Hilo Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Excursion Reviews

Hilo Hawaii Volcanoes National Park cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore the unique volcanic landscape of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Containing both Mauno Loa, the world's largest volcano, and Kilauea, among its most active, this park offers a fascinating glimpse into a world rarely seen.
Member Image DebraG500
1 review
Jul 2017
Rented cars and drove ourselves. Used the Shaka app again for the Big Island.
Read DebraG500's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CobraJet
2 reviews
Apr 2017
Walked through an underground lava tube within a rain forest, saw molten lava, walked on a cold lava bed, experienced thermal vents and beautiful vistas. Could see the steam clouds from a sea-side volcano rising as we approached the island.
Read CobraJet's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image daytonadeb412
1 review
Apr 2017
We wanted to see it and this was the one way to do so. It was with Gray Line which you can always count on for a good tour.
Read daytonadeb412's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Reels1103
1 review
Apr 2017
We were incredibly lucky to see lava spewing a once in a lifetime experience.
Read Reels1103's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Castoffs
1 review
Apr 2017
Expensive for what we saw
Read Castoffs's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Senior Single
9 reviews
Mar 2017
Tour covered many interesting stops aside from a great view of the volcano area. Another stop was at a lava tube with time to walk through, and walk on the site of a long ago lava eruption.
Read Senior Single's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Robert's Hawaiian Tours
Member Image lesliebrown7
1 review
Mar 2017
Our driver, Anthony, was great and very informative. The steam vents rising were awesome, we even stopped and got to stick our faces in the stem. The lava tunnel is also worth the trip.
Read lesliebrown7's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image The Old Priory
1 review
Feb 2017
Good day out lovely tour around and the volcano park was interesting
Read The Old Priory's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image GulfTX
1 review
Jan 2017
Hilo experience a record setting rain the day we were there. Rainbow Falls looked like a run-away sewer. However, the rest of the trip was great, especially the view of the volcanoe. The tour operator talked too much about nothing, but the stops were great.
Read GulfTX's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image RonDup
1 review
Jan 2017
You can only get so close to the volcano. Binoculars would be of value. The day we were there they set a record for rainfall, so we couldn't see as much as if it had been a clear day.
Read RonDup's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image siants
1 review
Jan 2017
Excellent tour guide - loved his humor. Just the right amount of stops for the day.
Read siants's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jonnied
1 review
Jan 2017
Great volcano tour! But the tastes of Hawaii left us hungry and wondering why it cost so much to eat BBQ in a portable tent in "an artist's" backyard ?
Read jonnied's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image restasured
1 review
Dec 2016
The volcano National Park is a great place to see. Very much worth the time and the trip. There are so many things/places to see/do in Hawaii it is almost a "have to go back several times" kind of place.
Read restasured's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SEL10
1 review
Dec 2016
Five hour tour in our vehicle with a Geologist / Naturalist. Highly recommended. This was our third tour of the park and the first with a professional guide.
Read SEL10's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Viator, Kilauea EcoGuides
Member Image OneleggedNeal
1 review
Dec 2016
It was great to see something as powerful as a volcano. Loved learning more about them.
Read OneleggedNeal's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LreedCA
1 review
Nov 2016
This tour was enjoyable due to the size. Only 6 of us in a van. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable and friendly and took good care of us. The highlight for me was stopping at the Volcano Garden Arts studio where we had a light lunch and had some time to shop for unique gifts.
Read LreedCA's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image RonEby
2 reviews
Nov 2016
Volcano was active at the summit on this trip. Was really cool to get to lava bubbling live and in real time
Read RonEby's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image expc
1 review
Oct 2016
To see lava bubbling up from a crater vent is something not to be missed and our coach driver/guide was extremely knowledgeable about the volcano and all things Hawaiian.
Read expc's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ruzzharris
1 review
Oct 2016
Excellent overview of island, but I am told the west end is much more "tourist" friendly!
Read ruzzharris's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Wooden Seagull
2 reviews
Oct 2016
I highly recommend Volcano National Park on Hilo. The view from the Research Center overlooks a volcanic caldera that was full of molten lava and was spewing lava into the air.
Read Wooden Seagull's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Jhc456
1 review
Oct 2016
Great trip - Kilauea crater was amazing.
Read Jhc456's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 49erteacher
1 review
Oct 2016
Lori Pele: Goddess of Fire Volcano Exploration 4 hour tour of Volcanos National Park I am glad I selected the small group option as we were in a small bus with about 15 people. Lori was interesting but you could tell this was close to the end of tourist season and she had done the tour many times. The first stop is the Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut factory. Lori did inform us that there was no food service any other place on the tour so we might want to pick up a sandwich etc. here. It was about an hour up to Volcanos National Park. At the Jagger Museum you could look out over the crater and see the lava spewing about 50 feet in the air. There isn’t a current lava flow just the cauldron. The return trip had two main attractions the Thurston Lava Tube and the 1974 lava flow. The Lava Tube required a walk down steep steps and was slippery so I did not go down. Sitting at the top of the steps I enjoyed ease dropping on another tour operator talking about the tube and the local flora and fauna. The day in total was interesting and I did learn a lot about volcanos.
Read 49erteacher's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image one more
2 reviews
Sep 2016
One of the best tours we have done the chaps name was Volcano Bill he was very knowledge a good driver & showed us lots of great places, the bus took 12 people we only had 11 but that was great the tour was mento to be 4 hrs but it took us 51/2 no extra charge, nothing was rushed, really enjoyable, the final spot was Rainbow Falls & they are beautiful
Read one more's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Pacific tours
Member Image swayingpalms1
1 review
Sep 2016
Informative & fun to see.
Read swayingpalms1's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image Norm&Ruby
1 review
Sep 2016
Bicycle tour around volcano: fun and great guides, beware you will be riding on some roads competing with cars and buses
Read Norm&Ruby's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links