Hilo Botanical Garden Excursion Reviews

Hilo Botanical Garden cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take in the beautiful botanical gardens in Hilo, filled with orchids, palms, the pencil tree, and many other exotic tropical species.
Member Image zimiykiska
1 review
Aug 2017
What a fabulous garden to visit! Situated in a beautiful spot right by the sea with hundreds of different plants especially orchids!
Read zimiykiska's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sparkle57912
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Was raining but there were free umbrella's to use. There are golf carts to take you down or up. To me they are a hazard as the path is narrow so you constantly must watch for them. Been here before and it can be beautiful without rain. Nice gift shop. Waterfalls on path.Transportation in a shuttle van was not comfortable, but not too long of a ride.
Read sparkle57912's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image junesebopp
1 review
Feb 2017
A lot of beautiful plants and flowers, They have done a very good job of identifying all of the plants. We were also able to see a rain forest and a waterfall.
Read junesebopp's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rmacleod141
1 review
Jan 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed the gardens. The guide drops you at the entrance, and you wander around on your own (with a map of the garden). The garden is quite recently built, in a private valley down to the ocean. The climb down is quite steep but worth the effort. If necessary, a cart can take you down.
Read rmacleod141's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image RonEby
2 reviews
Nov 2016
Lovely garden, but it was raining during our visit so that restricted a lot of what we could see
Read RonEby's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Sailing Ellie
1 review
Oct 2016
This is THE BEST garden I have experienced with everything in its natural state. Orchids galore and odd and exotic plants and flowers. It is lovingly cared for be a society of true plant lovers.
Read Sailing Ellie's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cache Trekker
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Walk through gardens and zoo.
Read Cache Trekker's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image motherduck01
1 review
Sep 2016
Lovely, make sure you hve insect repellant on.
Read motherduck01's full Dawn Princess cruise review
Provider:
Member Image drknowles
1 review
May 2016
Worth the time with stunning views!
Read drknowles's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RetiredNTraveling
4 reviews
Apr 2016
Should have done a little more research. Very steep incline.
Read RetiredNTraveling's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image punkincc
3 reviews
Mar 2016
We had already seen Volcanoes NP, so we booked with the ship, Hilo Coast & Botanical Garden. 2.5 hours. If you take the earliest one, you have time for other things when you return. Scenic drive there. This is not a formal garden, but a stroll down a meandering paved walkway from a high elevation all the way down to a beautiful bay. Lush tropical rainforest chock full of one gorgeous flower or tree after another. I took a million pictures. Beautiful high waterfall and some smaller ones as well. The walk back up can be taxing. A shuttle offers a quick ride back up if it is too much. After our return we went to downtown Hilo and walked through the Farmers Market and about a block back from there is Pineapples, an open air restaurant with good drinks and food. Fantastic Pineapple Jalepeno Margarita.
Read punkincc's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image oceansblue1968
1 review
Feb 2015

It was not worth the close to $ 325.00 we paid the only good thing was the lunch served.

Read oceansblue1968's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image FarEast33
2 reviews
Feb 2014

Our tour in Hilo was not very interesting and this was the 'highlight' stop. The zoo was poor and the main attraction, a Bengal tiger, had died a few months earlier. Some interesting plants and a play area for the local children / families to use.

Read FarEast33's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image soxfan1495
2 reviews
Jun 2012
This was a surprisingly nice stop. It was beautiful and we would definitely recommend seeing this. It doesn't take too long but is really special.
Read soxfan1495's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Aina Tours

Sponsored links