Rome (Civitavecchia) Vatican Museums Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Vatican Museums cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the Vatican museums to see the world famous Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. Note: Go early in the morning to bypass the long lines.
Member Image Sunseeker1001
8 reviews
Jun 2018
BOORING and crowded. Guide said it was a rather 'light' day - usually more crowded. I could hardly imagine!!
Read Sunseeker1001's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Flavia
Member Image stevenpgol
2 reviews
Jun 2018
Unbelievable, esp. the Sistine Chapel.
Read stevenpgol's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DadsReview
1 review
Jun 2018
Viator - Rome in a Day – this is actually two half day tours, morning at the Vatican and afternoon at the Colosseum; due to transportation issues, we were late for the Vatican group tour, but we called the tour company and were provided our Vatican museum tickets to explore on our own with a non-guided group an hour later; on our own for lunch and a cab ride to the Colosseum, then we met the Colosseum group for the afternoon tour; skip the line tickets are highly recommended, but the guide was very slow and we ended up turning in our headsets to explore on our own before catching our ride back to the ship
Read DadsReview's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mitawa
1 review
May 2018
Breakfast in the Vatican and began tour before it opened to the public. This is the way to tour! An excellent guide as well.
Read Mitawa's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Dark Rome
Member Image karpookie
1 review
May 2018
Stunning!!!
Read karpookie's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Walk Tours of Italy
Member Image Rml92627
1 review
Apr 2018
We toured the gardens first. We had to wait 40 minutes to get into museum. We literally ran from the entrance of the Vatican Museum through the Sistene Chapel and into St. Peter’s. We were out the basilica in less than 15 minutes. The most expensive and disappointing tour ever!
Read Rml92627's full Carnival Horizon cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Taskinder
1 review
Dec 2017
We enjoyed the tour very much. I wish we had had more time to see everything. I bought a good guidebook about rome so I can always get more information later.
Read Taskinder's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Dakotagrafx
5 reviews
Nov 2017
a bit pricey but was a great tour - we opted for doing both Colosseum and Vatican in one day which is a LOT of walking and included a very nice lunch - glad we did it that way - only thing to remember is at the end of tour it is up to you to find your own way back to your hotel even if you elect for hotel pick up
Read Dakotagrafx's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: gray line
Member Image VikingCruisemaster
1 review
Oct 2017
Viking provided a private tour with a small group at night to this site. No crowds. Absolutely amazing experience.
Read VikingCruisemaster's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image bigbill46
3 reviews
Oct 2017
Did the full Vatican. 4th time there, best guide and tour of all. Yes, lots of walking however great guide and you learn and see more each time you go.
Read bigbill46's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kdbqa
2 reviews
Sep 2017
So much beautiful art. Our guide was wonderful and quite knowledgable about the history of the popes and artist responsible for the beautiful paintings
Read kdbqa's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Kentman62
1 review
Aug 2017
Fascinating place full of interesting exhibits. We took the audioguide but the numbers of people made it difficult to stop and listen. To be fair, we had limited time before catching the bus back so had to rush things. In places the crush of the crowd was quite overwhelming and the lack of air made us want to exit as hurriedly as possible. Understandably most want to get to the Sistean Chapel as we did, however, they are making a lot of money out of this venture by seemingly not controlling the numbers and with little regard for the comfort of the visitors. I know we went a peak summer time but thank goodness we weren't there during the mid- forties temperatures.
Read Kentman62's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Vatican website
Member Image LOUISM27
1 review
Jul 2017
Very beautiful and full information
Read LOUISM27's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Costco
Member Image EyeDocCT
3 reviews
Jun 2017
Rome-in-Limo guys are NOT Licensed Tour Guides and therefore cannot enter Vatican and Museums, so they made arrangements for us with RoseAlba who was fantastic
Read EyeDocCT's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: "Rome-in-Limo"
Member Image Espire
4 reviews
Jun 2017
Booked in advance for 7:30 pm Friday evening tour with English speaking guide. Instructions were to arrive 20 minutes early but evening tours only open the doors at 7pm and there were still huge queues at 7:15. They moved quickly however and our tour started on time with a smallish group. First 30 minutes was clustered around a TV screen and guide giving an explanation of history and content of museum. Very impressed with museum exhibits even if limited relationship with history. Many museums in the world are very proud of single undamaged Roman statues whereas this museum has hundreds. You walk on floors of perfect Roman mosaics two thousand years old as if they were nothing special
Read Espire's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Vatican direct online
Member Image eddiecat
1 review
May 2017
It was very informative and was an excellent experience. Also organised very well and the tour guide was brilliant.
