Rome (Civitavecchia) Colosseum Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Colosseum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Rome's Colosseum, once home to brutal gladiatorial combat, is the largest amphitheater ever built in the Roman Empire. One of the new seven wonders of the world, this famous feat of architecture is not to be missed.
Member Image Guyvil
1 review
Sep 2017
Driven to the Colosseum from the cruise ship. Had over an hour of free time to explore.
Read Guyvil's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: ItalyTours.eu
Member Image u7jf
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Must do - try to do a tour with a guide company that offers customer earpieces and has their guide communicate via microphone. It is worth the walk up the stairs to look down on the entirety of the structure.
Read u7jf's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Buddyandmax
1 review
Aug 2017
We booked transfer only with Viator £130 which was fine. Small a/c minivan. Dropped and collected from Vatican.we booked colesseum tickets online direct €40 for 5 Had time to see colesseum,forum Trevi fountain Spanish steps and eat. Back in plenty of time.
Read Buddyandmax's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image slkaye2
reviews
Jul 2017
7:20 Private car took us to Rome 10:00 Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica 1:00 pm another private car took us to the Colleseum Make sure you also do the underground tour at Colosseum- worth it Don't leave later than 4:20 in Rome to get back on time and 3:30 in Florence to get back on time to ship
Read slkaye2's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image LOUISM27
1 review
Jul 2017
I can't describe it. How much history the Colosseum have had. Truly an spectacular place
Read LOUISM27's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Costco
Member Image juss11
1 review
Jul 2017
Included transport and fast track to palantine hill too
Read juss11's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cruisingexcursions.com
Member Image Business Professor
3 reviews
Jun 2017
Although I had been there many times before, still enjoyed the history behind the Colosseum and its usage.
Read Business Professor's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AK Dreaming
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Rushed, rude and misleading. We tried to tell the excursion desk on the cruise but they were very defensive. I did not want money back, I wanted them to know their contractors were not providing good service.
Read AK Dreaming's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image EyeDocCT
3 reviews
Jun 2017
Had not visited the Coliseum for the past 45 years and the site is more dramatic than we remembered
Read EyeDocCT's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: "Rome-in-Limo"
Member Image Al54
1 review
May 2017
"Glory of the gladiators" : a good ship-excursion with an excellent guide. In the morning visit of the Colosseum and the Forum (a lot of people!). Then, 2h30 of free time on Piazza Navona for lunch and personnal visits : a very well balanced excursion.
Read Al54's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image katethecookiemonster
2 reviews
May 2017
The colosseum was wonderful, but our experience with the excursion and the colosseum was not great. We had to wait outside for over half an hour while the tour guide argued with someone, and we were unable to enter into the special door where the gladiators would enter. The tour was called the glories of the gladiators for this reason, as we were told by the tour guide at least, so that was disappointing.
Read katethecookiemonster's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image WallabyGal
2 reviews
May 2017
Rome is crazy! The president was there the same day we were so everything was rushed, there were crowds and tremendous security everywhere. The ruins of & near the Colosseum are amazing, but we had so little time anywhere that it detracted from it. My daughter had never been to Rome so wanted to go, but I suggest going to Tarquinia instead (fascinating Etruscan graves & museum) & spending more time in Rome on your own.
Read WallabyGal's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image chirk
4 reviews
May 2017
Well worthwhile to skip the line and get into exclusive areas! There’s some waiting around before we get going and the group is pretty big: 24, which is the max they claim. First we go to the main level surface, which is just above the underground; then go underground where the slaves handled the animals and the gladiators got ready, and finally up to the terrace for a wonderful overview. All these areas are off limits to regular guests and it was especially fun to see the guide take out keys and unlock gates to allow us in.
Read chirk's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: City Wonders
Member Image Cindy
15 reviews
Apr 2017
This was an excellent tour with an extremely knowledgeable guide through Livitaly. We paid more for this tour because they take a maximum of six people in a group, and it was well worth it! Our tour of the dungeons and third level were fascinating, and our walk around the Roman Forum was enriched by our guide's knowledge.
