St. Petersburg Hermitage Museum Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Hermitage Museum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Five historic buildings (one of which was the former residence of Russian Tsars) today make up the Hermitage Museum, housing one of the finest art collections in the world.
Member Image 169degrees
2 reviews
Sep 2017
This tour is very basic for the Hermitage with its large collections. Viking uses this as a teaser with an "add on" tour which offers a far more detailed experience.
Read 169degrees's full Viking Helgi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image travel go girl
1 review
Sep 2017
The Hermitage is also part of Catherines winter palace. It was amazing, all the works of art, the gold inlay... fascinating. However, everyone is going here! it is super crowded, if you really want to see it and spend time... go to evening at the Hermitage.
Read travel go girl's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TrvlnGrma13
1 review
Sep 2017
Russian customs was a nightmare! Took about 4 minutes per person and we had allowed over an hour for customs before out tour started. Just made it on time. Great tour of the Hermitage and the Gold Room but extremely crowded with all the other tours there as well. Amazed at all the treasures from the Czar era that had not been stolen during the revolution and wars.
Read TrvlnGrma13's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jgraves3
1 review
Sep 2017
Guide was great at explaining the things seen. Glad we were one of the first groups allowed into this museum. Other tours had a much longer wait on entering the museum.
Read jgraves3's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image oldtimecruiser75
1 review
Sep 2017
The immigration process was surprisingly very smooth. Our group guide ha limited information. Hermitage is a very busy place, so our guide was hustling us all the time. The gold room is an amazing experience, such exquisite craft from such ancient times.
Read oldtimecruiser75's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Planeinterested
1 review
Sep 2017
Awesome. We had a wheelchair, so we were able to enter ahead of everyone. It was five buildings, so you see it rather quickly, but it was worth it.
Read Planeinterested's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image GianFromSanDiego
1 review
Aug 2017
Must see. Take an independent tour group that gets there early because the place gets packed after regular opening hours.
Read GianFromSanDiego's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Alla tours
Member Image sueinvienna
1 review
Aug 2017
Good tour. Crowds were just not managed well in the musuem. Not enough time.
Read sueinvienna's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image KeithlyTM
1 review
Aug 2017
The Hermitage is spectacular! The Russians deserve credit for the restorations of this beautiful and vast building, with its collections of rare art. And kudos to the Romanov family in the 17th - 19th centuries for the collection they gathered. We are so lucky that all of this has survived.
Read KeithlyTM's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image rjukkola
4 reviews
Aug 2017
We strongly recommend taking the Evening Hermitage Tour. Since it is only open for cruise excursions, we were able to enjoy this wonderful museum absent the large crowds.
Read rjukkola's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Fall-Guy
1 review
Aug 2017
This excursion was one of the highlights of the cruise. That said the Museum was extremely crowded.
Read Fall-Guy's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Nijssenr
2 reviews
Aug 2017
You have to do this with a guide. You will get lost if you do it without guide
Read Nijssenr's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image alabamatraveler
1 review
Aug 2017
No early entry, but a wonderful experience. Very crowded, but was able to book the General Staff Bldg. tour of the impressionists at the same time. That was not crowded. Both places have outstanding art work!
Read alabamatraveler's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: GuideGuru
Member Image JanThe1st
1 review
Aug 2017
Very busy and hectic tour. Would liked to have seen more works from Russian artists. The Crusing Excursions guide did use a microphone and earpiece to make sure we heard her, which was good as it was so busy.
Read JanThe1st's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image ariesdaniels
1 review
Aug 2017
Jaw dropping
Read ariesdaniels's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image DISNEY CRUISE FAN
1 review
Aug 2017
not tour guides fault but customs was so long i think it ate into the tour. we were shown around with highly efficient guide who knew a lot about what she was talking about. i only knocked off a point as it was slightly rushed but that was a very minor point.
Read DISNEY CRUISE FAN's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jan232
1 review
Aug 2017
Toured four main buildings including impressive Throne Room and other ornate rooms. The sheer size and expanse is overwhelming and the time spent there was sufficient to get a good taste of the glory days of Catherine the Great.
Read jan232's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Random Acts
4 reviews
Aug 2017
Too short. Appreciated the early entry. Because of the time restriction, we missed some of the good stuff.
Read Random Acts's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image djm20
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Very informative tour of the several buildings that make up the Hermitage, former Czar palace, now an incredible museum filled with art and sculpture with gorgeous decor.
Read djm20's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image WilliamsLanding
2 reviews
Aug 2017
I recommend as highly as possible the evening tour of the Hermitage. You only get ~2 hours in the museum, but there's only one busload on people at each stop. You get a really good look at many of the famous paintings in the museum.
Read WilliamsLanding's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LadyReadingOxford
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Very good guide around the old Hermitage; but disappointed that 20th century art and impressionists have been moved to a separate building which we could not visit on this tour.
Read LadyReadingOxford's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image mbk333
1 review
Jul 2017
Did not include 2nd and 3rd foors, only the 1st floor. Very disappointed not to see Impressionists.
Read mbk333's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Gem Lover
3 reviews
Jul 2017
We were at the Hermitage for only 2 hrs. It would have taken us 2 months to see every exhibit. There was so much to see. There was an amazing collection of paintings, furniture, & sculptures. I enjoyed the exhibition of French And Spanish Impressionists.
Read Gem Lover's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image sunfish8
2 reviews
Jul 2017
Part of excursion...Wow what a place would have liked a few days to really take it in. Very rushed and only got to see some exhibits. Too many to view in such a short time. However, glad I got to see it.
Read sunfish8's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image paba2016
3 reviews
Jul 2017
Once in a lifetime opportunity. Gotta see it if you're in St.Pete. We could have spent more time here, but the hours we did spend were productive and enjoyable. The guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Great tour!
Read paba2016's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links