St. Petersburg Hermitage Museum Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Hermitage Museum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Five historic buildings (one of which was the former residence of Russian Tsars) today make up the Hermitage Museum, housing one of the finest art collections in the world.
Member Image Greenoceangirl2
1 review
Jul 2017
Crowded - not the tour organizer's fault but there is no way that so many people should be allowed in at once! An interesting museum, and an example of collecting and showing things from outside your own culture.
Read Greenoceangirl2's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image moksha14
1 review
Jul 2017
the art inside is amazing, but the crowd was killing!! there were so many people, and it was almost impossible to take a look at any art. but our guise, was very efficient and managed to show us some of it, even in the midst of that pandemonium.
Read moksha14's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: best guides
Member Image Travel bug 45
1 review
Jun 2017
Gorgeous collection of art
Read Travel bug 45's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image ActionJRMo
1 review
Jun 2017
We were a group of 15 a booked a visit with a tour guide for before the general public. It was worth it to be able to get into the museum, see exhibits up close without crowds. As we were leaving, we saw the lines of people waiting to get into the museum. Others have commented about rudeness of staff. I saw some of this at the Hermitage, but more at Catherine's Palace were we did not get in before the crowds. Take my advice, book with a guide that knows the museum and staff (critical). You also have to understand the culture. It is Russia, not the US midwest.
Read ActionJRMo's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Exeter
Member Image DHFM
2 reviews
Jun 2017
We did the behind the scenes tour of the Hermitage, which was worth every penny. The group was small, our guide was great and the art was amazing!
Read DHFM's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Gator75
7 reviews
Jun 2017
We were in St. Petersburg overnight. We did a shore excursion (PZ28) to the Hermitage Museum – you must visit this Museum. The architecture in the Winter Palace was exquisite. We spent over four hours in the Museum and only scratched the surface, as there are over 3 million items on display. Photographs are permitted in the Museum, but not in the Gold Room. Do not bring large bags or backpacks to the Museum as you will have to check them in the checkroom. In Russia, if you are not booked on a tour, you must obtain a Visa. Several of our friends booked excursions with private operators and were provided group visas. Of the six countries we visited, this was our least favorite. The people are not friendly and the city is drab. Going through Russian Immigration was an experience in itself – and not a pleasant one. There were several souvenir shops in the terminal building; all were selling the Matryoshkas nesting dolls.
Read Gator75's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lv2quilt
1 review
Jun 2017
This museum would take more than 3 hours to see everying. It was enjoyable.
Read lv2quilt's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Wolverinefamily
1 review
Jun 2017
We got there early and it was crowded but even more crowded when we were leaving.
Read Wolverinefamily's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ma dino
1 review
Jun 2017
very long day in over crowded rooms where it was extremely hard to hear our very knowledgeable guide. because of the overcrowding we had a difficult time even stopping for potty breaks.
Read ma dino's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image justhappytobehere
1 review
Jun 2017
We would have liked a LOT longer at the Hermitage Museum as had to keep moving all the time to try and keep up with our guide. We had no time to stop and study anything or we would lose her so had to buy a guide book when we got back to the port so we could see pictures of what we had only been able to glimpse. This should have been a really fantastic experience but was just a blur, hence only scoring "average".
Read justhappytobehere's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image zma
2 reviews
Jun 2017
An absolutely amazing museum that should be on everyone's list to see.
Read zma's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Aussie17
1 review
Jun 2017
Beautiful.
Read Aussie17's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image Paddy2112
1 review
Jun 2017
Covered this above. Slow through immegration due to RC withhoding passengers. The promise that the excursion would not be cut short as a result was a lie. We had 45 mins in the museum as opposed to the afternoon excursion who had over 2 hours. Significant queue outside the museum with other groups seemingly being fast tracked through (MSc). The excursion was don't at a gentle jog over only 2 of the 3 floors. Most of the time was spent trying to work out which door the rep had taken to leave a room just before you entered it. We were all connected by a remote earpeice which only worked within a certain range. Certainly not for the elderly or even vaguely infirm.
Read Paddy2112's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Burke23
5 reviews
May 2017
Wonderful museum but quite crowded.
Read Burke23's full Viking Helgi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image 1cruisemate2000
1 review
May 2017
The Hermitage Museum was excellent; however, there was no food involved and a repeat of a daily visit to the Museum. On the positive side, it was very nice to have the museum all to yourself so that you had time to truly admire the paintings and the palace. The tour guide was excellent.
Read 1cruisemate2000's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Chameleon
6 reviews
May 2017
An overwhelming amount of art, amazing rooms, sculptures etc Highlight tour only, our guide was fantastic!
Read Chameleon's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image jdscanuck
1 review
May 2017
Fabulous place, but felt like a sardine in a can on an assembly line. Very crowded and because on a tour, had to "rush" through.
Read jdscanuck's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mimi1947%
1 review
Sep 2016
I only gave this 4 stars because our 3 hours there weren't enough. Even we hurried through, we were only able to see a few of the over 2 million paintings, sculptures, etc. Phenomenal museum with some of the most famous paintings in the world.
Read Mimi1947%'s full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Insider Tours
Member Image CVL
1 review
Sep 2016
One of the major parts of the two day package. Be prepared to queue and the place is absolutely packed so there is no hanging around to admire things. Think of it as a taster rather than "seeing" the Hermitage.
Read CVL's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image taxhelpmi
1 review
Sep 2016
Not enough time, impressionists moved out of museum to another museum not included in tour, what we did see was rushed due to the need for tour to get to souvenir shop. We spent more time in souvenir shop than in museum.
Read taxhelpmi's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image VictorianVoyager
1 review
Sep 2016
A 'must' for any visitor to St. Petersburg. I marvelled at the palace itself but found the tour slightly disappointing because we didn't have enough time in the galleries with so many other tour groups there. Most disappointing of all was the absence of the collection of Impressionists which has now been moved to another building.
Read VictorianVoyager's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image briansau
1 review
Sep 2016
Ginormous, but our excellent tour guide knew the museum very well.
Read briansau's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Bella Roma
1 review
Aug 2016
Incredible!
Read Bella Roma's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ec6393
2 reviews
Aug 2016
This museum housed mainly in the "winter Palace" is unbelievable. The artifacts, paintings, memorabilia, sculptures, etc. has to make for one of the most extensive collections in the world.The Grand Staircase is very "grand" to say the least. Our guide said it would take 7 years (yes, years) to go through the whole collection of everything contained there giving each article more than just a walk by. There is lots in the "basement or wherever things not on display are kept.
Read ec6393's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image James Gang
1 review
Aug 2016
THe Hermitage opened at night just for the cruise passengers on the Sat. we were in port. What a wonderful perspective of the art work and palace with all of those candelabaras and chandeliers glowing!
Read James Gang's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?