Grand Cayman Turtle Farm Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Turtle Farm cruise excursion
Overall Rating 282 Reviews
Much more than a turtle farm, this habitat features Grand Cayman’s most popular and unique species including butterflies, sharks and, of course, turtles.
Details & Booking
Member Image CaptainJF
Dec 2018
We had booked the “Turtle Encounter and Island Tour” with Celebrity. Once off the ship (done through tender in Grand Cayman) we had to wait an extra 10-15 min because of some confusion. Due to rough sea conditions, all excursions that included the stingrays were cancelled. That created an understandable confusion as guests were offered to book other excursions. Overall, a 10-15 min wait was not bad for such a cancellation. Once ready, we were driven directly to the Turtle farm and the island tour was postponed to after the turtles. Which was fine with us. Once at the Turtle Farm we were given a quick tour by a local guide. The tour done we were given the opportunity to spend some quality time with turtles that we could take in our hands for some pictures. A real special moment for my wife who really loves turtles. We were free to spend as much time as we wanted as the remaining 1.5-2 hours was free at the Turtle Farm. The tour also included the opportunity to snorkel a nice man made artificial lagoon that is home to nice fishes and turtles. Snorkeling equipment was provided and we were free to spend as much time as we wanted in the lagoon. We did take our time and at some moments we were all by ourselves, letting the underwater life coming close to us. A great experience! After the stay at the Turtle Farm the group left to do the island tour. As Grand Cayman was our last port of call we decided to skip that portion of the tour and go to the beach for 1.5 hour. We boarded a public bus (small van) and paid 2.50US$ per person to go to a beach club (Royal Palm). The entrance to the beach club was 2US$ per person. The beach was splendid, turquoise water and beautiful sand. Once finished it was a 5 minutes taxi ride (5US$ per person) back to the pier to catch one of the last tender to our ship.
Read CaptainJF's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Party_of_4
Nov 2018
Same. As above. The turtle farm guy, puffy Didn't seem to value our time.
Read Party_of_4's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image olshayner
Nov 2018
Due to technical issues the swimming with the turtles was off limits, but still was 10/10 experience, worth a repeat
Read olshayner's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lampadjuster
Oct 2018
This was a very short period of time with the turtles, but we got there early, ahead of other tours. So when it was time to get into the tanks with the turtles (which my husband wanted to do), there was no problem with being able to participate. Only 5 people are allowed in at once, but there were 2 tanks, and I think only 20 people on the excursion. Our guide kept us moving. It would have been nice to be able to spend a bit more time watching the big turtles.
Read lampadjuster's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Just go!
Oct 2018
I highly recommend this! It was very interesting and educational. You take a short bus ride to the turtle farm and begin a guided tour. Lots and lots of turtles in tanks and lagoons. They give you the opportunity to get in a tank and hold a turtle! There's also a shark tank---you don't get in! After the guided tour, there is a big block of time to explore and choose what you want to do: swimming/snorkeling in the lagoon, swimming in the pool area with a giant slide, viewing birds in the bird sanctuary, eating in the restaurant, walking across the street to the Porpoise Sanctuary. Don't pass up this opportunity to see a second marvelous display of amazing creatures! This was well worth the cost of the ticket (which was reasonable).
Read Just go!'s full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Elizabeth59
Oct 2018
We enjoyed and Turtle farm and visited Hell. Our guide was a great local who engaged us in the tour.
Read Elizabeth59's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Hemmisdad
Sep 2018
It was great! We loved it. I think older kids would really like it. The baby got tired, and we got a cab back to the pier for $20....worth it and glad it was an option!
Read Hemmisdad's full Carnival Horizon cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image nebraskagal
Aug 2018
The Turtle farm was interesting and our guide did a good job of explaining things. We were allowed to touch and even hold a turtle, if you wanted to. I'd recommend going to the Turtle Farm
Read nebraskagal's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group
Member Image rzrback
Aug 2018
We enjoyed learning more about these creatures and also loved the snorkeling area.
