Cozumel Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Do not miss out on Cozumel's famous Mayan Ruins! Learn about Mayan civilization, culture, folklore, and unsolved mysteries.
Member Image indiedog
1 review
Dec 2017
We did the San Gervasio Ruins, Beach sightseeing and Chocolate Factory Tour. Very interesting, especially the chocolate tour.
Read indiedog's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JacksFunShip
1 review
Dec 2017
The island's Mayan ruins aren't worth the trip. Should have gone to Tulum instead.
Read JacksFunShip's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image efkjla
1 review
Dec 2017
The highlight of this cruise for us was seeing the ruins for ourselves and hearing the history and culture commentary from our guide.
Read efkjla's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rds2
reviews
Dec 2017
Mayan ruins very interesting. Guide knowledgeable but sometimes hard to hear. After the ruins visited place where growing and making chocolate demonstrated. Tour list as 3 1/2 hours and it was more like 4 1/2, but a good tour overall
Read rds2's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image CRVollmer
1 review
Dec 2017
6 hour commute. The only thing you will see is the inside of a shuttle bus, a ferry, the ruins for an hour, then back on the ship.
Read CRVollmer's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image haultj
1 review
Dec 2017
The ruins were no comparison to Chichen Itza. It is not really worth the time and money. The beach stop was actually a nice beach.
Read haultj's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Constress
1 review
Nov 2017
The bus was too small and very uncomfortable for a 2 hour ride. They didn't give us time to eat our lunch and we had to try to eat it on the bus. had I known it was closer from Costa Maya, I would have booked it from there.
Read Constress's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Beverly Tarot
1 review
Nov 2017
THIS excursion made the ENTIRE cruise bearable! It was handled perfectly by the vendor, www.flycozumel.com. Everything from the shuttle to the plane, the plane ride, the shuttle to Chichen Itza...the tour...and return was absolutely flawless. Highly recommend. A once in a lifetime experience.
Read Beverly Tarot's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bardlady
1 review
Nov 2017
We were in the first group off the ship, as there was a specific ferry allocated for the tour groups. The boat smelled like the chemicals inside a portapotty, and rocked terribly. I was really glad I had taken dramamine and had sea bands on - because I was still nauseated! Once off the boat, we were met by our tour guide and shepherded to the buses, about 1/2 mile away. They gave us our lunch, which was a danish, a box of mango juice, an apple, and a "sandwich" that was a submarine role with one slice of lunchmeat and one slice of cheese. Then we rode for 2 hours at 85 mph to get to Chichen Itza. They use the smaller tour buses that can handle groups of 14 people. These buses are NOT made for American sized bodies. I was in the back row, and we were crammed in like sardines, and only one person was overly heavy. They use these buses because the bigger, more comfortable buses are far slower and they weren't able to complete the tours in time. I'd prefer not to take the tour if it is going to be as uncomfortable as this trip was. We arrived at the ruins, paused briefly to let everyone use the facilities, and then did a whirlwind tour through the ruins. I didn't feel like the guide was rushing us, but we got 25 minutes to explore on our own. A few people walked down to the cenote, I went back towards the bus. The cenote people were late getting back, but only by a few minutes. Then we all crammed back onto the bus and flew at 85 mph back to the port, where we got on a more comfortable ferry where we could at least sit outside, and were constantly approached by people selling "last chance" souvenirs for 3x what they cost at the ruins. The "silver" they were hawking was definitely not silver, as silver has a distinct ring to it when it hits other silver necklaces. The ferry had to wait for a few more tour buses full of people, as again it was specifically chartered for the tour groups. The people onboard Liberty of the Seas were late getting back to their ship, but since they were all on Royal Caribbean sponsored excursions they weren't left behind. We had about 45 minutes until we had to be on board so we walked around the port and purchased a few things, and then headed back to the ship to have dinner.
