St. Thomas St. John Snorkel/Sail Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas St. John Snorkel/Sail cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Sail from St. Thomas to nearby St. John for a relaxing afternoon on and in the water; offshore cays and reefs make St. John a premier stop for snorkeling.
Member Image avincent2510
1 review
May 2018
St.John is AMAZING! We went to Trunk Bay which is just breath taking! It looks like a postcard no matter where you look!
Read avincent2510's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image THUDSON
1 review
May 2018
Beautiful beach, snorkeling, no snack bar or palm trees. There was still damage from Hurricane!
Read THUDSON's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image nicsmith2502
1 review
Apr 2018
The beach where we snorkelled was lovely, and the boat tip was great, they made it really enjoyable, however by the time we eventually got there we had an hour to snorkel and enjoy the beach.
Read nicsmith2502's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TroopersMom
1 review
Mar 2018
Caribbean Sail to Christmas & Honeymoon ..... Catamaran and crew were great. Snorkeling was not. Not much to see. Ran out of food for the lunch.
Read TroopersMom's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cyber Kat
3 reviews
Mar 2018
This was a great way to end the cruise. Started with an exciting ride on St Thomas' open air multi person taxi. Over hill, over dale! Whee! We boarded the catamaran and headed off to St John with a little narrative about the surrounding islands. The crew - like the ones on the other tours - were friendly, helpful - just all around great. We anchored off of Honeymoon Beach and we had a choice of swimming ashore or taking the Zodiac - we took the Zodiac. They landed us on the beach and we had about 2 hours to swim and hang out. Again, you could swim or take the Zodiac back. Back on the boat, we had a leisurely sail back under sail. They served cheese, crackers, bread, fruit and chocolate with a choice of rum drinks or champagne - some people did both - in the same glass. Another fun day!
Read Cyber Kat's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image ebbs1939
1 review
Mar 2018
Very Good. Free flowing rum punch! I would suggest that someone from the excursion take more of a leadership role in bringing you to the reef. They cautioned us on the limits of where we could snorkel but the speaker was not loud enough for us to clearly understand where the best snorkel areas were. We anchored fairly far from the two snorkel areas and wasted time in fish deficient water. By the time people were grouping at the good snorkel area; we were already tired and heading back to the boat.
Read ebbs1939's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image downingtowncruiser
1 review
Mar 2018
Great crew, Most of the time was spent getting there and back. Taxi ride to the marina was quite long. Sails were up for a portion of the trip but they never shut the motor off. Snorkeled this same area two years ago and it was beautiful. The hurricane has really had an effect on the amount of fish here now.
Read downingtowncruiser's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image brendaslazyk
1 review
Mar 2018
The tour was great with very friendly and energetic staff! We could not make it to St. John because of rough waters that day. We stopped at Buck Island instead and snorkeled there. A sea turtle swam right up to me!! It was the highlight of my entire vacation.
Read brendaslazyk's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jessMN74
1 review
Feb 2018
Beautiful Island. It was fun. Wish we could have snorkeled more then an hour though.
Read jessMN74's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Rogers1984
1 review
Feb 2018
Excursion – 6/10 – overall the excursion was fun but not great. Castaway girl barefoot sail and beach snorkel ($60 per person, 3.5 hours Duration). The walk from the ship to the catamaran was about .65 of a mile. With the slower people in the group, that ate up about 30 minutes. The Castaway Girl is a 65’ catamaran. The ship was clean and well kept. The crew was nice but unorganized. The catamaran was extremely full. We started off by sitting in the netting up front. After all of the seats were taken, we were told we had to move. We ended up without a seat. We departed at 0915 and sailed for about an hour to shipwreck cove at Buck Island. We snorkeled for 45 minutes and then sailed back to port. The sunken ship was about 25’ below and was nice to see. There was not too much sea life during our time there. On the way back to port the rum punch flowed freely. This tour was good but the previous day’s tour was incredible.
Read Rogers1984's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image allrevealed
1 review
Feb 2018
Really fun sailing to St John Honeymoon Beach on a catamaran. The beach was beautiful. Small ,older catamaran. Hosts of ship were ok - expected better quality. Very short beach visit (45 min) Served Cook Champagne, cheese & crackers
Read allrevealed's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image candy4040
1 review
Feb 2018
Enjoyable. We were in St. Thomas until 10pm that night so there was plenty of time to go to St. John's and then back to St. Thomas to shop and do touristy stuff.