Read Cindy's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Livitaly
Member Image GeorgiaC222
1 review
Apr 2017
The Colosseum trip was fantastic, not only did I get to see it from the outside, I got to see it from the inside. It was a lovely thing to see, I would definitely like to see it again.
Read GeorgiaC222's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image zuume19
1 review
Feb 2017
Quite historical and not what Hollywood presents to us. For example, the Colosseum actually had a wooden floor with trap doors and a canvas-like covering like a large circus tent.
Read zuume19's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image tlsumner
1 review
Feb 2017
The walk to the top level on the Colosseum was not necessary.
Read tlsumner's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image ForneyTravelers
1 review
Jan 2017
We did a skip the line tour of the Colosseum and were able to go underneath and to the very top. It was very informative and exciting.
Read ForneyTravelers's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Pfeilm
1 review
Nov 2016
Ancient Rome and Collosium with Underground, Arena and Upper Tier. Met at 8:15-, walked across the street promptly atb8:30a and then stood for 30 minutes listening to 'icela while awaiting our tour group entry time of approximately 9:00 to go through security and then turned over to the Collesium archeologist (historian) tour guide. The process irritated all. Watched many go straight through to include those without the skip the line tickets. Underground: begins on arena floor with your group only. Definitely neat being the only ones on the area a floor with all others looking on from the side lines, Excellent view of the uncovered underground. Continued to actual underground to view aqua system, boat pull outs and "elevator" for animal raising. Quite interesting. Upper tier: gives excellent views of arena floor and surrounding tiers along with the Forum and Pallatine Hill. Once inside of Colosseum is complete we were turned back over to Micela for the remaining Forum and Pallantine Hill tour. Micela was very good and could have given the inside portion as well if not better than the Colosseum required historian. She was informative and had the personality lacking from the Colosseum required historian. Recommend: would recommend the above, below and arena tour but would suggest going directly through the Colosseum vice a tied party for a discounted price since you're made to use them anyway. I would then recommend hiring someone for any additional touring you may wish if not comfortable with do it yourself, audio or Rick Steve tours. As for Micela, we would hire her for another tour outside the Colosseum.
Read Pfeilm's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image jetter314
1 review
Oct 2016
Used Viator skip the line Colosseum and Ancient Rome - our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. Would recommend this tour
Read jetter314's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image ensign_bodybag
1 review
Oct 2016
Some free time to view the outside, but was not able to go in as the tour did not include it. Inside was available on a different tour but that was fully booked so we had to take this one..
Read ensign_bodybag's full Zenith cruise review
Provider: Pullmantur
Member Image ilstonio
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Took trip including internal/external. Staggering. One of the best trips I've ever been on. Was told entry would be 1 1/2 hrs but took 10 mins. Can't recommend enough. Guided tour about 2 hrs. Excellent guide. History heaven
Read ilstonio's full TUI Discovery cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image vanilla1207
3 reviews
Oct 2016
Even though I had been to the Colosseum before, I was pleased to learn more from the local guide and explore even more. Excellent!
Read vanilla1207's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Boyrauch
1 review
Oct 2016
We used the Rick Steves podcast tour of the Colosseum. It was great and allowed us to move at our leisure to learn about the site.
Read Boyrauch's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: coopculture
Member Image ELISHAMAREE89
1 review
Oct 2016
We booked a tour that covered all the sight's we wanted to see in Rome. The bus trip from the cruise port to the City was long but definitely worth it. We were able to visit the Colosseum and we were able to sip the line and go straight through a side entrance which was great as the lines were huge. The Colosseum was amazing. We then visited the Roman Forum,Trevi fountain and all the sight's along the way. We had lunch in a local restaurant and then caught the bus to Vatican City, The traffic in Rome is terrible and parking is difficult, therefore there was a lot of walking. Vatican City was very busy and the line to get into the Sistine Chapel was too long so we ran out of time to go in. We then made the long journey back to the ship. This tour was great and covered all major sight's. I would recommend doing a tour in this port or you will not get to see all the main attractions.We would have spent most of the day in a line at the Colosseum if we hadn't booked a tour.
Read ELISHAMAREE89's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links