Dunedin Taieri Gorge Railway Excursion Reviews

Dunedin Taieri Gorge Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A highlight of any visit to Dunedin is a trip on the Taieri Gorge Railway -- one of the world's greatest train trips through rugged landscapes and hand-carved tunnels.
Member Image Pedro Lopez
1 review
Mar 2017
booked the railway car with the glass roof to see the sights but end up in a shoe box so what can I say was I happy NO.
Read Pedro Lopez's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image PG13
1 review
Feb 2017
One the of the best!!
Read PG13's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lviehmyer
1 review
Feb 2017
Do not use Good Company Tours. Completely disorganized. We almost missed the train trip. Then bus driver for City Tour had a load of unhappy passengers when he failed to respond to attempts to return us to the ship as he was running late, insisting on showing us things anyway. We were 35 minutes late back on board and barely made it. Since it was NOT a ship's tour, they will NOT wait for you. Do not be fooled. Take the Taiero Gorge Railway tour with another company and do the city tour on your own by foot; then take the ship's shuttle back.
Read lviehmyer's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Good Company Tours
Member Image stewclannc
2 reviews
Feb 2017
We were told we would walk off the ship and get on the train, ride it up the gorge and then back again. We ended up on a bus for 100 minutes and got the ride down. Half of the promised trip. They had too many people in port that day and it sounded like they were double selling the seats that we had paid for!
Read stewclannc's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Clinthart45
1 review
Jan 2017
Great scenery, but not worth the nearly three hundred dollars each.
Read Clinthart45's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TPW
4 reviews
Jan 2017
Boarded the train at the ship side - very convenient . Good day out with friendly staff on the train and an acceptable snack on board. Beautiful and spectacular scenery - excellent trip
Read TPW's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image clark
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Waste of money...too expensive,too long and boring
Read clark's full Dawn Princess cruise review
Provider:
Member Image Katong 45
1 review
Jan 2017
Nice train ride but a 40 minute queue for coffee.
Read Katong 45's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image pinzel
1 review
Dec 2016
Was an enjoyable trip. Would recommend the no frills. Not a lot of difference except you start your trip from the Station rather than at the cruise ship itself. The train does leave right at the disembarkation gangway. This may be a better way if your mobility is more limited but buses are provided to take you to the station.
Read pinzel's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Vegas Voyager
1 review
Dec 2016
Too long and did not live up to the hype. Weird lunch provided and cramped quarters.
Read Vegas Voyager's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image trurotraveler
2 reviews
Oct 2016
There was some very nice scenary on the second half of the trip....but not worth the money
Read trurotraveler's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Pinery
1 review
Oct 2016
We took the Tranz Alpine railroad through the cruise line - expensive but worth every cent. The train was comfortable, food was good, and the scenery spectacular. I wapuld give it 5 stars
Read Pinery's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruiseellen
1 review
Oct 2016
Long train ride but the end was kind of pretty don;'t know that I would go again.
Read Cruiseellen's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image byrwcfh
1 review
Feb 2016
Nice train trip. Relaxing - good food and beautiful gorge.
Read byrwcfh's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image verne1956
3 reviews
Jan 2016
I enjoyed this trip the cruise ship had booked out the train so volunteers maned it. Gaye our hostess was full of fun she made my day. It was cloudy and cool in Dunedin but hot and clear in the Gorges. Booking on the ship was expensive I think you could get it much cheaper if you went on another day if staying in Dunedin
Read verne1956's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image kwkiwi
2 reviews
Dec 2015
Loved the train ride into Taieri Gorge. What a spectacular engineering feat from the late 1800s. Make sure you ask for a right hand side seat going into the gorge. The bus trip round Dunedin afterwards was also fab, Richard is a local and gives a very good overview of Dunedin. NB wouldn't recommend the train trip for kids or teenagers, it's too long at 4 hours there and back.
Read kwkiwi's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Good Company Tours
Member Image hazelmurf
2 reviews
Nov 2015
Some spectacular scenery. Much cheaper to book independently and included a city tour.
Read hazelmurf's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image thistledoo
4 reviews
Oct 2015
We took a private tour with Good Company Tours, booked online prior to the cruise. There was pick up from the port, a train trip to Taieri Gorge followed by a two hour city tour. Highly recommended at a fraction of the cost of the ship tour.
Read thistledoo's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Table 197
2 reviews
Mar 2015
Our tour guide was very lovely. All guides were volunteers and enjoyed what they were doing. Train stopped at 2 local markets for us to buy gifts. Lunch provided. Great day
Read Table 197's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Purdo57
1 review
Mar 2015
A fantastic day out. make sure you get the first shuttle once off the ship which will get you to the railway station in time for the 9.30 train and then from there it's clickety clack for the day.
Read Purdo57's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CHELSEADOG
5 reviews
Mar 2015
Nice train ride. We were able to see the country side. The seats were tight. The tour booked with the cruise line had wine and a nice lunch. We had a snack bar. Our train went further so we got back later. I wasn't able to go to the Cadbury chocolate factory
Read CHELSEADOG's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Nightowl50
1 review
Mar 2015
Lovely day and sights spectacular.
Read Nightowl50's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mab58
1 review
Jan 2015

Lovely trip nice meal

Read mab58's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bushbaby52
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Excellent tour
Read bushbaby52's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image walmar8416
1 review
Feb 2013

Took the Taieri Gorge Railway, thoroughly recommend it. Lovely morning tea and lunch. and stop at wonderful Craft Market that only comes out for the Cruise Ships.

My sister and I went into Dunedin for a look while Mum took the train back to the Ship.

When it left it was lovely to sit on the balcony and listen to the Pipe band playing as we sailed away.

Read walmar8416's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?