Skagway Gold Panning Excursion Reviews

Skagway Gold Panning cruise excursion
Overall Rating 58 Reviews
Catch the gold fever searching for yellow nuggets in the heart of historic Skagway.
Details & Booking
Member Image Retirementtours
Sep 2018
Gold panning tour much tourist for me loved the tour on the Alaska highway.
Read Retirementtours's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image captket
Aug 2018
A great experience. Try to take the Gold Rush Dog sled excursion if you can! We were able to find a couple of flakes of gold.
Read captket's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image deejuliet
Aug 2018
We got a recommendation from a local and just walked to Back Alley Rock on 5th street and did their gold panning. My son was super careful and found 15 flakes of gold in his pan so he was super happy! We were happy, because it was only $24 per pan.
Read deejuliet's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Back Alley Rock
Member Image ilovermont73
Aug 2018
Alaska 360 was the name of the company. Easy and fun for kids especially - can turn your gold flakes into a keepsake.
Read ilovermont73's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image a911resqr
Jun 2018
It was an excursion that included seeing dog sledding, gold panning and a -40 degree simulator (a giant freezer). This excursion provided an overview of dog sledding. You got to see and pet the dog and got to hold the puppies. Gold panning was fun and guaranteed you would find some gold. The family walked away with about $40 worth of old.
Read a911resqr's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image torontocruiser67
Jun 2018
Got separated from my group and almost missed the lunch. The gold panning was fun but they want you to buy expensive jewelry or cases to put your gold in.
Read torontocruiser67's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image krisssten
Jun 2018
This was adorable and fun for our kids- we loved meeting the puppies! The dog mushers were really interesting and I'm happy we did it. The dogs, cold room and gold-panning are all located in this little tourist destination created just outside of port. It didn't quite feel authentic but it was still a nice day together .
Read krisssten's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TravelWhisperer23
Jun 2018
Ok...I thought this excursion might be a little cheesy, but we had an awesome time! It was a lot of fun. Wanted to do it again. Recommend.
Read TravelWhisperer23's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image keciacourtemanche
May 2018
Was ok for the price! Ride over was in a school bus. All you can eat salmon was good. The show put on by the country girls was funny. the gold panning was a learning experience.
Read keciacourtemanche's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Chet Brusk
May 2018
Part of a combined tour with a dogsled demonstration, "the 40 below experience," and the White Pass Scenic Railway. Dogsledders were experienced and engaging at sharing their love of the sport and their dogs. Puppies were predictably adorable. Gold panning was just long enough to be fun, not frustrating. One minute in the 40-below room is all you get but all you need to appreciate it.
Read Chet Brusk's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image timberwolves cruise
Sep 2017
really fun especially as we were trying to get more gold than each other
Read timberwolves cruise's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image darwinsrule
Aug 2017
Found gold which we got to keep. Played with puppies.
Read darwinsrule's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dinausc11
Jul 2017
Very fun. The actors made the experience really great. Don't forget to get the hot, fresh baked cookies. Yummy.
Read dinausc11's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Emanuel Schreibmaier
Member Image caseylee4ts
Jul 2017
Kind of a goofy experience in Liarsville with a great salmon bake (they had chicken, salads, and other food as well), a silly show put on by the locals, and the chance to learn a little about gold panning without having to wade through a river.
Read caseylee4ts's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Connie.bearden
Jul 2017
Fun to do!! Kept our gold in a pendant!
Read Connie.bearden's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SKfromDallas
Jun 2017
The gold panning was definitely more for kids as most adults tried for a minute or two and then left their stations.
Read SKfromDallas's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ronbrinkman
Jun 2017
In Skagway we did go on a salmon bake and panning for gold. I would have rather not go since we ate outside and the wind was 40 miles an hour and misting. But had paid for it and was sure if I didn't go I would be out the money
Read ronbrinkman's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Travel2Liberate
May 2017
When you arrive you are given instructions on how to pan for gold and then you are given a pan of pay dirt. It was fun, a little scary when you start dunking and let the dirt/rocks out of the pan. Good thing gold weighs more and sticks to the bottom of the pan. We got a few flakes worth $12.97 (two pans worth). You get to keep your gold flakes in a black plastic tube. Cute memento!
Read Travel2Liberate's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jillou323
May 2017
Gold panning didn't do a thing for me, but a lot of the people around me enjoyed it.
Read jillou323's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image arhonebrink
May 2017
Fun! Great breakfast; simple, beautiful hike.
Read arhonebrink's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Trapper44
May 2017
We had booked a 8 hour train Lake Bennett excursion but the driver left 15-20 minutes early. The White Pass Railroad refunded our money we had paid for the Lake Bennett Adventure and let us pick what excursion we wanted to go on. We ended up with a 3 hour train ride and gold panning.
Read Trapper44's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: White Pass Railroad
Member Image KansasinJune
May 2017
part of Sled Dogs, Gold Panning and 40 below. Musher Matt was entertaining and informative. Staff was as well
Read KansasinJune's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image froaddindude
Sep 2016
Booked the train and gold panning as a package. Price was crazy expensive from what we are used to, $205 each. We ended up getting really lucky with some amazing weather, great views of the Skagway valley, fun bus driver on the way down and great gold panning experience with a classic gold panning guide. He stole the day with his instructions on how to gold pan, kudos to him!
Read froaddindude's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lineman99
Sep 2016
For us... forget it . Tailings brought in from a commercial mine many miles away. You pan them in made troughs..Maybe we were expecting too much. Thought it would be at an old mine. Oh well did find a few specks of gold.
Read lineman99's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lineman99
Sep 2016
For us... forget it . Tailings brought in from a commercial mine many miles away. You pan them in made troughs..Maybe we were expecting too much. Thought it would be at an old mine. Oh well did find a few specks of gold.
Read lineman99's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links