Icy Strait Wildlife Tour Excursion Reviews

Icy Strait Wildlife Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Venture into the pristine wilds of Icy Strait to see some of Alaska’s most popular and iconic wildlife, such as grizzly bears, bald eagles and black-tailed deer.
Member Image sweetp0618
2 reviews
Jun 2017
This was a great excursion. Our tour guide is the leader of the tribal corporation that owns Icy Strait. He provided a great deal of local history and color. We saw a number of brown bears up close and were glad we weren't shoved into a bus on a ship's excursion. There were 7 people in a 12 person van.
Read sweetp0618's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Hoonah Adventure Travel Bear Watching
Member Image goddessmama
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Involves 45 min bus ride to and from, but a great way to see more of the island and learn of it's history. We did not see any wildlife other than a black squirrel, but the scenery was lovely. The tour after ours saw several bears, so it's hit or miss, but you are in their home, not a zoo, so it's to be expected.
Read goddessmama's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image qltr626
1 review
Jun 2017
We learned so much about Alaska flora and fauna by getting up close and personal with them. Saw a brown bear in the Spasski River Valley, whales in the bay, and eagles in the pines along the dock.
Read qltr626's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jillou323
1 review
May 2017
After a 45 minute drive to Spasski River Valley, including a stop to allow a mother bear and her two cubs to cross the road, we got to our stopping point. A short hike into the woods along a path took us to the first observation deck. It was a pretty view, but no bears. Same for the second observation deck. However, after we had been at the third deck for a while, a gorgeous golden brown bear walked under the deck, and ate some breakfast by the river. We ooh'ed and aah'ed, as you can imagine.
Read jillou323's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cpt Skip01
1 review
May 2017
Our tour guide was outstanding. Nearly every plant in the forest had some sort of medicinal use. Not only did we see lots of various kinds of native plants, but lots of wildlife, but animal and birds. While we were on the beach we even saw seals, otters and humpback whales only meters off shore. On the way back to the dock, were were given a fascinating history and overview of the native tribes and their culture. I almost wish I could have taken notes.
Read Cpt Skip01's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sbachleda
7 reviews
May 2017
Went to the Spaaskiy River to see wildlife. Learned about the area from our guide. Beautiful stop where you can do all kinds of things right off the ship. Can see whales, dolphins, seals, eagles right from the shore and the ship. We were lucky and saw three brown bears on our excursion.
Read sbachleda's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cmoncrieff
1 review
Sep 2016
A very enjoyable and informative tour - made very real by the guide. Highly recommended.
Read cmoncrieff's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Julisa
1 review
Jul 2016
Great scenery and very pleasant and easy walk along a boardwalk. Great guide too but were disappointed not to have seen a bear!
Read Julisa's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image karenbink
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Fun drive, interesting an informative guides. Unfortunately, mother nature did not cooperate as the salmon were NOT running therefore, no bears---which was what we went for. Nonetheless, we saw lots of fresh bear Poop!! So we know there were watching us. We felt safe as we had 2 armed guards to protect us.
Read karenbink's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image lnoonan
1 review
Jul 2016
This fascinating 90-minute tour was led by a retired science teacher. We learned about Icy Strait Point and its history as we hiked along the rocky shore and then through the forest on the island. We also heard about the various types of rocks found along the shore, the flowers and plants of the forest, as well as the varieties of trees in the forest. This was a fantastic tour, and I enjoyed every moment of it.
Read lnoonan's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image katisdale
6 reviews
Jun 2016
We took the tram that went to the forest and the beach. If you are interested in doing one of the active excursions like the zip line I recommend that you do not book on the ship. Book one of the cheaper excursions and they give out coupons so you can get a lower price on one or more of the more expensive excursions.
Read katisdale's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Racbolt
1 review
Jun 2016
Did not enjoy the Bear Search tour - we didnt see any bears and were bitten by mosquitos.
Read Racbolt's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Happy Holidaymaker
1 review
Jun 2016
The trip was informative. If we had high powered binoculars we may have had a glimps of bears, but it is wildlife and they don't appear to order and that has to be expected
Read Happy Holidaymaker's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Zulu1972
1 review
Jun 2016
We got an inside view into the Tlingit people and we got a nice tour. Sadly we didn't get to see a bear.
Read Zulu1972's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Roger_le_Frog
3 reviews
Jun 2016
We were lucky enough to see a Bear and some interesting birds as well as to learn a bit about the Native culture.
Read Roger_le_Frog's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jane2357
2 reviews
May 2016
Learned a great deal about the native people from the guide. The native dancing was impressive. Should have also done the zip line - next time.
Read Jane2357's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Archimagirus
1 review
May 2016
No bears, but a nice hike
Read Archimagirus's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image gfgramma
2 reviews
May 2016
Another rainy, cold day but we did see lots of eagles and sea otters playing on the buoys!
Read gfgramma's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Off2seeAlaska
1 review
Aug 2015
Although our guide was likable, in a rough kind of way, I think the spitting of chew out the window might be a little too "authentic" for your average cruiser. The Tongass was lovely, we did get to see a good portion of it that most people likely don't get to. However, we all were there to see brown bears. The guide drove us to bridges. Not sure that's the best way to go, we were a 15 passenger van, not super stealth. Whatever, we knew we might not see them and thats fine. What was awful was that he just wouldn't stop!! Once it became clear that we were out of luck, I think everyone would have been fine with returning to the cannery and grabbing a bite to eat! In his defense I think he felt that he had to try and give us our money's worth. This trip was 6 hours LONG!!! They didn't supply a bottle of water or a snack either. In future they might take a consensus. If it was 3 hrs it would've been fine: Instead we saw no bears and also got kidnapped for our whole day ashore!!
Read Off2seeAlaska's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Brown Bear Lodge
Member Image BobBow1
1 review
Jul 2015
Drove around looking for bears for 4 hours. Saw 1 bear.
Read BobBow1's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Shore Excurisions
Member Image smithpw
1 review
Jun 2015
Guide was professional and entertaining.
Read smithpw's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Jeni B.D.
1 review
Jun 2015
Nice tram ride to the shore. We saw a lot of bald eagles and a sea lion. Before the excursion we were lucky to see a humpback whale while hanging out on the pier!
Read Jeni B.D.'s full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tucson Guy
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Saw several eagles in the wild.
Read Tucson Guy's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image franl24fan
7 reviews
Jun 2015
Open sided tram about 2 miles thru forest alongside bay. Stop to get off and walk on beach. Guide did good job of explaining plants and wildlife. Some sightings of eagles. Not worth the price.
Read franl24fan's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Frank34
1 review
Jun 2015
We knew it was going to be tricky to see bears in early June, but we went anyway. We saw a few Sitka Black Tailed Deer that we passed by and I pointed out. There were a few ladies in the van that said, "We have those in our backyard in New Jersey." I answered that they were not the same kind of deer. They still seemed unimpressed. We did see bear scat on the roads. Our tour guide was funny and told numerous anecdotes. If we would have seen a bear this would have been an easy five star review, but we did not. So, I will give the tour 3 stars, not because of the guide, but because the animals were not cooperative.
Read Frank34's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?