Juneau Dog Sledding Excursion Reviews

Juneau Dog Sledding cruise excursion
Overall Rating 144 Reviews
Dog sledding is a quintessential Alaskan experience- allow a team of strong huskies to pull you through Juneau's trails and countryside.
Details & Booking
Member Image JohnCDM
Sep 2018
We really enjoyed this excursion. Lot of fun to interact with dogs and learn about the Iditarod.
Read JohnCDM's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kellyjoyaksich
Sep 2018
Excellent guides. Informative driver. Learned so much new information!
Read kellyjoyaksich's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Retirementtours
Sep 2018
Dog sledding awesome and Tram great.
Read Retirementtours's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kpainter9
Sep 2018
Dog sledding was fun and great to hear the history of the sport. Just wish the excursion was longer on the trail.
Read kpainter9's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image slgerard
Aug 2018
The dog sledding was a fantastic experience. The dogs were feisty and hilarious, the puppies sweet as can be.
Read slgerard's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image notacelebrity
Aug 2018
This was everyone's favorite tour. The dogs pull sleds on terrain rather than in snow. The dogs were so excited to get going once our shuttle arrived. Being animal lovers we were very concerned that the dogs are doing what they love and it's obvious they are. The folks that work with them are extremely dedicated to their care and comfort. They let us play with the pups at the end which everyone loved as well. Great tour.
Read notacelebrity's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tailor33
Aug 2018
Sled ride was longer than expected. Information talks about the dogs, sledding, and races was very interesting. Got to pet all 16 dogs then got to meet a retired dog and meet and play with puppies. Not the photo op the cruise line offered in the atrium. I got to hold the puppy for 5 minutes and one fell asleep in my arms.
Read tailor33's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HDK-Bowie
Jul 2018
Excellent excursion - learned about the Iditarod from Jeff King, 4 time winner and how the dogs are trained. We were able to hold puppies while we were there. It was a wonderful excursion.
Read HDK-Bowie's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Yukonjake
Jul 2018
Everything you've heard is true. The puppies! The sledding! Being on the glacier!
Read Yukonjake's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image jrharris96
Jul 2018
My husband and son took a helicopter ride to the top of a glacier and went dogsledding up there. They loved the ride on the helicopter and with the dogs. Very informative mushers up there. My daughter and I went to Musher's Camp and took a summer dogsled ride, learned about dogsledding, and got to play with some of the puppies. Great experience there as well if you don't want to deal with snow!
Read jrharris96's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image fish doctor
Jul 2018
Cannot say enough ...After having a very nice helicopter ride through some mountainous terrain and looking to wildlife along the way we were dropped onto the glacier in snow where the dog camp was located. We had great commentary on the helicopter and about the dogs and the camp and then had the opportunity to actually mush our own sled dogs. A tandem sled holding 2 couples and the camp leader gave each rider a chance to start and stop the dogs ...the ride alone was fun and we ran against other sleds. By far the best tour on our cruise....One comment...The helicopters stuff 4 adults into the back seat and you do have to hope that everyone shares space...Clearly a 10+ rating and worth the high price.
Read fish doctor's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Dragonbird81
Jul 2018
Shaynee was fabulous. She was the musher and taught us so much! She was so sweet and has even completed the Iditerod! We loved this experience. This is a MUST DO. Or shall I say a "Mush Do" hahah!
Read Dragonbird81's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CarrieD17
Jul 2018
It was very informative and obviously fun to see the puppies but just hearing about the camp/company, was very cool to see.
Read CarrieD17's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JAL52
Jul 2018
Ralph our driver, was very interesting and even told jokes. We drove 20 minutes into the rain forest to the dog sleds. The dogs were so excited to give us a ride and it was fun. We got to pet the dogs and puppies, learn about them and the Iditerod, walk on a suspension bridge, have hot chocolate. It was really fun. Our driver asked us if we would have time to go 10 min out of our way to view the Mendenhall Glacier. We loved that and got to get out and take pictures.
Read JAL52's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image emlanz
Jul 2018
Amazing!!! The bus took us to the Iditarod summer dog camp and it was fantastic. We were able to interact with the dogs and then the dogs were hooked up to a sled and we went on a one mile journey which was fantastic. We then came back to camp and were given a tour of the facility as well as a history and ended with time with the puppies. Worth every penny!!
Read emlanz's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Spacecop2010
Jun 2018
Helicoptered up to Glacier where Dog Camp was located...road dog sled and played with the dogs. Bright sunny day...could not have been better!
Read Spacecop2010's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Ss3mann
Jun 2018
Musher Camp. LOVED THIS!!! If you are a dog lover you need to experience this!!
Read Ss3mann's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image RBC Studios
Jun 2018
They cancelled the excursion due to weather. It would have been nice to be notified earlier, or even given the heads up that we might be cancelled as the last minute cancellation prevented us from making other plans.
Read RBC Studios's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RJRNCL12
Jun 2018
Felt so sorry for the dogs. They looked tired and under nourished. To think they had to entertain tours 9 times a day. Expected to see the muscular huskies like people have at home, not thin looking animals. A real dogs life for the poor things.
Read RJRNCL12's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image aldencam
May 2018
One of the best things we did! The dogs were amazing. it was out in the middle of the rain forest so the scenery was awesome.
Read aldencam's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Summer Camp
Member Image Oceanophiles
May 2018
By helicopter to land on a huge glacier and go dog sledding with a trained musher and play with the dogs. Even got to touch a 10-day old baby Huskie.
Read Oceanophiles's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rwmiller
Sep 2017
Very fun experience seeing these hard working dogs and the people who love them.
Read rwmiller's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cklier
Aug 2017
Best excursion of the trip! Highly recommend dogsledding on Mendenhall Glacier.
Read cklier's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CharlieCharlieCharlie
Aug 2017
The helicopter glacier dog sled tour was cancelled due to the rainy low cloud weather (it was also Sunday) so I decided to choose the sled dog training excursion just to have the experience. We drove in a small bus to a beautiful forested area, split into small groups, then rode in carts with seats on wheels that were each pulled by their own team of dogs. We rode along paved paths, stopping occasionally for a short break for the dogs. It was a nice experience, but not at all what I had hoped for when booking the glacier dog sled ride. Afterwards we could interact with the dogs and check out the newest puppies. We were driven back to town, and I walked around town for a while.
Read CharlieCharlieCharlie's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CharlieCharlieCharlie
Aug 2017
The helicopter glacier dog sled tour was cancelled due to the rainy low cloud weather (it was also Sunday) so I decided to choose the sled dog training excursion just to have the experience. We drove in a small bus to a beautiful forested area, split into small groups, then rode in carts with seats on wheels that were each pulled by their own team of dogs. We rode along paved paths, stopping occasionally for a short break for the dogs. It was a nice experience, but not at all what I had hoped for when booking the glacier dog sled ride. Afterwards we could interact with the dogs and check out the newest puppies. We were driven back to town, and I walked around town for a while.
Read CharlieCharlieCharlie's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links