Skagway Gold Panning Excursion Reviews

Skagway Gold Panning cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Catch the gold fever searching for yellow nuggets in the heart of historic Skagway.
Member Image timberwolves cruise
1 review
Sep 2017
really fun especially as we were trying to get more gold than each other
Read timberwolves cruise's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image darwinsrule
4 reviews
Aug 2017
Found gold which we got to keep. Played with puppies.
Read darwinsrule's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dinausc11
1 review
Jul 2017
Very fun. The actors made the experience really great. Don't forget to get the hot, fresh baked cookies. Yummy.
Read dinausc11's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Emanuel Schreibmaier
Member Image caseylee4ts
1 review
Jul 2017
Kind of a goofy experience in Liarsville with a great salmon bake (they had chicken, salads, and other food as well), a silly show put on by the locals, and the chance to learn a little about gold panning without having to wade through a river.
Read caseylee4ts's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Connie.bearden
3 reviews
Jul 2017
Fun to do!! Kept our gold in a pendant!
Read Connie.bearden's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SKfromDallas
1 review
Jun 2017
The gold panning was definitely more for kids as most adults tried for a minute or two and then left their stations.
Read SKfromDallas's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ronbrinkman
1 review
Jun 2017
In Skagway we did go on a salmon bake and panning for gold. I would have rather not go since we ate outside and the wind was 40 miles an hour and misting. But had paid for it and was sure if I didn't go I would be out the money
Read ronbrinkman's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Travel2Liberate
1 review
May 2017
When you arrive you are given instructions on how to pan for gold and then you are given a pan of pay dirt. It was fun, a little scary when you start dunking and let the dirt/rocks out of the pan. Good thing gold weighs more and sticks to the bottom of the pan. We got a few flakes worth $12.97 (two pans worth). You get to keep your gold flakes in a black plastic tube. Cute memento!
Read Travel2Liberate's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jillou323
1 review
May 2017
Gold panning didn't do a thing for me, but a lot of the people around me enjoyed it.
Read jillou323's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image arhonebrink
1 review
May 2017
Fun! Great breakfast; simple, beautiful hike.
Read arhonebrink's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Trapper44
1 review
May 2017
We had booked a 8 hour train Lake Bennett excursion but the driver left 15-20 minutes early. The White Pass Railroad refunded our money we had paid for the Lake Bennett Adventure and let us pick what excursion we wanted to go on. We ended up with a 3 hour train ride and gold panning.
Read Trapper44's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: White Pass Railroad
Member Image KansasinJune
1 review
May 2017
part of Sled Dogs, Gold Panning and 40 below. Musher Matt was entertaining and informative. Staff was as well
Read KansasinJune's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image froaddindude
1 review
Sep 2016
Booked the train and gold panning as a package. Price was crazy expensive from what we are used to, $205 each. We ended up getting really lucky with some amazing weather, great views of the Skagway valley, fun bus driver on the way down and great gold panning experience with a classic gold panning guide. He stole the day with his instructions on how to gold pan, kudos to him!
Read froaddindude's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lineman99
1 review
Sep 2016
For us... forget it . Tailings brought in from a commercial mine many miles away. You pan them in made troughs..Maybe we were expecting too much. Thought it would be at an old mine. Oh well did find a few specks of gold.
Read lineman99's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AG123456
2 reviews
Aug 2016
15 mins listening to guy about panning gold and had less than 10 mins to pan 6 oz of dirt. RIPOFF b/c kids were miserable.
Read AG123456's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image carolsuehogan
1 review
Aug 2016
Trip to Liarsville including gold panning. Yes, we found real gold flakes (not flour gold). It was a great recreation of the camp, with entertaining stories of the era. Recommend it very much.
Read carolsuehogan's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sagafemina
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Great fun with kids, booked locally with public transpo and saved a bunch. Also took home about $25 in gold, (or so they said) as a souvenir...
Read sagafemina's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image downunder9
12 reviews
Aug 2016
We did a gold Panning, dogs and 40 below tour. The gold panning was a bit of fun, the dogs was not bad but I must admit the below 40 degree experience was a bit strange Being put into a container which was freezing was not quite what I expected
Read downunder9's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rleefamily
1 review
Aug 2016
Fun!
Read rleefamily's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Kathylou
1 review
Aug 2016
The gold panning was fun but we had done this before so not a new experience. The big push was to have you put your gold into jewelry (costly) and if you chose not to your gold was handed to you in a film canister. Other places have small bottles or laminated cards for your samples.
Read Kathylou's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vickiduncan1987@yahoo.com
1 review
Aug 2016
Kinda hokey. Panned for gold you can keep it but wouldn't do this one again.
Read vickiduncan1987@yahoo.com's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Kevin R
1 review
Jul 2016
We had a lot of fun panning for gold. The folks that were there were dressed in 1800's period clothes and very helpful. And yes, you get to keep the gold you find!
Read Kevin R's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DayStar
1 review
Jul 2016
Not as much fun as I expected. You are handed a pan with dirt & gravel already in it then lined up at a trough to swoosh water around to get to gold flakes smaller than a dirt speck.
Read DayStar's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 6thking@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Fun and kitschy as expected.
Read 6thking@gmail.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mujerlinda
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Train ride was beautiful as long as you could actually see outside the left side of the train windows. If you're forced to sit on the right, you miss a lot and it does take a couple of hours to get to the top. Panning for gold - not worth the time. Was bored by the guys dressed up in miner's outfits. Food was horrible. Certainly not worth this being an excursion you have to pay for.
Read mujerlinda's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises

Sponsored links