Kauai Wailua River Excursion Reviews

Kauai Wailua River cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A tour of the Wailua River, one of Kauai's most dramatic natural attractions, is perfect for first-timers to the island and nature lovers alike.
Member Image MaNPaM
1 review
Jun 2017
Day 2 - we took a tour to the Smith River Tour and Fern Grotto. Beautiful scenery and again the bus driver was very knowledgeable and took us to many photo spots.
Read MaNPaM's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruiser Suze
1 review
May 2017
Fern Grotto & falls: lovely. Relaxing tour - not too difficult for those who have mobility challenges.
Read Cruiser Suze's full Sirena cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Reels1103
1 review
Apr 2017
Beautiful day for the river cruise, lovely people and great singing! the Fern grotto is truly amazing.
Read Reels1103's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image aguamel
1 review
Mar 2017
Small group, 4 that took us on a dive in and around River as well as boarded the boat to sail to the Fern Grotto.
Read aguamel's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image Islandgirl0134
1 review
Mar 2017
Went on a boat ride then walk into to see the Fern Grotto. Was not thrilled. Overpriced for what you got. Nothing to see on boat ride, and hike through woods was uninformative until you got to the fern grotto where they sang the song and explained the history.
Read Islandgirl0134's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image surebeatssailing
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Also included the Fern Grotto...beaautiful
Read surebeatssailing's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image roytan
1 review
Jan 2017
Delightful ride down the river. Beautiful scenery.
Read roytan's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Ocpacfan
1 review
Jan 2017
A wonderful tour, relaxing with great scenery and commentary. The house from Donovan's Reef (John Wayne) was moved to a hill top along the river.
Read Ocpacfan's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ruzzharris
1 review
Oct 2016
Nice river ride, but overpriced. Recommend going with a local tour company for a better overall experience. Loved this Island and wish we had more time to explore.
Read ruzzharris's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image she talks to mermaids
1 review
Oct 2016
Went on a river cruise a rain forest and a luea
Read she talks to mermaids's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dudley2331
2 reviews
Oct 2016
beautiful boat ride and walk to the fern grotto
Read dudley2331's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image couple2nds
2 reviews
Jul 2016
nice tour
Read couple2nds's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image larocca3@zoominternet.net
1 review
Jul 2016
Nice boat ride. Fern Grotto was very pretty and the band and luau ladies were great
Read larocca3@zoominternet.net's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nisky
6 reviews
Jun 2016
We booked a 5-tour Hawaii package from Roberts Hawaii – much less expensive that the same NCL tours (they are using Polynesian Adventure Tours). The second day in Kauai we took the Wailua River (calm) cruise and Fern Grotto tour that we enjoyed. Here, we had we had a good driver/tour guide.
Read nisky's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image Yogi B
1 review
May 2016
Beautiful and nice boat ride on the river. Hawaiian entertainers, including hula lesson
Read Yogi B's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Born2birdie
1 review
May 2016
Fun little tour. River boat ride and Fern Grotto. Nice Hawaiian entertainment.
Read Born2birdie's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Foxflower50
1 review
May 2016
it was expensive for just 3hour tour. It was a large bus & spent more time getting on & off the bus. River & Fern Grotto are beautiful.
Read Foxflower50's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image RetiredNTraveling
4 reviews
Apr 2016
Nice and relaxing. Very serene!
Read RetiredNTraveling's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mousefan
4 reviews
Apr 2016
This was actually a fairly short boat ride up river and a short walk to the fern grotto. It was fairly quick. On the boat they sang and played the ukulele, which was nice. I will admit the cave and grotto was nice and we had a good time.
Read mousefan's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image haggis gal
1 review
Dec 2015
Tour included views of waterfalls, a leisurely boat ride with local Hawaiian music and hula, and fern grotto. A laid back morning with lovely scenery. Again local guide who gave good historical perspective.
Read haggis gal's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image Dexie
3 reviews
Oct 2015
Great trip down the Wailua River and to the Fern Grotto. The entertainment was good and the grotto is not to be missed. The driver was informative. Unfortunately the bus broke down but we were given a new one and made it back to the ship in plenty of time.
Read Dexie's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image RJAYL
3 reviews
Jul 2015
1/2 day tour nice entertainment, left time for the beach!
Read RJAYL's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jaybeeaz
1 review
May 2015
Our great driver gave us a lot of history on the drive over. The river cruise was very nice with island entertainment. Going to the grotto and renewing my marriage vows was a wonderful experience. The view was beautiful.
Read Jaybeeaz's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image knittinggirl
22 reviews
Apr 2015
Loved the vocalists on the boat and near the grotto. The best shore excursion of this cruise!
Read knittinggirl's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Musiconnie
1 review
Mar 2015
The entertainment was very good. One of the crew helped everyone take pictures, and the view was amazing. I had thought we would be entering a grotto, but that was not the case. The view was amazing.
Read Musiconnie's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?