Grand Cayman Semi Submarine Tour Excursion Reviews

Grand Cayman Semi Submarine Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This unique vessel, similar to a glass bottom boat, is perfect for viewing Grand Cayman's reef formations and unique marine life- all while in the hull of the submarine.
Member Image ohlatx
1 review
May 2017
about one hour. very informed and friendly docent. The views were so vivid you want to hold your breath believing that you are really underwater with the fish!
Read ohlatx's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Grand Cayman Semi-Submarine and Fish Feeding show
Member Image jack dcruiser
1 review
Apr 2017
We took the land and sea tour, but the semi submarine it really the only thing whole reviewing. Though Damian our tour guy for the land and sea tour was good.
Read jack dcruiser's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image welove2cruiseRC
1 review
Apr 2017
This tour is so cool. If you want to see the reefs and sea life, but don't snorkel, scuba or are too claustrophobic for the real submarine tour, than this is the one for you ! LOL The guide was super informative and entertaining!
Read welove2cruiseRC's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lucy1973
1 review
Mar 2017
We started our day at the port in Georgetown and headed out to the turtle farm where we got to see the giant turtles as well as hold turtles. Next we headed our bus out to Hell where we were able to send a post card home with the special Hell postage stamp. We also got our passports stamped indicating we went to Hell. All during our bus ride our driver Teddy Bear told us about the area and the island. Our third stop on the tour was a ride in a semi sub. During our ride we were able to see ship wrecks, many different fish, turtles and sharks. The tour guides on the sub were very knowledgeable and ensured that everyone got to see everything the seafloor had to offer.
Read Lucy1973's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image James The Greater
1 review
Mar 2017
I would not recommend this to anybody. The class where we sat was all scratched couldn't take pictures. The fish were all on one side of the boat that the lien over people if you wanted to see. They did have a scuba diver in the water came along with the fish not worth the price. And the place where we ate the food came to $40 and the Cayman dollar apparently was 25% more +15% gratuity that was that it without our consent and tax were charged over $90. Just don't eat there in the Cayman Islands.
Read James The Greater's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kearhartkbds
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Hopped on a bus, did city tour, then went into water, monitor was dark could not see the fishes or sunken ship, feeding the fishes was fun. Wished we could of seen the sunken ship...
Read Kearhartkbds's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Luv2travlX2
1 review
Feb 2017
We took Capt. Nemo's semi sub. It was a lot of fun. Snorkeling option for those who chose to do that. Others could remain onboard and watch thru the big windows on the lower level.
Read Luv2travlX2's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image clamper
3 reviews
Feb 2017
Brilliant semi submersible views of ship wrecks, corals with fish, rays and turtles on show. Cheaper than cruise ship tour & 2 mins walk from tender dock.
Read clamper's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Atlantis submarine
Member Image mrrastos
1 review
Feb 2017
Grand Cayman was very nice after our negative experience in Ochos Rios. I actually studied German on the way to Grand Cayman in case the vendors were as aggressive and I wanted to pretend I didn't speak English. Thankfully I didn't have to resort to that. The people in Grand Cayman were a bit reserved, yet friendly and polite. This was my wife's favorite stop. For me it almost seemed a bit too much like North America, but I enjoyed it nevertheless. There are lots of high end shops around if you're into that sort of thing. The Atlantis semi-submarine tour was about a ten minute walk from the cruise docks. I knew that beforehand and booked it independently. The operator seemed like a very professional and reputable company The underwater reefs and shipwrecks we saw were incredible. The company has a scuba diver that feeds the fish to lure them close to the windows so people can see them up close. We liked Grand Cayman a lot and stayed ashore until about an hour before the ship was scheduled to leave.
Read mrrastos's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Atlantis
Member Image Jamazay89
1 review
Feb 2017
The Amphibious land/boat tour was awesome. A must do. It was just the right amount of time where you could tour some of the island, go in the water on the same bus, stopped at the 7 mile beach to eat and chill. Great value for the price.
