Kauai Waimea Canyon Excursion Reviews

Kauai Waimea Canyon cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The gorgeous expanse of Waimea Canyon is a sight unlike any other, and a must-see for any who visit Kauai.
Member Image GLENNJACK
1 review
Aug 2015
We actually did a brand new excursion called "Discover Kauai and Lu'au" We spent the day with a small group on a bus with Darvin our driver! He was extremely knowledgeable! We saw Waimea Canyon, Poipu Beach, Lydgate State Park, Opeakka falls and so much more. Darvin gave us a history lesson of everywhere we went! Pure enjoyment! The Lu'au was perfect...that is a whole lot of people to feed and transport back to the ship in a timely manor! NCL you do it right no matter what you have planned!!!
Read GLENNJACK's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image retire-rehire
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Bus excursion to Waimea Canyon. Once there, outstanding, beautiful views of the canyon with its many colors.
Read retire-rehire's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Utjim
1 review
Aug 2015
Terrible weather at the canyon so visibility was only 150 feet. Other than that the tour was good.
Read Utjim's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image rrussell1967
1 review
Jul 2015
We actually went on the best of Kauai tour, which included Waimea Canyon and the Fern Grotto and a cruise on the Wailua river. Given the choice I would probably just do the Waimea Canyon tour on its own. It is amazing.
Read rrussell1967's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LuauLei
1 review
Jul 2015
Oh, so beautiful! It's called the Grand Canyon of Hawaii, and it's even more colorful than our amazing Grand Canyon of Arizona.
Read LuauLei's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image ashelbie
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Our driver had wonderful stories and narration to tell us on the way up to the canyon. We also enjoyed the stops for coffee and the spouting horn on the way back. Very glad we booked this tour.
Read ashelbie's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 3dsbrad
1 review
Jun 2015
Very good.
Read 3dsbrad's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Alex Tours
Member Image kxb7662
1 review
Jun 2015
Bus broke down but good tour.
Read kxb7662's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Hawaiian
Member Image Wpooh1968
1 review
May 2015
Our guide was very entertaining. Made several small stops before the Canyon. This area is so beautiful. We had ample time to explore and even grab a snack. The drive is as beautiful. Made a stop at the blowholes.
Read Wpooh1968's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Patti217
2 reviews
May 2015
Great tour guide, great tour with beautiful sites. My favorite of all the islands. Unforgettable experience. All the tour guides we had from Polynesian Tours were wonderful but this one was exceptional.
Read Patti217's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gbowman2
1 review
May 2015
Informative and entertaining; excellent transportation and guide -- just the right pace; appreciated the experience and would recommend it. The price was right!
Read gbowman2's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image D. Gibbon
1 review
Mar 2015
Excellent tour and great tour guide. Bus ride was a little long but several stops were made and the guide made it entertaining. Stops at Spouting Horn blowhole, craft market in park, a tourist shop in Hanepepe and Waimea Canyon lookout. The canyon is spectacular - not as big as the Grand Canyon, but a lot greener! Although the tour guide was not a long-time native of the Islands, she was very knowledgeable about historical events and current statistics (and if she didn't know, she would make something up!)
Read D. Gibbon's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image *angel*
2 reviews
Mar 2015
We stopped off at the first lookout which was our first look at the canyon. Our bus broke down and waited for 30 minutes for our replacement but overall once we got to the Waimean Canyon it was breathtaking and beautiful waterfalls in areas. Walking track is easy with lots of people.
Read *angel*'s full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruiseLOver136
3 reviews
Mar 2015
We enjoyed a couples of hours driving in and around Kauai before arriving at Waimea Canyon. After a short walk to the Canyon, we enjoyed the massive view and found it very special. We stopped in an area of water spouts where we witnessed this phenomenon of nature.
Read cruiseLOver136's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Footloose Oz
4 reviews
Feb 2015

We loved the Waimea Canyon which is called the Grand Canyon of Hawaii. The red soil and lush green foliage were a beautiful contrast to the deep blue of the sky. The canyon was worth traveling the curvy road.
Kauai is a beautiful island and this time our driver did not talk all the time and spoil the atmosphere.

