St. Thomas St. John Snorkel/Sail Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas St. John Snorkel/Sail cruise excursion
Overall Rating 181 Reviews
Sail from St. Thomas to nearby St. John for a relaxing afternoon on and in the water; offshore cays and reefs make St. John a premier stop for snorkeling.
Details & Booking
Member Image shmoozii
Dec 2018
It was advertised as a “Champagne sail” to give it an upscale feel. It was a regular scruffy boat and snorkel trip.
Read shmoozii's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tdboat
Nov 2018
This was a nice trip. The crew was very friendly and the boat was nice. The water was beautiful and it was a great trip. The snorkeling left a bit to be desired. Not too mush to see. Actually, the site was very limited.
Read tdboat's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image andor
Nov 2018
Great time. Rum punch at the end was amazing & free flowing. Chris was also very easy on the eyes.
Read andor's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Salty-Sailer
Nov 2018
Unfortunately the snorkeling had to be cancelled because of the weather. The sail was gonna be rough and there was no visibility. We did a land tour with the company on water island. The ferry runs on the hour and all aboard was at 5:30. We were told that we would make it taking the 5:15 ferry, but weren't so sure. Our guide saved us by borrowing a dingy from his friend at 5 and got us there with seconds to spare. We were soaking wet because the water was rough that day, but it was fun and at least he got us to the ship on time. Don't trust the locals if they say you have time and you're sceptical.
Read Salty-Sailer's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Painless Excursions
Member Image jdelatorre
Jul 2018
Too much time in transit getting to the beach for snorkeling, too little time to snorkel
Read jdelatorre's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Happicruzrr
Jun 2018
Well this was not bad it was actually the least impressive day of the cruise the ferry over to St John's was really rough and my friend got very sick the beach itself is still torn up from the hurricane there is no food or drinks available and most of the palm trees have not gotten their leaves back
Read Happicruzrr's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image LoLa_in_GA
Jun 2018
Island Girl boat over to St. John to Trunk Bay. Ferry over was awesome; informative, entertaining--Trunk Bay is gorgeous-snorkeling was great! Nice little beach!
Read LoLa_in_GA's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jenstravels
May 2018
Felt it was a bit pricy for what was essentially just transportation to/from and snorkel gear rental.
Read jenstravels's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image avincent2510
May 2018
St.John is AMAZING! We went to Trunk Bay which is just breath taking! It looks like a postcard no matter where you look!
Read avincent2510's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image THUDSON
May 2018
Beautiful beach, snorkeling, no snack bar or palm trees. There was still damage from Hurricane!
Read THUDSON's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image nicsmith2502
Apr 2018
The beach where we snorkelled was lovely, and the boat tip was great, they made it really enjoyable, however by the time we eventually got there we had an hour to snorkel and enjoy the beach.
Read nicsmith2502's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TroopersMom
Mar 2018
Caribbean Sail to Christmas & Honeymoon ..... Catamaran and crew were great. Snorkeling was not. Not much to see. Ran out of food for the lunch.
Read TroopersMom's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cyber Kat
Mar 2018
This was a great way to end the cruise. Started with an exciting ride on St Thomas' open air multi person taxi. Over hill, over dale! Whee! We boarded the catamaran and headed off to St John with a little narrative about the surrounding islands. The crew - like the ones on the other tours - were friendly, helpful - just all around great. We anchored off of Honeymoon Beach and we had a choice of swimming ashore or taking the Zodiac - we took the Zodiac. They landed us on the beach and we had about 2 hours to swim and hang out. Again, you could swim or take the Zodiac back. Back on the boat, we had a leisurely sail back under sail. They served cheese, crackers, bread, fruit and chocolate with a choice of rum drinks or champagne - some people did both - in the same glass. Another fun day!
