Cozumel Cave Tour Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Cave Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Cozumel's caves are filled with unique plants, wildlife -- and, of course, dramatic formations of stalactites and stalagmites.
Member Image Cruisinbin
1 review
Jun 2017
Rio Secreto is amazing! Don't take anything with you from the ship though, they provide everything! THey even provide lockers for your valuables while in the cave. THere is also shopping time in Playa del Carmen when the tour is complete. THis is an all day tour...not much time for anything else in port
Read Cruisinbin's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image loribuckner
1 review
Jun 2017
Great time for the family swimming in the cenotes. Beautiful experience and great staff.
Read loribuckner's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kimf1333
1 review
Jun 2017
This has been on my bucket-list and was well worth it. I know people don't like to buy the picture package, but this one is an absolute must! Each group has it's own photographer who knows where the best pictures will be made. The results were magnificent.
Read kimf1333's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TKCarmack
1 review
Mar 2017
20 mnute van ride after getting off of the ferry...very comfortable van, and very friendly guides and driver. Our guide was very enthusiastic and fun loving and patient with all of us. The caves were wonderful, the lunch was outstanding and then we did a Tequila tasting that was wonderful. Then we had a great time shopping on our own in a relaxed, unrushed manner. This was my favorite excursion day.
Read TKCarmack's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bmatlock
1 review
Mar 2017
The Secret River cave tour is simply amazing. I have been in several caves before, but this experience is unique and exciting. They provide all the equipment. You suit up in water shoes, helmet, wet suits and a life vest. After a short walk you enter the cave with your guide and follow a trail that changes back and forth between dry and wet. At times you will actually be swimming through the cave. Water temperature is not a problem. The trail is rugged and tight in spots, but that just makes the experience all that much more interesting. You can take a walking stick which is also provided for you, and I recommend it even if you are sure footed, because there are places where it is helpful. The length of the trail is listed as about a third of a mile, but it seems a lot longer because you are going at a very slow pace with frequent stops. A photographer also accompanies your group. At the end of the tour you can purchase single pictures for $25 or a usb drive with all your pictures (about 24 plus another 50 stock pictures relating to the cave) for $99. After the tour, you turn in your equipment and have a Mexican buffet lunch before heading back to the ship.
Read bmatlock's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Drifting Nomad
1 review
Dec 2016
The guide was nice and we were well taken care of. The only disappointment was the actual excursion itself. Not for everyone swimming in cold waters of a cave in December and the lagoon felt like we were swimming in a pond with fish that were put there on purpose even though it wasn't the case.
Read Drifting Nomad's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image DarrinM
1 review
Dec 2016
Once in a lifetime. Not for the claustrophobic or bat fearing!
Read DarrinM's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MayasMommie
1 review
Dec 2016
We were really excited to snorkel in several different places. But nowhere does it say you have to do it without fins (the company forbids it since they can damage the reefs). But I am not a strong enough swimmer to snorkel from the shore outward without fins. The tides kept fighting me so I gave up, not wanting to slow the rest of the group. This needs to be clearly stated in the description.
Read MayasMommie's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Baywinds11
1 review
Nov 2016
Boat ride to playa de carmen not safe getting on and off. Gangway was not stable again was in disrep air. One of the beRings on the bottom was even missing. The ride in the bus from this boat to the river was long and very uncomfortable. They rodes was dirt and narrow. Do not take this tour if you are not in good physical shape. Interesting but phyisally challenging.
Read Baywinds11's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Bridge007
1 review
Jul 2016
Great I was a lil nervous but fun.
Read Bridge007's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Zplor
Member Image sg1286
1 review
Jun 2016
beautiful the best part of the trip by far!!!!
