Tunis (La Goulette) Carthage Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Tunis (La Goulette) Carthage Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the scattered ruins of the ancient and once-powerful city of Carthage, now located in a modern residential neighborhood replete with lush gardens and expensive homes—one of the nicest places to live in Tunisia.
Member Image zuume19
1 review
Feb 2017
After docking, we made our way to the bus and our police escorts, on our way through Tunis and heading for Ancient Carthage, the capital of the Carthaginian Republic, a powerhouse in the Mediterranean for centuries and founded over 3,000 years ago. High on the cliffs overlooking the Bay of Tunis, we came to explore the Moorish village of Sidi Bou Said and not to be confused with Santorini. Lastly, something not listed on our excursion.
Read zuume19's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Italophile
1 review
Feb 2017
In depth explanation of the history, archeology and the culture of Carthage.
Read Italophile's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Tunisian Journeys
Member Image Gone2Much
1 review
Jan 2017
Understanding that this is a developing country I was still a bit disappointed in this tour but it had more to do with the guide than the sites. The visit to Carthage was very brief and with little information. The highlight was seeing some of the best examples of the Roman aqueducts and the storage facilities for the water that we've seen.
Read Gone2Much's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image ms resetnaka
1 review
Nov 2014
The tour was boring, spent most of the time on bus and at shops with overpriced junk. Had to pay extra for taking pictures and using the loo. Would definitely not recommend.
Read ms resetnaka's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image bas2013
1 review
Apr 2013
The guide had good English and provided interesting comments and also allowed time to explore alone
Read bas2013's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image CaroP
1 review
May 2012
The country is fascinating, but it is very "third world" in its level of poverty. Crumbling buildings and roads are somewhat depressing, even as the sheep herds in the middle of the city are fascinating. The guide spoke excellent English and the bus driver did an admirable job. The ruins have signage up in several language to explain what you are seeing, but they have faded to the point of being unreadable. A real shame for an important site. The color of the sea beyond these ruins is a remarkable shade of green.
Read CaroP's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Boyds_TSB
1 review
Apr 2012
Somehow more impressive than Pompeii! Maybe its because you can get right up to everything.
Read Boyds_TSB's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises

Sponsored links