Grand Cayman Stingray Swim Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Stingray Swim cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Encounter one of Grand Cayman's most popular sea creatures -- the stingray. Feed and touch them as you swim together in the island's turquoise water.
Member Image Pnkhrtz
1 review
Jun 2018
Too many people, not enough time or room to actually swim and they cost of an emailed photo was $40 per person! Ridiculous
Read Pnkhrtz's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image smithmary
1 review
Jun 2018
Pricing was reasonable and less than booking via the Cruise Line. A smaller group as they take a maximum of 25 on a boat that holds 35. Captain and crew were attentive. They made us feel comfortable and welcome. Most impressive is how they treat the stingray. They don't grab and manhandle them, which stresses the stingray. Their respectful approach is evident as the stingray prefer to gravitate to their boat as soon as they arrive at the sandbar. Crew from other boats had to come over to our area to grab and drag the stingray over to their boats to show their group of passengers. Not cool! The stingray obviously wanted to be let free and swim away, which is what they would do as soon as they could. By far, our experience at Stingray City was our favorite excursion. It included snorkeling nearby as well.
Read smithmary's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cayman Eco Adventures
Member Image CostaCruiser1
16 reviews
Jun 2018
Carnival's land partner managed to screw this up. The excursion itself is fine and I recommend a trip to Stingray City. You can book it at the dock, but I'd recommend going through Carnival. No matter how you do it, you're taking a cab/bus to the boat that will take you out to Stingray City. For my particular excursion, booked through Carnival, we were led by a local guide well out of the port area where the buses were to the back of a shopping mall. The bus didn't show up for about 30 minutes. The guide appeared embarassed, exasperated and helpless to make the bus appear. I'm betting the bus was waiting right by the port and had to find us. Inexcusable for a ship excursion to such a regular tourist destination. This one should have run like clockwork. And for what it's worth, the bus back did drop us right at the port, not behind the shopping area. (I mention it because my wife has trouble walking.) On our particular trip to Stingray City, there was a photographer onboard who took great pictures but she charged us plenty for the privilege, $60! I mention it because you should definitely take the time to make sure you've got a waterproof camera/phone to get the pictures yourself. (No fault with the photographer. It was our choice to get the pictures, or not. But we paid a huge price!)
Read CostaCruiser1's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sam.clark365
1 review
Jun 2018
Very easy, and a wonderul experience. HIGHLY recommend.
Read sam.clark365's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image morgankwyatt
3 reviews
Jun 2018
Took boat out to sand bar and interacted with sting rays. Staff took photos, which were available for $50 fee. Cruised to another spot where we snorkeled, then it was back to the ship. Great fun. Excellent staff.
Read morgankwyatt's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image BlackMuddyRiver
1 review
Jun 2018
It was the first excursion I've ever booked through a cruiseline as I had always heard you pay more for the same experience. We purchased it through the MSC excursions desk.We went on the excursion entitled Stringray City and Starfish point in Grand Cayman. I had done the activity prior by just speaking to someone upon exiting the port area. What we paid for that experience was far less per person and was much nicer than what I paid for the MSC excursion. I did this solely to enusre a wonderful experience for my 4-year-old son and my husband who had never experienced Stingray City. My son is an animla nut; he absolutely loves them, so I wanted it to be great. Stingray city was a point we had discussed for months leading up the cruise. The boat was run-down and dirty. Flecks of paint came off on your legs and hands from simply sitting or touching the boa. The captain and first mate were dishevelled to say the least. Everyone on-board had a full view of the first mate's red Hanes underwear the entire excursion, as he was wearing basketball shorts slung low. The free water and fruit punch were literally a tub of tap water and an open bottle of fruit punch. We were provided ental cups if we wanted to partake. The pump was broken on the toilet so if you used the facility it sprayed back on your flushing hand. When we got to stingray city, we were informed repeatedly that they "do not have a lot of squid" so not everyone had the opportunity to feed the rays. For example, my son and I had to share a squid. We had a personal photographer on board. He took our photos while with the stingrays. On the way back, he walked around offering instant transfer to iphones or that he'd email teh photos for $30. This was not mentioned on any of the excursion information and was not included with what was already paid. We did pay him $30 and purchase the photos. Despite the photographer saying that they would be sent instantly and making a show of pressing send in front of us we did not receive them until after complaining to the excursion desk onboard. The boat could not go very quickly so we arrived back after other groups of people on the same excursion. The excursion was supposed to be 3 hours, From start meeting time to being dropped back off it was 5 hours this impacted what we had planned doing with the rest of our time. I had wanted to also go to the turtle farm or Hell. The excursion stated that we would hear about Grand Cayman on the motor coach to and fro the boat-the driver did not say a word going either direction. My husband and I complained at the excursion desk. The first rep said, "you got to see stingrays didn't you?" After then complaining about her less than empathetic response to guest services we received 15% off the total of the excursion. I believe our experience called for more than that. TL:DR-Skip booking through MSC. Worst part of our MSC cruise experience. It was far less than what you can get for less money on your own.
Read BlackMuddyRiver's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image euroman7110
1 review
Jun 2018
Loved the stingray city. Beautiful blue water. Tour guides did a great job.
