Nassau Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

Nassau Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dip into Nassau's beautiful waters to catch a glimpse of the spectacular coral reefs hidden just below the surface. Snorkeling provides access to this unforgettable underwater world without the difficulty and training necessary for full on scuba.
Member Image jimcollins1
1 review
Sep 2017
Very Nice trip to small reef to snorkel. Free Adult drinks on sail back to dock. Highly recommend.
Read jimcollins1's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Boschmann
2 reviews
Sep 2017
We have been to Nassau several times and find it less interesting every time. My desire to spend as little time on land there as possible led us to our only MSC excursion, snorkeling near Athol Island. It was actually less expensive than booking privately. We left the ship around 11am for this two+ hour excursion. Our boat picked us up inside the port gates and it took about 30 minutes to reach the snorkel reef site. There were about 30 people on the excursion. We had on hour of free snorkel time to do as we wanted, guides kept people from venturing in front of the boats and into the traffic areas. Otherwise we were left to do as we wanted without overly strict guides keeping us in a clump. The site was obviously well used with broken corals and signs of damage. Some of the other operators were throwing food from their boats to attract fish. The water was about 5 to 15 feet deep on the reef, a decent amount of fish, corals, sponges and sea life could be seen if you ventured a few hundred feet from the boats normal mooring buoy positions. Upon return the boat dropped us at the pier along Woods Rogers Walk outside the terminal gates, which required walking a gauntlet of sales pitches in wet swimsuits to get back to the ship.
Read Boschmann's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image ginaserene1
1 review
Aug 2017
Overall, Nassau is the port I enjoy the most, although the time in port is one of the shortest. If you are active, Atlantis aquapark is awesome! Plan your time well to get on all of the attractions within the short time. The Atoll snorkeling trip is the best snorkeling in Caribbean, although it can get crowded. The water is only approx 14 feet deep, so you can see a lot even if you only float on surface. Purple, orange, yellow, and green sponges and coral as well as lots of fish because they feed them to come near. Or, walk/ride over to the beach and enjoy some fish fry. I must say, I spend the most money shopping in Nassau they have the best deal on perfume, skin care, designer sunglasses.
Read ginaserene1's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image lizlevinee
1 review
Aug 2017
We were so excited to go snorkeling and the tour was cancelled. We waited 50 minutes for the boat to show up with no explanation from the person waiting with us or the boat crew when we boarded. When we finally were on the boat we got maybe 3 minutes in before the captain said we had to turn around his boat had a problem. We were refunded but it was a total waste of day and time. Could have had spare boats or offered something else to do. So disappointing.
Read lizlevinee's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hanlons_co
1 review
Aug 2017
Would go independent next time for a more personalized experience. Way too many people on a boat that was not very comfortable or inviting. Paperwork should be completed BEFORE that morning and if you miss the 9am deadline, your problem. We did not even leave until almost 10am and it was supposed to leave at 9am and be 2 hrs. We did not get back until almost 1pm.
Read hanlons_co's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image RFKFREAK
1 review
Jul 2017
This was cancelled on our trip due to inclement weather, however, the staff was friendly and made the situation a not so bad one. My only complaint, really, was that it took forever to get the boat on the dock once we got back. It seemed they were having trouble figuring out how to get it hooked to the dock. Under normal circumstances that wouldn't have been much of a concern but in pouring rain, it seemed excessive for it to take 5-10 minutes.
Read RFKFREAK's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cgiord
1 review
Jul 2017
We saw some fish but nothing special. Enjoyed the boat ride and talking to the crew about sharks and ship wrecks.
Read cgiord's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image laureen9000
1 review
Jul 2017
the reef we were taken to was very pretty and lots of fish to look at.
Read laureen9000's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image 3kiddos33
1 review
Jun 2017
Rainbow Reef snorkel, take us on a nice boat out to a reef, explained snorkel gear, we got to snorkel for an hour! like being in an aquarium, told us info about island on way back
Read 3kiddos33's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Alydar67
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Nice trip. An hour sail on a catamaran, then an hour snorkeling at a shallow coral reef. Nice experience.
