Skagway Scenic Drive Excursion Reviews

Embark on a scenic drive from Skagway, past rugged mountains and picturesque log cabins and into the depths of Canada’s wild Yukon Territory.
Sail Date: September 2012
The Bus Tour part of the excursion was the best part. The drive Shane was so informative and entertaining! One of the best tours I have had. We drove about an hour (30 minutes each way) where he told about these parts, shared some ... Read More
The Bus Tour part of the excursion was the best part. The drive Shane was so informative and entertaining! One of the best tours I have had. We drove about an hour (30 minutes each way) where he told about these parts, shared some stories. Went into Canada and turned around. Stopped for pictures, one with the Welcome to Alaska sign Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Sail Date: September 2012
White Pass Railroad and Yukon tour. The train is perhaps my all time favorite shore excursion out of 14 cruises. The bus then took us to Carcross Yukon. This is an excellent tour !!!
White Pass Railroad and Yukon tour. The train is perhaps my all time favorite shore excursion out of 14 cruises. The bus then took us to Carcross Yukon. This is an excellent tour !!! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Sail Date: August 2012
A driver met us with a van for the rest of the excursion. The driver/guide was informative and humorous. There were numerous beautiful spots along the drive into the Yukon.
A driver met us with a van for the rest of the excursion. The driver/guide was informative and humorous. There were numerous beautiful spots along the drive into the Yukon. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Sail Date: August 2012
We drove down the Klondike Highway with quite a few photos stops.
We drove down the Klondike Highway with quite a few photos stops. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Sail Date: July 2012
Drove to the top of the summit - good narration and some stops for pictures. Gorgeous scenery.
Drove to the top of the summit - good narration and some stops for pictures. Gorgeous scenery. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Sail Date: July 2012
Great tour. Beautiful weather. Saw a bear. Drove up to the Summit and saw gorgeous views. Driver was informative and friendly.
Great tour. Beautiful weather. Saw a bear. Drove up to the Summit and saw gorgeous views. Driver was informative and friendly. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Sail Date: July 2012
Combo White Pass Yukon and City takes 3.5 hrs costs $65 per person excellent
Combo White Pass Yukon and City takes 3.5 hrs costs $65 per person excellent Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Sail Date: July 2012
We took a small bus with a group of 17 and a great tour guide. We went up into the Yukon and then got on the White Pass Railway at Fraser and rode back to Skagway. More beautiful scenery and plenty of opportunities for pictures along the ... Read More
We took a small bus with a group of 17 and a great tour guide. We went up into the Yukon and then got on the White Pass Railway at Fraser and rode back to Skagway. More beautiful scenery and plenty of opportunities for pictures along the way. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Sail Date: June 2012
Rented car and drove to Emerald Lake via Carcross, Yukon Territory. Set our own pace, saw lots of wild life and Emerald Lake was really something to see.
Rented car and drove to Emerald Lake via Carcross, Yukon Territory. Set our own pace, saw lots of wild life and Emerald Lake was really something to see. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Sail Date: June 2012
Standard cruise ship port town. They have tried to keep the town looking the same as during the 1890's during the gold rush. We took a bus tour up the White Pass that followed the gold rush trail and train line. Views were to die ... Read More
Standard cruise ship port town. They have tried to keep the town looking the same as during the 1890's during the gold rush. We took a bus tour up the White Pass that followed the gold rush trail and train line. Views were to die for and the history was great. Fairly decent walk from the town to the ship, that was docked last in the line. Weather was cloudy, rainy and cold, but then you come to expect that in Alaska. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Sail Date: June 2012
Took a bus tour in place of the train a better choice in my opinion and a great outfit.
Took a bus tour in place of the train a better choice in my opinion and a great outfit. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Sail Date: June 2012
This was a wonderful day. We booked our tour privately because it let us ride the earlier train and come back by a small 25 passenger motor-coach. Our group was much smaller than the group on the big bus booked by the cruise line, and ... Read More
This was a wonderful day. We booked our tour privately because it let us ride the earlier train and come back by a small 25 passenger motor-coach. Our group was much smaller than the group on the big bus booked by the cruise line, and this was appealing to us. The train ride was amazing with wonderful views. We watched spectacular scene after spectacular scene unfold. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Sail Date: June 2012
Drive from Fraser into the Yukon. Great narrative by driver, beautiful views, casual - not hurried - tour
Drive from Fraser into the Yukon. Great narrative by driver, beautiful views, casual - not hurried - tour Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Sail Date: June 2012
My wife and I took the Emerald Lake-Carcross tour with Dyea Dave in late June of 2012. In addition to the tour, we planned to take the train from Fraser back to Skagway. I was advised by Dave to reserve tickets for the train ride before ... Read More