Read Cyber Kat's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image ebbs1939
Mar 2018
Very Good. Free flowing rum punch! I would suggest that someone from the excursion take more of a leadership role in bringing you to the reef. They cautioned us on the limits of where we could snorkel but the speaker was not loud enough for us to clearly understand where the best snorkel areas were. We anchored fairly far from the two snorkel areas and wasted time in fish deficient water. By the time people were grouping at the good snorkel area; we were already tired and heading back to the boat.
Read ebbs1939's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image downingtowncruiser
Mar 2018
Great crew, Most of the time was spent getting there and back. Taxi ride to the marina was quite long. Sails were up for a portion of the trip but they never shut the motor off. Snorkeled this same area two years ago and it was beautiful. The hurricane has really had an effect on the amount of fish here now.
Read downingtowncruiser's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image brendaslazyk
Mar 2018
The tour was great with very friendly and energetic staff! We could not make it to St. John because of rough waters that day. We stopped at Buck Island instead and snorkeled there. A sea turtle swam right up to me!! It was the highlight of my entire vacation.
Read brendaslazyk's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jessMN74
Feb 2018
Beautiful Island. It was fun. Wish we could have snorkeled more then an hour though.
Read jessMN74's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Rogers1984
Feb 2018
Excursion – 6/10 – overall the excursion was fun but not great. Castaway girl barefoot sail and beach snorkel ($60 per person, 3.5 hours Duration). The walk from the ship to the catamaran was about .65 of a mile. With the slower people in the group, that ate up about 30 minutes. The Castaway Girl is a 65’ catamaran. The ship was clean and well kept. The crew was nice but unorganized. The catamaran was extremely full. We started off by sitting in the netting up front. After all of the seats were taken, we were told we had to move. We ended up without a seat. We departed at 0915 and sailed for about an hour to shipwreck cove at Buck Island. We snorkeled for 45 minutes and then sailed back to port. The sunken ship was about 25’ below and was nice to see. There was not too much sea life during our time there. On the way back to port the rum punch flowed freely. This tour was good but the previous day’s tour was incredible.
Read Rogers1984's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image allrevealed
Feb 2018
Really fun sailing to St John Honeymoon Beach on a catamaran. The beach was beautiful. Small ,older catamaran. Hosts of ship were ok - expected better quality. Very short beach visit (45 min) Served Cook Champagne, cheese & crackers
Read allrevealed's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image candy4040
Feb 2018
Enjoyable. We were in St. Thomas until 10pm that night so there was plenty of time to go to St. John's and then back to St. Thomas to shop and do touristy stuff.
Read candy4040's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image grammygoes
Feb 2018
Normally I book independent tours, but the pricing was right for an all day excursion. The crew was excellent & the snorkeling was good, considering the rough water. The lunch was a delicious, authentic barbecue on the beach, but getting on & off the vessel for this was not ideal...wading in waist deep water. This was the ONLY negative for the entire experience. Rum punch flowed freely for those who loved it (more generous than I'd ever seen)...so MANY passengers were very happy!
Read grammygoes's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Woodinville
Dec 2017
The snorkel was ok .. the sail was excellent .. the crew first class ... the ride in the open air jeep/truck was worthy of Disney E-tickets
Read Woodinville's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dinake
Dec 2017
This really wasn't a tour. It was more like transportation to St John and the beach. There was no food or drinks included. Given the amount of the tour, I think there should have been. St John's was beautiful but still severely devastated from the hurricanes.
Read dinake's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bsimosd
Dec 2017
This was an eye-opening experience just getting to the boat harbor, since St Thomas suffered quite a bit of hurricane damage. The all-lady crew was very nice on our trip to St Johns, but disappointed that we had to either swim or wade ashore from a zodiac, so problematic to take cameras, etc.
Read bsimosd's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image bsimosd
Dec 2017
This was an eye-opening experience just getting to the boat harbor, since St Thomas suffered quite a bit of hurricane damage. The all-lady crew was very nice on our trip to St Johns, but disappointed that we had to either swim or wade ashore from a zodiac, so problematic to take cameras, etc.
Read bsimosd's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises

Sponsored links