Read Alydar67's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CruiseBell
1 review
Jun 2017
The sail boat was unsafe in areas - railing on side of boat was extremely loose.
Read CruiseBell's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Anonymous.Cruiser
1 review
Jun 2017
We took the Rainbow Reef Snorkel, and it was better than expected. Obviously, the coral isn't vibrantly colored, but there was plenty of it to look at. They allowed you to go pretty far, but it was always safe. Life jackets were optional, but most people took them. The masks and gear worked very well and rarely fogged up or malfunctioned. The crew was friendly, but we were at the back of the boat and could rarely hear what they were saying. The crew also chummed the water so there were lots of fish. We were pleased with this, however, we enjoyed diving down to the rock formations the most. They were only 6ft-10ft below us, and it was fun to see the fish close up.
Read Anonymous.Cruiser's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruzholt
1 review
May 2017
Perfect snorkeling for beginners. We cruise to a reef on a decently sized boat, not too crowded. They offered a cash snack bar which was nice. The snorkeling equipment was decent. The boats crew was professional and did a great job getting everyone equipped and kept everyone safe while in the water.
Read cruzholt's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image epermar
1 review
May 2017
Operated by Sun Bahamas, Carnival's "Ultimate Snorkel Tour & Beach Safari" was excellent. The boat holds only 16 passengers plus 2 crew members so it is a personal experience. It begins with a tour through Nassau Harbor with sightings of celebrity homes, island views including "Gilligan's Island", Ted Turner and Elvis Presley Bahama homes, then a fast (wet in the back of the boat) ride about four miles out to snorkel with the turtles, on to snorkel a coral reef, then a stop at a shallow beach spot. Captain Teo and Troy were awesome guides!
Read epermar's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sbwmail
5 reviews
May 2017
Good snorkeling but small boat anchored near the reef made me quite seasick when I was not in the water (about 1/2 hour)
Read sbwmail's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image claudbou
1 review
May 2017
No fish where they dropped us off
Read claudbou's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image momellex
1 review
May 2017
Booked Pearl Island with snorkling. The waters were rough and cancelled the snorkle part for safety reasons. Was only refunded $10 per person when I was told at the time I canceled that I would be refunded $25 per person.
Read momellex's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TheSoccerCoach
2 reviews
May 2017
The Athol Island Snorkeling Tour was awesome! We say turtles and string ray and a ton of fish! Well worth it!
Read TheSoccerCoach's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image teamflames
7 reviews
May 2017
nice catamaran tour, snorkelling was only average but a fun time
Read teamflames's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Missymssy
1 review
May 2017
I stayed on catamaran and just laid in sun, my niece snorkeled. Both enjoyed
Read Missymssy's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image HayleyD
1 review
Apr 2017
We snorkeled over in Rainbow Reef and had an amazing time. We were seemingly a bit rushed once we got to our location (only about 1 hour snorkeling total), but the views were amazing. Boat staff were very friendly and fun, and most importantly safety conscious. One definite downside was that I am almost positive that the snorkel gear was not cleaned between guests... I guess they let the salt water clean the mouth pieces.
Read HayleyD's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sblech
1 review
Apr 2017
Not the best first time snorkeling experience. We were supposed to snorkel at Rainbow Reef but redirected to Rose Reef (?) due to the weather. It was too rough and windy and the current was pretty strong. The guide had to pull quite a few people (including us) back on board.
Read sblech's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Atlantalegal
1 review
Apr 2017
Nice boat ride and crew was helpful. Disappointed by how much the underwater life has degraded over the years, much fewer fish and the coral was often bleached out. Very sad.
Read Atlantalegal's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DieseDaveJ41
1 review
Apr 2017
Great trip. The waters were rough so it made it a little difficult to snorkel but that is not the crews fault. They were funny and really helped people that were struggling.
Read DieseDaveJ41's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Nikki71
1 review
Apr 2017
We did some shopping, ate at Senor Frogs for lunch and then headed to our snorkeling excursion which I had booked before our trip. They were great and we really enjoyed our trip. There were only four of us on the boat and in the water. It was a bit windy that day, but it was still a great experience. Highly recommend.
Read Nikki71's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Blue Hole Watersports

Sponsored links