St. Petersburg City Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A city tour of St. Petersburg covers its main architectural and historical monuments, including Peter and Paul’s fortress and the retreats of the Tsars.
Member Image Adambadadam
1 review
Oct 2017
In all fairness, I write this review knowing we did not have enough time to see the city and experience it. Prior to going on the cruise, I anticipated that St. Petersburg would have been the golden gem of the trip. It was not. For those that like the grandeur of Paris or Rome, you might like St. Petersburg. We were late in booking excursions and ended up doing a city bus tour with limited stops where we did not have time to enter the any of the destinations. We did see the city however and that was very good. It is beautiful, but in a cold way. I prefer quaint. It is a city that obviously wanted to emulate Paris. Our tour guide was seemingly afraid to explain more fully about some of the historical occurrences within the city, like the destruction of the churches by the Soviets.
Read Adambadadam's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 169degrees
2 reviews
Sep 2017
Close in tour is excellent opportunity to get a feel for the city, using metro and walking in the city center among sites
Read 169degrees's full Viking Helgi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image nicolebrown547
1 review
Sep 2017
The most amazing 2 days with TJ Travel. We saw everything we wanted to see and had a small group with head sets. Perfect weather and great guide. Wonderful!
Read nicolebrown547's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image jcareyaz
1 review
Sep 2017
OUr driver Dimitri and guide Tatiana were excellent. The tour included all entry fees at museums and attractions and lunch both days at very nice venues. We saw all the :"must see" places. Highly recommend this "Visa free, 2 day, small group tour with boat ride"
Read jcareyaz's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Viator (SPB tours)
Member Image parryca
1 review
Sep 2017
This was a two day tour with an excellent tour guide. We saw a lot of St. Petersburg and it's history. Tour guide shared information about life in St. Petersburg, which was cool to hear. Very tiring and lots of slow walking.
Read parryca's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image D&DTeachers
1 review
Sep 2017
good tour with knoledgable guide. Long stop at a large souvenier store. Included a boat tour, but it was a rainy day and hard to see outside the fogged up windows.
Read D&DTeachers's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Kfur
1 review
Sep 2017
This was the best excursion that we took on this cruise. The 2-day St. Petersburg tour with Alla-Tours was incredible. We saw the Hermitage and Faberge Museums, Peterhof and Catherine Palaces, Peter and Paul Fortress and Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood. We took a boat ride and experienced the subway. The tour included lunch on both days and time to shop. What really made this tour successful was the tour guide narrative through earphones at every location.
Read Kfur's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Alla-Tours
Member Image rbarton22
1 review
Sep 2017
This was a (full) 2 day tour starting both days about 7.30am and finishing about 5pm. It was a bit pricey but we booked it as we couldn't be bothered to arrange our own visas. Day one we were taken to the Hermitage and then to Peterhof after lunch. Day two we did Catherine Palace and Peter & Paul Cathedral with lunch in between. Both days we had a shopping stop at very expensive souvenir shops which were obviously tied into the tour. We thought the second stop was an unnecessary waste of time. Although the tours are little rushed to fit it all in they were well worth doing although St Petersburg itself is looking a bit tatty. If you have the time beforehand it is possible to arrange your own visas and private tours; this means you can roam the city freely.
Read rbarton22's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image drmarg
1 review
Sep 2017
Cannot say enough good about the experience with Alla. It was exceptional. Our guide Alex was very well organized and a treasure trove of knowledge. The samll group (16) was a great size to allow us to cover as much as we did in 2 days.
Read drmarg's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image organist65
2 reviews
Sep 2017
Our tour guides spoke excellent English. We took a river cruise and saw many palaces along the banks, then visited the very crowded but oh so beautiful Church on the Spilled Blood, had a Russian lunch at a library/restaurant and then visited Yusupov's Palace.
Read organist65's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Planeinterested
1 review
Sep 2017
We booked with Alla Tours. Our tour guide was Margarita, and she was wonderful. Very patient, spoke very good English, and smiled all of the time. Very concerned about the people in her group. Waited for all of us to clear immigrations, and was flexible. Our driver was wonderful as well. Helped us with a wheelchair for 2-days.
Read Planeinterested's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image daetchief
1 review
Aug 2017
Outstanding tour with an equally outstanding guide. In addition to the narrated tour by bus, Svetlana also guided us to reputable vendors for authentic souvenirs. Fabrigjae Eggs, Molushka Dolls and Amber at a reasonable cost. Even take US Dollars (they like our $100.00 bills. No surprise, who wouldn't?)
Read daetchief's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image JosephFaimali
1 review
Aug 2017
The Faberge Museum was great and we got to see 9 of the original eggs. The Evening of the Tsars was the highlight of our trip to St. Petersburg. It took place at Catherine's Palace.
Read JosephFaimali's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image cruisegermany
2 reviews
Aug 2017
That is also a must in Saint Petersburg, because the tour takes you to all important places of the city, there's a chance to purchase some souvenirs like amber, Matrioshka dolls and everything typical russian things. The tour guide gave us a lot of very interesting info.
Read cruisegermany's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image cgrace1
1 review
Aug 2017
I really was anxious to see St. Petersburg. The city tour was great and we saw quite a bit. We were able to get off the bus and get up close to see many sites.
Read cgrace1's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Monty White
1 review
Aug 2017
Got an overview of the nicer part of the city but no real time on the tour to see the main sights as too many other tours. Too busy. Basically take an outside picture of the whatever and move on to the next. I would not go back. Guide was mediocre
Read Monty White's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image GianFromSanDiego
1 review
Aug 2017
Nice to see the buildings but it was very brief because the 1st day in St. Petersburg it took more than an hour to go through the Russian immigration at the port.
Read GianFromSanDiego's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image legalstar
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Excellent guide Elena with TJ Travel. Beautiful city, but needs to be cleaned up, scraped up and painted. Looks like a mix of Paris and Venice.
Read legalstar's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image sandybeachy
1 review
Aug 2017
Small group. Great price. Excellent guide. Two day tour from 7 am to 6:30. So much to see and we tried our best to see it all. So tired by the end of the day would not have had the energy to do an evening event. Very good lunch stops and with only 14 people you can stop at a smaller restaurant. Catherine's Palace was so busy!
Read sandybeachy's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: TJ Tour
Member Image alabamatraveler
1 review
Aug 2017
Driving tour of the city. Enjoyed the experience of seeing the old parts of St. Petersburg.
Read alabamatraveler's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: GuideGuru
Member Image JanThe1st
1 review
Aug 2017
The Cruising Excursions guide pointed out all of the key sights on our bus tour.
Read JanThe1st's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image aruzinski
1 review
Aug 2017
Great 2 day tour with the best tour guide ever, Tatiana. She was passionate, informative, and efficient without feeling rushed. She made things fun and Roman our driver worked hand in hand with Tatiana to get us in and out and close to all the entrances. Best experience with an excursion ever!
Read aruzinski's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image Teilo17
1 review
Aug 2017
The river cruise was rather short. I was hoping for more. However, the ballet was excellent and the Peter and Paul Fortress was impressive, especially the chapel where Tsar Nicholas II and his family are buried.
Read Teilo17's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image jan232
1 review
Aug 2017
Coach tour with photo stops along way provided a glimpse of St. Petersburg for tourists.
Read jan232's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Highlandl8dy35
1 review
Aug 2017
Good overview tour - knowledgable guide - usual hour in expensive gift shop!
Read Highlandl8dy35's full Magellan cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages

Sponsored links