Read sg1286's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image peacey
3 reviews
May 2016
Mystic River and Paradise Lagoon. Long ferry ride from Cozumel to Playa del Carmen then a long van ride to Dos Onos where we did the Mystic river cave experience. The water is cool at first but you get used to it. You walk (float in places - you wear a life preserver flotation device) in the river which flows through a cave where there is no light except the headlamps you are wearing. Small group - 12 or less. Beautiful stalagmite and stalactite formations in the cave. Then back on the van to to go to a lagoon where the river meets the ocean and snorkeling. Many fish here only drawback is the blurriness in the places where the fresh water and salt water mix together. Then back in the van to the Wah Wah beachfront restaurant in Playa del Carmen where we had a delicious buffet style meal and 2 drinks (alcohol included if desired). Then a short van ride to the ferry and a long ferry ride back to the port in Cozumel. Biggest drawback is that lunch is not served until after both activities but they do give you snacks and water while on the van. An excellent tour.
Read peacey's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image fidgety13
2 reviews
Oct 2015
We took the Secreto Cave excursion. Diana was a great guide. Only down side is you are not allowed to bring your own Camera.
Read fidgety13's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JBallentine
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Cozumel was my favorite port. It was gorgeous and our excursion was awesome. Pueblo and Roberto were our tour guides and were fantastic. We really felt we were immersed in Mexican culture.

Read JBallentine's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cruisepeggy
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Took a ferry to Playa Del Carmen. Did the cave tour and loved it. Swam through the caves. Tour guide was very knowledgeable. Enjoyed it very much.

Read Cruisepeggy's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image sykescreeklady
1 review
Feb 2013
Amazing Secret River was a wonderful experience.
Read sykescreeklady's full Costa Mediterranea cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image gmichae
1 review
Sep 2012
We decided to book the Amazing Secret River tour. WHAT AN UNBELIEVABLE EXCURSION!!! If you have the opportunity to take this excursion, do it! You will definitely love this tour. You are ferried to Playa Del Carmen on the mainland, and then transported to the site. It's a bit of a slow, rough ride to the location, due to the fact that the roads cannot be paved above the underground caverns. You'll don a short wetsuit, aqua shoes, and a cave explorer's helmet, and then set off into the caverns. Crystal clear water, unbelievable formations, and great fun! The tour has a paid photographer that takes every one's pictures along the way, since they don't allow you to bring your own camera for your safety. The packages are a little on the expensive side, but the memories are worth it.
Read gmichae's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Mikey7989
3 reviews
Sep 2012
Excellent excursion! We rode the ferry over to Playa de Carmen, boarded a van for the drive out to the Rio Secreto compound and then ventured down to the caverns which were discovered in 2006. The caverns have to board walks, so we were outfitted with wet suit, life jacket, wet socks and lighted helmet for the 1 1/2 hour journey through the caverns. Some areas require wading through, some swimming, some ducking and crouching to get through certain area but it was an awesome privilege to be one of the first to ever tour through the caverns! After a delicious local lunch, photos were available for purchase and we were taken back to our ship with the memory of a lifetime!
Read Mikey7989's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image SmokyTheCat
1 review
Aug 2012
Amazing Secret River - walking through cavern in a fresh water river. Was a lot of fun, not very difficult. Having seen it once I wouldn't pay to see it again, but it was worth the price.
Read SmokyTheCat's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image NJBeast
3 reviews
Apr 2012
Excellent excursion. Must be able to step up and down rocks and crouch down. No weight limit listed on website but there is one on the on-board paperwork. Had argument with excursion desk about difference in requirements but it was clarified with operator and their was not an issue. Worst part of excursion is just getting there and back. 30-45 minute ferry ride to mainland then 45 min bus ride on rough road. Rough seas going to mainland and storm heading back made many ferry riders seasick. Yet, ferry crew was still pushing tequila shots and beer. Would have given excursion a 5+ otherwise.
Read NJBeast's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Love2gocruise
1 review
Apr 2012
A "Bucket List" experience. Newly discovered underground river. Got to hike and swim though the caverns. The formations were incredible. Nice guides. Can't take your own photos, and must buy photos from them, but we happily did buy the CD. Lunch was provided. The ferry to the mainland is fast and bouncy and rough. Make sure you take something if you are prone to motion sickness.
Read Love2gocruise's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?