Rome (Civitavecchia) St. Peter's Square Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) St. Peter's Square cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience the wondrous scenery and history in St. Peter's Square, located directly in front of St. Peter's Basilica in the Vatican City.
Member Image Dakotagrafx
5 reviews
Nov 2017
a bit pricey but was a great tour - we opted for doing both Colosseum and Vatican in one day which is a LOT of walking and included a very nice lunch - glad we did it that way - only thing to remember is at the end of tour it is up to you to find your own way back to your hotel even if you elect for hotel pick up
Read Dakotagrafx's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: gray line part of big tour
Member Image 5674ccam
1 review
Oct 2017
I would not recommend this tour. Our tour guide, Giuseppe I think was his name, was not good. He mumbled the entire tour so you couldn't understand anything he was explaining and he did not wait for the group especially in crowds. My husband and I ended up running through the streets trying to catch back up with the guide after getting pushed behind due to the crowds when we realized our guide was 1/4 of a mile away from us. And we weren't the only ones to feel this way. When we asked the guide to slow down and be more attentive to the group, he told us to keep up better. Not the answer any of us wanted to hear. The colosseum was too crowded to enjoy in my opinion as was trevi fountain. St. Peter's square was nice to see. All in all I would not recommend this tour, and if you do go on it, plan for crowds and a lot of walking.
Read 5674ccam's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ejwesq
1 review
Aug 2017
They also had a private guide with "skip the line" access. Fantastic tour of the Vatican with Grace.
Read ejwesq's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: milesandmiles.net
Member Image LOUISM27
1 review
Jul 2017
Being there is out of this world. The Vatican St. Peters Square its breath taking
Read LOUISM27's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Costco
Member Image hills63
1 review
Jun 2017
Good to have visited Rome and St Peter's Square. We selected mostly bus and limited walking tours due to age of travellers but bus commentaries were excellent.
Read hills63's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Richard D
1 review
Jun 2017
Our guide worked at the Vatican and had advanced degrees in Biblical Archaeology. She was fascinating! So learned and knowledgable and entertaining. She moved us ahead of a lot of the lines, too! Got some great lasagna at the Crowne Plaza as part of the excursion, too, believe it or not! Saw the Pope give a funeral mass while here! The basilica is amazing!
Read Richard D's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Retired Adventurer
1 review
May 2017
Very moving experience, very hot day and many people crowding the square.
Read Retired Adventurer's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image WallabyGal
2 reviews
May 2017
The president was there so we were lucky to get into St. Peter's at all. It was awe-inspiring but it was very rushed, & also being a Wednesday, there were crowds to see the Pope (which we didn't).
Read WallabyGal's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JADeGraw
1 review
May 2017
too short. did see Pope
Read JADeGraw's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image GeorgiaC222
1 review
Apr 2017
I saw it on our guided tour. It was lovely.
Read GeorgiaC222's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image otter941
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Crowded the day we went: Sunday with the Pope making his blessings.
Read otter941's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image presbyter
1 review
Nov 2016
Had about two hours to wander around the Vatican.
Read presbyter's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image 69Indy
1 review
Nov 2016
OMG..you HAVE to see this if you go to Rome. The history is amazing. Nothing to dissapoint here. Also, wait the line and pay the few dollars and GO to the roof deck on the dome. Just GO. The view is incredible. You will NEVER see Rome like you do from the top of the basilica. The climb is worth the view and the bragging rights.
Read 69Indy's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: ?
Member Image Annettetony1
1 review
Oct 2016
A wonderful experience
Read Annettetony1's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image LowPas1186
1 review
Sep 2016
Excellent tour. This location was part of the Best of Rome package.
Read LowPas1186's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Italytours.EU
Member Image Srpinney
1 review
Sep 2016
A lot more walking than advertised. My husband could not walk to St. Peter's Square and spent the whole time sitting at a cafe. He was exhausted just getting from where the bus had to park to the area where the tourists were.
Read Srpinney's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Glenda Sobie
1 review
Sep 2016
Enjoyed the walking tour and an amazing lunch.
Read Glenda Sobie's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image mponcedeleon
1 review
Aug 2016
This was one of the highlights of the cruise.
Read mponcedeleon's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Kate S
1 review
Jul 2016
It was expensive, but worth it. We saw the Colosseum, St. Peter’s, Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. The Colosseum tour included the underground and it was excellent. We didn’t wait in line and had access to areas that general admission guests did not have. It is a 10-hour day as Rome is about 1.5 hours from the pier. Wear comfortable shoes! It was very, very, hot. Be sure to read all tour requirements. There are clothing requirements for St. Peter’s and there are no exceptions. I forgot to bring a scarf, but thankfully another tour guest had a scarf I could use (to cover my shoulders). There was some free time to wander and shop but you MUST be back at the meeting point on time – the tour continues with or without you. One guest on another tour in Rome got separated from his group and lost the emergency number everyone gets…just in case. It cost him $200 Euro to get back to the ship via taxi as he did not know how to access the public transportation (train) system that was much cheaper. We did not find this excursion overly taxing in terms of physical exertion (we are both 50 and in relatively good shape). We had plenty of time at all locations to take photos.
Read Kate S's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image picketfences101
1 review
Jul 2016
We booked DriverinRome on 2 days (both Rome port days) to take us from the ship to Pantheon, Colosseum, Circus Maximus, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Roman Forum. The second port day, we toured the Vatican, St. Peter's Basilica and Sistine Chapel.
Read picketfences101's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: DriverinRome
Member Image MNloonies
1 review
Jul 2016
Also part of the Eternal City tour. St Peter's Square was much larger than I thought it would be. Saw the chimney where the smoke comes out when a pope is picked. Very interesting and great photo stop.
Read MNloonies's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cheyshecruiser
1 review
Jul 2016
Our driver Marco was the best guide we had the whole cruise and we had a guide in every port. He took us to a fantastic restaurant for lunch and was genuinely interested in what we wanted to see. He gave us as much time as we needed and was very friendly and funny. All 4 teenagers loved him. Very laid back and accommodating. We saw St Peter's Square from different vantage points. It was gorgeous.
Read Cheyshecruiser's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Miles and Miles
Member Image Viva Las VegasBruiser1
1 review
Jul 2016
great
Read Viva Las VegasBruiser1's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mchelle2470
1 review
Jul 2016
Beautiful !!!! And hot in July!!! It's all open so plan to bring a hat or small umbrella for shade.
Read Mchelle2470's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mallysmith
1 review
Jul 2016
Grand with great views of the Vatican as you stand back
Read mallysmith's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links