Grand Cayman Stingray Swim Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Stingray Swim cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Encounter one of Grand Cayman's most popular sea creatures -- the stingray. Feed and touch them as you swim together in the island's turquoise water.
Member Image KenCT
2 reviews
Nov 2017
There's a reason that Chip and his crew at Stingray Sailing get overwhelming 5 star reviews. You get to the sandbar on a catamaran rather than a boat, it's obvious that his company has respect verging on reverence for the environment, he refuses to exploit the stingrays by holding them up for photo ops, and the experience is a whole lot of fun.
Read KenCT's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Stingray Sailing
Member Image fromtherock
1 review
Nov 2017
the guides were great. You get in the water with rays swimming around you. a little intimidating, but very nice.
Read fromtherock's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image judynorth
1 review
Nov 2017
Visited turtle farm, rum cake factory, Hell, and swam with the stingrays at stingray sandbar.
Read judynorth's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image deecanta
1 review
Nov 2017
We were placed in a very dangerous situation that turned into a rescue mission. It would have been nice, but definitely went bad quickly.
Read deecanta's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Beyond the Sunrise
6 reviews
Nov 2017
The stingray swim is interesting but not exceptional. There are a lot of people on a lot of boats and just a few stingrays. In our instance the 45 clients got in line as the guide held one stingray for each one to get a picture. The ship photographer then sold a digital package for $40. We had our snorkel gear so saw many more rays than other passengers. Our ship was old and not in good repair. Some chose not to get off when the small, slippery ladder was presented. It was difficult to get back on the boat too. Again, the excursion information was incomplete. We tendered in for 15 minutes, waited 10 minutes, then walked ten minutes to a bus which took us 20 minutes to another port to catch the excursion boat, which took 30 minutes out to the stingrays. We were in the water about 45 minutes. Repeat process back to the ship. There was confusion whether water shoes and snorkels were permitted (no shoes, yes snorkels). We didn't know logistics, times nor that there were facilities to change clothes, so many got back on the bus in wet suits. We wouldn't do it again.
Read Beyond the Sunrise's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ukoldav
2 reviews
Nov 2017
Bring your snorkel and mask. Terrific experience with 4-8 stingrays dancing a choreographed ballet in front of me in shallow wild waters.
Read ukoldav's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sunshinelady57
1 review
Nov 2017
The water was choppy. No help getting on or off the boat.
Read sunshinelady57's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bz
5 reviews
Nov 2017
Native Way . . . 2nd time with them, nice tour. Lunch at Rum Point very good.
Read bz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image markfive29
1 review
Nov 2017
This is more a hit on the company that ran the excursion than the excursion itself. The company that ran the trip, Resort Sports LTD, was very unprofessional and rude. The boat we got on was old a rundown. The used a rigged speaker to talk to the guests. As we found out later, you can not hear the if you sit near the bow. Upon arriving at the sandbar, we were forced to sit on the boat boat for an extra 30-45 mins as the tour operators ran over another boats lines and almost hit another tour guest in the water with an anchor. Then the other boat capatins were yelling at our crew. We then had to reposition the boat 3 times before we were allowed to get off. They only brought 2 hand fulls of squid for 40 people to feed the stingrays. They were more focused on making sure we took pictures to buy later. When we left for the reef snorkel my wife asked for new swim fin because hers were too small, she was greeted with disgust and irritation. The female guide then tossed the fins at her a said "these will fit". I made a formal complaint through RCI to make sure they knew of the issues. This company (Resort Sports LTD) does not like tourists at all. The tour would have been great, just make sure its not with this company.
Read markfive29's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image prattusa2712
1 review
Nov 2017
Pretty funky - short bus ride. 20 minute boat ride. 30-40 pound stingrays intent on "cuddling" you
Read prattusa2712's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Drifter1955
1 review
Nov 2017
Wonderful experience. Guides did a good job of handling the people and the stingrays.
Read Drifter1955's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image markn46804
1 review
Oct 2017
Awesome. A 10km ride on a little boat offshore to a reef with waist-high water- the tour guides are very good with the stingrays and offered a once in a lifetime opportunity to commune with the stingrays. Worth it.
