St. Petersburg Catherine Palace Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Catherine Palace cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Catherine Palace, in the small town of Pushkin outside St. Petersburg, is a breathtaking example of baroque design. The bright blue exterior is gilded with more than 200 pounds of gold.
Member Image jgraves3
1 review
Sep 2017
We saw a lot in the two day tour best of excursion. Guide and things seen were good. It was too extensive a schedule done in two days time for older people due to the waits outside, stairs and walking. We did not get enough bathroom or shopping time. I think a full day and then maybe a half day the second day would have been better for us.
Read jgraves3's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image oldtimecruiser75
1 review
Sep 2017
We did not want to spend 2 full days on shore, so we took 2 short excursions that NCL was offering. Guiee Sergei was excellent and kept us busy with interesting information all through the drive to Pushkin and back
Read oldtimecruiser75's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GianFromSanDiego
1 review
Aug 2017
Must see. The Marble Room is quite possibly the most amazing room you will ever see.
Read GianFromSanDiego's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours.
Member Image CrusingwithClaire
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Catherine's Palace was beautiful but very overcrowded. There was a lot of gold throughout the palace.
Read CrusingwithClaire's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rjukkola
4 reviews
Aug 2017
The tour guide was excellent and the Palace was incredibly beautiful, but very, very crowded.
Read rjukkola's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Fall-Guy
1 review
Aug 2017
The other highlight of the Russian excursions. Here again crowds were a problem.
Read Fall-Guy's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Nijssenr
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Rebuild after the war. It's OK
Read Nijssenr's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image alabamatraveler
1 review
Aug 2017
We did not have early entry, but guide was very knowledgeable and got us in quickly. Always a crowd there if you don't go very early.
Read alabamatraveler's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: GuideGuru
Member Image ariesdaniels
1 review
Aug 2017
Amazing such opulence.
Read ariesdaniels's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Random Acts
4 reviews
Aug 2017
What can one say? Good tour among all the thousands of people there that day. Impressive rooms, interesting displays, particularly Catherine's dress.
Read Random Acts's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image Gem Lover
3 reviews
Jul 2017
My favorite site. The palace was magnificent. The sad part was that people were starving in the street while the Tzar's lived in extravagance.
Read Gem Lover's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image GazZebo
1 review
Jul 2017
highly recommended - wear comfortable shoes!
Read GazZebo's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: SPB-Tours.com
Member Image Linda Rogers
1 review
Jul 2017
Catherine's Palace was amazing, however, it got crowded quicky. Our Russian guide was excellent and maneuvered us around some of the large crowds. The grounds of Catherine's Palace are lovely and serene.
Read Linda Rogers's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Greenoceangirl2
1 review
Jul 2017
Impressive, beautiful and over the top consumerism in a different age. Crowded, and after a while the excessive consumerism of the time gave me a new appreciation of the Revolution in 1917.
Read Greenoceangirl2's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image moksha14
1 review
Jul 2017
Stunning! i loved the palace! the restoration has really been done very well and seems to have captured a lot of the earlier charm.
Read moksha14's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cetera
2 reviews
Jul 2017
We did the 10 hour Pushkin plus city tour. The Palace at Pushkin was great to see. Photos were allowed everywhere except the Amber Room (which is probably the room you'd most want to photo) and the gardens are beautiful. Our experience was enhanced because we were lucky enough to have the world's greatest tour guide. The only negative was that we spent a wasted hour or so at a restaurant before transitioning to the City Tour piece.
Read Cetera's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jimbola
1 review
Jul 2017
Fantastic, a must see, much better than Peterhof Palace, although still crowded, but manageable. The lunch with the Crystal excursion was excellent too.
Read Jimbola's full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image ActionJRMo
1 review
Jun 2017
The palace is nice. Opulent beyond belief. Newly restored after WWII, so not original in most of the palace. It was the most crowded museum I have ever been to. Besides the crowds, there is no structure or organization. It is a push-fest to get into and around inside. We had a very good native guide that did the best she could. But be forewarned and prepared. It will be crowded. It is a far way out of central St. Petersburg. I would say that this should be on our itinerary only if you are there 2 or more days.
Read ActionJRMo's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Exeter
Member Image Nickadee
1 review
Jun 2017
Must be seen to see the splendor and beauty - our pictures do not show nearly enough. Stunning.
Read Nickadee's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: SPB tours
Member Image DHFM
2 reviews
Jun 2017
There was a problem with our e-tickets, so although we got to Catherine's Palace early, we had to wait about an hour until we got in. Once inside, the palace was crowded and we were rushed though the rooms.
Read DHFM's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Saligo
7 reviews
Jun 2017
The tour was actually a combined full-day tour of Catherine Palace and Peterhof with lunch. It was expensive but worth it. The Catherine Palace is a fantasia of over-the-top Baroque architecture and interiors. The Amber Room is breathtaking. The gardens are very nice, reminiscent of those at a top-class English stately home. Lunch was good, with salad, soup, main course and light dessert (sorbet), and four drinks were provided (sparkling wine, vodka, mineral water and tea or coffee).
Read Saligo's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Wolverinefamily
1 review
Jun 2017
All in the same two day tour. We were in smaller groups with 2 guides per bus. Lunches were ok but made the tour more fun.
Read Wolverinefamily's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Iowanago
1 review
Jun 2017
Too many tourists and we were pushed through - just short of mayhem in a few areas
Read Iowanago's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image pirategold
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Stunning - especially the Amber Room and the gardens
Read pirategold's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Burke23
5 reviews
May 2017
Beautiful palace and gardens.
Read Burke23's full Viking Helgi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises

Sponsored links