a little dirty.
Read Shannans's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image fishluvcheerios
1 review
Mar 2015
Our ATV part of the day was cut short because of an accident with the group ahead of us. The time back at the resort was very nice and relaxing. Beautiful scenery. There were kayaks available to paddle out to a blow up obstacle course floating in the water, a lot like the show Wipeout. It was really challenging, but entertaining. You can get a massage on the beach there, but neither of the ladies seemed to be trained at all. Both my boyfriend and I have gotten many massages before and we both thought they had no idea what they were doing at certain points in the massage. It's still a pretty good, relaxing experience. Just know what to expect. Drinks are included, but you have to pay for the food, which was ok. Be very careful shopping at the port. The salespeople are very pushy and they try to rip you off. We got something in Costa Maya that they originally wanted $80 for, we said no way and got him down to $50. We got to the next port at Cozumel and the same thing was marked with no haggling for $29. Same thing with another item I got there. They really price gouge you there.
Read fishluvcheerios's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image juneo23
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2015

Costa Maya is a great port. Plenty to do right of the boat. Our excursion had a meeting area right at the end of the pier with a dedicated line up and good signage. The excursion complex is amazing. A fantatis beach area with plenty to do or just lay down and relax in the sun. The ATV's are in great shape. The trails an absolute blast.

Read juneo23's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mitch4000
1 review
Feb 2015

This adventure was the best. The guides arranged our group with the first time riders to the rear with a second guide so we were able to really fly down the open trails. It started with some jungle trails that open up to some straight trails that had us really going fast. Then we would stop a minute for us to bunch back up. Then on to the beach for some riding and a break for photo opportunities. After an hour or more of riding we ruturned to their compound on the beach for an open bar and free snorkeling, kayaking, paddle boarding. The only extra charge was for food. There were lounge chairs for sunning or relaxing in the shade, or you could relax in the very large open hut having your favorite drink. The venders sold some really beautiful items with a painter showing and selling his artwork.

Read mitch4000's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image edenracer
1 review
Jan 2015

It was supposed to be an hour trip, we did it in half the time. There idea of a trail is taking a machete and cutting down some trees. They don't use earth moving equipment to prep the trail, so be prepared to run over a lot of rocks and tree stumps. Very Rough!

Read edenracer's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Some Mexican guy
Member Image sbachleda
7 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Our cruise line snorkel tour was cancelled due to wind and rain so we booked a local ATV tour. The was called ATV Track and was a ton of fun. The ATV's were new and in perfect mechanical condition. They had an automatic transmission so no need to worry about shifting gears. It rained very hard that day so the trail was muddy and covered in water up to 2.5 feet deep in places. Also lots of mosquitos. Bring repellant if you do this. Our guides were very careful to explain everything to us and made sure that we all kept together on the trail. Our adult sons thought it was the best tour ever. My wife and I are in our 60's and enjoyed it as well. My wife had a bit of a hard time in a couple of spots due to the mud and high water from all the torrential rain. If you only do this once, do this tour.

Read sbachleda's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Last Minute Tours
Member Image cusecruise
1 review
Dec 2012
We did the ATV adventure with Orlando as our guide. It was pouring rain at the port but fortunately cleared up by the time we got to the ATV site. After a brief intro to the ATVs we set out with Orlando as our guide. After a ride through the mangroves, we headed to the beach for a fun ride. Word to the wise, take wraparound sunglasses if you have them or take their goggles to wear. I wore my prescription glasses without goggles as they would not fit over my glasses, there were a couple places where the sand kicked up and it was pretty hard to see. After the ATV ride, we got to spend "30 minutes" at the beach but they were Mexican minutes so it was more like an hour. Snorkel equipment was available for those that wanted to use it. When we returned to the port we went to Carlos and Charlies/Senor Frogs for a bite to eat as we did not have enough time to go into town. This was the low-point of our visit as the food was very, very expensive. For a couple beers, fajitas and some fried cheese with tip we paid $60 US. Way too much for Mexico but we were captive in port without any other options. If we go to Costa Maya again we'll go to town to get some real Mexican food.
Read cusecruise's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LadybugTraveler
1 review
Dec 2012

SO FUN! We loved our ATV tour. It takes you along these gorgeous, basically un-developed waters, and you get to go really fast along the shoreline. It was awesome. (Plus there's a part when you're going through the forest in the beginning, and we had these huge puddles to plow through...other people went slow though, so you only have to go fast if you want to.) At the end, you come back to a small private beach and lounge, snorkel, have a drink. We had plenty of time to shop and enjoy the cruise area, too. Tip - If you just walk out of the port area about half a block, there are a ton of more tourist shops, and these are much less expensive than the ones directly in the port area.

Read LadybugTraveler's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links