Cozumel Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Do not miss out on Cozumel's famous Mayan Ruins! Learn about Mayan civilization, culture, folklore, and unsolved mysteries.
Member Image duartlu1
1 review
Jul 2017
Educational experience at the ruins.
Read duartlu1's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SueRoss
1 review
Jul 2017
Great day and wonderful experience to see such an amazing part of another culture.
Read SueRoss's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bandguy54
1 review
Jul 2017
We took the Mayan Ruins and Chocolate tasting tour. The Mayan ruins were very interesting, but we really wanted to take the Tulum tour. However, the ship was not in port long enough in Cozumel to allow that.
Read bandguy54's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image K9fans
1 review
Jul 2017
Hot as the Hades. But tour guide was excellent
Read K9fans's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Best Price Cruises
Member Image Pookiefish
2 reviews
Jul 2017
We visited the San Gervasio ruins via bus and they were interesting, but much of the ruins had been used by a local developer years ago for other buildings so there was not much left to see. Our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining, however. After that, the bus tour took us to the other side of the island for a brief visit to the 7 mile beach, which was wonderful - large rocks with sea spray - would have loved to have spent more time exploring (will have to do that on our next trip.) Then we went to the Mayan Chocolate Factory which was very enjoyable, informative and (thanks to generous samples), delicious! We thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
Read Pookiefish's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Everitt25
1 review
Jul 2017
Very informative and interesting and not a long drive. Included a quick stop at a protected beach and tour of the Mayan Chocolate Factory with tasting. Again very interesting, learned alot about Mayan culture at both places. Short time to shop, wish there had been more time to explore Playa Mia
Read Everitt25's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Boilermaker92
1 review
Jul 2017
Great tour of Mayan ruins. Beautiful scenery, but take LOTS of bug spray.
Read Boilermaker92's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image scottoftheseas
1 review
Jul 2017
Chechen-Itza was a long drive, but worth it. Excellent tour guide with tons of knowledge.
Read scottoftheseas's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TexasDoug
1 review
Jun 2017
a van tour for 8 persons to San Gervasio archaeological site, then a drive around the island. Took 3 1/2 hours, concluded in time for a late lunch.
Read TexasDoug's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sailwiththefox
1 review
Jun 2017
wonderful tour includes chocolate making and tasting. also a lovely stop at a beautiful beach for photos. very interesting tour of Mayan ruins. Informative tour guide Edwin and friendly bus driver David. treated us like family. we highly recommend this tour.
Read sailwiththefox's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image caneman301
1 review
Jun 2017
Amazing! Give you a sense of how civilization as evolved and still remain the same such as the 364/365 days year Mayan concept.
Read caneman301's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Grammie get down
1 review
Jun 2017
Way to humid and hot!! But great experience. Not enough time at location. I wouldn't suggest going because of time restrains.
Read Grammie get down's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LtBamBam
1 review
Jun 2017
The lunch included was a sandwich which we were told we needed before arriving, made for a long afternoon with no normal cruise day of constant food. But the excursion was very informative and fun.
Read LtBamBam's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cyanes
1 review
May 2017
While service e was excellent time in chichen itza is too short 1.5 hours after been in a bus for 2 hours + 2 hours to get back RC should give more time in this port as distance is big from port and excursions are expensive
Read cyanes's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Triumphdeb
3 reviews
May 2017
Long day but worth the trip.
Read Triumphdeb's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image christy_carter
1 review
May 2017
Take some extra money with you and buy a beautiful handmade hammock! Love mine. The vendor started out high but you can talk them down for a really good deal if you are good. The beach was beautiful and we had about an hour an a half to enjoy the colorful turquoise water. Get your picture made for just $2 with two live can get beautiful McCall parrots at the ruins. You can get photos taken at the beach but the guys there wanted more money. Great excursion for elderly too. My mom loved it!
Read christy_carter's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Fourmikes
1 review
May 2017
The excursion to Tulum Mayan Ruins exceeded our expectations. Ernesto was kind, thoughtful, and very well organized. He made sure we had a clear understanding of what we were about to experience and prepared us for each leg of the journey. Safety was a main priority starting with a reminder to wear our seat belts as Jonathan safely navigated the roads very quickly. His concern for our safety and comfort continued as he turned us over to our guide through the ruins when he handed us all waters to ensure we stayed hydrated throughout the tour. During the tour, Juan Ramón, impressed us with his knowledge and his ability to share it in a way we could understand. He made it a point to make sure we understood by using stories we could relate to and pictures. His enthusiasm and obvious appreciation for the Mayan culture kept our attention during the entire tour. After the tour Ernesto met up with us once again and continued being a gracious host and served us a delicious lunch and drinks. We arrived safely back to Cozumel with amazing pictures, stories, and a better understanding and greater appreciation for the Tulum Mayan Ruins.
Read Fourmikes's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tour Finder
Member Image WhatChuLookingAt
1 review
May 2017
See my main review for descriptions. If you're offered Dramamine at the gathering point for the trip, take it. Going to Chiten-Itza requires almost 6 hours of travel for about 90 minutes on site - realize this before taking the trip. That being said it's a quick bucket list item that you can check off.
Read WhatChuLookingAt's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image indiana71
6 reviews
Apr 2017
The Mayan Ruins in Cozumel are not large. We were there 45 minutes and then the tour guide narrated as we rode through the island. The bus was air-conditioned and comfortable.
Read indiana71's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Medic9701
4 reviews
Apr 2017
Stopped here at the recommendation of Pancho, our Jeep tour guide. Well worth $15 and your time to learn about and experience Mayan culture.
Read Medic9701's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Pueblo Del Maiz
Member Image Ted_Linda_L
1 review
Apr 2017
An extremely knowledgeable tour guide provided a wealth of information about the Mayan people, their life style and accomplishments. The ruins were inspiring, and the ancillary activities/performances there, ensured a memorable experience.
Read Ted_Linda_L's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PanamaLady
1 review
Apr 2017
A wonderful explanation and tour of the Mayan fertility ruin. Then a short bus ride to the coral beach before stopping at the Mayan Chocolate factory... very, very informative and super yummy treats!
Read PanamaLady's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jrswillis
1 review
Apr 2017
$70 round trip taxi ride... do this in the morning because afternoons are HOT and more tourists on site... hire a guide (for $20 she was worth it, although her English was so-so at times) because the signage is poor and doesn't explain much. The kids will be bored unless you permit them to stalk and 'hunt' the numerous iguanas that bask on the stones everywhere. (We did. They couldn't catch any, but had fun trying.)
Read jrswillis's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: San Gervasio Mayan Ruins
Member Image djbjdper
3 reviews
Apr 2017
Not that impressed with this excursion. Mayan ruins were quite small and the area very dusty. The stop at the beach was okay, but you only had a few minutes there.
Read djbjdper's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image plumbdik
1 review
Apr 2017
There is not enough time to make it to the site from port. I would never recommend the Chichen Itza tour to anyone stopping in Cozumel and going to the site. Figure something else out because they did not do a good job with this tour. Very Very Disappointing.
Read plumbdik's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links