Santorini Oia Village Excursion Reviews

Santorini Oia Village  cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit Oia, a pretty village of pastel-tinted houses set into the cliffside of Santorini’s highest peak. Look for paths in the village that will guide you to one of the two black-sand volcanic beaches.
Member Image Momoftwobwzmandm
1 review
Jul 2017
Panos is simply one of the nicest, most polite, knowledgeable and kind men I have met in my travels. The tour of the Caldera on his boat, Alex, was spectacular. We had a private trip into the real hot springs, not the tourist version with boats crammed with people. He also prepared an amazing lunch for us on the boat while we snorkeled and enjoyed the beautiful waters. Finally, he arranged for a transfer to Oai which was just beautiful. We even rode the donkeys back down! This island is spectacular.
Read Momoftwobwzmandm's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Santorini Boat Tours, Alex
Member Image Klampley
1 review
Jun 2017
Oia is a stunning village located at the tip of the island. The narrow alleyways provided so many photo opportunities that I ran out of memory and had to start taking photos with my phone. Even with two ships in port the village did not feel crowded and there were several points where we were the only ones traveling down one of the side alleys. The view of the caldera and the vast Mediterranean made this a perfect place to take in the views that make Santorini such a gem. We also did a quick walk through FIra on our way back, but Oia is more picturesque. The cable car ride back to the port was very pleasant.
Read Klampley's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hills63
1 review
Jun 2017
Santorini was beautiful but lots of steps to get anywhere so wasn't so good for us as my mother found it difficult. There are lots of restaurants with great views so we stopped for lunch overlooking the ocean. Bus tour was good and souvenir shopping was great.
Read hills63's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image fun couple
1 review
Jun 2017
Had a great time in Santorini. Beautiful views! Do not walk down the steps instead of taking Tram. We did and were almost run over by the donkeys running up the steps in herds. Had to be careful where we stepped.......Lots of POOP!
Read fun couple's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image juniper01
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Nice tour. Location and geography of region well explained by guide. Oia village is charming. Included a short wine tasting stop which was at a brilliant cliff top view location and actually very pleasant 30 mins with wine, cheese and olives.
Read juniper01's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tehemsath
1 review
May 2017
Place is beautiful and winery was great.
Read tehemsath's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dmead516
1 review
May 2017
Basically a bus ride to this location. You get 90 minutes and then they rush you back to the port. You should be allowed more time in Oia. Other folks rented a local UTV and toured the island on their own, which I would probably do next time.
Read dmead516's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SAWong
1 review
May 2017
We took the fast boat from the dock to Oia (that way you don't have to make your way up the hill by donkey or cable car). It was a beautiful 20 minute boat ride. We explored the town of Oia and then returned by private bus (a bit chaotic, as many wanted to return and the same time) and walked through the town of Thira before taking the cable car back down to the dock.
Read SAWong's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Bj_blue
1 review
May 2017
Traffic was horrible and the guide's English was difficult to understand. She didn't seem very experienced.
Read Bj_blue's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sarawara
1 review
May 2017
Oia was truly breathtaking and everything you expect when you think of Santorini and the Cyclades. We had an excellent lunch and walked and shopped. The only downside was that the line for buses back to Thira was very long, and by the time we got back and went to take the gondola down, there were almost 1000 people in line and we would not have made it in time. We instead had to walk down the 588 steps to the boat, which took about 40 minutes and was quite treacherous (due to the slippery steps and the donkey poop!)
Read Sarawara's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Water Taxi (forget name of company)
Member Image cerulean.88.sky
1 review
May 2017
Knowledgeable guide, good stops, plenty of time to explore on our own in Santorini
Read cerulean.88.sky's full Wind Star cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image cmpuyot
1 review
May 2017
We booked this excursion just so we could get out to Oia a quickly as possible and still have time left over to visit Thira. The excursion was nothing more than a $50 bus ride from the port where the tender dropped us off out to Oia, featuring the ramblings of a local tour guide. 2 hours of free time in Oia to explore, and then back on the bus to Thira where the excursion ended. The value of the excursion is in the time saved by having direct transport rather than the lost time of tendering to shore, hiking or taking the cable car up to Thira, and then searching for a cab to Oia and back. Overall, visiting Santorini on a cruise is not the best way to see the island based on a previous trip dedicated to the island. There are too many cruisers in town (up to 5 ships worth at once), and most are crammed into the two small shopping areas in Thira in Oia, which is not very pleasant. Recommend finding a cruise that allows the time to explore the non-cruise areas (ex: beaches, ancient ruins, wineries, etc), or to just make a dedicated visit to the island...it's worth it!
Read cmpuyot's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image manbru123
1 review
Apr 2017
the scenic is wonderful; the guide very passionate and knowledgable; too many people in the streets of the village
Read manbru123's full Celestyal Olympia cruise review
Provider: Celestyal Cruises
Member Image Miss Muffin
1 review
Apr 2017
Oia village was beautiful. I loved the donkeys, shops and view.
Read Miss Muffin's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image romanno1949
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Amazing that life exists on this crater wall. Beautiful white village but no water.
Read romanno1949's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Tia2010
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Santorini, Greece – Santorini was one of our favorite stops. Our tour was the Island of Santorini and Village of Oia. Oia is spectacular (please don’t forget to take your cameras) you will see beautiful blue domed churches with white washed buildings, the twisting cobblestone alleyways were impressive the views are picturesque! We headed to a winery and enjoyed wine and the magnificent views. There is only one way to get up to the volcanic island – we docked at sea and took a small boat over, once you are on the island you can walk up 200 + flights of stairs or take a tram. But, if you have booked your excursion through Royal Caribbean there will be a tour bus waiting for you to escort you up. To get down can take a tram, walk or take a donkey down. Many prefer the tram. If you do decide to take the tram please be prepared to wait in a long line.
Read Tia2010's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image carolinemcglone
1 review
Oct 2016
Picturesque village, didnt spend much time there as the bus brought us back to the main town Fira
Read carolinemcglone's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Vegans rule
5 reviews
Oct 2016
Beautiful village. All whitewashed houses and spectacular views. Take the cable car down. Don't take the steps or the donkeys, too dangerous,
Read Vegans rule's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JanBerlin
3 reviews
Oct 2016
"Speed boat" ride to Oia was scenic, but not speedy at all. In general, Santorini was a "been there, done that" port: far too touristy (even in low season with only three ships in port) and highly overpriced. The views of the caldera are breathtaking, but the island itself is rough and boring.
Read JanBerlin's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Petrosey
6 reviews
Oct 2016
Good amount of time to explore. Very scenic.
Read Petrosey's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lady99
3 reviews
Oct 2016
We took an excursion that had our bus climb the curving and winding cliffs up to the beautiful village of Oia known for their blue domed churches. We scampered around the cobblestone paths taking photos and taking it all in. I only wish
Read lady99's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Serious cruiser
1 review
Sep 2016
Have made this trip before Oia is a very pretty part of the island
Read Serious cruiser's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image kraubens
1 review
Sep 2016
Absolutely breathtaking walking tour of picturesque Oia!!!!!
Read kraubens's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Biscuit59
1 review
Sep 2016
A bit dull, could have done better independently
Read Biscuit59's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Cruise excursions
Member Image Huntingdon1701
2 reviews
Sep 2016
I actually did Oia on my own by taking a bus there. It was easy to do, albeit a little hair-raising going round the bends. Oia is very pretty so I am glad I made it. Be aware that the buses returning to Fira get very full and you are unlikely to get on the first one.
Read Huntingdon1701's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links