Dominica Emerald Pool Excursion Reviews

Dominica Emerald Pool cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A perfect choice for hot days, Emerald Pool sits in the rainforest on the road to Castle Bruce. Wear your bathing suit but beware: the water can be chilly!
Member Image Business Professor
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Contracted with reynotours@gmail.com to do a Dominica tour to cover all or most of the major points of interest on the island. The tour guide, Wendell, was great and extremely informative. Allowed us to visit the various locations at our leisure so we could fully experience the sites and sounds of Dominica, which proved to be our favorite of all the islands. Very beautiful. The Emerald Pool was a very interesting place. Required a very long walk to reach the pool. But the beauty of the spot made the walk worthwhile. However, going back up the many many steps was tiring and could be strenuous for some individuals.
Read Business Professor's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Reynotours
Member Image cruisetiludrop
8 reviews
Jan 2017
All in one tour to see both Emerald Pool and Trfalgar Falls. Doable for average fitness person. Both worth seeing. Walking time was maybe 15 to 20 minutes max at either location. They are not near each other so it takes 4 hours to see them both. I'd recommend doing it.
Read cruisetiludrop's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bigtee907
1 review
Jan 2017
Nice short hike, steep, lots of steps, nice view of falls
Read bigtee907's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Pepper's Tours
Member Image lindafromwoking
2 reviews
Jan 2017
great tour through the island into the rainforest
Read lindafromwoking's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AndreaDoria
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Take a swim in a very cold pool at the base of a waterfall. The drive to Morne Trois Piton National Park is incredible itself.
Read AndreaDoria's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image do_not_spindle
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Got to emerald pool ahead of ship tours. bring good walking shoes and be ready for steps.
Read do_not_spindle's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: local taxi
Member Image lcimba
3 reviews
Dec 2016
A nice trek through a beautiful jungle and a good swim in the pool below the falls.
Read lcimba's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image K11TEXAS
4 reviews
Dec 2016
There were overall four stops. The first hillside stop was picturesque and we saw rainbows reaching into the ground beneath our feet - pretty spectacular. The botanical gardens were great - guide very knowledgeable and kept the small group to a comfortable pace. Feared too cold for me to enter the Emerald Pool but climbed the 140 plus steps - would have stayed warm on the climb back up! Then to the beach which being volcanic rock was disappointing- black sand and no visibility in the water. Could have skipped beach but at least it was short.
Read K11TEXAS's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Flamingo15
4 reviews
Nov 2016
Time to reach waterfall and then time to reach beach was about double what they said it would be, so more time on the bus than expected. Each location though was so very nice to see and experience.
Read Flamingo15's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rncando
1 review
Nov 2016
Levi is great to book with, but the guide we had was aweful!!! I feel bad for saying this, as our tour really should not have technically gone with only 2 people, but Levi made it happen by adding another couple... however the driver who called himself "sexy" (I am not kidding that was what he said his nickname was) would stop at every flippin flower and banana plant to show us the virus attacking them (and I LOVE flowers but this was too much)... then he would drive off before we could get a photo. It was 5 hours of stop/start on meaningless things then hurry up when we were at the places we were meant to see... But please note that others who took a Tour with Levi himself and did not have a specific place they wanted to see of personal interest absolutely raved about their tour.... so it is not a indication of Bumping Tours but rather the driver we had.
Read rncando's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bumping Tours
Member Image ceteach
2 reviews
Nov 2016
It was beautiful but some people in our group were not able to make it down the numerous steps to the pool and then back up again.
Read ceteach's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ScorpInCan
1 review
Nov 2016
Trafalgar Falls and Emerald Pool were both enjoyable
Read ScorpInCan's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image patricia.schmaltz
1 review
Oct 2016
Not enough time to do the Pool this time, and THAT was a disappointment, as we thoroughly enjoyed it the first time. Beautiful and COLD swimming!
Read patricia.schmaltz's full Sagitta cruise review
Provider: Island Windjammers
Member Image jack7298
2 reviews
Mar 2016
What a great way to see 2 really beautiful spots on an incredible island.
Read jack7298's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image msmayor
2 reviews
Mar 2016
Beautiful tour of Trafalgar Falls and the Emerald Pool; enjoyed walking through the rainforest to see these natural wonders.
Read msmayor's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BeachLover68
1 review
Oct 2015
