St. Thomas St. John Tour Excursion Reviews

Sail from St. Thomas to nearby St. John for an afternoon on the smallest, quietest, least populated and most secluded of the three U.S. Virgin Islands.
Took a tour around St john island.
Took a tour around St john island. Required to take a ferry to St John and then a drive around the island. It was interesting. I did not realize how devastated the US Virgin Islands, in addition to Puerto Rico, were from the hurricanes ... Read More
Took a tour around St john island. Required to take a ferry to St John and then a drive around the island. It was interesting. I did not realize how devastated the US Virgin Islands, in addition to Puerto Rico, were from the hurricanes in 2017. Once the tour ended, we went downtown St Thomas where there was a long block of shipping for watches, jewelry and electronics. Always very busy previous times there. Half the block shut down with For Sale signs, very sad. Read Less
Sail Date February 2020
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Island girl crew was fun, knowledgeable of history, interesting facts and very nice boat ride from ...
Island girl crew was fun, knowledgeable of history, interesting facts and very nice boat ride from St. Thomas to St. John.
Island girl crew was fun, knowledgeable of history, interesting facts and very nice boat ride from St. Thomas to St. John. Read Less
Sail Date February 2020
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Did the St John On Your Own which was essentially a ferry to St.
Did the St John On Your Own which was essentially a ferry to St. John but doing independently would have been tricky so we booked the Princess option. I originally booked the morning slot but arrived on board to find it had been changed ... Read More
Did the St John On Your Own which was essentially a ferry to St. John but doing independently would have been tricky so we booked the Princess option. I originally booked the morning slot but arrived on board to find it had been changed to the PM slot but this was due to the operator not Princess. On arrival in St John, at Cruz Bay, we went to the National Park Visitor Center, picked up a map and walked the mile long Lind Point trail to Honeymoon Beach (gorgeous) where we spent an hour swimming and sunbathing before hiking back. Its an easy walk and the beach is so beautiful. Read Less
Sail Date January 2020
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
The 45-minute ferry ride to St.
The 45-minute ferry ride to St. John involved some fairly rough water. Once we got there, we were loaded on the open-sided 20-seat truck-buses also used in St. Thomas. The drive is mainly through tropical forests since most of the island ... Read More
The 45-minute ferry ride to St. John involved some fairly rough water. Once we got there, we were loaded on the open-sided 20-seat truck-buses also used in St. Thomas. The drive is mainly through tropical forests since most of the island is occupied by a national park. There are spectacular scenic views of the beautiful beaches, and a stop at Annaberg to view the ruins of a sugar mill. The drive back went along Centerline Road on top of the mountains, and gave some great views over the south shore, the opposite side to the outward drive. Read Less
Sail Date December 2019
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Did St John on your own.
Did St John on your own. Much better experience than in the past. Now the ship uses Island Girls who provided great commentary. just wish it were longer.
Did St John on your own. Much better experience than in the past. Now the ship uses Island Girls who provided great commentary. just wish it were longer. Read Less
Sail Date December 2019
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Very pleasant afternoon hiking a mile or so through the hills to a secluded small beach.
Very pleasant afternoon hiking a mile or so through the hills to a secluded small beach. Tour guide was good and the ride over & back was nice.
Very pleasant afternoon hiking a mile or so through the hills to a secluded small beach. Tour guide was good and the ride over & back was nice. Read Less
Sail Date December 2019
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Once we got to Cruz Bay, hopped on an open air bus for a ride on the island.
Once we got to Cruz Bay, hopped on an open air bus for a ride on the island. The driver spoke a lot about some medicinal plant. Stopped at a overlook places to take pics of beautiful beaches, like Trunk Bay.
Once we got to Cruz Bay, hopped on an open air bus for a ride on the island. The driver spoke a lot about some medicinal plant. Stopped at a overlook places to take pics of beautiful beaches, like Trunk Bay. Read Less
Sail Date November 2019
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
A good excursion if you want to relax and have someone else do the driving and give you their ...
A good excursion if you want to relax and have someone else do the driving and give you their perspective of the island.
A good excursion if you want to relax and have someone else do the driving and give you their perspective of the island. Read Less
Sail Date October 2019
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
I feel bad giving this a 2 rating but it wasn't up to Average.
I feel bad giving this a 2 rating but it wasn't up to Average. Maybe not the excursions fault but not much to see on St John. We took a boat over (rough ride); they were short a tram when we arrived but got on quickly. We saw more ... Read More
I feel bad giving this a 2 rating but it wasn't up to Average. Maybe not the excursions fault but not much to see on St John. We took a boat over (rough ride); they were short a tram when we arrived but got on quickly. We saw more road side over growth than anything else. Stopped for photo op a few times and beaches were beautiful but we viewed from above on street. No water/drinks offered. No town stop; beach stop; nothing. Wanted to see St John but don't feel like we did. Would not recommend. Read Less
Sail Date September 2019
Shore Excursion Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Lovely informative tour to St.
Lovely informative tour to St. John to see the sights. Island Girls staff was informative on the 45 min boat ride over and our guide Dale was great and a knowledgeable native St. John'er
Lovely informative tour to St. John to see the sights. Island Girls staff was informative on the 45 min boat ride over and our guide Dale was great and a knowledgeable native St. John'er Read Less
Sail Date July 2019
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
We did St.
We did St. Johns on our own tour...The only disappointment was that we wished we had another hour on Trunk Bay. Absolutely gorgeous.
We did St. Johns on our own tour...The only disappointment was that we wished we had another hour on Trunk Bay. Absolutely gorgeous. Read Less
Sail Date June 2019
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Took a cab to the ferry then to St.
