Sorrento Pompeii Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Sorrento Pompeii Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Only 30 minutes from Sorrento, tour the ancient city of Pompeii with its winding roads, chilling ruins, and remarkably preserved architecture.
Member Image jaffeh
1 review
Jul 2017
The tour to Pompeii was great, & fascinating. We were in Naples, because the sea was too rough to drop anchor off of Sorrento. We were there 2 days, so we got to do the ship's version of the Amalfi Coast. Unfortunately, this turned out to be a drive to Positano, which is wonderful, but we did NOT see much of the Amalfi drive before going to lunch (only about a third of it.) Would have preferred a quick lunch & doing the real drive!
Read jaffeh's full Silver Muse cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image katethecookiemonster
2 reviews
May 2017
Loved Pompeii.
Read katethecookiemonster's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image chirk
4 reviews
May 2017
First we’re taken by small bus up a very steep narrow road to a bus depot and transferred to our tour bus for Herculaneum and Pompeii. The drive is so pretty with many views (though too fast) of the famed Amalfi coast. And then we’re at the astoundingly preserved Herculaneum! Wow! The Mt Vesuvius eruption in 79 AD destroyed the coastline and covered the area under 13-20 feet of ash and pumice, basically preserving everything due to lack of air and moisture. Herculaneum was a smaller village, with 4000 people on 49 acres. Only a quarter is open. Pompeii was a prosperous port town with 11,000 people on 163 acres, most of which has been excavated. The structures, mosaics, sense of life frozen in place, the casts of bodies and skeletons are astonishing. We went quickly through most of Herculaneum but only had time to do a portion of two sections of Pompeii. Loved seeing both in the shadow of Mt Vesuvius still.
Read chirk's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image kafka1970
1 review
Apr 2017
Walked the ruins of Pompeii. Amazingly intact, very interesting.
Read kafka1970's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Allann
1 review
Sep 2016
very good tour. you needed a guide in Pompeii.
Read Allann's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image wjs2000
1 review
Sep 2016
Informative host, information excellent
Read wjs2000's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Sundance Dublin Queen
1 review
Jun 2016
history was very interesting and out guide Matilda was so passionate about it she really added to our experience
Read Sundance Dublin Queen's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Ashcroft100
1 review
Jun 2016
Well organised and tour guide Matilda fantastic and highly knowledgeable. The tour was a snapshot of Pompeii and due to the heat was sufficient although I was told it would take 4 days to see the whole site.
Read Ashcroft100's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Educated Cruising Critic
1 review
Jun 2016
Pompeii was huge, hot, and demanding on the legs and feet. A wonderful experience.
Read Educated Cruising Critic's full Sirena cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Kitty24
1 review
May 2016
I had been to Pompeii previously and was thrilled to see the further excavation since I was last there......wonderful tour !
Read Kitty24's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Aqua67!
1 review
May 2016
Not able to spend much time at Pompeii due to the long drive along the coast. Possibly better to just do one or the other.
Read Aqua67!'s full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image nurse44
1 review
Apr 2016
Pompeii is amazing and Sorrento is beautiful
Read nurse44's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image KS_Meadowlark
2 reviews
Oct 2015
This excursion was the highlight of my trip. I have wanted to see this site for many, many years and this tour exceeded my expectations. I wish I could recall our tour leader's name. He spoke very good English and had a wry sense of humor which I very much enjoyed. He had also worked on the excavation of Pompeii in 1959 and had many first hand experience stories to tell us. It was very moving when on a rare occasion, I could see the emotion in our tour guides words as he escorted us through the site. What an amazing experience!
Read KS_Meadowlark's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Zforce
1 review
Jul 2015
Great and informative guide. Fairly comprehensive view of some of the major buildings.
Read Zforce's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image adriaan1969
1 review
Apr 2015
The excursion was well organized with a very nice guide to inform and show you Pompeii. With the bus for half an hour. Pompeii is really interesting and you can easily spend a full day there but this excursion is really nice in half a day.
Read adriaan1969's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image ajb1605
3 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014

Loved the Viator tour to Pompeii, so cheap considering the private taxi, entrance and guide all included, great value and amazing place. Sorrento very nice too, bought a few nice souvenirs and the waterside bar did good food and ice cream to die for in a lovely setting without charging silly money. I'd go back!

Read ajb1605's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image coyboy1971
4 reviews
Sep 2013

Only 2 hours at Pompeii, not nearly enough time to explore...would be better as a full day tour and skip the "bathroom stop" at the Cameo Factory - just use the facilities provided near the historic forum.

Read coyboy1971's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image blue7870
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Very organized, informative, fascinating! Great guide.

Read blue7870's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image dice02
1 review
Sep 2012
Have good walking shoes, watch your wallet, another guest was pickpocket here, so be careful.
Read dice02's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jasper50
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
Saw Pompeii which is half way between Sorrento and Naples. Only disappointment was that the original artifacts are in a museum in Naples and this should have been part of the tour as well and made it a full day tour.
Read Jasper50's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image rwandmw
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Guided tour with headsets. Very good tour guide.
Read rwandmw's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Sagacious Traveler
1 review
May 2012
More than ample time to explore this huge, important archeological site. Our guide spoke excellent English and provided us with a lot of historical information. Part of the tour included a visit to a cameo factory (directly across the street from the entrance to the ruins and where the restrooms are located.) It was very interesting to see a cameo artisan at work (he was in 70's).
Read Sagacious Traveler's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Skysurfr
1 review
Apr 2012
Nice tour with a great guide. It's worth doing some research on where to eat in Sorrento. If you have time there some great little restaurants on the side streets.
Read Skysurfr's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises

Sponsored links