Read euroman7110's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image harrisodaniels
1 review
Jun 2018
Stingray City Experience with Two Snorkeling Stops:
https://www.viator.com/tours/Cayman%20Islands/Stingray-City-Experience-Plus-Two-Snorkeling-Stops/d31-9297P2
I'd highly recommend Captain Marvin's tour on the Cayman Jewel, very professional crew including guide DelRon and photographer Steve – they show you everything you want to know about the stingrays and take photos of you and your family/friends with the beautiful creatures, and show you those photos on a laptop right on the boat when you get back, and you can purchase a handy USB drive that’s shaped like their business card – we got 50 photos of both of us with the stingrays for $50, which may sound like a lot, but it was definitely worth it – our cameras weren’t waterproof or as good as Steve’s, and they take your email so they can share the photos through the cloud – if you have an iPhone they AirDrop the photos right away! 2 Snorkeling Stops were great, at a Barrier Reef and another Coral Reef off the coast of Grand Cayman – we saw squid, lots of fish, and some more stingrays right beneath us – and snorkels, masks, flippers, and optional life vests are all provided, along with fresh cold water and fruit punch on the boat. Great package tour!
Read harrisodaniels's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvin's
Member Image rkymtnhi
1 review
Jun 2018
Stingray City Sandbar Swim. Would have enjoyed more time, but it started to rain fairly heavily and had to return to shore.
Read rkymtnhi's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cruizin on
1 review
Jun 2018
Captain Marvin’s is an excellent tour operator. We took a short bus ride to the catamaran site. You could sit anywhere on the boat including the front of it. We visited Stingray City and stopped at 2 snorkel sites. Very well organized and enjoyable.
Read Cruizin on's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvin’s
Member Image Pk101
2 reviews
Jun 2018
On Grand Cayman we booked an excursion to stingray city through Cayman Eco Adventures. Captain Chip was fantastic and we can't recommend this tour through him highly enough. It was truly magical and Captain Chip does it right. Unlike other tour operators , Captain Chip limits his excursions to 25 people, even though his boat can handle 45. His company philosophy is outstanding and he believes in respecting the rays and interacting in a friendly manner. Believe it or not, the rays recognize his boat and swamped us when we arrived. We noticed other operators boats were like cattle calls, with some boats bringing over 100 people. We had 30 rays swimming among us they had none. One of their guides came over and "stole" a ray from us to bring to their group. It was disheartening to see these magical creatures treated in such a brutish manner from these other tour operators. My family was so grateful we were with Cayman Eco Adventures and could imagine how little time these other people were having with the rays and what a different experience they had as well.
Read Pk101's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cayman Eco Adventures
Member Image tulip2010
1 review
Jun 2018
Really enjoyable. It is a once in a lifetime experience since you get to touch and interact with the stingrays
Read tulip2010's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CC Help Michell
1 review
Jun 2018
This was a good excursion; the group on the boat wasn't too large and they made sure everyone could interact with the stingrays. Snorkeling afterward was too crowded, however.
Read CC Help Michell's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mathteacher212
1 review
May 2018
This was fun but basically it was standing around and getting your picture taken with a stingray. Lots of other people and boats around. Worth it
Read mathteacher212's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image MrsDom
2 reviews
May 2018
The experience was great, although for the price, I would have thought lunch would be included, especially since the excursion lasted through lunch time, but it wasn't. That was an oversight of mine. They did offer water and juice on the boat. The crew was great at everything. Would definitely recommend.
Read MrsDom's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvins
Member Image rnordquist
1 review
May 2018
New experince with the stingrays. It was crowded on the sandbar where our group played with the rays. Captain and Staff were very helpful and explained how to work with the rays.
Read rnordquist's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mrwinton79
1 review
May 2018
The guides were great and the sting rays were amazing.
Read mrwinton79's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Captain Marvin
Member Image Wendy2144
1 review
Apr 2018
This excursion was awesome! We had a small group and we got to touch, hold, kiss and get a lot of pictures with the stingrays. We also went snorkeling and diving for starfish.
Read Wendy2144's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Frank's Watersports
Member Image lisapilot
1 review
Apr 2018
Excellent tour with very knowledgeable staff! The photographer took great pictures while we were in the water with the stingrays. The lunch served after was very good and the service was excellent! Highly recommend this tour!
Read lisapilot's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Yangtime
1 review
Apr 2018
Took a boat to Stingray City, played and fed the stingrays and took pictures. Great crew and staff. Everything explained fully, Fell very comfortable in the water and on the boat. .
Read Yangtime's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image NfldGirl56
1 review
Apr 2018
Awesome excursion! Catamaran to "stingray city" sandbar, followed by snorkeling and sailing back in. Had a lovely time; great captain in Chip! a definite "must" if you want to experience the stingrays!
Read NfldGirl56's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Chip / www.stingraysailing.com
Member Image ClevelandRocks2018
1 review
Apr 2018
Loved it! The coral reef could have been more lively but it was gorgeous!
Read ClevelandRocks2018's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image teamflames
12 reviews
Apr 2018
Stingrays were a great experience, also did 2 stop snorkel- quality was good at first stop but average at 2nd. Nice crew and boat. Tendering was poor, chaos onboard the ship in dangerously overcrowded circumstances
Read teamflames's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Marvins
Member Image jltanner56
3 reviews
Apr 2018
Nice, a bit crowded. All they were interested in doing was taking pictures so they could make money
Read jltanner56's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image FalcnFan
1 review
Apr 2018
Awesome hands on experience. Not a sea life park exhibit. We took a boat several miles out to sea to a large sand bar. There were too many stingrays to count. I took great GoPro videos above/below the water.
Read FalcnFan's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links