St. Thomas Coral World Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Coral World Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Venture off on an informative park tour to see many of St. Thomas' historic wildlife and lush gardens, and learn about ancient myths and legends.
Member Image dscamper
1 review
Mar 2017
very nice tour
Read dscamper's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image travelhappymom3
1 review
Mar 2017
St. Thomas was pretty, but not spectacular. In retrospect, maybe we should have ferried over to St. John. We chose the Coral World shore excursion which lasted about 5 hours including transportation. Part of it was a semi-submersible ride among a coral reef and we saw some pretty cool tropical fish. The kids especially liked the sawfishes. It also included access to the Underwater Enchantment and Ocean Park, where they touched starfish and sea cucumbers. It was fun. The guides were lackluster though and there were iguanas everywhere which was great (for the kids) or not great (for mom). I guess it depends on your perspective. Lol. A word of warning to the parents though about St. Thomas in general. The only means of transportation on the island besides boats is open-air, open-side trolley taxis. This means playing defense the entire ride as the drivers are driving like maniacs on bumpy windy roads and the family is sliding around on bench seating without seatbelts. THD and I were hanging on to all three of our babies for dear life. It was stressful.
Read travelhappymom3's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kierste
2 reviews
Mar 2017
We did the shark encounter which included admission to the park. The encounter was great (you do not get to touch the sharks), we spent a lot of time in the water with them. The photos they took were great and the flash drive a great deal with all the pics included. We also walked to Coki beach and snorkeled for a bit. But it was crowded. All in all a great half day on St Thomas.
Read Kierste's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Coral World
Member Image B00tr0ck
1 review
Feb 2017
In St Thomas, we took an RCI excursion to Coal World, mostly because it was accessible for my dad. The port itself was lovely and well maintained. There were plenty of shops to browse while we waited for the tour operator. The transportation was very good, an open air bus. Not terribly informative during the drive but that was fine with us too. Coral World is small, not a lot of food choice so if you have allergies or picky eaters bring something. It can easily be seen n the 2 hours allotted. Coki Beach is right next to Coral World. Nice beach and some in our party stayed to enjoy it rather than shop downtown. A word of warning though, don't wait for too long after Coral World closes to look for a taxi if you stay at e beach. Our friends got the very last one in an empty parking lot only a short while after closing.
Read B00tr0ck's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DaElf
1 review
Feb 2017
think this was called coral world land and sea we were driven to this site in a old converted pickup truck with bench like seats on truck there was no narrative no information about island as we driven to the boat we were suppose to be able to see coral and sea life under water we did not see any colorful coral some fish ride back no narrative as well
Read DaElf's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wyocowgirl
1 review
Feb 2017
Our guide was not informative like the Tortola guide. The Coral World Ocean Park was a nice little park and not flamboyant. I liked this island and would visit again.
Read wyocowgirl's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gomerdog123
2 reviews
Jan 2017
stay away from this excursion if you are looking for something accessible. this excursion was described as 'accessible', but from the transportation, to 2 out of 4 exhibits, it was anything but.
Read gomerdog123's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image retirednow!
1 review
Dec 2016
Great value, feed the Stingrays!
Read retirednow!'s full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image J_Rozen
1 review
Dec 2016
This was an interesting day. Coral World is sort of an aquarium/ nature rehabilitation centre. It's quite run down and some exhibits are a bit sad looking. Overall though, we enjoyed the day here and they also have a lovely beach area.
Read J_Rozen's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image itsmeangee
1 review
Nov 2016
The park has so much potential, but it is quite run-down. There are many aquariums and wildlife to view, but tanks are dirty, buildings are old and cracky. The semi-submarine was cool, but we could not see very much because the water was cloudy. Plus, we did not go out very far--just kept going in circles seeing the same things. I would rather have spent more time on the boat and gone out further rather than spend most of the time at the park.The park was not close to the ship either. It was a very scary 30 minute ride each way up and down steep mountains on very narrow roads.