Read markn46804's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image rotties rule
1 review
Oct 2017
The sting rays were great, but the beach BBQ was over booked and we ran out of time to do the snorkel.
Read rotties rule's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Shore Trips
Member Image Out of Iowa
3 reviews
Sep 2017
The sea was really too choppy to go and it was raining with heavier rain in the distance, yet six intrepid travelers and owner Mark Button with his crew took us on a 20-minute boat ride. The weather was too awful to continue (despite what half of the tourists wanted dearly) so we turned around. Saw some lovely homes; enjoyed a short, wet, rainy boatride; and there was no charge. So disappointed we didn't get to the sandbar to swim with the stringrays - but none of that is Moby Dick's fault. The staff were fabulous.
Read Out of Iowa's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Moby Dick
Member Image brie921
1 review
Sep 2017
When we got on the boat to go to Stingray City we were both again freezing and I told my friend since I have been to Stingray CIty at least 10 times that I would stay on the boat and take pictures of her. Again I think both tours should have been canceled due to the weather. I'm sure it would have been an awesome tour if the sun had been shining.
Read brie921's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Breezie68
2 reviews
Sep 2017
Great stingray time. Nice boat ride, and lots of rays!
Read Breezie68's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image starzcruiser
1 review
Sep 2017
Smaller and more personalized and simply amazing . A++++ for Everything Definitely always felt safe.
Read starzcruiser's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Moby Dick Tours
Member Image ScruffJenkins
1 review
Aug 2017
This was so much fun. I'm a little concerned because I still haven't received the photos from the tour company, but the experience itself was very affordable and everyone loved it.
Read ScruffJenkins's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Adm. Cruz
8 reviews
Aug 2017
Grand Cayman: Swam with the stingrays using Carnival tour for families it was excellent and worth every penny. This is one of the most expensive islands in the Caribbean. Example maracas $5 to $12— Cozumel bigger nicer $1. Shot glasses, GC price $5----Cozumel $1. You decide.
Read Adm. Cruz's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image landslide90250
1 review
Aug 2017
We went on the Coral Garden and Stingray City Sandbar excursion. It was great. Both my wife and I had a wonderful experience. The boat operators were pleasant and knowledgeable. We got to watch and touch many stingrays. At the coral reef we saw a huge number of beautiful fish and observed the living coral.
Read landslide90250's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mistamellow
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Stingray city was one of the coolest things I've ever done
Read mistamellow's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Mr.D
1 review
Jul 2017
The tour company was a bit disorganized and did not follow through with the complete tour we had paid for, which was a long visit to the turtle farm. The Stingray city visit and the Coral gardens snorkel were great, although the snorkel was a shorter time than they advertised. The water is amazing and so clear. The starfish point was very cool to see the starfish and be able to hold them and feel them. The rating was only based on the poorness of the tour company, NOT the sights seen because they were completely AMAZING!!!
Read Mr.D's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: shore excursioneer
Member Image arunk
1 review
Jul 2017
Must do
Read arunk's full MSC Opera cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image dpfjr1
1 review
Jul 2017
Over crowded. Not many stingrays.
Read dpfjr1's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Nike4000
1 review
Jul 2017
For the second time the wife and I went to Stingray City with Marineland Tours. It might be our most favorite excursion we've ever done. The price isn't overwhelming and the group at Marineland are wonderful. They really know their stuff and take time to teach everyone about the beautiful stingrays. We're also huge fans of their boat, which has steps that walk you right down to the sand. It's the easiest way to get in and out of the water at Stingray City. I was bummed because my supposedly waterproof camera got water in it and stopped working before I could get one single picture with the stingrays! Boo! The reason I marked this down from Excellent to Very Good was because we had to wait over an hour for our excursion to start. We were told to meet at the excursion tent on the pier at 11am, which we did. Turns out we weren't leaving until after noon to head to the boat! So, we sat on the pier for over an hour, waiting to go. It was hot and crowded, not the most fun part of our cruise. We knew what was coming with the trip to Stingray City, so we were very eager to get going. It was a big bummer to have to wait and sweat it out. Still, overall it was a great time!
Read Nike4000's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links