Took a cab to the ferry then to St. John. I wish I had done the excursion with the ship. By the time we paid for the cab then the ferry to Saint John we could have done the excursion. Once in St. John we walked in the market and had a ... Read More
Took a cab to the ferry then to St. John. I wish I had done the excursion with the ship. By the time we paid for the cab then the ferry to Saint John we could have done the excursion. Once in St. John we walked in the market and had a drink then went back to st. Thomas. We didn't see about an excursion on St. John. Read Less
Sail Date June 2019
Shore Excursion Provider: MSC Cruises
An open safari type truck ride along rte 24 and 10.
An open safari type truck ride along rte 24 and 10. Saw all the big beaches, lots of wildlife, local economy and a big country music stars driveway1
An open safari type truck ride along rte 24 and 10. Saw all the big beaches, lots of wildlife, local economy and a big country music stars driveway1 Read Less
Sail Date June 2019
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
We did the St.
We did the St. John Trunk Bay swim/snorkel tour. The ferry ride was about 45 minutes from the port on St. Thomas. Trunk Bay is a gorgeous beach and we really enjoyed our time there (about 2 hours). The bar and snack truck are back in ... Read More
We did the St. John Trunk Bay swim/snorkel tour. The ferry ride was about 45 minutes from the port on St. Thomas. Trunk Bay is a gorgeous beach and we really enjoyed our time there (about 2 hours). The bar and snack truck are back in operation after the hurricane, albeit pricey since it's the Virgin Islands. St. John was the only U.S.V.I. we never have visited, so now that box is checked off. Read Less
Sail Date April 2019
Shore Excursion Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Trunk Bay on St.
Trunk Bay on St. John Island was phenomenal. The water is crystal clear, the sand is powdery white and the views are breathtaking.
Trunk Bay on St. John Island was phenomenal. The water is crystal clear, the sand is powdery white and the views are breathtaking. Read Less
Sail Date March 2019
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Lots to see on our way to St.
Lots to see on our way to St. John and the boat captain pointed out many interesting buildings and gave us some insight into St. Thomas. Our tour bus driver was ver informative as well. Good excursion.
Lots to see on our way to St. John and the boat captain pointed out many interesting buildings and gave us some insight into St. Thomas. Our tour bus driver was ver informative as well. Good excursion. Read Less
Sail Date January 2019
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Was supposed to be St John on our own; but we ended up joining the taxi ride to Trunk Bay....was ...
Was supposed to be St John on our own; but we ended up joining the taxi ride to Trunk Bay....was glorious! Only makes me want to return again and again! Narration by ferry staff was fabulous!
Was supposed to be St John on our own; but we ended up joining the taxi ride to Trunk Bay....was glorious! Only makes me want to return again and again! Narration by ferry staff was fabulous! Read Less
Sail Date December 2018
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
St.
St. John's tour with Annaberg Ruins - felt too short and MSC didn't state the starting time on their website pre-cruise, which made planning the rest of the day difficult since this was a half day tour. Definitely could use more ... Read More
St. John's tour with Annaberg Ruins - felt too short and MSC didn't state the starting time on their website pre-cruise, which made planning the rest of the day difficult since this was a half day tour. Definitely could use more time at Annaberg, and maybe 1 to 2 hours at one of the amazing beaches on St. John. Read Less
Sail Date November 2018
Shore Excursion Provider: MSC Cruises
We did the Eco Hike which was great.
We did the Eco Hike which was great. Hiked to a nice beach. Tour guide was very nice.
We did the Eco Hike which was great. Hiked to a nice beach. Tour guide was very nice. Read Less
Sail Date November 2018
Shore Excursion Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
We did the Eco tour with hike to Honeymoon Beach, really loved it and the boat ride there and back
We did the Eco tour with hike to Honeymoon Beach, really loved it and the boat ride there and back
We did the Eco tour with hike to Honeymoon Beach, really loved it and the boat ride there and back Read Less
Sail Date November 2018
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Enjoyed the trip to St.
Enjoyed the trip to St. John and swimming at Trunk Bay. Guys from Island Girl did a great job and alot of fun!
Enjoyed the trip to St. John and swimming at Trunk Bay. Guys from Island Girl did a great job and alot of fun! Read Less
Sail Date November 2018
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
The weather wasn’t awesome for snorkeling but it was still nice.
The weather wasn’t awesome for snorkeling but it was still nice. The excursion staff once we were on it, was great. On the way to the tour, I felt a bit like herded cattle.
The weather wasn’t awesome for snorkeling but it was still nice. The excursion staff once we were on it, was great. On the way to the tour, I felt a bit like herded cattle. Read Less
Sail Date November 2018
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
We went to Trunk's Bay on St.
We went to Trunk's Bay on St. John's for snorkeling. It was beautiful. Nice to get away. Not too many people. No facilities, so bring snacks.
We went to Trunk's Bay on St. John's for snorkeling. It was beautiful. Nice to get away. Not too many people. No facilities, so bring snacks. Read Less
Sail Date September 2018
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Nice beach visit, and heard about hurricane recovery efforts.
Nice beach visit, and heard about hurricane recovery efforts.
Nice beach visit, and heard about hurricane recovery efforts. Read Less
Sail Date September 2018
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
We did a private tour with David.
We did a private tour with David. Our ship got in late but David tracks this and was there when we got off. He showed up around the island, gave us history, took us to all the main attractions, did some shopping, suggested somewhere for ... Read More
We did a private tour with David. Our ship got in late but David tracks this and was there when we got off. He showed up around the island, gave us history, took us to all the main attractions, did some shopping, suggested somewhere for snacks and then took us to the beach and then back to the ship on a different route so we could see the other side of the island. As David says, you can't go to an island, sit on a beach all day and think you know anything about the island. David was great and is highly recommended. Read Less
Sail Date July 2018
Shore Excursion Provider: Carnival Cruise Line