Hanoi Halong Bay Excursion Reviews

Hanoi Halong Bay cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Journey from Hanoi to Halong Bay, a UNESCO World Heritage Site replete with limestone islands and a picturesque coastline. The extreme biodiversity of the area makes for many endemic species of flora and fauna.
Member Image Richardlowe
1 review
Feb 2017
Well organised half-day excursion around the beautiful bay.
Read Richardlowe's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wdcw
4 reviews
Feb 2017
Halong Bay itself is very distinctive and quite atmospheric. The bay cruise (embarking straight from the ship) is interesting. Quite a lot of the time is spent visiting a large cave, which is OK but crammed with tourists and lit up in a rather kitsch way. It is also easy, and just as interesting, to go ashore and explore on your own.
Read wdcw's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SargerTM
1 review
Jan 2017
The caves at Halong Bay were awesome! The tour was well-structured. I found that by booking tours through the ship, you get to know and spend time with the other guests.
Read SargerTM's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image enfpdancer
2 reviews
Jan 2017
This was a highlight of the cruise. going through halong bay going inside the caves with the other 5 million tourists. lots of interesting geological formations . the lights in the caves were very dramatic. even the ride back was amusing with people trying to sell their wares to us. I bought a bracelet I did not need but it is a good story of the sales girls persistence. fun
Read enfpdancer's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image CessnaGuy182
2 reviews
Jan 2017
We did this port twice. First time we booked the junket island cruise and caves ashore. Terrific.
Read CessnaGuy182's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Shoreside
Member Image Candidasa
4 reviews
Jan 2017
Nice 3 hour boat ride with stop at caves. Great day.
Read Candidasa's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Oldtony77
4 reviews
Jan 2017
Good tour but caves very crowded. Not as strenuous as pre warning.
Read Oldtony77's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Longfield
1 review
Dec 2016
Good tour but felt that the lack of handrails on many of the steps could have been a problem for elderly passengers.
Read Longfield's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Russ4Joy
1 review
Dec 2016
Cruising around the limestone cliffs was impressive. The cave visit was an extraordinary experience. Access was not difficult for those with average mobility.
Read Russ4Joy's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image u241799
1 review
Nov 2016
An overall good experience. Well managed by the cruise line. However I would urge Silversea to get their ground arranger to inspect the boats used. The one that we were allocated to had very unsafe r and not sturdy railings around the upper level of the junk.
Read u241799's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image dbalsom
1 review
Oct 2016
The boat part was good. being herded thus caves with 100"s of people not so much
Read dbalsom's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image oddstuff
1 review
Sep 2016
In a word, gorgeous. Loved the jnuk tour of the bay
Read oddstuff's full Viking Mekong cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image bobeteebob
1 review
Nov 2015
Temples, shops, it was raining
Read bobeteebob's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image howardrd
4 reviews
Mar 2015
An absolute must do and far easier through the cruise line as the boats came straight to the ship rather than having to tender ashore and start all over. The Caves were interesting and the boat trip around Halong Bay was tranquil, relaxing and spectacular. I would have to say that sailing out from Halong Bay on Millennium was equally, if not even more, dramatic.
Read howardrd's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Teresahinton
1 review
Mar 2015
Two hour journey and some if it wasn't great, too hot to walk around and with another 2 hour journey back, felt we were on a coach tour; felt it was a waste if time visiting a Vitemese house, could not really see the point if that.
Read Teresahinton's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image merrygoround
1 review
Mar 2015
We went to the caves, Halong bay , stunning and you will be right there in the bay so great views of rock formation and bridge. Caves, very busy & could do without all the coloured lights used to enhance them but really impressive. Ride back through formations impressive.
Read merrygoround's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image C1deb
3 reviews
Mar 2015

Was glad to have booked with the cruise line as the cruise ship was tenderedthe tour boats came to the cruise ship to take us on the Ha Long bay tour and it was amazing, because we booked with the cruise line we were the first to disembark, definetly worth doing this tour, really enjoyed it, took lots of photos, very relaxing place. You do have to climb a lot of steps at the caves so make sure you were comfortable shoes.

Read C1deb's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kasr
4 reviews
Dec 2014

Halong Bay itself is amazing. We opted for the proverbial 3 hour cruise, rather than a 7 hour round bus trip to Hanoi. The local cruise boats docked directly at the ship making access easy.

The tour went past many of the better known islands in Halong Bay, but really just touched the sides. It included a visit to a large limestone cave formation that was quite interesting, but involved about 100 steps to access.

Halong Bay City is nothing to write home about. There is a small market opposite the tender dock, and free wi-fi at a bar next door. There is a pleasant esplanade to walk along to the north, and the township offers ATMs and restaurants, although it is about a 15 min walk if you don't want to take up the services of the many taxi and tuk-tuk drivers at the terminal.

One unexpected bonus was the high-tech light show on the new bridge connecting the two halves of Halong Bay City - well worth sitting through the full 10 minute cycle.

Note that the December weather was as forecast, very misty - but to some extent this just added to the mystique of an amazing location.

Read kasr's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image D. B.
1 review
Dec 2014
Very well done! We visited the Islands and toured a Cavern.
Read D. B.'s full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Steve East Sussex
1 review
Feb 2014

Outstanding views on a good day - which we were fortunate to enjoy - a must see. The floating villages, boat people - including those sailing alongside our boat ro sell their fruit and vegetables provided a brief glimpse of a world unkown to us, and I suspect most people from the west. Not to be missed - but during our visit very crowded.

Read Steve East Sussex's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dalbert
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2013
Halong was interesting but there were about 5000 other people at the caves also. But they were still cool.
Read dalbert's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Allan Richards
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2013
Again a very well organised private tour and very good guide. You need to pay in US Dollars cash
Read Allan Richards's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Ha Vietland Discovery
Member Image donman
2 reviews
Feb 2013
We were on a tourist boat with a small group we booked independently. The experience was overwhelming. Beautiful cruise but horrible food but we had to eat it as it was cooked by the person who lived on the ship.
Read donman's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image helenls
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Cruised Halong Bay on a junk for 5-6 hours and made stops to visit caves and a pearl farm.
Read helenls's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Annie1959
2 reviews
Feb 2013

Great cruise among spectacular scenery for about 1/2 the cost of the cruise line's tour.

Read Annie1959's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises

Sponsored links