St. Petersburg Hermitage Museum Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Hermitage Museum cruise excursion
Overall Rating 338 Reviews
Five historic buildings (one of which was the former residence of Russian Tsars) today make up the Hermitage Museum, housing one of the finest art collections in the world.
Details & Booking
Member Image Jennie P
Sep 2018
A beautiful collection. Our excellent, knowledgeable guide made all the difference. She steered us through the crowds and maximized the time available.
Read Jennie P's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wahacruisers
Sep 2018
The weather cleared and we had two beautiful days in St. Petersburg. We had a two day tour. Our guide, Anna, was outstanding. She was extremely knowledgeable about all of the places we visited. We had a very nice lunch both days. The food was very good as was the vodka! This is a fabulous place to visit. There is too much to see. It's a lot of walking but well worth it.
Read wahacruisers's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image travelwin
Sep 2018
Works of art are mind blowing although the crowds are very large it was still enjoyable
Read travelwin's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image AnneDubai
Aug 2018
We booked an excursion in order to get the visit visa to Russia rather than arranging our own visa beforehand. Our tour of the Hermitage was really nice and insightful and the tour guide was very knowledgable and friendly. The Hermitage is incredibly impressive and a must see when in St. Petersburg. We thought you only needed to book one tour to get the visa for both days, but that wasn't the case. You are required to stay with a tour group at all times so we ended up booking the hop on hop off bus on the second day, which ended up being a guided tour of just a small part of the city without having the opportunity to hop on and hop off so wouldn't recommend it. We would have much rather explored St. Peterburg independently on the second day so next time I will arrange for the visa in advance.
Read AnneDubai's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image PismoPat
Aug 2018
This is one of the wonders of the world. Viking pays extra to allow you to go early before it's too crowded, so rooms are pretty empty. The guide really knew what they were doing. By the time we left, around 1 pm, the place was a mob scene. You definitely need to go early. Our time was 9:25.
Read PismoPat's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image heathem1
Aug 2018
This trip was as excellent an experience as the Stockholm 1 was atrocious, reasonably well organised onboard ship as there were a large amount of people going on the various trips that day.... we were assigned a coach, which we shared with french and other english speaking guests...no other ENGLISH guests though. Our guide was absolutely brilliant, knowledgeable, friendly, considerate, really cannot praise her highly enough Dayna i think is how you spelt it. We were given a meal, quite delightful, a typical Russian meal. we had photo opportunities at various spots. The Hermitage was chaotic, but we had been warned before entering!!! height of season etc! she knew exactly where to take us to see what was the best things, really enjoyable long day.
Read heathem1's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image KBrazel
Aug 2018
Would have needed a week to see even a small percentage of this museum, but this tour gave us a taste. Simply amazing.
Read KBrazel's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image JanetKH
Aug 2018
Great tour, great tour guide. Hermitage Museum is incredible. You would need many more hours to even see one floor of it. The building itself is memorable besides the beautiful art work. Would love to return with more time.
Read JanetKH's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cordelia2799
Aug 2018
Very memorable but the Hermitage Museum was heaving with people and was extremely hot. No water is allowed in there. We would not visit again unless it was in the autumn or spring.
Read Cordelia2799's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image HertsBean
Aug 2018
Half day was plenty for us. Guide was excellent at showing us the highlights of the place. On your own you'd get lost!
Read HertsBean's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bennetthardy
Jul 2018
Incredible artwork from famous painters. Beautiful gold leaf and gorgeous furniture.
Read bennetthardy's full Viking Helgi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image seapointer
Jul 2018
Hermitage at night is a must. Absolutely no crowds, and guide was very knowledgeable.
Read seapointer's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image lalbers
Jul 2018
This was a decent tour. You have to have a VISA to tour in Russia so we did book with the boat. Very busy and very hot
Read lalbers's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rebel11
Jul 2018
Very good look at part of the hermitage. Fast!
Read rebel11's full Viking Sun cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image RagdollMom45
Jul 2018
Not enough lifetimes to see amazing Russian art and historical artifacts.
Read RagdollMom45's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Candygirl06
Jul 2018
Saw works of French & Italian masters like Rembrandt & Michelangelo & Raphael; would have preferred more Russian artists or collections since ive seen French & Italian masters in orevious travels at the Louvre & Orsay in Oaris & at the Vatican in Rome & Ufizi in Florence.
Read Candygirl06's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image chrisiana
Jul 2018
A little rushed through this museum but had a lot to see on the first day of our 2 day time in Russia
Read chrisiana's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image matouscc
Jun 2018
Took the Hermitage in the Evening tour. Small group and we were the last group to leave at closing. Can't imagine fighting the crowd during the day. This is the way to enjoy it. One couple was going back the next day. Good idea-overview in the evening then go back the next day.
Read matouscc's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Eduardo Lina
Jun 2018
Too crowded to be enjoyed to its ful potential
Read Eduardo Lina's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Scotland Tigger
Jun 2018
Amazing building but mobbed! Hugely busy and easy to loos3 your guide. We plumped for Hermitage at a slower pace, which was quick enough. Only 2hrs as we thought our 15yr okd would get bored, enough to give a flavour unless you are a huge museum fan. Tip- don’t cross the road unless on tb3 green man, I got severely tools off!
Read Scotland Tigger's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image bprue
Jun 2018
Hit all the highlights with an informative guide. Allowed us 3 hours to walk streets which was great.
Read bprue's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Sa Bom 24
Jun 2018
An art lover's paradise … though I can only take so many paintings. Aside from the eyes in his characters, Rembrandt's works are dark and depressing. See what I mean by "I can only take so many"?
Read Sa Bom 24's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image dencruiser170
Jun 2018
The Hermitage itself is a 5+++ but be prepared for a crush of tourists. The Uniworld tour allows you to enter an hour before the museum officially opens but all the other cruise line and other group tours arrive when you do. If you aren't on a tour, you have to wait in line about 2 hours (the museum is only open about 8 hrs).
Read dencruiser170's full River Victoria cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image SLSD
Jun 2018
Our guide did a good job of showing us the high points of this huge museum. We got to do an early opening tour.
Read SLSD's full Seabourn Ovation cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image SLSD
Jun 2018
Our guide did a good job of showing us the high points of this huge museum. We got to do an early opening tour.
Read SLSD's full Seabourn Ovation cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line

Sponsored links