Taormina (Messina) Mount Etna Excursion Reviews

Taormina (Messina) Mount Etna cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Mount Etna is Europe's largest active volcano, and was once said to hold the forges of Hephaestus himself.
Member Image yvr101food_travel
1 review
Nov 2017
The tour took us to the mid summit tourist centre . Unfortunately it was a cloudy and rainy day, and we could not see the summit of the moutnain. We did walk on the rim of the small crater.
Read yvr101food_travel's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Outahere
1 review
Oct 2017
This was an interesting drive from Messina to Mt Etna, but we only got as far as the lava fields whereas we had thought we were being taken to the crater rim.
Read Outahere's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SVHMom
1 review
Sep 2017
There was ample time to hike a little and take photographs. We learned a lot of history. Overall a good experience.
Read SVHMom's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mofb2000
7 reviews
Sep 2017
The drive to Etna was pretty boring. The tour leader was reading from a script and spent most of the time on her cellphone updating and reading her social media. She did the same thing on the way back to the port. The tour improved when we got to Taormina. It's a beautiful little town and I'll return there if I ever return to Sicily.
Read mofb2000's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image nfritz
1 review
Sep 2017
Was a very long ride to spend a short time at the volcano. would have enjoyed the city tour more.
Read nfritz's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Ducky123
1 review
Aug 2017
Did not have access to Cable car that takes you to the top. The excursion was acceptable.
Read Ducky123's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image u7jf
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Didn't actually go up Mt. Etna. Our tour of Taormina and Castle Moular included many opportunities to view Mt. Etna from various vantage points.
Read u7jf's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Sicily Limousine Service
Member Image Glen99
1 review
Aug 2017
ok. not enough time for volcano or Taormarina really
Read Glen99's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Bigt3232@gmail.com
reviews
Aug 2017
Mt. Etna was great. Wonderful tour and enjoyed it very much. After that we went to a winery for lunch. I would have skipped that and just preferred to spend time in the town which I heard was great but we never saw it because of time on the bus.
Read Bigt3232@gmail.com's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image EmmaLuds
1 review
Jul 2017
Amazing to see an active smoking volcano. Tour guide and coach driver was excellent.
Read EmmaLuds's full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image TorontoEh
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Nowhere near top. Very poor guide whose main interest was vegetation we passed and his own lunch. Taormina on our own was lovely.
Read TorontoEh's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sheilashy603
1 review
Jun 2017
The guide was nice but he focused on the scientific names of all the plants that we passed by lol
Read sheilashy603's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image samvandz
1 review
May 2017
This was the best day of the entire trip. We had met friends on the ship who had a referral for a tour guide. We happened to be in Messina when the G7 Summit was going on, so a bunch of ship excursions had been cancelled. Our tour guide was incredible. First, he brought us up to Mount Etna, which was kind of active while we were there, and then to Taormina to a beach for lunch, where we luckily saw the fighter jets doing a show for the G7 and got to drive past where the meeting was being held as the leaders were eating lunch, and after that, he brought us down to Savoca and Forza d'Agro where the Godfather was filmed. We stopped for some cannoli siciliani at what is apparently the best place for them in Sicily or Italy (I forget what it was called), then a little tour of Messina, and then back to the ship. It was incredible.
Read samvandz's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Francesd
1 review
May 2017
Wonderful information given by the guide. The bus was very comfortable. We were taken to a dormant crater and walked along the lava flow. A little tour of baroque Catonia (as this was where we had to dock on this day) was a bonus.
Read Francesd's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image doxielover47
1 review
Apr 2017
Enjoyed the trip up and back. It was insanely crowded at the top though and too windy in my opinion to be walking on the edge of a crater so we didn't do the walking part. I can't imagine how hot it would be there in the summer...
Read doxielover47's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image cruiserchad
3 reviews
Mar 2017
Quite a long journey by road up winding roads. Not enough time to explore and use the cable cars before setting off back. The guide was very informative.
Read cruiserchad's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image BrynMawrPA
3 reviews
Feb 2017
it was a long drive up Mt Etna. The road was still full of snow. There was not much to see other than skiers, ski slopes and lots of snow. Taormina is a small town and not much to see either. One thing stands out is that the restaurant (where we had lunch) charged us an additional service charge of 2.50 Euros per person for sitting down and eat there. Go figure.
Read BrynMawrPA's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image imsship
1 review
Oct 2016
Grand Tormina Mt Etna and winery tasting tour. Loved it! Sampled local honey and olive oils, saw the top of Mt Etna and had a winery tasting and lunch! Superb!
Read imsship's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Les2
1 review
Oct 2016
Great sights and informative
Read Les2's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Ninjatt
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Not much to see, I thought, at Mt Etna but a good relaxing drive and a good stop for tea and very nice cookies and cakes.
Read Ninjatt's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image spritesmom
1 review
Sep 2016
Managed to get up to Etna on a day when view was excellent and rest of tour very good.
Read spritesmom's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Aus123
1 review
Sep 2016
Private Tour once again booked prior to leaving for cruise went to Etna then off for an amazing lunch and shopping,Driver was amazing and knew his stuff , look online you will fond most private tours are cheaper than what the cruise lines offer
Read Aus123's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Sicily Tours
Member Image carolroy1
5 reviews
Sep 2016
A long 2 hour ride in each direction and then one hour at volcano. A total waste of time! The port of Messina is gorgeous! Cream and white buildings.
Read carolroy1's full Minerva cruise review
Provider: Swan Hellenic Cruises
Member Image shipmenus
1 review
Sep 2016
Our tour guide was very terse and unpleasant. She gave us complex directions in the bus ride to the sites of what we do and expect on the trip and then never followed up. We had trouble keeping up with her and she got very surly at the end when she was offered a tip.
Read shipmenus's full Star Legend cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image lls1309
1 review
Sep 2016
Great tour but would have liked to know that we needed cold weather gear for Mt Etna.
Read lls1309's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises

Sponsored links