Read rzrback's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Sunwanabe
Jun 2018
Was good with being with turtles. The trip to Hell was a bit of a let down. Not much there.
Read Sunwanabe's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image zettazofia
Jun 2018
Did not expect much of this, but very pleasantly surprised. Had a lot of fun and enjoyed learning about the turtles.
Read zettazofia's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mwsrccl
Jun 2018
Kids loved it. Could be better needs more animal attractions. Great free wifi
Read mwsrccl's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mathteacher212
May 2018
It was fun seeing and holding the turtles. We learned about how they are trying to save and increase the population.
Read mathteacher212's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Vmb83
May 2018
The Turtle farm was an interesting adventure with my family. Up side was it was a great narrated drive from the port to the farm. Down side was for 6 chicken tenders (1 order, 2 orders of mozzarella sticks-not great, 1 basket of fries, and 4 bottled sodas it cost $61 total with gratuity added, and the lagoon would have been better if there were fins provided for the snorkeling otherwise was good).
Read Vmb83's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image YamahaRyoko
Apr 2018
We went here expecting to see wonders - like thousands of baby turtles and eggs being hatched. What we saw was a pit of turtles the center breeds. We also held a few baby turtles for a photograph. That's it. You don't see any inner workings or what goes on in the facility. You literally see an outdoor pit of turtles and then hold some babies. You are done in 20 minutes. Lets be clear; this is in fact a turtle FARM labeled as a "Turtle Center". That's likely why they don't show you ANYTHING behind closed doors.
Read YamahaRyoko's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image shearboinky
Apr 2018
great time swimming with sea turtles
Read shearboinky's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Shonica
Apr 2018
Educational and informative. It was awesome to see the huge sea turtles and also be able to hold and be in the tank with the younger ones. Fun for all ages.
Read Shonica's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image 418188
Mar 2018
Neat to see, but only had access to only part of the park and not much time to spend their, but in the Expensive Gift Shop!
Read 418188's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ksc98
Mar 2018
Loved the turtle farm! We got to touch and feed the turtles.
Read ksc98's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Discount Excursions
Member Image echoes_sdn
Mar 2018
Sea Turtle Preserve/Stingray City: We met in the Manhattan Room at 8:20 in order to ride our tender to dock. When we arrived at the dock it was again not real well marked where to find our gathering area. We found a few others and gathered. A representative of the tour comes by and quietly begins telling people the tour is cancelled. We looked at each other in disbelief. He said we should go back on the tender and get our money back. We ended up hopping a cab with a lady and her daughter that had been on the Jamaica fiasco with us and rode to the Royal Palms on Seven Mile Beach. We paid $4 per person for the van ride to the Palms, $2 per person entrance and $12 per chair and $15 per umbrella for a seat on a beautiful beach with bar service, a pool for 18+ year olds, restaurant, wifi, and waverunner/aquatic rentals. We loved it--was definitely a great experience and there were lots of vans making the trip back and forth to the ships. It filled in later in the morning but we had our chairs and the beach was great.
Read echoes_sdn's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Daysd
Mar 2018
The turtle farm was good, but I thought they were saving and raising sea turtles, not raising them to eat!
Read Daysd's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hummer88
Mar 2018
turtle farm was great, only took about 1.5 hours
Read hummer88's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image KOttawa
Mar 2018
Fun little centre. Neat to see the various sizes of turtles and get to hold them at the touch tank.
Read KOttawa's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Discount Excursions
Member Image ltimmons
Mar 2018
The guide appeared to be unorganized. There were 16 others on the tour which had to be picked up across the island before the tour started. The others were given a meal voucher to where we all had to stop so that they would be able to get their meal. The meals were not ready for pickup. It just seemed that everything was rushed on this excursion.
Read ltimmons's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group
Member Image ltimmons
Mar 2018
The guide appeared to be unorganized. There were 16 others on the tour which had to be picked up across the island before the tour started. The others were given a meal voucher to where we all had to stop so that they would be able to get their meal. The meals were not ready for pickup. It just seemed that everything was rushed on this excursion.
Read ltimmons's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group

Sponsored links