Dominica Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

Dominica Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dominica offers some of the finest offshore locations to experience the island's coral formations and vibrantly colored fish. Beginners and experienced snorkelers alike will love the experience.
Member Image PurpleOrchid67
2 reviews
Feb 2017
We were driven a short distance to a volcanic bay. We walked up the hill to admire the views. Back down on the shore we were given snorkelling equipment & after a safety briefing taken on a guided snorkel trip. It was interesting but the group was too big. After a rum punch we were driven to Bubble beach. A local man has set up a small beach bar on a tiny beach & sectioned off an area of the sea to create a hot spring pool fed by the volcanic springs. The water was incredibly hot. After returning to the port we walked to the Botanical gardens where we climbed up to an amazing vantage point. Access to the gardens is free & you can buy refreshments & have access to free wifi.
Read PurpleOrchid67's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Cake4Crusin
1 review
Jan 2017
This was the highlight of our cruise excursions! We absolutely loved the falls, very beautiful and the tour was very educational. I have to say that our guides went above and beyond for us! I have never snorkeled before and I was really scared but my husband and I were given VIP treatment by the team. I am extremely grateful for their patients and true kindness!
Read Cake4Crusin's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jocap
9 reviews
Jan 2017
Poor weather, otherwise excellent. It's "snorkeLLing" in the booklets, BTW.
Read jocap's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image RI Sailor
1 review
Jan 2017
This was the Champagne snorkeling tour where you are supposed to swim in bubbles generated from volcanic vents. That part of the tour was at the end in a very small lifeless part of the area. The tour was guided, very short, over and uninteresting reef. The worst part was the water entry and exit on a beach that is 100% rocks in waves that were frankly dangerous. Not worth the money I paid.
Read RI Sailor's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nailcutter
7 reviews
Dec 2016
Decent tour. Another poor island.
Read nailcutter's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image methater
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Levi from Bumping Tours was wonderful. We took the Champaine Reef snorkel, Ti Tou Gorge and Trafalgar Falls excurson for $50 per adult and $40 per child. The snorkel was wonderful as we saw the bubbles and many fish including octipus. The Falls were beautiful as well. A few words about the gorge. As described the water is very cold, but once you start swimming you warm up. It had been raining the day we did this tour and the current was very strong near the falls. We had 13 people in our group which is too many as people have to thread water until Levi can pull you up on a ledge next to the falls. While awaiting this you get beat up against the walls of the gorge. To me it was a little frightening and my wife got pretty bruised. I don't recommend the gorge if you're not a strong swimmer. Otherwise we had a great time with Levi and recommend him highly.
Read methater's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bumping Tours
Member Image FraudBroad
7 reviews
Dec 2016
Went to the Champagne Reef to snorkel. Great snorkeling, wonderful crew, lots of fun!
Read FraudBroad's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tmartinson
1 review
Dec 2016
Staff were very good. Fellow in the water with us explained lots. Unfortunately the cruise line booked 32 guests on tour--about 10 too many.
Read tmartinson's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image steelergirlinfl
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Champagne Reef had some of the best snorkeling I have ever done in the Eastern Caribbean. The bubbles forced up from the ocean floor as a result of the volcanoes are beautiful. The reef changes depth frequently. The entry is a little tough as the beach is rocky. Surf shoes are highly recommended.
Read steelergirlinfl's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image PenK
4 reviews
Dec 2016
Champagne Snorkel Adventure RO39. These guys were highly knowledgeable about the area and the reef. They went out with us and brought things up from the floor to show us. The bubbly reef was really quite a sight. Really enjoyed the crew, very good excursion. Rum Punch was strong! Highly recommend.
Read PenK's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Brooklyn11215
1 review
Nov 2016
Dead reef no fish, sulphur pool not pools a joke. Not worth the cost of the excursion. Complained to Shore Excursion but did not receive satisfaction.
Read Brooklyn11215's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image woodsman
5 reviews
Oct 2016
really cool to snorkel where the volcanic gasses bubble up like champagne, but the tour company recklessly refused swim fins (lots of urchins in the water), and it can be a challenging swim without fins if you're not a good swimmer.
Read woodsman's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AniW
1 review
Mar 2016
We did the champagne reef snorkel...the guides were great...really knew the local fish and coral...had a great time.
Read AniW's full Wind Surf cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Bethany Beach
12 reviews
Dec 2015
Really enjoyed the two snorkeling stops. The crew did an excellent job and the catamaran wasn't actually too crowded. Did a good job of leading us around the various areas of the Champagne reef. The second stop was a snorkel on your own.
Read Bethany Beach's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image fireo492
1 review
Nov 2015
We were herded together in a group of new and experienced snorkelers. After getting hit with flippers, run over and pushed away, the snorkeling sites did not look as good as returning to the boat and going back to shore. This was the champagne reef tour. Also the "port" is very dirty, people are rude, and bring dollar bills because if you have use the restroom, it will cost $1. If we ever go there again, we'll stay on the boat.
Read fireo492's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sujaka
1 review
Apr 2015
Had a horrible guide. Others had better guides and better experience. Rocky beach which is hard to traverse. Watch out for your ankles. Water isn't that clear but there is a lot of sea life to look at.
Read sujaka's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Best Price Excursions
Member Image Biddi2
1 review
Mar 2015
Highly recommend this tour as it covered so many of the highlights of the island. Great for first timers to Dominica. The guide was excellent and the tour included free drinks during the day.
Read Biddi2's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Bumpiing Tours
Member Image Wareaglex5
1 review
Mar 2015
Snorkeling Champagne Beach was wonderful! It was one of the most fun experiences of the cruise we were on. My teens had a great time and our guide was very informative! We highly recommend booking with Levi with Bumping Tours. It was well worth the money! We were given much information about the sea life, were able to see sea horses, coral, lots of bright fish and were taught much about this unique volcanic place.
Read Wareaglex5's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Bumping Tours
Member Image RANGERAT
1 review
Mar 2015
The vendor they used was great, safety briefing, helped getting on board, three guys in the water to watch and explain to us what we were seeing. great
Read RANGERAT's full Wind Surf cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image globetrotter921
2 reviews
Feb 2015

