Dunedin Larnach Castle Excursion Reviews

Dunedin Larnach Castle cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the massive mansion known as Larnach Castle in Dunedin, complete with renowned gardens.
Member Image cruise2017/2018
1 review
Dec 2017
The tour guide was rude and just kept complaining how late we were, and it upset the schedule for the castle. I think I would have rather just walked around with the headsets, and not with the guide, we all felt intimidated and were wasting his time, I ended up switching off with him and we got more out of the tour.No time to have a cup of tea or even use the amenities - not impressed - we should have been reimbursed for this tour
Read cruise2017/2018's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dras2
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Started with coffee and scones in the dining area of the castle then toured the house. Nice tour and the grounds and views were very good.
Read dras2's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Pedro Lopez
1 review
Mar 2017
I found the Castle well present and maintained its was enjoyable to be there.
Read Pedro Lopez's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HappyAussieCruiser
1 review
Jan 2017
The Scottish Experience was fantastic. A piper, highland dancers and the host performed a haggis ceremony. Very entertaining and a nice lunch of chicken and salad. The house is amazing and has a very interesting history.
Read HappyAussieCruiser's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image karenbink
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Although small by castle standards, it has an interesting ownership history & the tour was great.
Read karenbink's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image eggshellblonde
2 reviews
Nov 2016
A wonderful old castle on top of the hill surrounded by beautiful gardens. The guided tour was a bit too brief but the Devonshire Tea was very nice.
Read eggshellblonde's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Skysurferau
1 review
Member Image KayTong
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

Best tour guide every. Private guide and just the 4 of us. we did the last castle tour at 2 and got back to our boat with 1/2 hour to spare and this included the ride back to the pier out in port charmbers. but be careful since some people on the sea princess did not get back and wanted to try to get on our boat.

Read KayTong's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Mountains123
2 reviews
Dec 2012
Once back at the train station in Dunedin, board a bus for a scenic ride up the hills to Larnach Castle (not really a castle, more like a mansion) - short tour thru the mansion and beautiful grounds. You can take the narrow stairs (you must be mobile) up to the overlook and see even more around Larnach Castle. Very interesting history of the family who built it. Note: There is no free time if you see both sights (train and castle) to do exploring/shopping.
Read Mountains123's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image janwar17
1 review
Mar 2012
Excellent with good commentary from the lady driving the bus
Read janwar17's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: from the information shop

Sponsored links