Taormina (Messina) Mount Etna Excursion Reviews

Taormina (Messina) Mount Etna cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Mount Etna is Europe's largest active volcano, and was once said to hold the forges of Hephaestus himself.
Member Image TorontoEh
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Nowhere near top. Very poor guide whose main interest was vegetation we passed and his own lunch. Taormina on our own was lovely.
Read TorontoEh's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sheilashy603
1 review
Jun 2017
The guide was nice but he focused on the scientific names of all the plants that we passed by lol
Read sheilashy603's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image samvandz
1 review
May 2017
This was the best day of the entire trip. We had met friends on the ship who had a referral for a tour guide. We happened to be in Messina when the G7 Summit was going on, so a bunch of ship excursions had been cancelled. Our tour guide was incredible. First, he brought us up to Mount Etna, which was kind of active while we were there, and then to Taormina to a beach for lunch, where we luckily saw the fighter jets doing a show for the G7 and got to drive past where the meeting was being held as the leaders were eating lunch, and after that, he brought us down to Savoca and Forza d'Agro where the Godfather was filmed. We stopped for some cannoli siciliani at what is apparently the best place for them in Sicily or Italy (I forget what it was called), then a little tour of Messina, and then back to the ship. It was incredible.
Read samvandz's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Francesd
1 review
May 2017
Wonderful information given by the guide. The bus was very comfortable. We were taken to a dormant crater and walked along the lava flow. A little tour of baroque Catonia (as this was where we had to dock on this day) was a bonus.
Read Francesd's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image doxielover47
1 review
Apr 2017
Enjoyed the trip up and back. It was insanely crowded at the top though and too windy in my opinion to be walking on the edge of a crater so we didn't do the walking part. I can't imagine how hot it would be there in the summer...
Read doxielover47's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image cruiserchad
3 reviews
Mar 2017
Quite a long journey by road up winding roads. Not enough time to explore and use the cable cars before setting off back. The guide was very informative.
Read cruiserchad's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image BrynMawrPA
3 reviews
Feb 2017
it was a long drive up Mt Etna. The road was still full of snow. There was not much to see other than skiers, ski slopes and lots of snow. Taormina is a small town and not much to see either. One thing stands out is that the restaurant (where we had lunch) charged us an additional service charge of 2.50 Euros per person for sitting down and eat there. Go figure.
Read BrynMawrPA's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image imsship
1 review
Oct 2016
Grand Tormina Mt Etna and winery tasting tour. Loved it! Sampled local honey and olive oils, saw the top of Mt Etna and had a winery tasting and lunch! Superb!
Read imsship's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Les2
1 review
Oct 2016
Great sights and informative
Read Les2's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Ninjatt
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Not much to see, I thought, at Mt Etna but a good relaxing drive and a good stop for tea and very nice cookies and cakes.
Read Ninjatt's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image spritesmom
1 review
Sep 2016
Managed to get up to Etna on a day when view was excellent and rest of tour very good.
Read spritesmom's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Aus123
1 review
Sep 2016
Private Tour once again booked prior to leaving for cruise went to Etna then off for an amazing lunch and shopping,Driver was amazing and knew his stuff , look online you will fond most private tours are cheaper than what the cruise lines offer
Read Aus123's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Sicily Tours
Member Image carolroy1
5 reviews
Sep 2016
A long 2 hour ride in each direction and then one hour at volcano. A total waste of time! The port of Messina is gorgeous! Cream and white buildings.
Read carolroy1's full Minerva cruise review
Provider: Swan Hellenic Cruises
Member Image shipmenus
1 review
Sep 2016
Our tour guide was very terse and unpleasant. She gave us complex directions in the bus ride to the sites of what we do and expect on the trip and then never followed up. We had trouble keeping up with her and she got very surly at the end when she was offered a tip.
Read shipmenus's full Star Legend cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image lls1309
1 review
Sep 2016
Great tour but would have liked to know that we needed cold weather gear for Mt Etna.
Read lls1309's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image wendyleetaylor
1 review
Aug 2016
Tour guide didn't speak English well enough to be a tour guide. Thought we would see the volcano. No, you had to take the tram and we were told if we paid and it stopped because of high winds which happens often and missed our tour bus, we would have to find our own way back to ship which was an hour away. So instead we looked at the volcanic ground and had a cannoli and a beverage in a restaurant. Was kind of disorganized. People didn't know where to get their cannoli. Come to find out we had to go up the hill to another place. Then a lady got sick on the bus on the way back and the tour guide had nothing to give her to throw up in!.
Read wendyleetaylor's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Lee K
1 review
Aug 2016
We took the 'easier' of the Mt. Etna tours. We enjoyed the view from 2/3 rds of the way up, shopped at a nice little shop that seemed to have everything you could imagine.
Read Lee K's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image piceman
1 review
Aug 2016
A long bus ride, but Mt. Etna is spectacular
Read piceman's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image javajunkie91
1 review
Aug 2016
I would probably have foregone the Mount Etna tour. Although it was cool to see the craters it was a long drive. I felt we were rushed through the rest of our day because of the time it took to get there.
Read javajunkie91's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Sicily with Mario
Member Image Cranfieldvilla
1 review
Aug 2016
Amazing experience with a very experienced guide who really made this excursion
Read Cranfieldvilla's full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image richmal123
1 review
Aug 2016
Mount Etna is about 2 hours away so be aware of that - Amazing drive though - beautiful sights and we called in at a jewellery factory on return - amazing villa, with no obligation to buy, also given snacks there! Mount Etna was crowded but amazing we didn't visit the bar they recommended as too busy - we went another one, and it was easier to use the facilities and cheaper
Read richmal123's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jacxio
1 review
Aug 2016
We did the Mt Etna bus trip and had about 1 hour at crater. It wasn't long enough and with active family could have spent more time there. It was mostly older folks and less mobile. So I"d choose a different excursion next time. Noticed lots of folks had booked private tours with 4 people in vehicle which would have been MUCH faster than bus and kids would have enjoyed more. So if want to spend more time walking around craters (which I reco with kids) then suggest look independent
Read jacxio's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Togaflex
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Well worth the money - really fascinating and very well organised.
Read Togaflex's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Lbuchan
1 review
Jul 2016
I never imagined a volcano could be so beautiful
Read Lbuchan's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Aquarius115
3 reviews
Jul 2016
ok. was thinking it was going to be more to it. alittle bit disappointed.
Read Aquarius115's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?