We met our tour at the end of the pier and had a long wait, due to two late arrivers. Carnival needs to have a policy to leave people behind if they are more than 20 minutes late. It was about a five minute walk to the boat and a 30 minute sail to the Champagne Reef. The tour divides you into groups for a guided snorkel. The guide tows a float. He will point out some interesting things while snorkeling and then rest on the float while explaining what was seen and what to expect next. The reef was large and healthy with lots of fish, and the underwater hot spring was a unique experience. The tour was unusual because there was only one stop, but they allow you to stay in the water for over an hour.

Read globetrotter921's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bellbus
4 reviews
Dec 2014

My husband and I did not go ashore here but went on a snorkeling excursion. We enjoyed the snorkel spot but were very annoyed that vests were required. My husband is an excellent swimmer and the vest was not good for submersion.

Read bellbus's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image collinsmom4301
3 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

WE snorkeled at Champaign reef and experienced some of the best snorkeling we have ever done. The water was warm and the coral and sea life were spectacular. The bubbles were cool too. It is rocky to get into the water but well worth it.

Read collinsmom4301's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Devilaw
6 reviews
Mar 2013
This was a great shore excursion. We took a nice tour of the island in a bus and made a couple of stops along the way. Dominica is a beautiful island. The falls were spectacular. We then went to the Champagne Reefs for a snorkel. A bit difficult getting into the water as it is a rocky beach, but this was where the volcanic reef was. We enjoyed the snorkel but it was not long enough.
Read Devilaw's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Misswings02
1 review
Dec 2012
What can I say, first time for hubby to island; however, this was my fifth trip. I am never disappointed.
Read Misswings02's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image eltigre
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Read eltigre's full AIDAaura cruise review
Provider: Shepee Fun Tours

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?