Read Bardlady's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ATLGigi
2 reviews
Nov 2017
Long day but great opportunity to see UNESCO and new Seven Wonders of the World site. If you've seen Cozumel many times, consider this excursion to inland Yucatan Peninsula. It is awe-inspiring to see.
Read ATLGigi's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bee287
1 review
Nov 2017
TOO MUCH TRAVEL TIME! 45 minutes on ferry to mainland, then 2 1/2 HOURS on bus to get to Chichen Itza. Only left 1 hour to see ruins. Not nearly enough time.
Read Bee287's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Sirtravelalot
1 review
Nov 2017
Expected a larger ruin site but was interesting. The ferry ride back was a bit chaotic.
Read Sirtravelalot's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image sorr0504
1 review
Nov 2017
Chichen Itza was the highlight of the cruise as we booked this itinerary for this excursion and it did not disappoint. The ferry ride was entertaining as the seas were rough so take you sea sick meds if you are prone to it. I would book with the cruise line as we were delayed an arrived back at port at the time the ship was suppose to leave as we did not have to worry as they said the boat would wait for us.
Read sorr0504's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Garyjoy
1 review
Nov 2017
Long time on the road to get there. Only had 45 mins to see Chechin Itza. need more time at the ruins
Read Garyjoy's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Tara60
1 review
Oct 2017
lots of walking, 45 minute boat ride, several people got sea sick , then a 45 minute bus ride , nice group of folks, went to a Tequila tasting and several stores , Tulum is worth seeing at least once, saw some wild animals again lots of walking.
Read Tara60's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BoydHolland
1 review
Sep 2017
We went to Chichen Itza Maya Ruins, one of the new world wonders. Great to see and we had a really good tour guide who explained a lot about Maya Culture. He was very passionate.
Read BoydHolland's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image donlee@yahoo.com
1 review
Sep 2017
very wrong and hot tour but kind of worth it. Again, it is well over priced.
Read donlee@yahoo.com's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BillysJean
3 reviews
Aug 2017
Informative, but eaten by mosquitos. They should carry OFF if they know it is as bad as it is. My grand daughters' legs were just covered in bites.
Read BillysJean's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Bluewonder17
1 review
Aug 2017
Toured San Gervosio which my daughter found to be very interesting since she studied the Mayans recently in school. Guide was very knowledgeable. Took a sightseeing tour on the way back to the main port. Wear lots of bug spray though because the mosquitos are numerous.
Read Bluewonder17's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image duartlu1
1 review
Jul 2017
Educational experience at the ruins.
Read duartlu1's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SueRoss
1 review
Jul 2017
Great day and wonderful experience to see such an amazing part of another culture.
Read SueRoss's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bandguy54
1 review
Jul 2017
We took the Mayan Ruins and Chocolate tasting tour. The Mayan ruins were very interesting, but we really wanted to take the Tulum tour. However, the ship was not in port long enough in Cozumel to allow that.
Read bandguy54's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image K9fans
1 review
Jul 2017
Hot as the Hades. But tour guide was excellent
Read K9fans's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Best Price Cruises
Member Image Pookiefish
2 reviews
Jul 2017
We visited the San Gervasio ruins via bus and they were interesting, but much of the ruins had been used by a local developer years ago for other buildings so there was not much left to see. Our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining, however. After that, the bus tour took us to the other side of the island for a brief visit to the 7 mile beach, which was wonderful - large rocks with sea spray - would have loved to have spent more time exploring (will have to do that on our next trip.) Then we went to the Mayan Chocolate Factory which was very enjoyable, informative and (thanks to generous samples), delicious! We thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
Read Pookiefish's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Everitt25
1 review
Jul 2017
Very informative and interesting and not a long drive. Included a quick stop at a protected beach and tour of the Mayan Chocolate Factory with tasting. Again very interesting, learned alot about Mayan culture at both places. Short time to shop, wish there had been more time to explore Playa Mia
Read Everitt25's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links