My wife and I took the Emerald Lake-Carcross tour with Dyea Dave in late June of 2012. In addition to the tour, we planned to take the train from Fraser back to Skagway. I was advised by Dave to reserve tickets for the train ride before our cruise which we did. We met Dave at the dock. Dave was not going to be our tour guide. Our tour guide was Shelby. Shelby took us to the ticket office, so I could get our train tickets. We had other tours during the trip, and those guides had an enthusiasm for their job. I can't say the same for Shelby. It appeared that she viewed herself as a bus driver and not a tour guide. Her commentary on the various sites was brief. Our stops at the sights seemed rushed. Our city tour consisted of a quick drive-thru. We were put off by her action at a restroom stop. My wife and I were the last in line for chemical toilets at a Canadian park. While in the restroom, I heard the bus start it's engine. When my wife and I got out of the restrooms, the bus wasn't in front of the wooden walkway that led tothe toilets. We walked down the walkway and saw the bus. At this point, the bus drove off. I guess we were supposed to run after her. When she saw we weren't, she finally circled back and picked us up. We conveyed that her joke misfired. We didn't expect receiving a high school joke from a professional tour company. At the Fraser rail stop, Shelby did wait for the train to arrive and got our tickets . She walked us to the rail car and left. We were impressed by the tour guide with Chilkoot Tours who followed his group onto the train and ensured they were seated in the right locations for the best views of scenery. He also pointed out location of the restrooms, drinking water, and viewing platforms. He was very personable. The scenery in the Yukon was very pretty and recommend going to see it. I included some pictures of the scenery. We would advise using someone other than Dyea Dave. I wish we had used Chilkoot Tours. Based on past reviews on TA and postings on Cruisecritic, Dyea Dave is good to use if Dave is your tour guide. If you get someone other than Dave, then the quality of your experience is very uncertain. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Sail Date: June 2012
Lairsville was a fun experience. The show is funny and you're able to pan for gold afterward. The drive to the top of the pass was pretty. Not being able to get out of the bus to take picture when we got there was not ideal. The ... Read More
Lairsville was a fun experience. The show is funny and you're able to pan for gold afterward. The drive to the top of the pass was pretty. Not being able to get out of the bus to take picture when we got there was not ideal. The town is very touristy with many gift shops. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Sail Date: June 2012
An excellent tour and good lunch. The use of mini buses is a plus over the larger vehicles.
An excellent tour and good lunch. The use of mini buses is a plus over the larger vehicles. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Sail Date: May 2012
Great experience, drive up to Emerald lake, Caribou Crossing & the Yukon with Dyea Dave. Couldn't have been better really. Awesome tour & Dave was quite entertaining.
Great experience, drive up to Emerald lake, Caribou Crossing & the Yukon with Dyea Dave. Couldn't have been better really. Awesome tour & Dave was quite entertaining. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Sail Date: May 2012
The tour bus held 12 people and could maneuver places the big buses couldn't. We saw 4 bears and amazing scenery.
The tour bus held 12 people and could maneuver places the big buses couldn't. We saw 4 bears and amazing scenery. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Sail Date: May 2012
This was the third portion of the multi pack deal with the cruise line and the best day by far. We felt we were able to see more being in a bus that stopped alone the way up to the white pass rather than the train that hugs the side of the ... Read More
This was the third portion of the multi pack deal with the cruise line and the best day by far. We felt we were able to see more being in a bus that stopped alone the way up to the white pass rather than the train that hugs the side of the mountain. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Sail Date: May 2012
Awesome tour!! We had a small group so we were able to stop many times for pictures. The tour went to the Yukon suspension bridge, Carcross, and Caribou crossing as well.
Awesome tour!! We had a small group so we were able to stop many times for pictures. The tour went to the Yukon suspension bridge, Carcross, and Caribou crossing as well. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Sail Date: May 2012
We were picked up at the dock by Dave in this top hat and given a brief tour of the town on our way into the beautiful Yukon territory, stopping at many picturesque places on the way. We rode in a small van, staying away from the big ... Read More
We were picked up at the dock by Dave in this top hat and given a brief tour of the town on our way into the beautiful Yukon territory, stopping at many picturesque places on the way. We rode in a small van, staying away from the big buses. We stopped in Carcross for a short shopping trip and to get our passports stamped and on to gorgeous Emerald Lake after stopping for lunch. We saw a bear on our way back to Fraser where we got on the White Pass Scenic Railway for the ride down and Dave picked us up at the bottom to finish the tour or drop us off wherever we wanted to go. Dave was very humorous with his own style of dry wit and gave us many interesting historical facts, pointing out many places of interest as well. We enjoyed our day and highly recommend this tour! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Sail Date: May 2012
Highly scenic trip on railway and by bus into the Yukon. Loads of wildlife visible.
Highly scenic trip on railway and by bus into the Yukon. Loads of wildlife visible. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Sail Date: August 2011
August 15, 2011 (Day 18) -- White Pass Summit and Yukon Rail, Skagway (Excursion 8 -- Day 4 of the cruise) We woke up to a dull and gloomy day. The excursion lasted for over 8 hours. We were to take the coach on Klondike Highway to ... Read More
August 15, 2011 (Day 18) -- White Pass Summit and Yukon Rail, Skagway (Excursion 8 -- Day 4 of the cruise) We woke up to a dull and gloomy day. The excursion lasted for over 8 hours. We were to take the coach on Klondike Highway to White Pass Summit, had lunch at Caribou Crossing Trading Post, then took the train from Fraser, B.C., Canada, back to Skagway. The train went all the way to the dock to pick up passengers who went on a return trip, and our coach was also waiting there to pick us up. What a scene with cruiseships, train and coaches together! The Klondike Highway was very scenic, though we could only see everything in basically 3 colours: gray, brown and white! The bus stopped at the big Yukon sign for us to take pictures. However, the sign was messed up, with the 'K' missing and the 'Y' turned upside down and placed in the spot where the missing 'K' was. It really spoiled our pictures! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International