Read Footloose Oz's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image AnnMimi
1 review
Nov 2014

The canyon was beautiful. Made a stop in a shop in Hanapepe on our way to the canyon. Many items for purchase that were Made in Hawaii. The scenery along the road to the canyon was great, many pictures. Unfortunately our tour guide "Uncle Willy" was very difficult to understand. So many of the things he mentioned we could not understand. He was a very nice man, but he had a very heavy accent that made it difficult to understand him.

Read AnnMimi's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tatanka49
4 reviews
Sep 2014

The picked us up once again at the ship and took us to Waimea Canyon. The boats were waiting for us and we enjoyed the short ride up the river. The boat docked and we took a short hike to a water fall and heard local music playing. We hiked back to the boat and were entertained with hula dancers on the boat who encouraged everyone to take part. Upon docking, the bust took us up to a nearby overlook. The river looked great but you really needed a big excursion boat in there to make for a good picture. It was too late in the day for that. We returned to the ship by dinner time.

Read tatanka49's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image beisenbp
2 reviews
Jun 2014

This was the best excursion we took on the trip. Again I have to qualify things by saying I was physically limited so there were much more exciting excursions available. That being said, this was a beautiful trip. The canyon is so different because it has trees and not just rocks. On the way, we stopped at a candy and jewelry store which was a nice bathroom break but otherwise, too long. But it did not detract from the canyon itself and we would go back again.

Read beisenbp's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image OhJinkies
3 reviews
May 2014
This is the only “big bus” tour that I took. The format was okay, but the guide talked nonstop -- I tend to tune it out after a while. The day started out gray and misty, and unfortunately just got worse. We stopped to see the Spouting Horn blowhole, which was pretty cool. We stopped at a large gift shop, for a combo restroom/coffee/shopping break. When we finally arrived at the canyon, the clouds and rain pretty much obliterated the view. I did take some nice atmospheric photos and shots of the close-up foliage but it was pretty much a wash. But I had taken the "Heaven and Earth Quest" on the previous day, so this day was more of a “bonus day,” and I was okay with it.
Read OhJinkies's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image flgranny4
4 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014

JOURNEY TO WAIMEA CANYON - Tour was very good and the tour guide was funny and gave lots of information. I've been to the Grand Canyon so didn't come close to the description of the Grand Canyon of the Pacific but it was beautiful!

Read flgranny4's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vorderbruegge13
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

This was my first trip to the Island of Kauai and I had heard how beautiful the Waimea Canyon was and I was pleasantly surprised and pleased with that area. The lady bus driver, Alicia, was very knowledgeable at all times on the trip to and from the canyon and pointed out some interesting areas for us.

Read vorderbruegge13's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image stub's dad
5 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

What a great way to see Kauai. Can't say enough good things about this tour and our wonderful guide Rick. We went to Waimea Canyon, ate a picnic lunch, and beautiful part of Kauai including Spotting Horn.

Read stub's dad's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cruiseman64
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

First Class trip to Waimea Canyon the Grand Canyon of Hawaii. Including trip to Coffee plantation Excellent informative driver

Read Cruiseman64's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Roberts Of Hawaii
Member Image FarEast33
2 reviews
Feb 2014

Excellent tour and excellent driver / tour guide. Waimea Canyon is very impressive and we were fortunate to visit on a totally clear day and consequently we would agree with Mark Twain's opinion. The tour also went paste where Captain Cook first stood on the island and the Spouting Horn at the volcanic beach at Poipu.

Read FarEast33's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image snafyensid
7 reviews
Dec 2013

A pretty disappointing tour. The canyon is pretty overrated, not much to see, even after pushing the wheelchair up[ the long, steep pathway. The stops along the way included an overlook in the middle of the coffee fields, a souvenir shop, and a res stop along the beach.

After returning to the ship we had plenty of time to take the free shuttle to hilo Hatties to purchase some Hawaiian clothing. We noticed a number of shipmates also taking other free shuttles that Walmart and k-Mart provided, along with the local bus system. There is very little to see or do at the dock.

Read snafyensid's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links