Rome (Civitavecchia) Colosseum Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Colosseum cruise excursion
Overall Rating 176 Reviews
Rome's Colosseum, once home to brutal gladiatorial combat, is the largest amphitheater ever built in the Roman Empire. One of the new seven wonders of the world, this famous feat of architecture is not to be missed.
Details & Booking
Member Image blanrc
Oct 2018
A wealth of history, if only the walls can talk. Wonderful guide we had gave us so much information that we eventually bought the book that she was using to show the before and after pictures.
Read blanrc's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Paulajean87
Oct 2018
Great to see this, lots of walking up stairs, etc. so be prepared.
Read Paulajean87's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image jgriffin5130
Sep 2018
SOOO much to see at the Vatican. Definitely should go with a guide so that you can see as much as possible and skip the line.
Read jgriffin5130's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Wayne F
Sep 2018
Visiting the Roman Coliseum was great. Once there, we arranged for our own guided tour for an additional cost. It was a great tour and allowed us to see more of the coliseum with an additional historical narrative.
Read Wayne F's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Gail A
Aug 2018
The Colosseum is incredible but our group was too big and our guide, while pleasant, had such a strong accent that he was virtually impossible to understand.
Read Gail A's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: City Wonders
Member Image 111ace111
Aug 2018
Very expensive, approx £250 per head, brilliant for the Colisseum, Forum and Palatine Hill, less so for the long hike to a very crowded Trevvi Fountain then back to bus, off to Vatican then dull lunch to end the tour, not good value at all
Read 111ace111's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image angiepangy
Aug 2018
nice coach trip well worth it with a lady walking with us with head phones on telling us all about the places about 3 miles walking altogether steady walking no rushing
Read angiepangy's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Scrummy p
Jul 2018
Unfortunately due to a mix up with booking too many people on to our coach we were late leaving port which then made us get caught up in a horrendous queue to get in to colliseum. Took 1.5 hours to get in and then only had 45mins inside. Not nearly enough time. Very disappointed as this was an expensive trip and I was very much looking forward to it.
Read Scrummy p's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image msulli2
Jul 2018
We did the 5th floor tour, which just opened and was really, really cool. You can see everything from that high!
Read msulli2's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: ItalyScapes
Member Image FloydFF
Jun 2018
Nice to see once. We had “Skip The Line” tickets, which is a must in the summer time.
Read FloydFF's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sunseeker1001
Jun 2018
Amazed at the ingenuity of the Romans in building it. Imagine having a floor raise up from the lower level to present the gladiators. Tunnels and canvas awning that stretched over the stands to protect the viewers from the heat.
Read Sunseeker1001's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Flavia
Member Image DadsReview
Jun 2018
Viator - Rome in a Day – this is actually two half day tours, morning at the Vatican and afternoon at the Colosseum; due to transportation issues, we were late for the Vatican group tour, but we called the tour company and were provided our Vatican museum tickets to explore on our own with a non-guided group an hour later; on our own for lunch and a cab ride to the Colosseum, then we met the Colosseum group for the afternoon tour; skip the line tickets are highly recommended, but the guide was very slow and we ended up turning in our headsets to explore on our own before catching our ride back to the ship
Read DadsReview's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Michael JPB
Jun 2018
Very enjoyable guide was very good
Read Michael JPB's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image karpookie
May 2018
LOVED our tours. Great guide, wonderful experience! Also enables you to bypass all the very, very long lines of people doing it on their own. We saw the Colosseum at night- sooo cool. Saw Forum and ruins. Just fabulous!
Read karpookie's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Walk Tours Italy
Member Image superdog007
May 2018
The BEST of the BEST! This day is unforgettable. Knowlegable guide - passionate about subject matter and personable!
Read superdog007's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Tours by Locals - Giuseppe D'Angelo
Member Image 2crusincanucks
May 2018
Our guide was excellent and so informative. Well worth d=taking the underground Colosseum tour.
Read 2crusincanucks's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Roman Guy
Member Image bluenosecruiser55
Apr 2018
Long lines moved fairly quickly in comparison to the square and Basilica. Rushed while there. Amazing regardless.
Read bluenosecruiser55's full Carnival Horizon cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Taskinder
Dec 2017
Our tourguide met us at our pre-arranged point from our hotel. She was very knowledgeable and gave us a lot of information. We had this tour booked as our afternoon part after lunch.
Read Taskinder's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Dakotagrafx
Nov 2017
a bit pricey but was a great tour - we opted for doing both Colosseum and Vatican in one day which is a LOT of walking and included a very nice lunch - glad we did it that way - only thing to remember is at the end of tour it is up to you to find your own way back to your hotel even if you elect for hotel pick up
Read Dakotagrafx's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: gray line
Member Image Mich54
Oct 2017
Rome is fabulous and we enjoyed visiting again. Wanted to see the Colosseum this time and the Forum, we could not cover these the last time we were in Rome. The ships excursion combined the two which was ideal and the excursion tour guides were excellent and very informative. We would have liked more time inside the Colosseum to wander at leisure but the place was absolutely manic and Rome was so much busier overall than our last visit ( which surprisingly was beginning of June and this was the 9th October, thought it would be much quieter this time !!). It felt a little like we were dashing about and not really drinking it all in.
Read Mich54's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Sally S
Sep 2017
Allowed time but not enough to explore for ourselves. Maps provided not really helpful, couldn't find Panthenon or the Spanish Steps
Read Sally S's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kdbqa
Sep 2017
I was just overwhelmed with the history here. And to stand where so much of it took place. It was amazing.
Read kdbqa's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image barnegatcruiser
Sep 2017
Did not go in because of long line at security. Had about 45 mins. to walk around the Colosseum, see the Arch of Constantine and the Forum.
Read barnegatcruiser's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Rome Driving Tour
Member Image Almond01
Sep 2017
We did the post-cruise transfer to Airport with St.Peter's Basilica and Colosseum. We didn't hit these in our three days pre-cruise. Excellent guide and hostess.
Read Almond01's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Almond01
Sep 2017
We did the post-cruise transfer to Airport with St.Peter's Basilica and Colosseum. We didn't hit these in our three days pre-cruise. Excellent guide and hostess.
Read Almond01's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links