Beautiful falls and nice, short hike through a rainforest to get there. Although beware, the pool is frigid (but nice after the climb that leaves you sweaty)
Read BeachLover68's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kimmiloulovestocruise
1 review
Apr 2015
A great day spent hiking through the rain forest with time to swim in the Emerald Pool and take a dip in the sulfur springs as well. Comes with a complimentary beverage. Very accommodating tour guide and good driver (considering the terrain).
Read kimmiloulovestocruise's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: BJs Vacations-Shorex
Member Image jenjes3
3 reviews
Apr 2015
Excursion was interesting but too much driving. The tour guide did not stop talking the entire time. There was a lot of combing on slippery steps. It was drizzling but very pretty.
Read jenjes3's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image WizBang
5 reviews
Apr 2015
This was part of the excursion the "City Highlights and Emerald Pool" through Celebrity. The tickets stated it was operated by Nature Island Taxi Association. I strongly suggest taking Bonine or some other type of motion sickness precautions because the ride is very steep and winding. We took a small tour bus (about 20 people) and drove up the mountain to the Emerald Pool. The walk to the Emerald Pool takes about 20 minutes on a well beaten path through the rainforest. It is not a difficult walk, but there are some small inclines. It rained on and off through the whole excursion, which is typical there, so you need to watch your footing on the mud, and your photos will not look as impressive as it does being there in person. The water is mostly waist-deep and they said it was 71 degrees. It was fun to take a dip under the waterfall, but most people stayed out of the water. The tour also stopped at the botanical garden, which was more like a park with some tropical trees. The last stop was Morne Bruce, which is a lookout that gives you a nice view of the ship from atop a hill.
Read WizBang's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Wareaglex5
1 review
Mar 2015
The pool is in the rainforest so you hike through the forest and pass the double waterfalls where you can stop and take pictures, then hike further to the pool. The pool is a creek than has several areas where you can sit and enjoy the warm mineral water, it makes your skin very soft and is very warm, but not that warm. If you are adventurous you can hike all the way down to the bottom pool but you have to fit through a hole in a boulder and as I am a bit claustrophobic I just stayed in the third pool down with about six other people. The people that went through the hole in the boulder said it wasn't that bad. They went to the bottom and circled their way back around via a path in the rainforest to where we were. We hiked back the way we came. On the hike in we noticed a crab under a tree among the ferns. I honestly have never seen a crab in the woods before… it was most interesting.
Read Wareaglex5's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Bumping Tours with Levi
Member Image Nanatravel
9 reviews
Mar 2015
Roads in Dominica are narrow & twisty; now some are in very bad condition as well. Finding her across from the pier area was a little confusing, but that was my fault for not carrying her instructions. Helen was a safe driver, took us to all of the highlighted areas we had requested and gave us plenty of time to shop native stands and asked if we wished to go to other places. Since our day continued to be rainy, we decided to skip the beach break but she did take us there to see the beach; glad we skipped it. Did not like the area at all. Other than the bad roads, we had a great day with My Sister.
Read Nanatravel's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: My Sister's Tour - Helen
Member Image OregonDuck
2 reviews
Mar 2015
was ok, cheaper than the ship, small vehicle made it a little difficult to see out of, but was good hiked up and down to the pool which was slippery and wet
Read OregonDuck's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Eddie's
Member Image H.Allan
1 review
Mar 2015
Had a great time with a wonderful guide and saw some really spectacular sights. Had our eyes opened to the truly low economic life these folks lead here and everything they do to make a dollar.
Read H.Allan's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider:
Member Image OttawaMom
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2015

The walk to this pool was nice, the was so clear cool. Not crowded.

Read OttawaMom's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider:
Member Image Dennchen
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Wonderful driver as well as an additional tour guide....We first went to Emerald Pool with a tour and explanation of everything we passed along the way. We saw pineapples in their condoms (protective blue plastic wrapping) on the trees, pineapples growing along the road, cocoa fruit we sampled as the cocoa bean is surrounded by a fleshy fruity fiber that is dried before grinding the beans to make chocolate and it taste delicious. Just do not eat too many like I did (2 or 3 would be fine, I ate about 25-FAIL) Dominica has 365 rivers and you see them everywhere you drive, almost. Mero Beach was our last stop and it was about 90 minutes and you are provide with umbrella, chairs and rum punch as part of the tour. Well worth the price and highly recommend.

Read Dennchen's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?