Safaga Valley of the Kings Excursion Reviews

Safaga Valley of the Kings cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enter the Valley of the Kings on the west bank of the Nile River to visit the tombs of some of Egypt's greatest pharaohs, including the famous King Tutankhamun.
Member Image Annie Bligh
1 review
May 2017
Long day, but so very interesting. Hatshepsut Temple, Valley of the Kings, and photo stop at the Colossi of Memnon all fascinating. Great lunch then long drive back to the ship. Exhausting but worth it.
Read Annie Bligh's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Vagabondvoyager
11 reviews
Mar 2017
We were a group of 11 which enabled us to see some wonderful sites. First, we went to the Valley of the Kings. We entered two tombs (Ramses the IV and Ramses the IX) and I chose to pay $6 extra to enter King Tut's tomb. What a thrill. Our next visit was to Habu Temple. We had an excellent lunch at the Nile View Restaurant and then took a boat across the Nile to the Temple of Karnak. These ruins are just amazing! Our last stop was at the Temple of Luxor and was very interesting. The ride from the ship to Luxor is about 3.5 hours which made for a very long day, but I wouldn't have missed these sights.
Read Vagabondvoyager's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Love Egypt Tours
Member Image candrey
1 review
Nov 2016
Again Safaga is nothing to look at, but most passengers did a trip across to Luxor. Another long, but very interesting trip. Valley of the Kings and the Temple of Luxor were excellent. Our guide was OK, but he talked almost non-stop all day. It was over 3 hours each way on the bus and he kept going virtually the whole way there and the whole way back.
Read candrey's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image davidandjie
1 review
Oct 2016
We did have enough time to see three of the tombs. Seeing the vibrant colors, still decorating the toms after thousands of years, was awe-inspiring.
Read davidandjie's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Memphis Tours
Member Image SeeLDee
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Super guide, Cherry. amazing architecture.
Read SeeLDee's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mary Anne R
1 review
Oct 2016
Tour also went to Luxor Temple. I have touched on the horrors of this excursion in my general review. Luxor Temple is interesting. We were also disappointed that you can't take pictures in the Valley of the Kings. I you want pictures, you have to buy the "official" government issued photo package.
Read Mary Anne R's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Valpike@hotmail.com
1 review
Apr 2015
The history of the Valley of Kings comes to life when the Guides tell you the stories behind the Tombs. The cruise ship had great guides for this experience. It is a lot of walking, stairs and very hot out there, but we'll worth the visit.
Read Valpike@hotmail.com's full Star Pride cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Pozzeypolly
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2013
It was a long day but well worth the sites.
Read Pozzeypolly's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Cornishpisky
1 review
Jan 2013
Excellent tour, very knowledgable guide.
Read Cornishpisky's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image mcannonn
1 review
Jan 2013
The sights WERE amazing but the tour was not. The tour guide was awful. We were not allowed cameras at all in the Valley of the Kings - inside the tombs or out. The drive from Safaga to Luxor is too long - 4 and a half hours one way - and time at the valley too short (less than 1 1/2 hours). The sights are worth seeing but it should ideally be done from a Nile Cruise, not from Safaga.
Read mcannonn's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image At sea days
11 reviews
Mar 2012
the hawkers were so bad it really was a turn off to be pestered constantly!
Read At sea days's full Seabourn Pride cruise review
Provider:
Member Image oenone
3 reviews
Mar 2012
This would have been a 5 if we were in better shape. The stairs prevent one from truly experiencing the incredible tombs.
Read oenone's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Rhamses

Sponsored links