St. Petersburg Private Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Private Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A private tour is the best way to see St. Petersburg, moving at your own speed with your own guide. Prepare to see it all, from the world famous Hermitage Museum to the impressive variety of palaces and cathedrals that bespeckle the former Russian Capital.
Member Image ellefed
1 review
Jul 2017
Our guide was knowledgeable and energetic during our extensive 2-day tour
Read ellefed's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image Spudbex
1 review
Jul 2017
Excellent tour meticulously well organised and delivered by our knowledgeable guide from Alla Tours (Paulina). We took in the Catherine Palace, a Neva river cruise, Peter & Paul fortress, Yusupov Palace, St Isaac's, Church on Spilled Blood, Hermitage and Peterhof Palace gardens plus hydrofoil. The days were very full but we never felt rushed and the organisation was so good, we never had to queue for long and our small bus (for 15) was always waiting to pick us up in the right place at the right time. Very good value for money and we had no worries about being late for the all aboard time on the second day.
Read Spudbex's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image DottieCat
1 review
Jul 2017
We took a fabulous 2-day tour with TJ Travel, which I will review separately. Among other things, we saw the Amber Room, the Peter & Paul Fortress, Yusupov Palace, Catherine Palace, Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood, Hermitage Museum, Peterhof Palace, St. Isaac's Cathedral, the subway, and a Neva River Cruise. It was a wonderful two days that we will never forget!
Read DottieCat's full Wind Surf cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image TravelingAPor
2 reviews
Jul 2017
The two day tour was fantastic. The Hermitage Museum was my favorite. I did get to see the Amber Room, Peter & Paul Fortress, Yusupov Palace, Catherine Palace, Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood, St. Isaac's Cathedral, etc. This was a once in a lifetime tour of SPB.
Read TravelingAPor's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image zebus
1 review
Jul 2017
Words cannot express our pleasure and appreciation for the two days of touring in St. Petersburg through Alex’s Tours. Our guide, Inna, was the very best, being most informative and excited about sharing the history of this very beautiful city. Our driver, Alexander, always managed to get our party of eleven as close as possible to each site visited. Alex’s Tours arranged for everything including tour visas. There were NO waiting in lines, there were no glitches. Alex’s Tours far exceeded our greatest expectations not only in the reasonable price paid, but also in the sites we visited and the time we spent at each. Travelers to any of the Baltic Capitals would most definitely benefit from choosing Alex’s Tours whenever possible. They cannot be beat! Our tour included an overview of the city in our comfortable, air conditioned mini-bus down Nevsky Prospect passing Anichkov Bridge and Palace, the Fontanka and Moika Rivers, Kazan Cathedral, Admiralty, Winter Palace, Palace Square and many other sights. We then visited Pushkin to tour Catherine’s Palace, the Amber Room, and Catherine’s Park stopping for a traditional Russian lunch at a delightful café before continuing on to tour Peterhof and its numerous gardens and beautiful fountains, ending our first day with a tour of the Tsars Bathhouse. After returning to the ship to refresh, Alexander drove us to the Ballet where we enjoyed excellent seats and an outstanding performance of Giselle, before meeting Alexander again to return to the ship. The next day we relaxed on a canal cruise of the “Venice of the North” and toured the Hermitage including the amazing Gold Room. Following another delightful lunch we continued to tour the Peter and Paul Fortress where we visited the Peter and Paul Cathedral. Before returning to the ship we visited the magnificent Savior on the Spilt Blood Cathedral. Everything was included in the price quoted.
Read zebus's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Alex's Tours and Travel
Member Image Champagne Taste
5 reviews
Jul 2017
Our tour guide was rude and was constantly rushing our group of 12. She even told us to push people out of the way!
Read Champagne Taste's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: TJ Tours
Member Image pulmodoc
1 review
Jul 2017
Excellent guide and driver Expensive $1000 for 2 days
Read pulmodoc's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image snaves
1 review
Jun 2017
We booked with TJ Travel over the internet & telephone the week before we travelled. They were super efficient with our booking & the paperwork. We had a 2 day tour in a small group of 12 on a minibus. Our guide was excellent - brilliant English, very knowledgeable about his home & he made it all come alive with his stories from history & more contemporary times. It was great to find out what life is like from an ordinary working man. We visited all the famous places, the Hermitage, Peterhof Palace, Church of the Spilled Blood, Peter & Paul Fortress & my favourite, Catherine's Palace. We also had time for a trip on the Metro as well as lunch at an authentic Russian Pie shop! As we expected all the sights were busy & we didn't get to spend enough time just 'wandering' & soaking it all up but we got a comprehensive look at all St Petersburg's treasures & it just whets the appetite for a return trip.
Read snaves's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image Hattie from Victoria
1 review
Jun 2017
This was wonderful. Our tour company, Alla Tours, did a great job of setting up the 2 day visit with stops at: the Hermitage, Yusupov Palace, Catherine Palace, Church on Spilled Blood, St. Isaac's Cathedral, Peter & Paul Fortress, a walk through the gardens in Peterhoff, a metro ride and a delicious lunch in the city. We also have a canal boat ride and a ride on a hydrofoil.