Read eddiecat's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Blueeyedcaper1
1 review
May 2017
Going to Rome to see the Vatican/ colosseum/ the Trevi fountain is a must! Once in a lifetime tour. Amazing guide in the museum. The driver/ guide was good. He was an excellent driver. Don't know if I could drive those streets.
Read Blueeyedcaper1's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Italytours EU
Member Image Cindy
15 reviews
Apr 2017
This was an excellent tour with an extremely knowledgeable guide through Livitaly. We paid more for this tour because they take a maximum of six people in a group, and it was well worth it! Our early entrance tour was well worth the price of admission...even the Sistine Chapel was relatively uncrowded compared to the throngs of people later. I highly recommend touring the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's with a guide.
Read Cindy's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Livitaly
Member Image cruiserre
2 reviews
Mar 2017
This was another Viator tour sold by MSC, AND VERY POORLY PLANNED: we have been in Rome many times but knew another visit to the Vatican museums would be well worth it. The tour was billed as Rome and The Vatican museums: In the AM we were bused around and past the main sites, OK, considering our time was short, then into the Vatican. The tour of the VATICAN MUSEUMS however was very poorly planned- and did not give us a look at some of its treasures, like the Borgia Apartments: essentially the tour was a walk to the Sistine, though prior To entering the Chapel, there was a detailed lecture in front of reproduction of the paintings of the Sistine. From there there was a half hour trip through St Peter's,,where I thought the tour was well done. Big flaw was giving us two hours of free time designating a gift shop where bathrooms were available and from which our tour would depart for the port area. My suggestion to anyone on a one day visit, is first order your tickets to the museums, on line,for 10AM,so you can avoid the long, long lines: then sign up for the cruise ship bus that picks takes you to central Rome, get a taxi to the Vatican Museum and have a leisurely visit to the museum- because you are not part of a tour, no one will rush you in your visit to the Sistine: because there could be long lines to get into St Peter,s , do not leave the Vatican museum, you can enter St Peter's from the Sistine chapel- everyone exits the Sistine from the back- if you take the door at the right rear it will eventually get you into St Pater's without leaving thevMuseums.
Read cruiserre's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image LadyImpactOhio
4 reviews
Feb 2017
We didn't see it all, but what we did was impressive.Must boom with a group or there is a huge line just to get thru security. Because we booked with Viking we walked right up and had no wait.
Read LadyImpactOhio's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image tlsumner
1 review
Feb 2017
During an extended stay. Could have taken a full day and still not seen a fraction of the museums. Very good guide.
Read tlsumner's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Lkclark
1 review
Dec 2016
We felt the overview of Rome sites tour was good. The Vatican tour at night with only our Viking bus loads was awesome.
Read Lkclark's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image g.steinfort
1 review
Dec 2016
Long day but is was exceptional and the crowds were small. Quick bus tour of the other important sights was nice. the 1.5-2hr bus ride to and from the port made the tour longer. wish we could of been in Rome for 2 days
Read g.steinfort's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image atbrouss
1 review
Dec 2016
We chose to focus on the Vatican during our short stop in Rome. We booked an MSC excursion that gave us an overview of Rome from the bus, then a guided tour of the Vatican Museum, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica. The tour was very well-organized, and it provided a great introductory visit to The Eternal City. We felt rushed in the Vatican City, but we saw all the highlights, and my husband and I were both very pleased with the excursion.
Read atbrouss's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Pfeilm
1 review
Nov 2016
Same as Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica - Skip the Line Vatican Museum with St Peter's, Sistine Chapel and Small Group Upgrade. Tour guide Nina was phenomenal. Tour started as soon as all arrived and moved along well. We were inside by 9:00a and security was a breeze. Nina was informative and entertaining. For a small petite woman she could graciously part the crowd and keep things moving. Four hours flew by. Note: There is so much to see we lucked out with Nina, an obvious art subject matter expert. She centered the tour around more specific pieces vice the audio tour stops due to limited amount of time. Would recommend booking a particular art tour if truly interested in the wonderful art. Recommend: yes, both the tour and Nina... Particularly Nina.
Read Pfeilm's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Viator

Sponsored links