St. Petersburg Peterhof Palace Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Peterhof Palace cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Peterhof Palace, Peter the Great’s imperial palace near St. Petersburg, features an enormous park adorned with fountains and statues.
Member Image Adambadadam
1 review
Oct 2017
The other excursion we took in the afternoon was of the Peterhof. We only were able to book a exterior grounds tour so we didn't get to see the Versailles-like buildings of the Peterhof. I didn't mind too much because the walk through the grounds was wonderful. Our tour guide did a good job explaining about the history of the period and grounds. The best way to see St. Petersburg would be to get a visa and spend a few days there, at least.
Read Adambadadam's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image travel go girl
1 review
Sep 2017
So beautiful. Though no pictures were allowed inside, just to be able to see the grandeur in which the royalty lived is spectacular. The outside is almost as stunning. the fountains littered with gold statues and grounds and gardens that stretch out of your site.
Read travel go girl's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jgraves3
1 review
Sep 2017
Unfortunately due to the wait on entering this palace we had to move rather quickly, and our guide unfortunately could not allow for shopping time. She voiced her regret, but we had to get back to the ship for departure. We loved our guide. Somehow this place needs a quicker entrance process.
Read jgraves3's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Proopkitty
1 review
Sep 2017
This is a can't miss! Bring your patience because there are so many other people wanting to take pictures of the fountains. You will have to check your coats and backpacks.
Read Proopkitty's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GianFromSanDiego
1 review
Aug 2017
Also very crowded but a must see. The fountains are turned on at 11am everyday and it a sight you won't forget seeing.
Read GianFromSanDiego's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Alla tours
Member Image sueinvienna
1 review
Aug 2017
Very crowded. Not enough time. Did not go into the palace.
Read sueinvienna's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image KeithlyTM
1 review
Aug 2017
I've been to Versailles, but this tops all of it. A spectacular building, with parquet floors, gilded everything, and a vast garden. The highlight of our cruise.
Read KeithlyTM's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image alabamatraveler
1 review
Aug 2017
No pictures allowed. Very crowded but full of gilt like Catherine Palace. Opulent describes both places.
Read alabamatraveler's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: GuideGuru
Member Image Random Acts
4 reviews
Aug 2017
BEautiful place. Too crowded to really enjoy. Would have liked more time in the gardens.
Read Random Acts's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image Donkeylady
3 reviews
Jul 2017
Just don't go. Treated like sheep. Only one toilet block for 1000's of people. Herded about hardly saw anything no time to even buy water. Then we were locked outside no seating,no toilets no cover and then it rained and we all got wet. Ivan the guide was terrible told us to meet at 12-15 at 12-30 we had to go and find him in the rain. DON'T GO !!!!!!!!
Read Donkeylady's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image paba2016
3 reviews
Jul 2017
Don't get me wrong. Peterhof Palace is a great place to visit. The grounds make it a fun place to explore with all of the fountains. However, our guide wasn't that great and didn't explain much. We were with probably ten thousand of our closest friends the day we visited! The site was great, the tour guide only so-so.
Read paba2016's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Linda Rogers
1 review
Jul 2017
Loved visiting the Peterhof. Very crowded because we toured it in the afternoon. Beautiful grounds and interesting architecture. Enjoyed getting picture made with period characters to make it more authentic.
Read Linda Rogers's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image poorman70
1 review
Jul 2017
The funds and time to restore this grand palace to it's place in history was well worth it. The art, the furnishing, the frescos, the gold statues in the fountains, the ceilings in the grand rooms. What a grand palace.
Read poorman70's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image moksha14
1 review
Jul 2017
lovely gardens. but we were not taken into the palace and afetr a point fountains, and more fountains can be a bit monotonous.
Read moksha14's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: best guides
Member Image Cetera
2 reviews
Jul 2017
We did the 10 hour Peterhof/Hermitage excursion. The Peterhof piece should have been excellent, but was a major disappointment. Bad things NOT the responsibility of the organizers: No indoor pictures allowed, extremely crowded corridors, cloak room area (they made me check even my light windbreaker type jacket) is crazy and takes away valuable time. Negatives that are the responsibility of the organizers: poor timing resulted in just a few minutes in the beautiful outside gardens, an arrogant tour guide who, while very knowledgeable, was not very personable or mindful of our time, and finally, a total waste of time eating lunch at a horrible restaurant in the city. Overall, what should have been a great experience was a terrible morning saved a little by the afternoon at the Hermitage.
Read Cetera's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image matthewbaty
3 reviews
Jul 2017
Beautiful gardens. Great way to arrive by Hydrofoil
Read matthewbaty's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image katisdale
7 reviews
Jul 2017
It was great seeing natives enjoying the park like atmosphere.
Read katisdale's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image Jimbola
1 review
Jul 2017
Exterior: Fantatic and worth it. Interior: Avoid like the plague. We had seen the Catherine Palace in the morning which was better and sufficient. Not only was the Peterhof interior redundant and disappointing after having seen Catherine's (it was really very much the same), but Peterhof was the most disorganized, horrible tourist attraction I've ever seen. It was crowded, no staff knew what to do or where the throngs should go, people were herded into various doors and crammed into hot rooms to put on booties, and rudely forced to randomly check bags and umbrellas, then herded through crammed bottlenecks and tiny hallways while there were numerous other visible hallways adjacent that could have greatly increased comfort and capacity. it was a total zoo. Then when we mercifully exited, I forgot my checked item so I had to swim upstream for a few meters and the one lone Russian staff member actually hit my arm and yelled at me for doing so. It was a very Soviet-era style experience and totally unnecessary to go inside. The grounds and fountains are fantastic, however, and very much worth a see. The hydrofoil service back to St. petersburg was fun and fast.
Read Jimbola's full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image Travel bug 45
1 review
Jun 2017
Beautiful gardens
Read Travel bug 45's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image DHFM
2 reviews
Jun 2017
We got in early and were not rushed. The palace was beautiful. However, we had about an hour of free walking time in the gardens after the guided tour. That would have been great in good weather, but it was pouring rain. There should be a “Plan B” for those days with heavy rain and no-where else to go but outside.
Read DHFM's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Saligo
7 reviews
Jun 2017
Our visit was part of a combined all-day tour to this and the Catherine Palace. It was a Sunday afternoon when we visited so it was very crowded with tourists and locals. The interiors are not as impressive as Catherine Palace but the grounds are spectacular, with cascades and many fountains and waterfront views.
Read Saligo's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ma dino
1 review
Jun 2017
as part of a one day package it was difficult to see all there was to see and stay on time schedule. overcrowding.
Read ma dino's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JennyPeters
1 review
Jun 2017
Again stunning - and the fountains in the garden were spectacular
Read JennyPeters's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image justhappytobehere
1 review
Jun 2017
The following day the Peterhof Palace and Gardens were spectacular in the sun and we were really looking forward to the hydrofoil ride back to the port, but that was cancelled due to rough sea.
Read justhappytobehere's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lucy_Daisy
2 reviews
Jun 2017
A lovely spot - very impressive BUT we were told that we would be catching the Hydrofoil back to port but we didn't - no explanation why - nothing. AND the hydrofoil was running that day. Very disappointing.
Read Lucy_Daisy's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links