Dunedin City Tour Excursion Reviews

Dunedin City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Tour the city of Dunedin to see the best of its Victorian and Edwardian architecture and attractions, including the world's steepest street.
Member Image Camel GC
2 reviews
Apr 2017
Bad bus driver and tour guide to long in the first two locations so missed the rest! Not impressed!!!!!!!
Read Camel GC's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Dragonboat
2 reviews
Mar 2017
We booked this tour to do during our cruise ship stop in Port Chalmers/Dunedin. The Good Company bus picked us up at the Port Chalmers cruise terminal iSite visitor information center (which has good wi-fi) and drove us into town. Richard the driver was very informative and provided a lot of history of the city. We stopped first at the railway station and then had a few hours of free time to see the downtown area. The railway station is a must see; be sure to go to the 2nd floor to see the stained glass windows. We also went through the Otago Museum, which provides more detailed history about the local Maoris and European Settlers. Also had time to go to the Cadbury factory, which is closing in late 2017. Don't spend your money on the expensive factory tour, just buy chocolate! The tour took us through the city, by the beaches and through hilly neighborhoods. Very relaxing and informative. We made a stop at Baldwin Street, the steepest street in the world, and got off to take photos. There were other sights we would like to have photographed, but it's hard for a full bus to stop and offload/load up again.
Read Dragonboat's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Good Company
Member Image lviehmyer
1 review
Feb 2017
I've already said above not to use Good Company Tours. Do the city tour on your own. We didn't get any time in the Octagon because he kept driving us through residential neighborhoods, and then got us back late to the ship.
Read lviehmyer's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Good Company Tours
Member Image stewclannc
2 reviews
Feb 2017
This was to be a complimentary tour integrated with the Taieri Gorge train. They gave us 18 minutes at the Botanical Garden and 24 minutes at the city Museum and some commentary on the bus, and that was it. The combo tour was $245USD and not worth it at all. Dunedin is a very nice town, the Botanical Gardens are very, very nice, but we didn't get to see much of them.
Read stewclannc's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sallyandtex
1 review
Jan 2017
Extremely hot no airconditioning, another bus broke down so we had to double back and wait for them. wasted too much time and didn't get any commentary of the city landmarks like we did with the same company last year different driver. Driver constantly whinging about the squeaky breaks.
Read Sallyandtex's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Good company
Member Image Mcferconui
1 review
Jan 2017
Port Chalmers is quite a distance from Dunedin - pity you could not just take a regular public bus to and fro to the city .....
Read Mcferconui's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Nev's
Member Image luvdworld
1 review
Nov 2016
We were dropped off at milford sound. Long drive but very scenic and impressive views on our way to Queenstown. Nice boat ride to a beautiful restaurant for dinner and sheep dog show. The second day was not as nice but I would recommend this tour.
Read luvdworld's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image globalsafetypartners
1 review
Nov 2016
Great insights into the life and history of the city. Athol was a great guide who was extremely knowledgeable of the city and its history and has a passion for Dunedin and New Zealand that makes this tour really live.
Read globalsafetypartners's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: City Walks Dunedin
Member Image Cruiseellen
1 review
Oct 2016
Awful city tour by Head first. May be the worse tour that I have ever taken
Read Cruiseellen's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vonLudeke
1 review
Oct 2016
Had a self guided tour around the City of Dunedin, coffee, shopping (green stone) then walk to the top of Port Chalmers, Blueskin Rd to see Scott's Memorial and take in the view
Read vonLudeke's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Bunnie23
1 review
Jan 2016
Brochure said we'd see the train station, well I guess we did as we drove past it! As Dunedin is a good 30 mins from Port Chalmers have a tour prebooked so you are not waiting in line once on land organising something to do.
Read Bunnie23's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image welshozziecruiser
1 review
Dec 2014
Excellent day we were picked up at the ship, taken into the City. Visited the Speights Brewery, and the bus picked us up for a two hour drive around the City and outskirts.
Read welshozziecruiser's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image KayTong
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

So we were so dump. when you get off right at port charmers the information center has everything there, you can book tours half the cost, but we spent $36 for the 4 of us to take a taxi into the city.

the city tour picks up and drops off on the port if you take the last castle tour, but you can start the city tour right away. but realize this that each drop off point you have to wait 1 hour before getting picked up.

Book the chocolate tour early, but if you can't just go there and you can get in like in a half hour.

Read KayTong's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image mezza
17 reviews
Mar 2013
would have liked to have done other excursions such as the railways but all were very expensive - maybe next time
Read mezza's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mr walker
5 reviews
Jan 2013
Guide was informative - well organised tour
Read mr walker's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pcpop
1 review
Dec 2012
I would highly recommend this tour to first time visitors to Dunedin. We were picked up from the wharf and dropped us off in dunedin Central which allowed us some free time to wander around and see the historic train station, speights brewery and cadbury chocolate factory. all were walking distance from the Octagon. We were then picked up from the info centre and taken on a (2 hour)guided tour around the inner city and the surrounding areas of Dunedin before being transported back to the Boat. Our tour guide (Richard) was very knowledgble and informative. He even gave us a break down on each suburb we drove through including average property prices. The History of Dunedin and its people was very interesting and boasts alot of firsts both nationally and internationally. Dunedin is a beautiful clean city surrounded by water and rich in History. It was a fine sunny day but there was a cool wind outside on the inner city.
Read pcpop's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Good Company tours
Member Image Granny S
1 review
Nov 2012
A clean, medium sized, airconditioned bus picked us up for our tour. With only about 20 passengers capacity there was a friendly atmosphere. The driver was friendly and offered a very informative commentary during the 2 hour trip. This encompassed the city and surrounding areas from the hills to the beaches, including the worlds steepest street. It also gave us time to take photos. We had a great time and saw as much as was possible in the time available. Great value!
Read Granny S's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: goodfellow tours
Member Image janwar17
1 review
Mar 2012
Very good as well, the whole day was excellent.
Read janwar17's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: information centre
Member Image Jennifer gilby
reviews
Jan 2012
The city run a hop on bus, brilliant,from the port for just $25nz takes you to the Botanical Garden,(1-2hrs) Oraga Museum (1-2hrs plus all the other places of interest. If you want to do the Taieri Gorge Railway on your own book online beforehand as it sells out price about £100 cheaper than cruise ship
Read Jennifer gilby's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image Po11y27
1 review
Dec 2011
Self-directed touring. We hired a vehicle and drove to each of the stops. The first stop was Cadburys. The tour was not very good as the factory was mainly closed down. We did get a very good commentary from our guide and we all sampled various types of chocolate. Interesting but would have been better if it were all operating. We then drove out to Natures Wonders for a fun excursion to see some fantastic conservation efforts. We all enjoyed the tour in the eight-wheel-drive buggy to see seals and penguins along with a very interesting commentary from our guides. This is one to add to your list. A must see. From there we went on to Speights Brewery.
Read Po11y27's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?