Read Hattie from Victoria's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image ActionJRMo
1 review
Jun 2017
The tour was much better than a cruise line excursion with a bus load of people. I also do private tours. They allow me to adjust and be on our own schedule. Our tour guide was fantastic. She knew the staff at the museums, shops and restaurants. I can't imagine touring St. Petersburg without a knowledgable guide.
Read ActionJRMo's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Exeter
Member Image Annealex
1 review
Jun 2017
We really enjoyed the 2-day tour with Alla Tours. We drove about in a van ,seeing all the major sights of St Petersburg ! Excellent tour guides!
Read Annealex's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image kriter
1 review
Jun 2017
Great tour and well organized, although people with walking difficulty should avoid since it is very intensive.
Read kriter's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Allah
Member Image The Gadabouts
1 review
Jun 2017
Great tour of the palaces. Our tour guide went out of her way to please us, even stopping at a couple of requested places which were not on her itinerary. Loved the Russian Folk evening.
Read The Gadabouts's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image Bill1959
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Highlight of the entire cruise. St Petersburg is an amazing city with awesome sights and attractions. Museums, churches and other attractions makes this city well worth visiting. Three days was not enough.
Read Bill1959's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: All a tours
Member Image purplekiwi
1 review
Jun 2017
An exceptional 2 day small group tour with TJ Travel covering the Amber Room, Neva River Cruise to the Peterhof Palace, Hermitage Museum, Church of the Saviour of Spilled Blood, Peter & Paul Fortress and much more.
Read purplekiwi's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rajeshwari
1 review
Jun 2017
Amazing place and if you can go for longer time its got so much to see. Immigrations was nightmare as it took so so long but our guide was amazing and made up the hours as our ship was there for 2 days.
Read Rajeshwari's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cruise118.com
Member Image JB101FL
3 reviews
Jun 2017
We had dinner at a local restaurant and then had a private tour of the city after hours (mostly, we wandered some outside museums and then the waterfront) and then went shopping. I very HIGHLY recommend SPB Tours - our guide was OUTSTANDING!
Read JB101FL's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image carribbeanmic
1 review
May 2017
Booking was very efficient with SBP, they delivered ST Pete's as promised No need to be forced into taking a HAL ship shore excursion or getting your own Visa.Just remember to print your tour ticket for Russian immigration. The tour with 16 passengers. Very crowded at some sites but do able. Food and shopping was very good. We went to everyplace as advertized on the website, the tour was very well run. I would definately recommend this tour company for ST Pete. No worries.
Read carribbeanmic's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: sbp
Member Image philw1776
4 reviews
May 2017
Excellent well informed, well connected entertaining guide "Michael" led our well organized tour with early access to the Hermitage (he works there & is finishing his PhD). Saw too many places, palaces, museums & churches to enumerate. Go to TJ Tours website for details. Exactly as advertised. After 11 hours vigorous touring day one, TJ took my wife to a dinner and the ballet with great seats. Female guide lent her her coat when my wife got cold coming back close to midnight. Experience of her lifetime.
Read philw1776's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: TJ Tours
Member Image no1hasgoneb4
1 review
May 2017
Great service. We are glad to hire a private driver to dine in SPB instead of watching the ballet or fold dance.
Read no1hasgoneb4's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: ULKO
Member Image Chameleon
6 reviews
May 2017
The tour was excellent. 3 days with an excellent guide. SPB are definitely highly recommended.
Read Chameleon's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image Tropicalpunch
1 review
May 2017
St. Petersburg was the high point of our trip. Our tour with SPB tours was wonderful. Alexander was a wealth of knowledge, spoke perfect English, great at moving us in and out of crowded areas. We saw it all!!!! The tour also included lunch each day that was great, shopping, metro ride, canal tour, and hydrofoil ride. This was the most informative tour and my group of 12 give SPB and Alexander 12 thumbs up! We had no problem with customs and made a point to be the first off the ship in the morning.
Read Tropicalpunch's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image twinbrooks
1 review
Sep 2016
Very knowledgeable guide, and a well planned tour. We visited the Hermitage, Peterhoff, many monuments and public places, the Metro, a boat trip around the city and two great lunches in local restaurants.
Read twinbrooks's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image JLUrsini
1 review
Sep 2016
Our tour included the Peter & Paul Fortress, the Church on Spilled Blood, the Hermitage Museum and various palaces on the first day. She also took us to a good souvenir shop where we got vodka samples, and to a restaurant for lunch that was very "authentic" Russian. On the 2nd day, we had booked a separate canal cruise through the same company, but we were the only 2 people who had booked it, so the Operator send a private car and guide at our disposal all day!! The canal & river cruise were a nice change from the bus, and then our guide took us to different experiences, such as a ride on a public bus and to a local famous grocery market.
Read JLUrsini's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: CruisingExcursions.com
Member Image Gigiandbaba
1 review
Sep 2016
We saw alot in 2 days-the subway ride was interesting-the subway stations were beautifully decorated, and the trains were very fast. The cathedrals and palaces were noteworthy in their opulence
Read Gigiandbaba's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours

Sponsored links