Read Jamazay89's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image SpringBob54
1 review
Jan 2017
Took the Land and Sea package. It was interesting and a good value.
Read SpringBob54's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image WriteRon
1 review
Jan 2017
We enjoyed seeing the reef, fish and shipwrecks. Our first time in this type of excursion.
Read WriteRon's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ohaycruiser
1 review
Dec 2016
If your not among the 1st to get on you won't get a good seat. It also get very warm and stuffy in side
Read ohaycruiser's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Belle1234
1 review
Oct 2016
Great way to see under the ocean without getting wet. It was very cool and comfortable.
Read Belle1234's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image adimaio
1 review
Jun 2016
Fumes from boat interior made me very nauseous after 30 mins. Felt like I couldn't breathe.
Read adimaio's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image papamikeinaz
1 review
Jun 2016
Not enough AC, very uncomfortable while trying to view the fish and shipwrecks. If it was cooler this would get 4 stars.
Read papamikeinaz's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image ricardo123
1 review
May 2016
We enjoyed seeing the reef. Was good for younger kids.
Read ricardo123's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jerseyshoreguy
1 review
Apr 2016
Lots of amazing sights. Great commentary.
Read jerseyshoreguy's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Not going back to work
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Truly amazed! and to see God's creation, from (below) the sea over 100 feet down, one almost can't even put in to words. The colors of the fish, but only to a certain point though, and the ocean floor terrain, and the Cayman trough, spectacular.
Read Not going back to work's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image unleadedchrome
1 review
Jun 2015
Was the worst part of my trip, didnt have a big enough shuttle to take everyone so they asked us to walk to the boat, showed up to the boat, No A/C, warm water to "cool down" never again if they tell u no ac. Ask for your moneyback and walkaway
Read unleadedchrome's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Computer Lady
2 reviews
Apr 2015
We booked right at the port at the Discount Excursions kiasok.The next available mini-sub was not for a couple hours. We walked around and went to the Hard Rock Cafe for a couple drinks to kill time. It was right across the street from where we boarded the sub. There were only 6 of us on the sub which was great! We could move all about and had great views. The captain scuba dived into the water to feed the fish which came right up to the windows. We saw sting rays and many other fish and sunked vessels. Our narrator was excellent! He was very informative and answered all questions.
Read Computer Lady's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Discount Excursions
Member Image Traveler joe
1 review
Feb 2015
the only thing we did was the Atlantis sub this was great ,down 100 feet good explanations,on what you were seeing' well worth the price .We found the rest of the port area to be a bit pricey for what is there
Read Traveler joe's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image edeel5
1 review
Dec 2013

The submarine was nice. You don't see many fish until they feed them. There are no big fish.

Read edeel5's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image NCSuz
3 reviews
Dec 2013

Semi-submersible was part of the Land & Sea tour. Dennis the captain was awesome. Martin the narrator was more snarky than funny. Great underwater views of fish, stingrays, coral and 2 shipwrecks. Would definitely recommend.

Read NCSuz's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image chickensmomma
2 reviews
Nov 2013

We tendered in Grand Cayman. For ASD you need ear muffs again- the boats are loud and completely filled with people(so a lot of voices). We then took an excursion to Sea World Observatory boat booked by NCL. It was really neat and perfect for ASD- not completely enclosed and there is an upper deck if you encounter problems. The guide was nice and pointed our fish to my other two kids- they were fascinated. They do put about 40 people in a smaller enclosed space. After that we walked around and shopped. We ventured to Burger King to get nuggets for the ASD (because she had only eaten cereal and pizza in days)- it was really expensive and they did not have nuggets. Stopped at duty free to pickup Doritos (for the ASD) and tendered back to the ship. My son was impressed with the cold towels (there was no greeting in Jamaica).

Read chickensmomma's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?