Read candy4040's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image grammygoes
3 reviews
Feb 2018
Normally I book independent tours, but the pricing was right for an all day excursion. The crew was excellent & the snorkeling was good, considering the rough water. The lunch was a delicious, authentic barbecue on the beach, but getting on & off the vessel for this was not ideal...wading in waist deep water. This was the ONLY negative for the entire experience. Rum punch flowed freely for those who loved it (more generous than I'd ever seen)...so MANY passengers were very happy!
Read grammygoes's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Woodinville
5 reviews
Dec 2017
The snorkel was ok .. the sail was excellent .. the crew first class ... the ride in the open air jeep/truck was worthy of Disney E-tickets
Read Woodinville's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dinake
1 review
Dec 2017
This really wasn't a tour. It was more like transportation to St John and the beach. There was no food or drinks included. Given the amount of the tour, I think there should have been. St John's was beautiful but still severely devastated from the hurricanes.
Read dinake's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bsimosd
1 review
Dec 2017
This was an eye-opening experience just getting to the boat harbor, since St Thomas suffered quite a bit of hurricane damage. The all-lady crew was very nice on our trip to St Johns, but disappointed that we had to either swim or wade ashore from a zodiac, so problematic to take cameras, etc.
Read bsimosd's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image skipperanne
5 reviews
Dec 2017
I enjoyed this excursion. Normally I would prefer to sail from Charlotte Amalie, and not drive to the other side of the Island first, however, on this trip the drive was educational, as it took us behind the screen of tourist ready recovery from Hurricane Irma. We were able to see how much recovery work is still necessary. We joined with cruisers from the NCL Dawn on this excursion. We were given some information regarding the impact of the hurricane, told what Islands we were passing and taken to Cancel Bay on Saint John to snorkel. The staff were very helpful in getting people the proper gear for snorkeling and helping us in and out of the water. As the access was a little difficult for those who were less abled, this was appreciated, and offered with a smile. We got to go ashore if we wished or simply snorkel around the catamaran and the beach. There were sea turtles, and a few fish. the water was quite stirred up as there had been a storm the day before, so visibility was not great. We motored over to Saint John, on the return, the sail was hoisted at one point, but we didn't sail, and the motor was still running. The snacks were fine, and the drink abundant. I felt as though we were the first ones off the ship (6:50 meeting time, and the last ones to return to the ship. . . in time for departure, and as there was a line, we weren't late, though we thought we were). It would have been nice to sail, and they advertise a sail. Letting go of the lack of sailing: This was a fun excursion for anyone, and i would recommend it.
Read skipperanne's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Newtsmom2
1 review
Nov 2017
This was a barefoot catamaran cruise to a shipwreck and Turtle Cove. We had the chance to snorkel twice, once over the shipwreck and once at Turtle Cove. We saw plenty of fish, turtles and a ray. The crew of the Castaway Girl 3 was wonderful and we had a great time.
Read Newtsmom2's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Chelle62784
1 review
Aug 2017
Staff was friendly and experience was AWESOME!!!!!!
Read Chelle62784's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image codegirl64
2 reviews
Jul 2017
We caught a cab to Red Hook & took a ferry to St Cruz, then a cab to the park to snorkel. It was about a 20 min cab ride to Red Hook, and the ferry was only 10-15 min to St John's. Beautiful beach to snorkel on. They have snorkel rentals, a bar, snack bar, showers, and lockers.
Read codegirl64's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: We did this ourselves
Member Image Cyclops94
2 reviews
Jul 2017
The crew was great. We LOVE St. John. I kind of wish the excursion was a little longer.
Read Cyclops94's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ccaribn
2 reviews
Jun 2017
one of the destinations had been changed without our knowledge but overall the excursion was enjoyable and the hosts were excellent
Read ccaribn's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Manders2578
1 review
Jun 2017
This was a great tour, we swam with sea turtles and saw a lot of fish.
Read Manders2578's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GKDR
1 review
May 2017
St John Champagne Catamaran Sail and Snorkel, did not dock at beach upon arrival at St John location so had to either swim to the beach or take Dinghy. Few fish in the snorkel area and on the way back had choice of rum and coke, rum punch, miller lite or pabst blue ribbon beer. Oh did have a piece of cheese small piece of bread for snack. Easily one of the poorest excursions ever taken especially for the money.... would never recommend.
Read GKDR's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image neilrr
21 reviews
Apr 2017
We have been on this many times and really enjoy Trunk Bay, but I would suggest extending the time as we only had approximately 1 - 1 1/2 hours for snorkeling on a 4 hour tour. Suggestion: charge a little more and extend the time.
Read neilrr's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links