Cozumel Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Do not miss out on Cozumel's famous Mayan Ruins! Learn about Mayan civilization, culture, folklore, and unsolved mysteries.
Member Image philg63
1 review
Jul 2018
the tour operator from aviomar was great. He explained all the mayan culture and the Mexican heritage, Bus ride was very long .
Read philg63's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Schlemba
1 review
Jun 2018
Interesting visit to El Cedral but no opportunity to shop there.
Read Schlemba's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ladybug28
1 review
Jun 2018
Monster jeeps and Mayan ruin excursion with lunch. There is 4 to a jeep and we went through something like a jungle to the Mayan Ruin that was not impressive. They provided lunch that consist of corn tortillas, carne asada and chicken, chips, salsa, guacamole, water and soda. There were two umbrellas and two blankets on the beach.
Read Ladybug28's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JCoffee33
1 review
Jun 2018
Chichen Itza is amazing - what's not amazing is not having enough time at the ruins themselves because the ship was late to port. Definitely understand that things happen but just be aware that it's a possibility. You are on a time crunch all day with this excursion because of how far away it is. You will have to take a 45-minute ferry to Playa del Carmen, and then a 2 hourish bus ride to the Chichen Itza. Ferry/bus ride were fine - our tour guide was AWESOME - but our time was limited to 40 minutes at the ruins instead of 1.5 hours which was originally stated - but since the ship was late to port we lost a lot of time. Be ready for a lot of travelling with this excursion - and if you go in June be ready to sweat! Love the ruins, just wish we had more time there.
Read JCoffee33's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 70 Mach 1
2 reviews
Jun 2018
Visited Tulum site. It was about a 50 minute ride from the coastal town of Playa del Carmen. Had to take a ferry from port on island of Cozumel but that was part of the fun. The ruins of Tulum are on the coast and have a beautiful view and beach. It
Read 70 Mach 1's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jlbynum
1 review
Jun 2018
Excursion just okay, though we were not expecting a whole lot from it. Just wanted something to do in a port we were not particularly excited about.
Read jlbynum's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image estilopoanco
1 review
May 2018
Nice excursion but too many difficults with the bus. The bus was malfunction.
Read estilopoanco's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image emilyr1
1 review
May 2018
One of the most incredible places to experience - knowledgeable tour guides, but ask in advance if you want more time for pictures and shopping at the Mayan market.
Read emilyr1's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Emily91
1 review
May 2018
Our final port was Cozumel, and we booked the Chichen Itza excursion. No one on a cruise to Cozumel should book this excursion unless they're okay with 6 hours of travel in cramped, poorly cooled spaces (a 45 minute ferry ride, then a 2 hour bus ride x2). Especially because you only get one hour of time at the actual destination. Chichen Itza itself was fantastic! I just really wish I hadn't done it as a cruise excursion. The excessive travel really dampened the experience for me.
Read Emily91's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image syalb318
1 review
May 2018
Visited Chichen Itza. Learned Mayan culture and history.
Read syalb318's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image leejeff
1 review
Apr 2018
Coba pyramid was excellent and the only large Mayan pyramid that you can climb. You are above the tree tops and the view is spectacular. The ruins are fantastic and Pok-Ta-Pok (the ball game of ancient Mayans which ended in human sacrifice from the captain of the winning team) arenas are also around the area.
Read leejeff's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tammy1220
1 review
Apr 2018
Interesting experience. Extremely hot and difficult to enjoy at times but learned a lot about an ancient interesting culture.
Read Tammy1220's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image msultzbach
2 reviews
Apr 2018
Awesome!! Lots to see and guide was informative without being boring!!
Read msultzbach's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image janeinfl2
1 review
Mar 2018
Terrible cramped transportation. No bathroom on board, no shocks. Took 9 hrs. instead of 7 1/2. Guide gave us no time to check out the vendors at the ruins. Ruins were cool. Most uncomfortable trip ever.
Read janeinfl2's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Nafus247
1 review
Mar 2018
The ruins and our guide were very interesting. Be careful walking on the uneven rocky walkways. Our excursion included a trip around the island and a stop at the chocolate factory. The chocolate is so-so but the demonstrations were good.
Read Nafus247's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tomeikapacheco
1 review
Mar 2018
The ruins were amazing. We had a private taxi and a private tour guide. I'm not sure if it was set up that way or if we just got lucky. The tour guide was very informative and took us around the city on an informal tour.
Read tomeikapacheco's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image matouscc
4 reviews
Mar 2018
Chicken Itza. Flew there and back. It was rescheduled to afternoon. Better than not going, but wasn't the experience we expected. Was very rushed, tour was 1/2 the expected length. But flight was fun, and we saw it. It is a must see, but arriving back at the far end of the dock when we should be boarding wasn't fun and of course no shopping after the tour, even though the write up said there would be. But the ruins are wonderful.
Read matouscc's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sportpsych3
1 review
Mar 2018
Our original tour got canceled due to safety issues. We took the tour to other ruins and the chocolate factory. Our guide, Nicole, was excellent!
Read Sportpsych3's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AuthorKareBear
1 review
Mar 2018
It was pouring before, during, and after our tour so we can't give it a fair rating. They were out of umbrellas so we ventured out to the first stop of the ruins but we were so soaking wet that we turned back and waited by the shops while drinking coffee. The bus ride back was on an air-conditioned bus which would be nice if it was hot but because our clothes were soaked, it was freezing and two of the 4 people in our party developed got sick from it.
Read AuthorKareBear's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DCruiser81
1 review
Feb 2018
Chichen Itza is a must see! Beware though that ferries on this route have been targeted by probable cartel violence in 2018. Also, the ferry goes VERY fast, and several passengers got sick on the voyage.
Read DCruiser81's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image giffo97
1 review
Feb 2018
Transportation was excellent to and from TULUM Ruins. Mayan culture, astronomy, and engineering is unbelievable.
Read giffo97's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jandlcruise
3 reviews
Feb 2018
We visited Tulum then did shopping in Playa Del Carmen
Read jandlcruise's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image california mike
1 review
Feb 2018
Long boat ride and long bus ride followed by a long hot walk. Ruins were fine but guide did a poor job telling us about them. He had a bunch of pictures from other places he spent most of his time discussing. He also tried hard to get you to buy some expensive beads and a $30 picture and pushed hard to get folks to go to a restraint "Frosty's" that had over priced mediocre food. A very poor day for us.
Read california mike's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image moltobene
1 review
Feb 2018
For to reach Mayan ruins you make a terrible ferry trip which everybody vomits.After that 1 hour by bus and you have 45 minutes left to see a few stones which is not worth to see at all.So I suggest you do not go to Mayan Ruins in Tulum.
Read moltobene's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image PTC Babe
5 reviews
Feb 2018
Very well organized. Liked that we were divided into smaller group (16) in large van. Tour guide was very good but PA system on van was not. Wished he would have used the personal listening devices we used at Chichen Itza during our ride. Bag lunch was adequate. Glad I ate it before our 1.7 hour tour began at 11:45. Got back to the ship at 5:15 for 6:00 sailaway.
Read PTC Babe's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links