Taormina (Messina) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Taormina (Messina) City Tour  cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The face of Sicily in The Godfather, there is a lot more to this beautiful and charming town than a few scenes in a popular movie. Past residents have included such noteworthy minds as D. H. Lawrence, Truman Capote, and Halldór Laxness.
Member Image Kari Loving the Sun
1 review
Jul 2017
Little train from square around the town, was ok !
Read Kari Loving the Sun's full MSC Meraviglia cruise review
Provider: Tour Train
Member Image Seapass
1 review
Jul 2017
One of our favourite tours. We throughly enjoyed visiting the many shops and restaurants in town. It was a very hot, but wonderful day.
Read Seapass's full MSC Meraviglia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image OuiselG
1 review
Jun 2017
We were taken by bus to Taormina and then given a walking tour around the town. We also visited the Ancient Greek Theatre which was interesting. We enjoyed the tour.
Read OuiselG's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image att2detail
2 reviews
May 2017
The first half of the day was outstanding! Beautiful towns and great information. Then they dump you off at Taormina for 3.5 to 4 hours. This stop should only be 1 hour at the most--especially If you are not a shopper and or don't appreciate crowded over priced tourist traps. Shoppers might be in heaven, but the rest of us are in the other place checking our watches and hoping time will speed up. A place to see for a short time only.
Read att2detail's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Joe Banana
Member Image geoloman
1 review
May 2017
Very entertaining tour guide. Toarmina was packed with tourists however.
Read geoloman's full Silver Muse cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image StreakedBlonde
2 reviews
May 2017
Actually walking tour on our own of Taormina. Beautiful quaint alleyways, shops and churches.
Read StreakedBlonde's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Sicily Taxis
Member Image Monty222
1 review
May 2017
I. thought we went to Villa France? Well we did and caught the local bus into Niece, which was worth the trouble. Nice place, well worth the effort.
Read Monty222's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Dancefloor
3 reviews
May 2017
A long drive with lots of traffic and congestion due to the G7 Meeting preparations. The Roman theater was the highlight, although Taormina is pretty on its own.
Read Dancefloor's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tonyh24
2 reviews
Apr 2017
Public holiday...nothing open....
Read tonyh24's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Pacer6
2 reviews
Dec 2016
went with another group. Turned out to be average at best in part due to the weather. Guide was primarily interested in driving and not sharing much info on what we were seeing. Had English problems.
Read Pacer6's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Tia2010
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Sicily (Messina), Italy - We booked the Taormina on Your Own Transfer with Royal Caribbean and this was an amazing excursion I wish that we had longer time in Taormina – the town is lovely great shopping, the pizza is delicious and please try the cannoli’s. I will definitely do this tour again but with a taxi.
Read Tia2010's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image amharris829
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Awesome experience! Comfortable bus ride to Taormina, which was a welcome break from the busy Rhodes and Malta excursions. We had the opportunity to do a little shopping, eat a nice lunch, try some gellato, and explore this charming little town on foot. Would do it again.
Read amharris829's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image seadiamond
4 reviews
Oct 2016
Nice tour, guide very informative. Just needed a little more free time as is always the case.
Read seadiamond's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Tbird58
2 reviews
Sep 2016
It was worth riding the bus up to the town. Beautiful views. We just roamed around the town and tried to go off on side streets away from crowds. Had an amazing lunch at a small restaurant, so it was worth going. Lots of shops with ceramics and other tourist fun stuff. Very pleasant shop owners too.
Read Tbird58's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SweetDreams3333
1 review
Sep 2016
Mainly and uncomfortable. Lots of tourist shops.
Read SweetDreams3333's full Wind Surf cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Lally73
1 review
Sep 2016
Coach transfer with a guide who directed us to the main street in Taormina and how to get to the Greek-Roman Theatre remains. Quite pricey transfer but it did not look easy to do this independently.
Read Lally73's full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image FrankA
5 reviews
Sep 2016
Guide was informative on the trip to Taormina. We toured on our own. Great place. Town has quaint shops, small streets, no vehicles, good food stops and great views. The Greek theater was awesome. There is a charge to enter. There was plenty of time to see everything, shop and eat.
Read FrankA's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ange1957
1 review
Aug 2016
Beautiful town to stroll around and soak up the sights.
Read ange1957's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ZapCity
1 review
Aug 2016
Best excursion of the trip.
Read ZapCity's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image jengaggie92
1 review
Aug 2016
We booked the Taormina on Your Own - nice but not long enough; Just enough time to get down most of the street and grab a bite and you have to head back to get on the bus; The one bad thing - the AC on the bus we were on didn't work and it was miserable... hot, hot, hot!
Read jengaggie92's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Islaverde
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Joe Bananas with Lucca, we did tour of Godfather, Taormina, it was great. Lucca from Joe Bananas was the best. Informative, patience and really knew his stuff.
Read Islaverde's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Joe Bananas
Member Image ukfamilycruisers4
6 reviews
Aug 2016
Great day out in 2 lovely locations with a great guide and good value as well.
Read ukfamilycruisers4's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Sicily with Sebastion.
Member Image 2pretty
2 reviews
Aug 2016
The tour guide was very proud of the clock and was quick to apologize for the poor sanitation system in the city. Tour was stretched out and there were several omissions from the description due to the local-holiday traffic jam and but keen avoidness by the bus driver.
Read 2pretty's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image javajunkie91
1 review
Aug 2016
We enjoyed the city tour and getting to stop for lunch and have local fare.
Read javajunkie91's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Sicily with Mario
Member Image Angie.zamma
1 review
Aug 2016
Great view although Mt Etna was not visible very cloudly.
Read Angie.zamma's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links