Juneau Helicopter Tour Excursion Reviews

Juneau Helicopter Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Helicopter tours are a must-do in Alaska and it's easy to understand why. Nothing beats the view of Juneau's glaciers and icy waters from above.
Member Image MkeCruzn
3 reviews
Jun 2018
We did the "pilot's choice" tour, which is highly recommended and worth the extra cost. We had only four of us on the tour, and landed twice: once on Taku Glacier and once on a patch of snow near open tundra. It was really spectacular weather, with 150+ miles visibility and light winds. Our pilot was great, friendly, nice to talk to, and he took whatever pictures of us we wanted.
Read MkeCruzn's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Deep Thinking Fish
3 reviews
Jun 2018
Helicopter tour onto the Mendenhall Glacier. Just WOW!!! Fascinating, beautiful views, unbelievable in every way.
Read Deep Thinking Fish's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Paca Lady
3 reviews
May 2018
A substitute when our original excursion choice was cancelled, the Glacier Flight with Walkabout did not dissappoint! This is a small tour group, ours had eight participants, and we were pointed out sights along theshort ride to the airport where we received our jackets, pants boots, and saftey instructions. (I will admit that I found the boots rather uncomfortable to walk in) The group was devided into two for our flight to the glacier. Amazing scenery, and we spotted many mountain goats as well as a solitary black bear on our trip to the "base camp" where our glacier walk would take place. Upon landing we received the last of our equipment and safety instructions, and then it was off for approximately a 45 min. hike across the glacier. Each of us had been provided a hip pack containing a bottle of water and energy bar. At one stop our guide, while pointing out the running water along the surface, encouraged us to open up and pour out that water to refill with fresh glacier water... it was amazing! We were also fortunate enough to be able to see and enter an ice tunnel that was currently present near the base. Glaciers are always moving and changing... no two days will have the exact same conditions, and our group was very excited for this opportunity. After everyone had a chance toenter and get photos it was time to head back to camp for the flight back, which provided another series of breathtaking views. Helicopter tours are not inexpensive, but this one was very much worth the price, and then some.
Read Paca Lady's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image dianeandpete
1 review
May 2018
We had a great excursion with Coastal Helicopters to do a glacier walk. My only complaint was that sitting 4 people in the back (3 men and myself) was crowded but everything else was great. The pilot did a good job of explaining everything we were seeing and being on the glacier was majestic. I highly recommend this trip. Juneau was ok. I was not a impressed with it as I was with Ketchican but it is a different type of city. The Red Dog Saloon was a lot of fun.
Read dianeandpete's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Coastal Helicopters
Member Image Paul Gumbinne
1 review
Sep 2017
Got me on the helicopter with a special wheelchair lift. Wonderful couple of hours. Seeing the glacier close up is fabulous. Helicopter landed on it and we had champagne. Picked us up at the ship and took us back..
Read Paul Gumbinne's full Seabourn Sojourn cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image abramsdd
1 review
Aug 2017
Once in a lifetime experience; spectacular views of Juneau Icefield, exciting 20-25 minute walking tour on Herbert Glacier; unforgettable.
Read abramsdd's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kml71604
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Very expensive, but worth EVERY cent.
Read kml71604's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Coastal Helicopters
Member Image sf_kevin415
1 review
Aug 2017
REALLY expensive 30 minute ride (and wandering around an ice field for 15 minutes) - $300? Worst helicopter tour value I've ever had. $400 gets you an amazing ride all around Kauai or deep into the Grand Canyon in Vegas. Here? 15 minutes up, 10 minutes back.
Read sf_kevin415's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Alaska Shore Tours
Member Image CLCruzer
6 reviews
Jul 2017
The Helicopter Flight and Walkabout excursion was not enough flight time over the glaciers and minimal commentary. We should have held out for “The Pilots Choice” Helicopter Tour.
Read CLCruzer's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image gingersvp
2 reviews
Jul 2017
We booked a helicopter & dog sledding tour independently. It wound up being the same operators as the ship-booked tour but was $75/person less (with 5 people it adds up). The helicopter tour was AMAZING and quite spectacular. Being on the glacier was one of the most awe-inspiring views I've ever witnessed. My kids enjoyed the sledding, although it wasn't really my cup of tea. They had puppies at the dog camp and that was the delight of all 3 of my children.
Read gingersvp's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Oceandreamer1
1 review
Jun 2017
Found it cheaper to book direct than through cruise ship for same tour.
Read Oceandreamer1's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Teacher on a trip
1 review
Jun 2017
We did the Helicopter ride to Mendenhall Glacier and walk. I recommend doing one where you do a hike on the glacier because it is the best use of time. Helicopter ride was very cool!! Glacier guides were informative, entertaining, and friendly.
Read Teacher on a trip's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Guitarjess
1 review
Jun 2017
15 min. helicopter flight to Taku glacier. Landed on it and then walked around for about 15 minutes. Got very cold but it was very cool! Well worth the $$!
Read Guitarjess's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Coastal Helicopters
Member Image AllBran
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Absolutely the best experience ever. Took helicopter to Herbert Glaciers and then went dog sledding on the glacier for about 1-1/2 to 2 miles. We stopped twice along the way to change places so I got to be in front taking pictures and video and standing in the rear helping to steer and brake. Booked the excursion through Shore Trips, via Cruise Planners, a division of American Express.
Read AllBran's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image stockdad
1 review
Jun 2017
Wife enjoyed it lots. It was just being ontop of an ice cube. some what interesting
Read stockdad's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image enjoysummers
1 review
Sep 2016
Helicopter and Glacier trek. If the weather is good it is an amazing trip
Read enjoysummers's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image shamtipp
1 review
Sep 2016
excellent deffinite must do
Read shamtipp's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image MrCrazyguitarlicks
1 review
Sep 2016
Spectacular views.
Read MrCrazyguitarlicks's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image TerrikBailey
1 review
Sep 2016
An experience you want have anywhere else. Got to drink water from a glacier---once in a lifetime thing. Pricey but worth the experience
Read TerrikBailey's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Djazzbro1
1 review
Aug 2016
We took the helicopter tour through the ship. It was an amazing experience but the time spent on the glacier was very short and should have been longer
Read Djazzbro1's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image GingeredMelodyTravles
1 review
Aug 2016
Helicopter tour was part of the Mendhall Glacier hike. About a 20 minute tour before landing on the glacier.
Read GingeredMelodyTravles's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jwutony16
1 review
Aug 2016
Book with this company. Great staff, great views
Read jwutony16's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Costal Helicopter
Member Image A.P.
1 review
Aug 2016
We did the dog sledding and glacier landing tour and it was excellent. We didn't get to see or pet the puppies, but I didn't see them so it may have been too late in the season and they may have been moved already (the rest of the camp was going to have to move out in a couple weeks themselves b/c of ice). It was okay because we were cold and wet from the rain, but still had a great time. Definitely bring a cup or straw like we did to takes the pure glacier water. Coastal Helicopters was great!
Read A.P.'s full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Coastal Helicopters
Member Image katmoran77
1 review
Jul 2016
Helicopter tour and glacier trek - very professional, all gear needed was provided.
Read katmoran77's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image diamondgalshell
1 review
Jul 2016
It was amazing to visit Mendenhall Glacier. We loved it.
Read diamondgalshell's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links