Bar Harbor Acadia National Park Excursion Reviews

Bar Harbor Acadia National Park cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The Acadia National Park offers both active and more relaxed ways to enjoy all its splendors, including a 360-degree view of Bar Harbor!
Member Image VacationGuy
1 review
Jun 2017
Took Island explorer buses through the park. Service is free but can be tough to get on when park is busy, which it was since we were there close to July 4th.
Read VacationGuy's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ByeByeBirdie
2 reviews
Jun 2017
This tour should have been and could have been amazing. But, it was the July 4th Weekend and the traffic was horrendous. We did get to see Thunder Hole but it was too crowded to get to Cadillac Mountain and any of the other sites. Again, Royal Caribbean stood behind their guarantee and reimbursed us part of our tour expense for our inconvenience.
Read ByeByeBirdie's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BSinPNS
16 reviews
Jun 2017
Pre-booked Oli's Trolley's 2.5hour tour to Acadia National Park with three stops. Our guide, Gary, provided excellent commentary throughout. We saw lots of people who did not have reservations turned away since no seats were available. The company offers cruise passengers their money back if the ship does not arrive as it is a tender port. We would note that there were lots of complaints about the amount of time the tendering process took.
Read BSinPNS's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Oli's Trolley
Member Image Nicn81
1 review
Jun 2017
Great place to visit. Wish we had more time at the 3 stops.
Read Nicn81's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Olli's Trolley
Member Image baileymouse
4 reviews
Jun 2017
Wonderful excursion! We took a motor coach from Bar Harbor at Testa's Restaurant up to Acadia. We made three stops on the tour: Cadillac Mountain, Sieur du Mont, and Thunder Hole. I loved being on top of Cadillac Mountain. Bar Harbor was a great port. We enjoyed our time there.
Read baileymouse's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Acadia National Tours
Member Image older traveler
1 review
Jun 2017
Due to tendering and our number being called late even though we were there 2 hours waiting when the ticket only said allow 45 minutes we missed our 11am tour and were rescheduled for the 1:30 which had a detour due to a accident and we did not get full benefit of tour. We complained and got 25% back
Read older traveler's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image flstplt
1 review
Jun 2017
Shore excursion, Acadia National Park and Lobster bake. When we finally got ashore there was no one from the ship or tour company with information on where to find the starting point for the tour. Finally found the bus by asking every bus driver if they were the transport. Waited for forty-five minutes to load onto the bus which then drove five minutes to the "Lobster bake." If you are expecting picnic tables on a beach and lobsters baking on an open fire you will be like we were very disappointed. The reality of the "bake" is sitting at tables of twelve in a large auditorium like room waiting to be called up to stand on line where you are served your dinner military mess hall style. When you reach the first server he scoops up a handful of mussels and plops them onto your plate, next you reach the guy who puts half an ear of corn and a couple of small boiled potatoes on your dish then you get to the person serving the lobster. The Windjammer buffet would have been much superior to this bland meal. Next came the other half of this excursion, Acadia National Park, which turned out to be an endless bus ride looking out the window at a bunch of trees hearing endless stories of how Rockefeller was the Savior of Bar Harbor with a less than average tour guide. Do yourself a favor and learn from my mistake...do not take this excursion.
Read flstplt's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image golfingfool
9 reviews
Jun 2017
This was the best stop on the trip. Your tender takes you right to the middle of town. We booked a trip to Cadillac Mountain with Oli’s Trolley which was absolutely great. Book online before you go because they are very busy and many people who did not book pre-cruise could not secure a ticket.
Read golfingfool's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Oli's Trolley
Member Image Bitterman
1 review
Jun 2017
We did the "Intimate Look at Acadia National Park", booked through NCL. We drove around a lot and only had two stops of about 20 minutes each. One at the top of Cadillac Mountain, which was breathtaking, but it felt rushed and I ended up running around just trying to snap pictures instead of enjoying the sights. The other stop was at Thunderhole. Not enough time there either and the tide was low so no thunder from the hole, lol. Not sure if I'd recommend this excursion.
Read Bitterman's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ADuffy330
1 review
Jun 2017
It's a 2 1/2 hour ride on a small coach bus that holds 14 passengers, so a small group with plenty of opportunity for questions to be asked and answered. Dave, our guide, was great and gave us a little extra side trip to Seal Harbor since we had some time. The park is beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed the tour.
Read ADuffy330's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image zenm
1 review
Jun 2017
This excursion did not disappoint! Our guide (Gary) was very knowledgeable (& a good driver). We had a small bus (?large van) of about 20 people. Dress warmly for Cadillac Mountain! It may be warmer in later-summer visits; we FROZE up there. Another thing about Bar Harbor: It is now a tender port; when we were there, we heard that the town voted to build a ship dock. Not sure when it happen, but that will be good. (But, on the other hand, I got to ride on the Ship's lifeboat tendering back to the Grandeur. That was cool.)
Read zenm's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mensa
2 reviews
May 2017
Great views
Read mensa's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image texasoba
1 review
May 2017
Knowledgeable guide, very beautiful view of the island
Read texasoba's full Independence cruise review
Provider: American Cruise Lines
Member Image patmama
10 reviews
Oct 2016
Oilley's trolley tour to Acadia. This was a great trolley tour!! Beautiful fall!!!
Read patmama's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image drebo
1 review
Oct 2016
Our dinner was terrible and just riding through the part is not the way to experience its beauty. If we could do it again, and the weather cooperated, I think a carriage ride would be the excursion I would choose. Or, if it were easier to do, I would rent a car and do it on my own. But the rental cars are located at the airport and the logistics of getting to the rental agency, picking up a car, returning it to the agency and returning to the ship, just didn't seem feasible.
Read drebo's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tomkom
1 review
Oct 2016
Great views ,great color on the trees and the guide was knowledgeable and humorous.
Read tomkom's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image winokermpls
1 review
Oct 2016
this was the best excursion of our trip. Wonderful guide, great food and fabulous scenary
Read winokermpls's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dbrady12
1 review
Oct 2016
Beautiful forest with great views. You must sit on the left side of the bus, it is were all the good pictures will be. We were on the right, to late to switch, bus was packed. Tour guide very knowledgeable
Read dbrady12's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image daninvan
1 review
Oct 2016
Best stop on the whole cruise. Fall leaves were fantastic.
Read daninvan's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Janelo
1 review
Oct 2016
Breathtaking scenery. We did a three hour bike ride with a group of 12. Great leaders. A few mean hills but the views were worth it.
Read Janelo's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cruiserkw
1 review
Oct 2016
Beautiful - wish we had more time here. Also enjoyed walking around the city and shopping and eating lobster rolls.
Read cruiserkw's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ROR
1 review
Oct 2016
Nice scenery
Read ROR's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image dondi22
1 review
Oct 2016
Very thorough tour - extremely informative. Some passengers missed the later tours due to rough seas and the inability of the tenders to safely get passengers off the ship.
Read dondi22's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dogspamom
1 review
Oct 2016
Our tour was a small group of 14 and was just beautiful
Read dogspamom's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Debbierg2016
1 review
Oct 2016
Missed Cadillac Mountain, and only made 1 photo stop. The Lobster Bake to follow was yummy.
Read Debbierg2016's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?