Cozumel Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating 381 Reviews
Do not miss out on Cozumel's famous Mayan Ruins! Learn about Mayan civilization, culture, folklore, and unsolved mysteries.
Details & Booking
Member Image lauramae31
Nov 2018
Tour included Mayan ruins at San Gervasio, beach stop, and chocolate factory. Ruins were interesting, but enjoyed beach stop and chocolate factory a little more. I would have liked a little more time as the beach as there were vendors with local wares. Excellent guides and very organized.
Read lauramae31's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image webdwarf40
Oct 2018
Chichen Itza - radios did not work. No narrative was audible unless you were directly in front of the guide, not possibe with 27 people. Added tablets this year, handed out with soggy sack lunch on boarding the bus. Not used to fullest potential. Collected at arrival to ruins. No way to hear the guide because the radios were left on and were all dead. 1/3 of the group quit after about 10 minutes. Only had 15min free time total.
Read webdwarf40's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DGalFL
Oct 2018
Maya Ruins and Chocolate factory/store.
Read DGalFL's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image drkshv
Sep 2018
Experience was good but the time to get there and time spent at location was ridicously. We didn't have the chance to see the whole place. It is too far away! Had to pay $3 extra dollars to bring the gopro into the place. Nice to see but better if you are just staying in Cancun. Food provided consisted in a ham and cheesse sandwich, juice, chips, soda, water and bun. Sellers at the location were very aggressive.
Read drkshv's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TxHunter
Jul 2018
Went to Chichen Itza - cruise ship didn't say when booking that it was 1 hour at Chichen Itza, we woudl have chosen something else. We got to spend 2 hour and saw the major sites. Dissappointing on the tour that everything was about upselling this trinket or that trinket, buy this from this person or that person, got old. Provided a 4oz water bottle, but then "alllowed" you to purchase 16oz water bottles with strong recommendation as to the heat at the site.
Read TxHunter's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image philg63
Jul 2018
the tour operator from aviomar was great. He explained all the mayan culture and the Mexican heritage, Bus ride was very long .
Read philg63's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image KristinaML
Jul 2018
Was very hot but so worth it. But if you tour Mayan Ruins then you can't see much else. it was about 45 minutes by ferry then 2 hours by bus. Leaving an hour or so to see before the long ride back again. Guide Alex was fabulous. So much history. So sad idiots graffitied the temple that you can't climb the steps or go inside. But stand at the steps & clap to hear the noise, not an echo. This was my 18 year old son's favorite excursion.
Read KristinaML's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Schlemba
Jun 2018
Interesting visit to El Cedral but no opportunity to shop there.
Read Schlemba's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ladybug28
Jun 2018
Monster jeeps and Mayan ruin excursion with lunch. There is 4 to a jeep and we went through something like a jungle to the Mayan Ruin that was not impressive. They provided lunch that consist of corn tortillas, carne asada and chicken, chips, salsa, guacamole, water and soda. There were two umbrellas and two blankets on the beach.
Read Ladybug28's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JCoffee33
Jun 2018
Chichen Itza is amazing - what's not amazing is not having enough time at the ruins themselves because the ship was late to port. Definitely understand that things happen but just be aware that it's a possibility. You are on a time crunch all day with this excursion because of how far away it is. You will have to take a 45-minute ferry to Playa del Carmen, and then a 2 hourish bus ride to the Chichen Itza. Ferry/bus ride were fine - our tour guide was AWESOME - but our time was limited to 40 minutes at the ruins instead of 1.5 hours which was originally stated - but since the ship was late to port we lost a lot of time. Be ready for a lot of travelling with this excursion - and if you go in June be ready to sweat! Love the ruins, just wish we had more time there.
Read JCoffee33's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 70 Mach 1
Jun 2018
Visited Tulum site. It was about a 50 minute ride from the coastal town of Playa del Carmen. Had to take a ferry from port on island of Cozumel but that was part of the fun. The ruins of Tulum are on the coast and have a beautiful view and beach. It
Read 70 Mach 1's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jlbynum
Jun 2018
Excursion just okay, though we were not expecting a whole lot from it. Just wanted something to do in a port we were not particularly excited about.
Read jlbynum's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image estilopoanco
May 2018
Nice excursion but too many difficults with the bus. The bus was malfunction.
Read estilopoanco's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image emilyr1
May 2018
One of the most incredible places to experience - knowledgeable tour guides, but ask in advance if you want more time for pictures and shopping at the Mayan market.
Read emilyr1's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Emily91
May 2018
Our final port was Cozumel, and we booked the Chichen Itza excursion. No one on a cruise to Cozumel should book this excursion unless they're okay with 6 hours of travel in cramped, poorly cooled spaces (a 45 minute ferry ride, then a 2 hour bus ride x2). Especially because you only get one hour of time at the actual destination. Chichen Itza itself was fantastic! I just really wish I hadn't done it as a cruise excursion. The excessive travel really dampened the experience for me.
Read Emily91's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image syalb318
May 2018
Visited Chichen Itza. Learned Mayan culture and history.
Read syalb318's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image leejeff
Apr 2018
Coba pyramid was excellent and the only large Mayan pyramid that you can climb. You are above the tree tops and the view is spectacular. The ruins are fantastic and Pok-Ta-Pok (the ball game of ancient Mayans which ended in human sacrifice from the captain of the winning team) arenas are also around the area.
Read leejeff's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tammy1220
Apr 2018
Interesting experience. Extremely hot and difficult to enjoy at times but learned a lot about an ancient interesting culture.
Read Tammy1220's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image msultzbach
Apr 2018
Awesome!! Lots to see and guide was informative without being boring!!
Read msultzbach's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image janeinfl2
Mar 2018
Terrible cramped transportation. No bathroom on board, no shocks. Took 9 hrs. instead of 7 1/2. Guide gave us no time to check out the vendors at the ruins. Ruins were cool. Most uncomfortable trip ever.
Read janeinfl2's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Nafus247
Mar 2018
The ruins and our guide were very interesting. Be careful walking on the uneven rocky walkways. Our excursion included a trip around the island and a stop at the chocolate factory. The chocolate is so-so but the demonstrations were good.
Read Nafus247's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tomeikapacheco
Mar 2018
The ruins were amazing. We had a private taxi and a private tour guide. I'm not sure if it was set up that way or if we just got lucky. The tour guide was very informative and took us around the city on an informal tour.
Read tomeikapacheco's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image matouscc
Mar 2018
Chicken Itza. Flew there and back. It was rescheduled to afternoon. Better than not going, but wasn't the experience we expected. Was very rushed, tour was 1/2 the expected length. But flight was fun, and we saw it. It is a must see, but arriving back at the far end of the dock when we should be boarding wasn't fun and of course no shopping after the tour, even though the write up said there would be. But the ruins are wonderful.
Read matouscc's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sportpsych3
Mar 2018
Our original tour got canceled due to safety issues. We took the tour to other ruins and the chocolate factory. Our guide, Nicole, was excellent!
Read Sportpsych3's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sportpsych3
Mar 2018
Our original tour got canceled due to safety issues. We took the tour to other ruins and the chocolate factory. Our guide, Nicole, was excellent!
Read Sportpsych3's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links