St. Petersburg Hermitage Museum Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Hermitage Museum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Five historic buildings (one of which was the former residence of Russian Tsars) today make up the Hermitage Museum, housing one of the finest art collections in the world.
Member Image sueinvienna
1 review
Aug 2017
Good tour. Crowds were just not managed well in the musuem. Not enough time.
Read sueinvienna's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image KeithlyTM
1 review
Aug 2017
The Hermitage is spectacular! The Russians deserve credit for the restorations of this beautiful and vast building, with its collections of rare art. And kudos to the Romanov family in the 17th - 19th centuries for the collection they gathered. We are so lucky that all of this has survived.
Read KeithlyTM's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Nijssenr
2 reviews
Aug 2017
You have to do this with a guide. You will get lost if you do it without guide
Read Nijssenr's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image alabamatraveler
1 review
Aug 2017
No early entry, but a wonderful experience. Very crowded, but was able to book the General Staff Bldg. tour of the impressionists at the same time. That was not crowded. Both places have outstanding art work!
Read alabamatraveler's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: GuideGuru
Member Image JanThe1st
1 review
Aug 2017
Very busy and hectic tour. Would liked to have seen more works from Russian artists. The Crusing Excursions guide did use a microphone and earpiece to make sure we heard her, which was good as it was so busy.
Read JanThe1st's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image ariesdaniels
1 review
Aug 2017
Jaw dropping
Read ariesdaniels's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image DISNEY CRUISE FAN
1 review
Aug 2017
not tour guides fault but customs was so long i think it ate into the tour. we were shown around with highly efficient guide who knew a lot about what she was talking about. i only knocked off a point as it was slightly rushed but that was a very minor point.
Read DISNEY CRUISE FAN's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Random Acts
4 reviews
Aug 2017
Too short. Appreciated the early entry. Because of the time restriction, we missed some of the good stuff.
Read Random Acts's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image WilliamsLanding
2 reviews
Aug 2017
I recommend as highly as possible the evening tour of the Hermitage. You only get ~2 hours in the museum, but there's only one busload on people at each stop. You get a really good look at many of the famous paintings in the museum.
Read WilliamsLanding's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LadyReadingOxford
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Very good guide around the old Hermitage; but disappointed that 20th century art and impressionists have been moved to a separate building which we could not visit on this tour.
Read LadyReadingOxford's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image mbk333
1 review
Jul 2017
Did not include 2nd and 3rd foors, only the 1st floor. Very disappointed not to see Impressionists.
Read mbk333's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Gem Lover
2 reviews
Jul 2017
We were at the Hermitage for only 2 hrs. It would have taken us 2 months to see every exhibit. There was so much to see. There was an amazing collection of paintings, furniture, & sculptures. I enjoyed the exhibition of French And Spanish Impressionists.
Read Gem Lover's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image sunfish8
2 reviews
Jul 2017
Part of excursion...Wow what a place would have liked a few days to really take it in. Very rushed and only got to see some exhibits. Too many to view in such a short time. However, glad I got to see it.
Read sunfish8's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image paba2016
3 reviews
Jul 2017
Once in a lifetime opportunity. Gotta see it if you're in St.Pete. We could have spent more time here, but the hours we did spend were productive and enjoyable. The guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Great tour!
Read paba2016's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Koro
2 reviews
Jul 2017
Had an excellent guide and our group was a manageable size which was important because it is very crowded in the museum. We started with a private tour in the Gold Room.
Read Koro's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Greenoceangirl2
1 review
Jul 2017
Crowded - not the tour organizer's fault but there is no way that so many people should be allowed in at once! An interesting museum, and an example of collecting and showing things from outside your own culture.
Read Greenoceangirl2's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image moksha14
1 review
Jul 2017
the art inside is amazing, but the crowd was killing!! there were so many people, and it was almost impossible to take a look at any art. but our guise, was very efficient and managed to show us some of it, even in the midst of that pandemonium.
Read moksha14's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: best guides
Member Image Cetera
2 reviews
Jul 2017
This was part of a 10 hour tour that also included Peterhof Palace. The Hermitage Museum is a must see! It was an excellent tour. It's very busy though and we could have used more than the 2 1/2 hours or so that we had.
Read Cetera's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image matthewbaty
3 reviews
Jul 2017
Vast place. Too much to take in in a couple of hours! Incredible building
Read matthewbaty's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image Jimbola
1 review
Jul 2017
This was incredible. We toured on a Monday when the Hermitage is closed, so it was opened specially for cruise guests only and this was a highlight of the trip. A marvelous museum with exquisite art, and so pleasant to have the place to ourselves. Quite efficient. Would HIGHLY recommend this at any time, but especially if you can get the private tour.
Read Jimbola's full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image baw53
1 review
Jul 2017
In there for 3 hours and it was very hot, not allowed to take any drinks in and we never came across the cafe until,the end of our tour, which was ' too informative' we had a lovely guide, but, as an art lover, she enthused for far too long over her favourite paintings so by the time we got to the Egyptian room , where we wanted to linger, we had no time left and had to rush for the coach back to the ship .
Read baw53's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image left.port
1 review
Jul 2017
Too busy, we just shuffled along shoulder to shoulder with hundreds of other tourists. Could hardly see anything for the people. No AC and the building became warm and the air stuffy.
Read left.port's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Travel bug 45
1 review
Jun 2017
Gorgeous collection of art
Read Travel bug 45's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image ActionJRMo
1 review
Jun 2017
We were a group of 15 a booked a visit with a tour guide for before the general public. It was worth it to be able to get into the museum, see exhibits up close without crowds. As we were leaving, we saw the lines of people waiting to get into the museum. Others have commented about rudeness of staff. I saw some of this at the Hermitage, but more at Catherine's Palace were we did not get in before the crowds. Take my advice, book with a guide that knows the museum and staff (critical). You also have to understand the culture. It is Russia, not the US midwest.
Read ActionJRMo's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Exeter
Member Image DHFM
2 reviews
Jun 2017
We did the behind the scenes tour of the Hermitage, which was worth every penny. The group was small, our guide was great and the art was amazing!
Read DHFM's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises

Sponsored links