Read itsmeangee's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image swatkins56
2 reviews
Nov 2016
Butterfly World was great. Coral World was past its prime.
Read swatkins56's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bee02
1 review
Jun 2016
The Coral World is okay if you are limited to walking, it's self guided you can probably complete it in 20 mins or less, unfortunately we got there too late that we missed the seal show which was at 10am and then we had to leave and the next show wasn't til 2pm. We just hoped over to Coki beach and did some snorkelling which was nice.
Read Bee02's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mom and dad miracle
1 review
May 2016
Outstanding - loved the drive up and scenic stops - coral world great - beach beautiful - best beach of trip - still time to enjoy the city and shop after
Read mom and dad miracle's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image kfarle
1 review
Mar 2016
It was a good tour that was not very time consuming. The tour is self guided, (which I prefer) Getting to the transport to Coral World was a bit like being herded. There was a significant amount of confusion at the port because a lack of communication. Our driver was really friendly and made sure we knew when to meet back up with him and where to find him at the end of the excursion. We skipped the beach (it was Easter Sunday) and returned to the port to shop and walk around a but.
Read kfarle's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SpiritAnimal
1 review
Mar 2016
Coral World was a fun place. It was small but they had some shows and cool areas. The animals were very interesting.
Read SpiritAnimal's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lenquixote66
6 reviews
Feb 2016
14 people in a van many of whom had physical limitations was not a good experience.We assumed that the driver would give a description of the area on the way to the site but that did not happen. Coral world has limited activity.Aside from the feeding of the fish there was very little to do.
Read lenquixote66's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jshane111
2 reviews
Jan 2016
Nice tour.
Read jshane111's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image stillbliss
1 review
Oct 2015
We had 1 1/2 hours at Coral World. I was able to see three exhibits and then had to leave. For some reason, the people who were going to Butterfly Farm also only had limited time. The people going to the beach after had 2 1/2 hours. I could have spent 4 hours at Coral World.
Read stillbliss's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bonniefromtheblock
1 review
Oct 2015
More for kids than adults but they loved this boat tour more (our crew was great!) and Coral World was the perfect size for my 7.5/4.5 year olds to walk around and explore. Probably wouldn't rush back but for our first time as a family on the island wanting to do something more than just go the beach, this was a fun day all together.
Read bonniefromtheblock's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image MSK78
1 review
Aug 2015
Good for kids. You can swim with turtles for extra $$. Coki beach next store is small and crowded but really the only option after Coral World.
Read MSK78's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image QueenKatherine
1 review
Jul 2015
Coral World was pretty dilapidated - but the sea lions were fun. We saw the sea turtles and sharks, too. There is an exhibit where you can pick up large conch shells that house critters, and pet sea cucumbers. The iguanas that populate the area are really cool - and we saw lots of chickens. The iguanas are considered the squirrels of St Thomas (we were told). Lots of birds to see. Small gift shop.
Read QueenKatherine's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: shoreexcursionsgroup.com
Member Image joehick
1 review
Jul 2015
fun for the kids
Read joehick's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image newcomel
1 review
Jul 2015
Good tour, skip the banana daiquiri place
Read newcomel's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Godfrey Tours
Member Image maggie4036
1 review
May 2015
Coral world was interesting and very informative. Favorite was a sea lion visit and training session by a very interesting guy who explained a lot about the training and keeping the sea lions engaged and interested. Then we had a couple of hours to spend on Coki Beach were the we found the service extraordinary! Chairs and Umbrella set up near the water line $25, buckets of beer and lunch served at our seats, water was beautiful.
Read maggie4036's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image albeachrealtor
3 reviews
May 2015
Coral world was cute. We didn't do any of the interactive adventures, but it was perfect for our 3 year old. The price was fair (in my opinion) but it took quite a long time to get there on a shared bus with others.
Read albeachrealtor's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Direct with Coral World

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?